HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Sleeeping Maris

Apartment | Vaike Karja 1, Apartement 7, Tallinn, Estonia 000000

73.5% Overall Rating

43 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/11/2013)

Alexander Khanin thinks…

"Very center of the city Tallinn, night life non-stop, friendly and helpful personal, authentic building."

Read all The Sleeeping Maris reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

The Dancing Eesti
11.31 USD

Hostel 77.1% 167 reviews
Viru Backpackers
19.33 USD

Hostel 88.5% 102 reviews
Schlössle Hotel
262.29 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
The Monk's Bunk
12.42 USD

Hostel 92.2% 192 reviews
Olevi Residence
48.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 36 reviews
MO Hostel
13.80 USD

Hostel 84.6% 5 reviews
Red Emperor Hostel
13.67 USD

Hostel 90.1% 149 reviews
Tallinn Backpackers
13.80 USD

Hostel 92.5% 304 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

43 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Sleeeping Maris'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 60 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: Check in and check out took a long time. Check in took over half an hour and getting back our key deposits took 20 minutes.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, had kitchen.

Disliked: Could be cleaner, especially in kitchen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexander Khanin

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Very center of the city Tallinn, night life non-stop, friendly and helpful personal, authentic building.

Disliked: Some difficulties between booked quantity of nights and perception of it by personnel, but it's all solvable at the place!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 October 2013

Liked: Cheap and location.

Disliked: At this hostel Maris did not have a computer at the reception, I had to confirm my reservation to my computer! Good news was that there was a free nett otherwise I would have spent the night on the street! It was so cold at night, so I slept in clothes and gloves. Card payments could not be made ​​to pay only cash. I had trouble finding this hostel because the hostel did not have any names on the door and outside.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the position is very good, the hostel is in the center of the old town, you can easily reaching any place! The hostel is inside an old, beautiful building!

Disliked: When we arrived at the hostel we had a very bad acceptance from the owner, we really thought that he didn't want have guest, he changed a bit the tone when we asked if we were wellcome in that place or if we had to look for another place (please note, we were 4 person, 30 years old, normal people, clean, not noisy, arrived at 11 in the morning) We had just a key for 4 person and any time someone of us without the keys had to go in ringing the bell, we had to hope that guest that was leaving the hostel to open us the door. sometimes we had to wait one hour... luckily it was not too cold!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anastasia Reschke

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 October 2013 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is sooo great and helpful - especially a girl from Latvia (I think her name was Anda) The moment we came in we got a lot of really cool information about interesting sights and places where to eat and all of them were really worth seeing! Oh, and the location of the hostel is amazing - in the middle of the old town. Thank you very much!

Disliked: absolutely nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Daria Zorina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Daria would recommend this property

Liked: It's very chep and nicely situated. It's also stated that The Sleeeping Maris is independent hostel - I appreciate it.

Disliked: The ring on the gate doesn't work, but somebody's always entering, so Iwas able to enter to. It was hard to find staff. At 7pm there were noone of them(I've found them later, so you just need to wait). It was rather cold in October, I think it's better to visit in the summer. Quality is equal to money you pay for the place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013

Liked: If it is the cheapest hostel in town go for it. LOCATION is perfect.

Disliked: Average facilities, very small pillows. Dirty showers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building

Disliked: As nice as the building is it's falling apart and it's missing a nice launch to relax and socialise

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013

Liked: Location itseld is nice...

Disliked: They couldn't manage their reservation at all. I waited for more than 1 hour to get my bed and had to change room because of double booking next day.. There are many night bar surrounding hostel. TOO NOISY until morning everyday...cannot sleep. Bathroom is so dirty and there is only 2 for 1 floor , it is not enough...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Brown

