HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Sleeeping Maris Tallinn Tallinn Hostel

Sauna St 1, apartment 7, Tallinn, Tallinn, Estonia

Atmosphere 55%

Cleanliness 48%

Facilities 54%

Location 96%

Safety 62%

Staff 66%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 55%

Cleanliness 48%

Facilities 54%

Location 96%

Safety 62%

Staff 66%

Value 70%

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: At the center of the city

Disliked: Old and run-down

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: that it was in the centre of Tallinn, I liked the decor it was the cheapest.

Disliked: It's not clean: the bathrooms were stinky, and often dirty, kitchen was dirty, too, there was much food and other stuff that looked tlike nobody uses for years;Door locks kept braking, once we couldn't even open the door to go outside; Always had the feeling of unsafety: if someone would attack us or steal something, there was nobody to help immediatelly, and people from the bar downstairs could come to the hostel anytime and nobody would pay attention.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I just needed place to sleep in the center of the city and this place was perfect for me. The atmosphere in the hostel was friendly. The stuff was kind.

Disliked: If you don't like old buldings better find some other place.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: a

Disliked: a

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The building was interesting and the staff friendly and helpful. Location was very good.

Disliked: I thought the building would not be easy to exit in the case of a fire. A little hard to find a place for breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The most horrible hostel I've ever been (I was in 41 countries). This place looks like garbage! There are dirty sticky floors everywhere, dirty rooms, dirty beds. Everything is dirty and ruined, e.g. for 3 nights I lived there 2 days the light in bathroom was broken. Stuff are always absent! Always. Absent. Sometimes this guy occurs his working place, but only for taking money from new guest! And that's all! The day I come I tried to pass in hostel twice and it was in vain. Nobody was there. When I tried to refuse this booking the guy said they take my money for 2 nights in any case;(((( it's the only reason why I lived in this garbage! Really horrible place! Don't go there!

Disliked: 27886443Dirty place, not functional equipment, very noisy place around hostel.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: position and cheap price

Disliked: dirty everywhere, nobody at the reception, old building and tools, trash place

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location and rommies!

Disliked: Everything else

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location? Well yes. It is in the heart of the city center... Do you plan to party until 6am? Then you can stay here, no problem. You do not mind a bit of chaos for checking in and out, come here... you do not mind a hostel under construction? (no noises actually) but under construction, come here! :) Internet runs well... bathroom as well. Staff speaks very good english and are helpful!

Disliked: Downstairs you have the Baila bar... so do NOT plan to sleep until 6am. After the bar is closed and everyone is going home, the cleaning services do their job. Never been in a noisier place (in the private room) I do not know about the rest of rooms. Linen was supposed to be for free but we were asked to pay. I refused and they were OK with me not paying. They were supposed to have a locker room, but there is not such a thing... still they kept it in their "staff room" so it was OK. The place did not look like the one in the photos and the entrance did not have clear signals (it is not as described in the website) It seems there are several hostels in the same building, so I asked one of the 18-years-old girls who run the place "What is the name of this hostel?" She could not answer (?) 2 of those 3 girls said it was her first day working there.... weird/funny.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is perfectly located in the old town.

Disliked: I was barely bake to sleep because it's so loud outside, there's a lack of cleanliness and mold at the ceilings. Due to its big size, the corridors are quite confusing and you have to climb up steep stairs to get to the room which may be difficult with heavy luggage.

Check Availability