We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all York hostels

Reviews of Grimston House Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse | Grimson House, Deighton, York, England YO19 6HB

85.3% Overall Rating

6 out of 7 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Wendy Wilson thinks…

"everything, it was located next to the bus stops into york, the people who ran it were very friendly and the service was excellent. Would definately recommend it to other people wanting to stay…"

Read all Grimston House Bed & Breakfast reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to York?

Contact us directly

See other properties in York

Barrington Guest House
47.06 USD

Hostel 89.1% 23 reviews
Knavesmire Manor Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Safestay York
25.97 USD

Hostel 81.4% 4 reviews
Blossoms York Guesthouse
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 68.8% 187 reviews
YHA York
15.97 USD

Hostel 89.1% 82 reviews
Worsley Arms Hotel
72.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Feversham Arms Hotel and Verbens Spa
113.60 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

6 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grimston House Bed & Breakfast'

Atmosphere
97.1%
Location
82.9%
Facilities
74.3%
Cleanliness
88.6%
Staff
85.7%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.6%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Wilson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 April 2014 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: everything, it was located next to the bus stops into york, the people who ran it were very friendly and the service was excellent. Would definately recommend it to other people wanting to stay somewhere easy to find and not far from york. It is also not far from Monks Cross Shopping Centre and york outlet.

Disliked: nothing everything was good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good character. Nice quiet location, short bus ride to York. Very comfortable room, good night sleep. Lovely gardens, staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: no WiFi, no bath in our room, room left unlocked with key in Door by cleaning staff. The guest house requested money upfront, where hostelbookers stated to pay on arrival.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2013

Liked: House was very spacious with extensive, lovingly cared for gardens. A very quiet location with easy connections to the local motorways and a short drive into York. Room was very spacious, with plenty of height all round, despite being an attic room.

Disliked: Significant shortcomings on the cleanliness front. Ensuite bathroom was not thoroughly cleaned and a hand towel left on the shower floor after use (as per instructions to leave dirty towels requiring replacement in bath or shower) was simply re-hung on the towel rack with the remaining clean towels. Two of the in room UHT milk portions contained sour milk and the used cups were rinsed, but not cleaned when the room was made up. The dirty teaspoons were not even rinsed. Reserved breakfast tables were provided for each room and we were the first down for breakfast on the first morning of our stay, so were certainly the first at the table that day. The placemats on the table had toast crumbs scattered around and my wife's placemat had some congealed egg. We were asked on the first day to make a selection from a printed list for breakfast. No option was provided for the second day to vary that choice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely high standard of everything, especially the breakfast - couldn't have been better

Disliked: Access to and from the house and parking could have been better,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is run by a couple who are very friendly and helpful, and is a quaint English house. The rooms were neat and spacious.

Disliked: It was quite a way to walk to anywhere, you needed a car for access.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This B&B had a lovely garden which we had a great view of from our room. The rooms were also spacious, although the ensuite bathroom was tiny.

Disliked: The owners of the property are not overly friendly and do not make you feel welcome.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NORMAN GRACE

01 June 2010 NORMAN would recommend this property

Liked: Just far enough out of town and on a bus route( suggest you do not drive into York). Excellent breakfast and fine pub next door for evening meal and drinks.Hostel Brokers had some new success and welcome.

Disliked: NORMAN left no negative feedback.


See all York hostels