HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Monk's Bunk

Hostel | Tatari 1, Tallinn, Estonia 10140

87.9% Overall Rating

195 out of 212 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Heather Blake thinks…

"The staff was excellent--especially the girl from England. She went above and beyond to be helpful. I did get my free shot-- it was great. It's a party hostel, but they offer earphones. The people…"

Read all The Monk's Bunk reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

The Dancing Eesti
10.82 USD

Hostel 70.2% 181 reviews
The Sleeeping Maris
10.82 USD

Apartment 70.2% 70 reviews
Kohver
13.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Viru Backpackers
22.68 USD

Hostel 88.7% 103 reviews
Knight House
18.68 USD

Hostel 91.7% 43 reviews
Hotel St. Petersbourg
93.40 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Feelgood Hostel
13.34 USD

Hostel 87.7% 36 reviews
Schlössle Hotel
253.50 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

195 out of 212 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Monk's Bunk'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 179 of 202 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014

Liked: Close to the center

Disliked: It was so loud we could barely sleep. Party every night. Only three toilets/showers for the whole hostel (Toilet and shower were in the same room, so it was pretty hard to find a free one)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heather Blake

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excellent--especially the girl from England. She went above and beyond to be helpful. I did get my free shot-- it was great. It's a party hostel, but they offer earphones. The people and atmosphere were great. They also did my laundry for very little money. It's close to the grocery and to old town.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really fun vibes, staff really friendly and accommodating, great parties to join in every night but still quiet enough to be able to get a good nights sleep . Comfortable clean beds, clean hot showers. Would come here again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul McMahon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly & helpfull staff. Great atmosphere & pub crawls where good fun!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, good location on the edge of the old city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abarta Pandey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Abarta would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely. National Park day trip was great. Pub crawl was loads of fun :)

Disliked: Can get a little noisy, but that was expected.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bartholomäus Minkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Bartholomäus would recommend this property

Liked: A very cosy and friendly hostel, with a great bar and many possibilies to sit and relax!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing, the rooms are really good and the wifi is great. The location is really Central and it's really easy to go to the old town and back.

Disliked: The only thing I don't like is the fact you can't see the hostel from outside. It was really disorientating when I got here as it's not clearly marked and without the help of locals I would not have found it.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location.

Disliked: Very dirty (sheets were clearly never changed) and no heating in the very cold room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paula Boihmane

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 May 2014 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff

Disliked: Paula left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maksim Saratov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014

Liked: I'm not so like that place

Disliked: Maksim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Wolf

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, good atmosphere... perfect accomondation. Next time i book the same.

Disliked: --

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippe Barros

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the staff of this hostel, they're very friendly and helpful! The whole atmosphere of the hostel was amazing!!

Disliked: I liked everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: While we did not meet the proprietor/s we did enjoy our stay and free shots at this fine Estonian establishment. Being the anniversary of a stag (aka stagiversary) it was of particular importance that our hostel was not involved with conspiracy theories, an error we had previously made - safe to say we all slept very well. One staff member displayed a great knowledge of local facilities, highlighting key locations that were not included on your everyday tourist map - strip clubs, massage parlours and casinos. After a relaxing day at the ‘spa’ it was nice to arrive at a hostel where our every comfort was catered for; from the steaming sauna to the bustling bunks. You only get in what you pull out

Disliked: bathrooms were a little dirty. we paid for 10bed dorm but 1 bed was broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Price, Spacious public room, clrean specially bath room, ideal location, people I met here stuff, guests

Disliked: Free tea I wanted. Maybe temporary.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dinners there were epic! Great food for a great price! Ate at the hostel both nights and grabbed lunch in town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeka Haski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Yeka would recommend this property

Liked: That was my best hostel experience. Guys are very hospitable and easy-going and you feel more like at old friend's home then in hostel. Its a great option for those who travel alone and don't want to feel lonely. Easy to find and so close to main places & events. I'm totally sure, that gonna stay with them again when coming to Tallinn next time.

Disliked: Yeka left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Whyte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 December 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff, the location and the fun times!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel I have ever stayed at, and it is especially great for people travelling alone or in small groups. Don't come here if you want a place to crash for a few hours, stay here if you want to experience Tallinn and all it has to offer, and to meet incredible people from around the world. From nightly pub crawls and pregames with the other guests to cultural day tours, this hostel has everything. I had the best time here, and I could not recommend it enough. Best hostel, by far, in Tallinn and most of Eastern Europe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antje Schoenborn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 November 2013 Antje would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere here. Really cool and relaxxed people, nice modern facilities, free wifi, good prices for drinks, great pub crawl - Perfect. Would liked to stay longer!

Disliked: Unfortunately Idid not see that you could sign in for cheap dinner and use the kitchen :-/

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kira Gurmail-Kaufmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Kira would recommend this property

Liked: We had a lovely stay at the Monk's Bunk. Everyone was extremely welcoming and friendly which made the atmosphere really relaxed and enjoyable. It really felt like our home away from home on our trip.

Disliked: Kira left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Nathon Oski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: Great location

Disliked: It was terribly noisy at night.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Laidlaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, some of the friendliest and most helpful staff we've met. Nice communal area and kitchen.

Disliked: Security - just a slight issue, probably with other guests as even though provided with a key for dorm, it was continuously left open.