HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Monk's Bunk

Hostel | Tatari 1, Tallinn, Estonia 10140

89.9% Overall Rating

203 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/10/2014)

Eric van Sluys thinks…

"Everyone that worked there was incredible. They knew the city and what was worth seeing and we're always happy to let you know. The pub crawl was always a blast, and the atmosphere was chilled and…"

Read all The Monk's Bunk reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

The Dancing Eesti
10.50 USD

Hostel 69.5% 184 reviews
The Sleeeping Maris
10.39 USD

Apartment 68.8% 71 reviews
Kohver
12.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Viru Backpackers
17.71 USD

Hostel 88.8% 105 reviews
Knight House
16.45 USD

Hostel 94.2% 48 reviews
Hotel St. Petersbourg
139.15 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Feelgood Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 86.7% 39 reviews
Schlössle Hotel
240.35 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

203 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Monk's Bunk'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 211 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric van Sluys

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone that worked there was incredible. They knew the city and what was worth seeing and we're always happy to let you know. The pub crawl was always a blast, and the atmosphere was chilled and social. Big thanks to Rosie, Allan, Fabian and all the rest for making my stay so awesome, I'll most certainly be back.

Disliked: Eric left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favourite hostel. Extremally good atmosphere, great parties, awesome stuff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin McDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Managers Rosie and Dylan are always very helpful with ideas on what to do for the day or where to eat or go out. They are more than managers but like fellow travellers who you can have a chat with or a drink (after they have knocked off) they also organise pub crawls and encourage everyone in the hostel to join in on social activities (beer pong) this makes it really easy for a solo traveller such as myself to make a few friends. Really clean environment with spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Highly recommended

Disliked: I enjoyed it so much I booked in an extra 4 days. I bet you will too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karli Ball

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Karli would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed at. Fantastic friendly staff, well equipped kitchen, clean and new bathrooms., spacious rooms, fun and lively atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ion Macrea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Ion would recommend this property

Liked: Cool staff, nice location ;)

Disliked: Ion left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danielle Rutten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 September 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and very fun!

Disliked: It wasn't overly clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emanuele Colombo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Emanuele would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice, there is a friendly atmosphere and staff is super helpful... Highly reccomended

Disliked: No air conditioning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam bishop

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 adam would recommend this property

Liked: It had a really good atmosphere, was clean and had everything you could need for your stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful especially kongo and jaanika who ran the pub crawls and got everybody in a fun mood and made sure everybody had heaps of fun and looked after the groups really well

Disliked: Could maybe use a few more toilets as at night when everybody was in the bar it could be a bit hard to get a free toilet

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas are really good and encourage people to mingle. They have some kind of activity on every night. The showers are truly amazing on the top floor. Just be aware that this is a party hostel and the bar doesn't close so it can be noisy until 5am, peope will stumble in at all hours and there will probably be some extra bunk guests at times.

Disliked: Nothing really

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014

Liked: Close to the center

Disliked: It was so loud we could barely sleep. Party every night. Only three toilets/showers for the whole hostel (Toilet and shower were in the same room, so it was pretty hard to find a free one)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heather Blake

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excellent--especially the girl from England. She went above and beyond to be helpful. I did get my free shot-- it was great. It's a party hostel, but they offer earphones. The people and atmosphere were great. They also did my laundry for very little money. It's close to the grocery and to old town.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really fun vibes, staff really friendly and accommodating, great parties to join in every night but still quiet enough to be able to get a good nights sleep . Comfortable clean beds, clean hot showers. Would come here again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul McMahon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly & helpfull staff. Great atmosphere & pub crawls where good fun!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, good location on the edge of the old city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abarta Pandey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Abarta would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely. National Park day trip was great. Pub crawl was loads of fun :)

Disliked: Can get a little noisy, but that was expected.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bartholomäus Minkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Bartholomäus would recommend this property

Liked: A very cosy and friendly hostel, with a great bar and many possibilies to sit and relax!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing, the rooms are really good and the wifi is great. The location is really Central and it's really easy to go to the old town and back.

Disliked: The only thing I don't like is the fact you can't see the hostel from outside. It was really disorientating when I got here as it's not clearly marked and without the help of locals I would not have found it.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location.

Disliked: Very dirty (sheets were clearly never changed) and no heating in the very cold room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paula Boihmane

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 May 2014 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff

Disliked: Paula left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maksim Saratov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014

Liked: I'm not so like that place

Disliked: Maksim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Wolf

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, good atmosphere... perfect accomondation. Next time i book the same.

Disliked: --

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippe Barros

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the staff of this hostel, they're very friendly and helpful! The whole atmosphere of the hostel was amazing!!

Disliked: I liked everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: While we did not meet the proprietor/s we did enjoy our stay and free shots at this fine Estonian establishment. Being the anniversary of a stag (aka stagiversary) it was of particular importance that our hostel was not involved with conspiracy theories, an error we had previously made - safe to say we all slept very well. One staff member displayed a great knowledge of local facilities, highlighting key locations that were not included on your everyday tourist map - strip clubs, massage parlours and casinos. After a relaxing day at the ‘spa’ it was nice to arrive at a hostel where our every comfort was catered for; from the steaming sauna to the bustling bunks. You only get in what you pull out

Disliked: bathrooms were a little dirty. we paid for 10bed dorm but 1 bed was broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Price, Spacious public room, clrean specially bath room, ideal location, people I met here stuff, guests

Disliked: Free tea I wanted. Maybe temporary.