We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of ALUR Hostel Tallinn Old Town

Hostel | Lai 20, Tallinn, Estonia .

71.0% Overall Rating

335 out of 366 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

"Do yourself a favour and just stay at Tallinn Backpackers, I spent most of my time here instead of ALUR. RE: Alur - the Lahemma National Park Day trip run by Ben is fantastic; the location is excellent; the six bed dorm…"

Read all ALUR Hostel Tallinn Old Town reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tallinn

St.Olav Hotel
33.24 USD

Hotel 4 star 86.3% 15 reviews
Olevi Residence
29.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 36 reviews
Tabinoya - Tallinn's Travellers House
13.43 USD

Hostel 95.1% 25 reviews
Viru Backpackers
14.55 USD

Hostel 88.8% 105 reviews
Tallinn Backpackers
11.19 USD

Hostel 89.5% 309 reviews
The Dancing Eesti
9.29 USD

Hostel 69.8% 185 reviews
Kohver
11.19 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gotthard Residents
31.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

335 out of 366 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ALUR Hostel Tallinn Old Town'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 248 of 252 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 December 2014

Liked: Location, staff.

Disliked: Cleanliness in the showers/toilets.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kerstin Paulsen

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 September 2014 Kerstin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and helpful staff

Disliked: We stayed at the second floor and there was no working toilet: one was declared as out of order, the other one was closed all the time.we had to share one toilet with about 20 people. Two nights there was a group of russian teenagers, loud and noisy half of the night. There were three showers at this floor, but no warm water! The beds are veryold and unconfortabel. You can feel every spring and if someone moves in the bed under you, the whole bed is wiggling.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014

Liked: Do yourself a favour and just stay at Tallinn Backpackers, I spent most of my time here instead of ALUR. RE: Alur - the Lahemma National Park Day trip run by Ben is fantastic; the location is excellent; the six bed dorm I stayed in had plenty of space for bags etc; beds are ok.

Disliked: Tiny common room which is in the basement, tiny kitchen, not very clean, some (not all) staff were quite rude, insufficient bathrooms, zero atmosphere.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: It needs a lot of refurbishment!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Xavier Lozano Segarra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2014

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Dirt everywhere, filthy and not enough bathrooms and tiny common area

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Frederike Peters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 August 2014 Frederike would recommend this property

Liked: Very very friendly and helpful staff, incredible atmosphere, nice cosy kitchen.

Disliked: Some noisy people in my dorm room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Edvin Pacara

Alone

Partying / nightlife

05 May 2014 Edvin would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Walls were thin

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small common room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect to be inside the old town. With a friendly atmosphere and the staff is very willing to help with all kind of problems. Having a bar opening throughout the night.

Disliked: There are not too many showering rooms.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just the staff!

Disliked: Everything especially the bathroom that was very dirty!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013

Liked: It has a kitchen, has a top location an is cheap.

Disliked: The kitchen and the communial room are quite cozy but located in the cellar. Some doors are partly defect, beds (at least in the big sleeping hall) are too old to be used. Litteraly, you can feel every spring of the mattrasses.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The staff is really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Liberty Dent

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: I thought Alur hostel was very dirty, I walked in bare feet from the shower up to the room, and my feet were very dirty. My travel buddy was robbed of his belt and head phones! The atmosphere was very party and student like, I guess that's ok if you're looking for a holiday like that, but we were not. The shower head was not even attached to the wall. I have stayed in a lot of hostels and this was by far the worst one.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the size of the room

Disliked: The smell in the room; the window wasn't closing; no Internet in the room

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok Hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lars Heidelbeer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 November 2012 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: Service was nice and very helpful in regards of questions of the town. The location is very central and only a few meters to walk for a drink or nice restaurants

Disliked: hygienic conditions were unforunately very poor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: private room is cozy. Can't speak for the dorms.

Disliked: A key for the front door would work better than the buzz-in system they have now.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo Aguirre Herrainz

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 November 2012 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: They did have trouble with the room so they reassigned us to another hostel nearby. It is good to know that they take responsability if something happens and give you another choice of quality. Very happy with the room, hostel and staff. I would glady recommend this hostel and Tallinn.

Disliked: Pretty much nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TORBEN MINNES

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 TORBEN would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy

Disliked: TORBEN left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location of hotel is really good.

Disliked: There were very old covering and old spring mattrasses. They were very unpleasent.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2012

Liked: Location, helpful staff

Disliked: TREMENDOUSLY noisy staff. They were the main source of noyse during the nice. Bed and bedding is way to small for tall people.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: reception are very helpful.

Disliked: not so clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in the centerbof the city and easy to find. It's cheap and staff is friendly.

Disliked: It's very noisy and showers are not very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron King

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: It's in an amazing location and all staff members were extremely helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hostel to any backpacker heading to Tallinn

Disliked: Cameron left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bill Southworth

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 September 2012 Bill would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendliness.

Disliked: Far too much noise at night. Hard to sleep. They should tell their guests to keep the noise down and to respect the rights of others.