HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Stratford upon Avon Stratford-upon-Avon Hostel

Hemmingford House, Alveston, Warwickshire, CV37 7RG, Stratford-upon-Avon, England

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 75%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.23USD

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via agency for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

From 1st of April our standard breakfast price will increase from £4.99 to £5.25.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stratford-upon-Avon?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 87%

Location 75%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanliness; pleasant garden; good food.

Disliked: No negative comment.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was really nice and the property was really beautiful. It felt very relaxing.

Disliked: The rooms were very small, but this is to be expected at a hostel. It was quite alright.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the individual lamps and chargers at each of the beds and the facilities were generally quite good.

Disliked: Sadly this place lacked any sort of atmosphere. Despite being a YOUTH hostel it was filled with old people and there just wasn't a good vibe. The mattresses were horrible as well... Just a wad of foam with a sheet over it and the worst oldest lumpiest pillows I have ever used and Wifi was only available on the ground floor. It might have been better if I was in a group but as a solo traveller I really didn't enjoy my stay.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The girls on reception were superb, a credit to the organisation. Friendly, knowledgeable, welcoming and genuinely interested in their guests. I had a comfortable nights sleep, was able to leave my bicycle securely and safely outside the hostel, and the washing facilities were clean and modern. Whilst I didn't eat or drink at the hostel, it was nice to know that there was a good breakfast on offer for £5, as well as a variety of affordable evening meals and a full bar. Also available on site were a games room, reading room and a lovely terrace outside which if I'd had a drink at the bar I'd have made use of to enjoy the sun and the garden. A lovely stay and if I needed to stay over in Stratford-Upon-Avon again I'd look no further and book myself into the YHA immediately!

Disliked: My only criticism would be the location, just slightly too far from the town centre. I cycled into and out of the town, and the road is poorly lit. Though it is a safe area it is still not nice travelling in the dark to somewhere you don't know. Also as I left early in the morning before the reception opened, I had to leave my key under the security grill as there was no obvious key drop box for out of hours. I hope the girls on reception got my key back ok when they opened up.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel is in a lovely historic mansion, with lush green gardens.The dorms are clean, with lockers and a sink. The bathrooms are modern and clean. The staff are very friendly.The breakfast was very filling and excellent value. The restaurant looks good.One of the best YHA hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: This hostel is 2 miles out of Stratford centre, but it is a lovely walk to get there - very safe, but may be worth getting a taxi if you have heavy luggage.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff very helpful. Renovation of the facility was incredible.

Disliked: The property was a bit further out of town than I had initially thought.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was our first time staying with the YHA and we are converted! The whole experience was fantastic, on arrival at YHA Stratford On Avon we were so impressed by thelocation, beautiful grounds and impressive building. Staff greated us in a friendly and helpful manner quickly putting us at ease and introducing the YHA ethos. Our room, a family triple with en suite was newly refurbished with great functional facilities and was immaculately clean. The communal facilities were brilliant and the bar and restaurant are highly recommended. It really is the perfect place from which to explore Stratford and great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely and very helpful staff, games room, comfortable bed, great shower, clean room, parking and comfortable facilities. I didn't dine so i can't comment on this.

Disliked: The self service catering room. It smelt, no measuring jug, no paper kitchen towels. I do feel there was people who were staying that had no consideration of others by not cleaning after themselves, especially the microwave. However most people i did come across were lovely.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: LOVELY place. I felt like I was at a swanky hotel. The only real bummer is that they charge for wifi, and it's a bit pricey. But what a gorgeous place. Yeah, it's a bit out of the town center, but it's a nice walk.

Disliked: Staff wasn't particularly helpful, but not rude or anything. The decibel level in the kitchen did get ear-splitting, though, with some undisciplined children.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: they have big kitchen, drying room, and clean shower rooms. If people bring food they can enjoy cooking.

Disliked: Wifi is not free and need to take bus to go to city center.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability