We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all York hostels

Reviews of Blossoms York Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 28 Clifton, York, England YO30 6AE

65.9% Overall Rating

165 out of 193 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/02/2015)

"Great location and very reasonable price. Comfortable clean beds. Tea and coffee making facility in room, TV. We were at the back of the building so fairly quiet too."

Read all Blossoms York Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note the Hostel’s Terms and Conditions
* ARRIVAL TIME: if you find you will reach us much earlier or later than the arrival time shown on your booking, you must call us. latest check-in is 10pm. ID: the credit / debit card used to make the booking should be presented at check-in. Non-EU guests will be required to show their passport.

So, if you are going to arrive late or early, or wish to cancel or ammend your booking PLEASE CALL US!

Please note Blossom's has a cancellation policy of 14 days prior to arrival. Should you cancel inside of this period or fail to arrive we will charge you for your first night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to York?

Contact us directly

See other properties in York

Safestay York
27.67 USD

Hostel 87.3% 7 reviews
The Fort Boutique Hostel
21.52 USD

Hostel 92.4% 3 reviews
YHA York
20.24 USD

Hostel 89.1% 82 reviews
Barrington Guest House
44.57 USD

Hostel 89.1% 23 reviews
Knavesmire Manor Hotel
99.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
61.48 USD

Guesthouse 85.3% 7 reviews
Worsley Arms Hotel
116.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Feversham Arms Hotel and Verbens Spa
107.59 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

165 out of 193 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blossoms York Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
68.0%
Value
56.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 140 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gaye Hird

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

23 February 2015 Gaye would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable beds and excellent shower

Disliked: Entrance not very welcoming. Public toilet not very inviting in basement

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very reasonable price. Comfortable clean beds. Tea and coffee making facility in room, TV. We were at the back of the building so fairly quiet too.

Disliked: Parking a bit difficult.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2015

Liked: Nice and warm

Disliked: Unkept. No breakfast included

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2015

Liked: The bedroom was clean and the beds were comfy.

Disliked: Interior very shabby, Lights/Fittings didn't work within the room, tea/coffee making facilities available within the room but then no tea or coffee. Despite pre-ordering breakfast the day before there was several aspects of it they didn't have and then when it came out it was cold, we had to ask 3 times for our pot of tea. Overall for £90 in York you accept you are not going to get luxury but would expect a lot better with the basics being fulfilled.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Brendan McEvoy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Lack of cleanliness

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

19 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the city centre with friendly staff. We were pleasantly surprised by the room itself as it looked freshly decorated (the hotel looks a little rundown). Given the inflatated costs of York accomodation it was just bordering on value for money.

Disliked: The bathroom was very small (barely any room between the wall and toilet so not suitable for larger guests!!) and the hot water was too hot (may sound ridiculous but it was scalding and had a separate cold tap so couldn't change the temperature when trying to wash hands!) and the shower pressure was very intermittent and one of the doors felt as though it was going to fall off; we noticed a very unpleasant smell just outside the bedroom which we think is linked to the drainage.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Expensive, Dirty, doors in bathroom didn't work, wifi too slow to use, breakfast not inxliuded.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 August 2013

Liked: leaving

Disliked: the place was unclean and the unsafe,

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

mandy nicholson

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

24 June 2013

Liked: sorry to say nothing

Disliked: everything about it was a disaster

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

dawn bean

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 June 2013 dawn would recommend this property

Liked: the staff where very friendly & helpful.the breakfast was lovely

Disliked: hard to find.room was freezing cold during the night.pillows were to soft.the whole place needed updating

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013

Liked: None.

Disliked: The hotel is old. There is no lift. The room is dirty, especially the carpet. There is no house keeping. It is not comfortable to stay in. It is definately not worth the money.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

14 April 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing

Disliked: We were not made to feel welcome, the room wasn't clean, the whole property appeare tired and in need of some TLC. The front garden was littered. T

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We rented a 6 bed room for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great time.The property is in a good location. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Could be cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mei-Ying Su

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Mei-Ying would recommend this property

Liked: It's a surprise for us to stay in Blossoms for it's quite clean and cozy!

Disliked: Light breakfast is a bit expensive..

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Cheryl Fowler

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

18 August 2012

Liked: The location was in a good place in York.

Disliked: Not very clean, and the staff , ( all one ) was not very friendy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Georgina Oliver

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

08 July 2012 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice decor in our room (no 2), the light breakfast was good - unlimited tea/coffee, cerals, toast with marmalade and fruit (dried and fresh). Beds were comfy and the shower was FANTASTIC: great pressure, nice and hot and the complimentary liquid soap had a lovely smell. Clean and safe. Very short walk from the town centre.

Disliked: The decor of the dining/breakfast room was a little dated. But very nice artwork on all the walls.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable. Helpful staff.

Disliked: No dislikes

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: About 15 minutes walk from station & about 10 minutes from town centre. Beds were comfortable. Plenty of information & brochures about sight seeing & day trips in & around York. Near a supermarket.

Disliked: Bathroom was a bit small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, clean and cosy.

Disliked: Nothing; the floors even seemed heated.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011

Liked: The room was nice and they had free coffee

Disliked: The noice in our room was horrible. We couldn't sleep at all. They should invest in a double window. the room was also really small and we bearly fit with our bags

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: the staff were not available or all that friendly. Not rude really, but didn't make you feel welcomed either.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value and comfortable

Disliked: Lots of road noise early in morning

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable room

Disliked: Showers were a bit variable in temperature, bunk beds creaked a lot in the night, and the key cards often didn't work.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011

Liked: The location was good and the front of the house was nice.

Disliked: The staff was unfriendly. The room was smelly and claustrophobic. We went 100 meters further up the street and got a better deal for 20 pounds per night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city centre

Disliked: The bathroom could have been cleaner


See all York hostels