We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Torquay hostels

Reviews of Le Papillon

Hostel | 18 Vansittart Road, Torquay, England TQ2 5BW

91.3% Overall Rating

84 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

"Good for meeting fellow travellers, comfy beds, bright and colouful everywhere, lovely garden"

Read all Le Papillon reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that online bookings over 5 people are not accepted and subject to cancellation . Please contact groups dept for further information Check in times are from 12:30 till 14:00 and 17:30 till 23:00 Unless otherwise agreed with the manager. To make it easier please state your arrival time. Thanks a lot and have a safe trip.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Torquay?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

84 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Le Papillon'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 81 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've stayed here twice now and found Marga very accommodating and helpful. The hostel has a very homely feel to it and is well situated within relatively easy walking distance from the centre of Torquay.

Disliked: We haven't found anything to dislike so far!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly landlady, clean, spacious

Disliked: very small tv room

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frances Place

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2011 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfortable and spacious. We went as a group of 9 staying in the 6 bed and 4 bed private rooms which were well decorated and had comfortable beds and a sink which was useful. We were given a bottle of squash in our rooms which was very kind and the owner is very friendly and helpful and often around if you need her. Not far from town or the station so great value.

Disliked: Some may be put off that you have to use 50p coins for the shower. You put one in and get 8 mins of hot water but you get one each per night and can always put more in if needed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sandra williams

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 sandra would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything. My mum booked it for me and she made a good choice. The location was great with a very nice 10 minute walk to the beach and shops. Accommodation had it all, nice clean rooms, kitchen and dinning area which lead onto the garden plus a TV room. Marga the lady who ran it was really nice and helpful. I would stay there again.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: okay backpackers in common

Disliked: our private room was okay but the matresses were quite old and the kitchen could be held cleaner

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martin Drascher

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Ruhige Lage nicht zu weit vom Strand und Ortskern. Parkplatz vor dem Haus. Terrasse mit kleinem Garten. Inhaberin spricht deutsch.

Disliked: Zimmer war klein und ohne Fenster, Lüftung nur über Ventilator (laut), muffiger Geruch. Kein Frühstück und keine Küchenbenutzung.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is nice, a not so long walk to the beach. It is not right in the action and quiet at night. Plenty of parkingspace. The kitchen is good, bathroom and toilets were very clean.

Disliked: It is a fair walk to the Torquay shopping centre. The toilet doors jammed and were hard to close. This is due to the wood. When we arrived we could not get hold of the landlady. Not by phone or at the property itself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Shears

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for our needs.

Disliked: Everything was fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely secure and clean. Within easy walking distance to the beach (Abbey Sands). The hostess is kind, welcoming, and very accommodating. Nice hot showers. Able to make own meals in the hostel kitchen - cooking equipment provided.

Disliked: If you want to visit Babbacombe or Meadfoot Beach, it is a bit of a hike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best hostels i've visited. safe and secure, very clean and tidy. nice hot showers, big garden to the rear of the property (ideal for a bbq's in the summer.) TV room,dinning room and kitchen facilities are spot on! very good value for money. (if all hostels were of this standard! it would make choosing accomodation a breeze)

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: top class, good location, good facilities, very clean and tidy, safe and secure. i would recommend this hostel 100%

Disliked: there was not anything i disliked about this property

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is quite good and it's conveniently located

Disliked: No creddit cards are accepted and it was really cold, the heating didn't work properly

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Ralph

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 May 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel. Great facilities with a fully equipped kitchen, lounge area with TV and a dining area opening onto the fabulous garden which is very secluded and has lots of seating and a BBQ which, we were told, gets fired up in the summer. (Too cold during our visit unfortunately). It is situated a stones throw from Torre train station which takes you straight into town. The number 12 bus also runs right by the property, this will get you into Torquay town, Paignton, Brixham, Newton Abbott and other places. The hostel is very clean and Marga is a lovely host. Her little daschund Polly is cute and loves having her belly tickled. Don't we all!!! Ring the bell on the outer door to gain access as the inner bell only rings in the lobby. I have nothing negative to say about this hostel :0)

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Annisa Mehler

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2010 Annisa would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, beautiful interior

Disliked: Annisa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean and modern.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great cooking facilites.

Disliked: Despite no mention on the website the hostel is not manned/open all the time. This means that the owner is only there in checkout time which you nominated on the website when booking the accomodation. So if you get there early like us expect a very long wait on the door step.... On arrival you are giving 50p coin for each night stay. This 50p coin is required to be placed in a pay station to get a 7 1/2 minute hot shower. The time is long enough for a shower but if you require extra shower eg after going to the beach it will cost you extra. The mattress in the rooms are very thin and the beds very narrow. While this is not an issue as a bed is a bed for the money you are paying you will be expecting more comfortable bed. This hostel is quite promising, however this few issues make the experience less than perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nettes Hostel, nette Atmophäre, sehr sauber, voll eingerichtete Küche nutzbar, Garten, freundliche Zimmer, Personal freundlich, keine Massenabfertigung, es wird Wert auf den "Wohlfühlfaktor" gelegt..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Mitchell

With a large group / tour

11 July 2010 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: The lady was very friendly and very helpful - could not do enough for us!! The rooms were spotless - the facilities were great and was a lovely hostel. Its about 5 - 10 mins walk to the centre but was absolutely fine.

Disliked: Showers were hot and cold!! Temperature not consistent - but 7 and half mins for 50p was ideal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher tibble

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2010 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it. Great back yard. The house has a lot of light and the owner is very friendly.

Disliked: The property was overall very good. Only thing is that the twin room is a little small and without a window.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Greg Daws

27 June 2010 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi. Self catering facilities are good. No towels, and the infamous 7 minute shower limit is a pain. Unfotunately not everything is cleaned each day and we had to clean the toilets on arrival and empty rubbish bins.

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel i have stayed at. Even when hostel room taken , was allowed to sleep in my campervan and given code for toilets at no charge. Stuart - Brecon Wales.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, clean facilities and good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quiet location but not far from the seafront and the town center of Torquay, most places within walking distance or short taxi ride if you're feeling lazy or bad weather. Friendly staff and nice clean and safe hostel with excellent communal facilities. The only improvement would be that someone should answer the door a bit quicker for arrivals!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise McGrath

01 March 2010 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was the cleanest i .have ever visited definatley 5* very happy. Not to far from the harbour side and night life. Spacious rooms with excellent facilities.

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Tim Andersen

07 February 2010

Liked: Very coldin the winter. No heating in the bathrooms. Heater in the room is turned off between 11 pm and 8 am, so the room is freezing in the morning. I think it is a good hostle during the summer but not in the winter.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.


See all Torquay hostels