Alone

Business / conference

20 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I was sent to Tallinn for a conference and spent a few days here. The common areas were nice and the bar area let me prepare for the conference. Perhaps it was bad for a business person but perhaps in all other aspects it was fine. Facilities were ok and wifi fast. My highlights perhaps were other guests, the top 3 guests that I encountered was 1. A group that arrived when the hostel was fully booked but instead of booking the sleeping Maris they had booked the Sleep Inn Paris, staff helped them find another hostel 2. A Spanish guest who used a hair dryer at 5 in the morning and woke the hostel up. When staff made him stop he demanded a partial refund for being disturbed. When it wasn't given he went crazy and started yelling you're a hair dryer to anyone who told him to sleep. He was given a glass of water and then he became subdued 3. Wasn't a guest but a local business man from the north shore, this guy came to the hostel in a top hat and waving around a wand, he waddled over invited guests out for a night tour of the city. Before starting he tripped over a sandwich on the ground and said it was done on purpose as a trap, staff were needed to take him home. Overall staff have very high tolerance to some of the strangest guests. In fairness i lucked out and was in a dorm with cool travelers. The hostel is very cheap and I was surprised at how nice everything was for the price. It's the same level of standard as most hostels here but with a nicer location and attentive staff. It's only a matter of time perhaps before they put the price up. Some of the other reviews seem pretty harsh and although I do not think it is a 100 percent hostel, for the staff, location and cheap price it deserves that rating and perhaps more

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zdravko Grigorov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Zdravko would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Zdravko left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Brett Underwood

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: Staff had lots of information about Tallin but was very hard to find when you needed. Good location, cheap, kitchen.

Disliked: The place felt like an old abanded house, was falling apart or being renovated, bathrooms and toilet smelled and not very good drainage. No friendly vibe, didnt really have opportunity to mingle with people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aušra Ginotyte

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Aušra would recommend this property

Liked: Location is just perfect, you cannot get better. Also you can feel like at home, or visiting friends. I liked the kitchen and colorful living room.

Disliked: Aušra left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rana El-Khoury

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Rana would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located

Disliked: The showers were not so clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 October 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: the property is located above a disco pub which plays loud music until 7am so you cant sleep properly

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people in hostel :) location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natalia Katarzyna Moldawska

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Natalia Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located exactly in the city center, nest to everything what is worth to see and best pubs. Extremely friendly and nice stuff.

Disliked: We had this feeling that we stayed there one year too early. Everything was just under repair. And it was really cold (in the middle of September) because of porous windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people house, everyone was so smiley and helpful. Girl staff very pretty. I love how building has so many twists and turns, it is unusual but nice unusual. Tallinn was so freezing, hostel was great to just be indoors with fast wifi and hot chocolate. Very cosy and nice atmosphere by other travellers and we have fun with games. I understand now they are changing whole hostel but please no change so much. The old bike penny farthing was super power and the price was very cheap

Disliked: needs to be cleaner in my room but also roomfriends were messy and not like to pick clothes up

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, it really is all about the location here and the friendly staff. In particular I liked how they dealt with problem guests who caused annoyance to the rest of the hostel guests. Also the staff seemed genuinely happy to help you and really easy going, no fakeness here. The hostel itself is a nice dwelling where one can have a sip of tea and rest ones travellers hat whilst watching the hustle and bustle of tallinn. I liked the arty feel of the building and how it was different to other hostels in the area.

Disliked: Negatives I arrived late with a friend and we had mistakeningly booked the wrong day so we were put into a rather larger dorm, also it was raining but that is a Tallinn thing I think

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jieon Han

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2012

Liked: It's just cheap that's all. Nothing to good others.

Disliked: there are only 2 toilets, very noisy at night. So many drunken people.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Happy hostel styled in the way how hostels used to be, very cheap but with everything I needed which suprised me, fun friendly staff and just a nice feel to the place, main positive is location and the lounge area where you could find new friends easy and the owner for the weekend had a tank which was different

Disliked: Negative, I only had a few nights here

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located in city center

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sten Saaret

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Sten would recommend this property

Liked: I was in Tallinn for a while and enjoyed my time at a lot of hostels. This was similar in many ways to most of them, the difference being the staff and location were the best and the price was ridiculously cheap. Staff always had time for you. Importantly there was a locker for every patron, something that is suprisingly lacking in Tallinn. Thanks guys and all the best with the third hostel.

Disliked: Sten left no negative feedback.