HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Le Papillon Torquay Hostel

18 Vansittart Road, Torquay, England

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 80%

Location 86%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.26USD

Important Information

Please note that online bookings over 5 people are not accepted and subject to cancellation .
Please contact groups dept for further information

Check in times are from 12:30 till 14:00 and 17:30 till 23:00 Unless otherwise agreed with the manager. To make it easier please state your arrival time.

Thanks a lot and have a safe trip.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Torquay?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 80%

Location 86%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 83%

Showing 11-16 of 16 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The place really looks lovely. You can see that they put a lot of effort of making it look nice. And it does. The walls in de common room and bedrooms look bright and have a lot of colorful paintings. This makes you feel welcome.

Disliked: You have to pay 50 pence for the shower and get only 8 minutes. Thats a bit anoying. Also it wasn't really busy in the common room, so there were not a lot of people to hang out with. Also here was no lock on the door, that was a bit strange for me.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: This hostel is in a great location and only a 10 minute walk to the seafront. We stayed in the cabin in the garden and it was great to wake up and step straight into the garden for a coffee.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: own clean room

Disliked: limited check-in times

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: This place is FANTASTIC. Great location, helpful staff, cheap, very clean. Great kitchen, lounge/tv area, garden - all because the building itself is a stand alone large detached mansion block with large private car park. If you get the chance book one of the huts in the garden - you will not be disappointed. I really can't fault this place and i have stayed in a lot of hostels.....perhaps a bit quiet for the mega young mega cool groups but for the rest a well kept secret.

Disliked: no shelf to put you shampoo on in the shower!!???

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: We were pleasantly surprised to find we were in our little cabin situated outside of the main house. So cusy, we loved it!

Disliked: 10am checkout after a wedding was unfortunate!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very clean, comfortable and welcoming. Convenient for central Torquay and surrounding area.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: We booked a single room that was supposed to have a double bed but instead was given two wonky bunk beds. Was told by the kooky owner that this was because all the other double bedrooms were taken except we saw 2 other people in the entire buildiing!You have to pay for a shower. Not even a hand towel in the bathroom and towels weren't provided. Heater didn't work. Breakfast not included either although there was a kitchen. Last but certainly not least there was a slight creepy feel about the place. We've stayed in a lot of hostels around the world and while it wasn't the worst it was certainly on the lower end of the spectrum.


The property's response is

Wow that is some feedback !!! sorry that we did not meet up to your expectations - but what can you expect from a kooky owner who has invisible guests in a creepy hostel

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Le Papillon provided good basic facilities bunk beds, toilets/showers, self catering kitchen, communal TV lounge and a car park - all I needed for a a good cheep holiday

Disliked: Some people did not wash up after using the kitchen, but the staff cleared up after them.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello PB i am so glad that you did like our "basic" facilities Your comment about the kitchen is fair but it should be in the hostels favour that staff cleaned the kitchen after some guests did not do it Your dislike should have been with the guests and not the hostel
and also it could not have been that bad as you booked extra days to stay !!
regards Marga

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quirky in a good way and warmly welcomed

Disliked: No hot water in room.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: very clean and good quality furniture

Disliked: make sure you've got 50p for the shower. If you haven't, then the owner can give you some change anyway....the pillows in the beds are too flat...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability