HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Tallinn

Hostel | Juhkentali 46, Tallinn, Estonia 10132

66.4% Overall Rating

11 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2012)

"I liked that it was so close to the main bus station and also central in town. I also liked the standard of my room. Toilet and shower were OK, too, although not about average."

Read all Hostel Tallinn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

Teko Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 80.9% 29 reviews
Gidic Backpackers
12.65 USD

Hostel 87.3% 171 reviews
Center hotel
10.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 43 reviews
Dorell Hotel
24.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.5% 34 reviews
NovoStay Apartments
55.66 USD

Apartment 89.5% 16 reviews
Red Group Apartments - Your Home in Tallinn!
44.28 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
United Backpackers Hostel
15.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Marine Keskus Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 73.3% 199 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.4%

Overall Rating

11 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Tallinn'

Atmosphere
51.3%
Location
82.5%
Facilities
57.5%
Cleanliness
76.3%
Staff
60.0%
Value
68.8%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: a bit expensive as for Tallinn. the reception closes in the evening so no one is waiting for you if you arrive at night. there were some drunken people in the common room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

María Clara Tuttolomondo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 María Clara would recommend this property

Liked: great location, 100 mts from the bus station!

Disliked: the shower wasn´t the cleanest, but it´s ok for the price :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was so close to the main bus station and also central in town. I also liked the standard of my room. Toilet and shower were OK, too, although not about average.

Disliked: I have been to Estonia a lot and seen all kinds of environment. I know that an ugly outside and staircases do not imply ugly insides of living space. However, I think people who are not accustomed toEstononan standards may stay back a bit at first sight when entering a place like Hostel Tallinn. I myself do not care as long as my room, bed and other amenities are OK.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roberta muccioli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 roberta would recommend this property

Liked: It's the cleanest hostel I've ever seen, brand new beds, linen, lockers, floors, bathrooms and whatever else, big and well equipped kitchen, right next to the coach station, best showers ever, quiet area, good wireless coverage, free tea and coffee, friendly staff. I was actually supposed to move somewhere within the city walls on my second night but this place was good that I just stayed there and walked into town. It's really great value for money.

Disliked: roberta left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's just one minute to the bus station! And the staff is really helpful.

Disliked: The toilet is very very very small......and wifi is too slow and always get disconnected.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Deniss Tsertov

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 August 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: I've chosen the hostel due to its good location. 2 times before my arrival I had contacted the hostel - the first time I e-mailed them 2 weeks before the arrival to make sure everything was OK with my stay. The second time the hostel e-mailed me and assured I was arriving and wondering the exact time. Upon my arrival, a Russin-old-lady-administrator told me they did not have any free rooms for me and my wife available. That's mental after 2 contacts with the hostel beforehand. I spent 10 euros getting to the hostel and then another 10 euros for getting another hostel the lady sent me to. The attitude towards me and my wife as customers was filthy, disgusting and disgraceful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergey Malyshko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 August 2011 Sergey would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and next to the bus station.

Disliked: Staff is not so kind

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Alexander Kane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: There is A LOT of noise from traffic outside, no facilities on offer other than wifi, the guy on the desk when we arrived was unhelpful and did a great impersonation of a knob-end, also you could hear everything in the adjoining rooms from the girl in the single room "occupying" herself to the guys in the dorm getting in at 4am and chatting like they were at the foot of your bed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cost was incredible and - since all we were after was a roof over our heads, and a good base for going into town - the room was exactly what we were after. Having single beds instead of bunk beds was a nice surprise!

Disliked: Even as a small hostel, there didn't seem to be too many staff members. Probably as a result, it felt as though we were annoying the receptionist when we asked her any questions at all.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: the staff seemed like they don't care at all wheter you are there or not. The rooms are so cose to each other you almost hear someone breathes next room. If people next room decide to talk aloud in the middle of the night you are not gonna be able sleepvat all. Overall it might be good for bacpackers but couples or travellers who wish to have some privacy or a minimal comfort (it is a hostel after all) should not consider at all.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: It is close to the bus station and to a tram stop.

Disliked: the place is not attractive at all, the entrance is ugly and my room was kinda smelly. The lady at the reception seemed to be always in a bad mood and was even kinda rude to us. There was only one shower in the floor and someone used it for like an hour in the morning, leaving other guests rather angry about that. We didn't feel like there was much privacy, because the door of the room had a glass on it, so other people passing by could see us. Don't recommend this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Christy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people, helped me with whatever I needed.

Disliked: Excellent location, right by the main bus station, which is hella convenient.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, simple, not a lot of other guests. Windows are new and block out most street noise. Right next to the regional-bus station. Bus to the ferry-harbour and airport a few intersections away Easy to get to the city centre by bus.

Disliked: Located on busy road, right at a big intersection. No oven or toaster in the kitchen. Old building with mostly superficial renovating - some rooms have a new wood-ish flooring, some just linoleum, badly fitted at the walls. Toilets located in old broom closets, not thoroughly renovated. Most rooms have both a door to the small hallway and to the neighbouring room(s), and all the doorframes gap an inch: No privacy and a lot of noise getting through.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Too Fang Hon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Too Fang would recommend this property

Liked: Next to bus station

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Will Fowler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Will would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the bus station and I could get a single room.

Disliked: The lock on my door was very stubborn and badly needed replacing.