HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Le Papillon Torquay Hostel

18 Vansittart Road, Torquay, England

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 80%

Location 86%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.32USD

Important Information

Please note that online bookings over 5 people are not accepted and subject to cancellation .
Please contact groups dept for further information

Check in times are from 12:30 till 14:00 and 17:30 till 23:00 Unless otherwise agreed with the manager. To make it easier please state your arrival time.

Thanks a lot and have a safe trip.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Torquay?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 80%

Location 86%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 83%

Showing 21-18 of 18 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanliness, security, space in the rooms

Disliked: No free showers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very nice hostel, well worth the money and cheerful friendly owner/staff. Felt very homely wich was a nice touch

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, nice decor and clean. good kitchen facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Super nette Hauswirtin, alles sehr sauber und ordentlich. Sehr nette und unkomplizierte Atmosphäre. Auch die Küche sauber und gut bestückt.

Disliked: Nichts.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am glad that you did enjoy your stay
give my regards to Germany
viele Grüsse Marga

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: - atmosphere- cleanliness- Marga, the owner, was really sympathetic to me and made me feel at home.I would recommend this hostel to whoever is looking for a nice place to stay with more character and charm than the average hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am glad that you did enjoy your stay
You are always welcome
best regards Marga

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very good value for money

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanless

Disliked: Squeaky bed

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing to like!

Disliked: We arrived at the hostel a couple of hours earlier than expected (about 4pm) to find the owner in her nightdress. This should have been our first clue that the hostel is too noisy at night to sleep. She seemed somewhat put out that we didn’t arrive at the exact time we predicted. Our room was small (one set of bunk beds), but it seemed fine – we stay in lots of hostels, so, we are accustomed to basic rooms. You have to put 50p in to use the shower and you don’t get a lot of time – I only have short hair but I had to wash my conditioner off in the sink.We went to bed that night and were awoken at 4am by a football team coming back drunk! The walls are very thin and the fire doors slam very noisily. Why the owner accepted a whole football team in a hostel that has family rooms, I don’t know! The noise continued for well over an hour and it was impossible to sleep.Once the noise subsided at about 5:30am, we were kept awake by sun streaming in through the window, which has no curtains (it’s frosted and looks into another room) and by extremely uncomfortable mattresses.In the morning, we decided we were leaving but we spoke to the owner who persuaded us to stay. She explained that the football team were leaving and promised to swap one of the mattresses for a better one. We agreed to try one more night (we were booked in for four in total).That night we went to bed early (tired from the night before) and were awoken just after 11pm by the owner asking us to pay for our room!!! As we had just been woken up and weren’t thinking straight, we paid for all four nights. Maybe she was worried that we would leave without paying, but we would never have done this – we would have paid for the nights we had stayed. (When we first arrived we hadn’t been to a cash machine and then once we had visited a machine we didn’t see her. Also, we were supposed to be trying the second night before deciding whether it was acceptable or we would be leaving.)Anyway, after having been woken at 11pm with a demand for money, we went back to bed and were awoken again at 3am by drunken people returning from a night out. We don’t have a problem with people enjoying themselves, but the hostel is very compact, the walls are thin and the doors slam shut, so, noise by some guests really affects other guests. The following morning, we decided that staying there was not going to make for a good holiday. We sat down with the hostel owner and explained our concerns. We asked for a refund of the two nights we had not stayed, but there was no negotiation on her part. She stated that we would have to request this via hostelbookers and lied about the hostel being part of a bigger company and the money being ‘sent to the bank’. We requested a receipt for the money paid, but she said this would take some time to organise and she would post it to us (this has not been received). Hostelbookers stated that the contract was between us and the hostel and so weren’t able to get involved in our complaint. I wrote to the owner outlining the reasons why we left and requested a refund for the two unused nights. She replied stating that she would not refund us and offered no compromise whatsoever. I would not recommend this place to anyone!


The property's response is

Wow Naydine you have missed your vocation as a comedy writer I specially like the bit that i open doors to customers at 4 pm in a nightdress !! Why did you not just say that you were put out that we caught you trying to sneak out the next morning after several excuses that you did not have the money on you to pay And just a slight reminder you stayed at the JUBILEE weekend not on a FOOTBALL weekend Nevertheless i do like fairy tales Go for it !

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: great location, modern, clean.

Disliked: nothing to not like

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability