HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Sleeeping Maris

Apartment | Vaike Karja 1, Apartement 7, Tallinn, Estonia 000000

68.8% Overall Rating

46 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

"Location? Well yes. It is in the heart of the city center... Do you plan to party until 6am? Then you can stay here, no problem. You do not mind a bit of chaos for checking in and out, come here... you do not mind a…"

Read all The Sleeeping Maris reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

Kohver
12.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Dancing Eesti
10.50 USD

Hostel 69.5% 184 reviews
Viru Backpackers
17.71 USD

Hostel 88.8% 105 reviews
Schlössle Hotel
240.35 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
The Monk's Bunk
13.92 USD

Hostel 89.9% 220 reviews
Olevi Residence
35.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 36 reviews
MO Hostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 88.2% 7 reviews
Red Emperor Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 93.9% 177 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.8%

Overall Rating

46 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Sleeeping Maris'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 63 of 69 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 August 2014

Liked: Location and rommies!

Disliked: Everything else

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

19 August 2014

Liked: Location? Well yes. It is in the heart of the city center... Do you plan to party until 6am? Then you can stay here, no problem. You do not mind a bit of chaos for checking in and out, come here... you do not mind a hostel under construction? (no noises actually) but under construction, come here! :) Internet runs well... bathroom as well. Staff speaks very good english and are helpful!

Disliked: Downstairs you have the Baila bar... so do NOT plan to sleep until 6am. After the bar is closed and everyone is going home, the cleaning services do their job. Never been in a noisier place (in the private room) I do not know about the rest of rooms. Linen was supposed to be for free but we were asked to pay. I refused and they were OK with me not paying. They were supposed to have a locker room, but there is not such a thing... still they kept it in their "staff room" so it was OK. The place did not look like the one in the photos and the entrance did not have clear signals (it is not as described in the website) It seems there are several hostels in the same building, so I asked one of the 18-years-old girls who run the place "What is the name of this hostel?" She could not answer (?) 2 of those 3 girls said it was her first day working there.... weird/funny.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Katharina Kreutz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014

Liked: The hostel is perfectly located in the old town.

Disliked: I was barely bake to sleep because it's so loud outside, there's a lack of cleanliness and mold at the ceilings. Due to its big size, the corridors are quite confusing and you have to climb up steep stairs to get to the room which may be difficult with heavy luggage.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Domantas Belgeras

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 July 2014 Domantas would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: Domantas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool atmosphere, good for partying or just chilling out. Whether you're the kind of person who gets on it every night like a champ or your a pyjama-wearer who's in bed at midnight then you will have a pretty good time no matter what. The hostel manageress is a friendly and charming minx who runs the place with a fist of iron and a heart of gold. Turned up with 3 nights booked and ended up staying 3 more, we also got a huge room between 4 of us. All the facilities were in ship shape. Would very much recommend, perfect base to sample the beautiful madness of Tallinn.

Disliked: Had to eventually go home.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014

Liked: The location is really good right in the center of the Old Town.

Disliked: There is no sign at all outside or at the door, very hard to find. When I arrived I rang the door bell three times and noone opened. When I finally got in (through someone else) I had to wait again. The staff was rather unfriendly (which is understandable as she was almost the only one working there), they use the wifi of other hostels, the showers are dirty and there are cables hanging from the ceiling with switches not having covers etc. It was impossible to sleep well as the windows are not isolated at all. There were no curtain. The noise and the light from the street came into the room and it was like sleeping on the street. The kitchen was well equipped but dirty as well. When I left I left my backpack at the hostel... When i picked it up I could just walk into the hostel and get it. I (and anyone else from the street) could have stolen everything. All in all it was a pretty bad experience. Pay a bit more to have a better experience!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place to spend the night. Location couldnt be better and the staff is very welcome. Nothing fancy, but the place has it's soul.

Disliked: Not very easy to find.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 June 2014

Liked: Location can't be better. Lots of bars and restaurants around. Big kitchen.

Disliked: Old building. You have to climb up a narrow iron rail to get to the dorms. Bar downstairs plays loud music until 6 am (maybe because it was a Saturday),

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Almost everything.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: Check in and check out took a long time. Check in took over half an hour and getting back our key deposits took 20 minutes.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, had kitchen.

Disliked: Could be cleaner, especially in kitchen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexander Khanin

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Very center of the city Tallinn, night life non-stop, friendly and helpful personal, authentic building.

Disliked: Some difficulties between booked quantity of nights and perception of it by personnel, but it's all solvable at the place!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 October 2013

Liked: Cheap and location.

Disliked: At this hostel Maris did not have a computer at the reception, I had to confirm my reservation to my computer! Good news was that there was a free nett otherwise I would have spent the night on the street! It was so cold at night, so I slept in clothes and gloves. Card payments could not be made ​​to pay only cash. I had trouble finding this hostel because the hostel did not have any names on the door and outside.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the position is very good, the hostel is in the center of the old town, you can easily reaching any place! The hostel is inside an old, beautiful building!

Disliked: When we arrived at the hostel we had a very bad acceptance from the owner, we really thought that he didn't want have guest, he changed a bit the tone when we asked if we were wellcome in that place or if we had to look for another place (please note, we were 4 person, 30 years old, normal people, clean, not noisy, arrived at 11 in the morning) We had just a key for 4 person and any time someone of us without the keys had to go in ringing the bell, we had to hope that guest that was leaving the hostel to open us the door. sometimes we had to wait one hour... luckily it was not too cold!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anastasia Reschke

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 October 2013 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is sooo great and helpful - especially a girl from Latvia (I think her name was Anda) The moment we came in we got a lot of really cool information about interesting sights and places where to eat and all of them were really worth seeing! Oh, and the location of the hostel is amazing - in the middle of the old town. Thank you very much!

Disliked: absolutely nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Daria Zorina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Daria would recommend this property

Liked: It's very chep and nicely situated. It's also stated that The Sleeeping Maris is independent hostel - I appreciate it.

Disliked: The ring on the gate doesn't work, but somebody's always entering, so Iwas able to enter to. It was hard to find staff. At 7pm there were noone of them(I've found them later, so you just need to wait). It was rather cold in October, I think it's better to visit in the summer. Quality is equal to money you pay for the place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013

Liked: If it is the cheapest hostel in town go for it. LOCATION is perfect.

Disliked: Average facilities, very small pillows. Dirty showers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building

Disliked: As nice as the building is it's falling apart and it's missing a nice launch to relax and socialise

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013

Liked: Location itseld is nice...

Disliked: They couldn't manage their reservation at all. I waited for more than 1 hour to get my bed and had to change room because of double booking next day.. There are many night bar surrounding hostel. TOO NOISY until morning everyday...cannot sleep. Bathroom is so dirty and there is only 2 for 1 floor , it is not enough...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Brown

Alone

Business / conference

20 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I was sent to Tallinn for a conference and spent a few days here. The common areas were nice and the bar area let me prepare for the conference. Perhaps it was bad for a business person but perhaps in all other aspects it was fine. Facilities were ok and wifi fast. My highlights perhaps were other guests, the top 3 guests that I encountered was 1. A group that arrived when the hostel was fully booked but instead of booking the sleeping Maris they had booked the Sleep Inn Paris, staff helped them find another hostel 2. A Spanish guest who used a hair dryer at 5 in the morning and woke the hostel up. When staff made him stop he demanded a partial refund for being disturbed. When it wasn't given he went crazy and started yelling you're a hair dryer to anyone who told him to sleep. He was given a glass of water and then he became subdued 3. Wasn't a guest but a local business man from the north shore, this guy came to the hostel in a top hat and waving around a wand, he waddled over invited guests out for a night tour of the city. Before starting he tripped over a sandwich on the ground and said it was done on purpose as a trap, staff were needed to take him home. Overall staff have very high tolerance to some of the strangest guests. In fairness i lucked out and was in a dorm with cool travelers. The hostel is very cheap and I was surprised at how nice everything was for the price. It's the same level of standard as most hostels here but with a nicer location and attentive staff. It's only a matter of time perhaps before they put the price up. Some of the other reviews seem pretty harsh and although I do not think it is a 100 percent hostel, for the staff, location and cheap price it deserves that rating and perhaps more

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zdravko Grigorov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Zdravko would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Zdravko left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Brett Underwood

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: Staff had lots of information about Tallin but was very hard to find when you needed. Good location, cheap, kitchen.

Disliked: The place felt like an old abanded house, was falling apart or being renovated, bathrooms and toilet smelled and not very good drainage. No friendly vibe, didnt really have opportunity to mingle with people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aušra Ginotyte

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Aušra would recommend this property

Liked: Location is just perfect, you cannot get better. Also you can feel like at home, or visiting friends. I liked the kitchen and colorful living room.

Disliked: Aušra left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rana El-Khoury

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Rana would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located

Disliked: The showers were not so clean