HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Stratford On Avon

Hostel | Hemmingford House, Alveston, Stratford On Avon, England CV37 7RG

87.8% Overall Rating

50 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2014)

Billy Partridge thinks…

"The girls on reception were superb, a credit to the organisation. Friendly, knowledgeable, welcoming and genuinely interested in their guests. I had a comfortable nights sleep, was able to leave my…"

Read all YHA Stratford On Avon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.28

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via agency for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stratford On Avon?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

50 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Stratford On Avon'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Billy Partridge

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Billy would recommend this property

Liked: The girls on reception were superb, a credit to the organisation. Friendly, knowledgeable, welcoming and genuinely interested in their guests. I had a comfortable nights sleep, was able to leave my bicycle securely and safely outside the hostel, and the washing facilities were clean and modern. Whilst I didn't eat or drink at the hostel, it was nice to know that there was a good breakfast on offer for £5, as well as a variety of affordable evening meals and a full bar. Also available on site were a games room, reading room and a lovely terrace outside which if I'd had a drink at the bar I'd have made use of to enjoy the sun and the garden. A lovely stay and if I needed to stay over in Stratford-Upon-Avon again I'd look no further and book myself into the YHA immediately!

Disliked: My only criticism would be the location, just slightly too far from the town centre. I cycled into and out of the town, and the road is poorly lit. Though it is a safe area it is still not nice travelling in the dark to somewhere you don't know. Also as I left early in the morning before the reception opened, I had to leave my key under the security grill as there was no obvious key drop box for out of hours. I hope the girls on reception got my key back ok when they opened up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manish Gandhi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Manish would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a lovely historic mansion, with lush green gardens. The dorms are clean, with lockers and a sink. The bathrooms are modern and clean. The staff are very friendly. The breakfast was very filling and excellent value. The restaurant looks good. One of the best YHA hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: This hostel is 2 miles out of Stratford centre, but it is a lovely walk to get there - very safe, but may be worth getting a taxi if you have heavy luggage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful. Renovation of the facility was incredible.

Disliked: The property was a bit further out of town than I had initially thought.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Ravenhall

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This was our first time staying with the YHA and we are converted! The whole experience was fantastic, on arrival at YHA Stratford On Avon we were so impressed by thelocation, beautiful grounds and impressive building. Staff greated us in a friendly and helpful manner quickly putting us at ease and introducing the YHA ethos. Our room, a family triple with en suite was newly refurbished with great functional facilities and was immaculately clean. The communal facilities were brilliant and the bar and restaurant are highly recommended. It really is the perfect place from which to explore Stratford and great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aileen Kavanagh

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and very helpful staff, games room, comfortable bed, great shower, clean room, parking and comfortable facilities. I didn't dine so i can't comment on this.

Disliked: The self service catering room. It smelt, no measuring jug, no paper kitchen towels. I do feel there was people who were staying that had no consideration of others by not cleaning after themselves, especially the microwave. However most people i did come across were lovely.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOVELY place. I felt like I was at a swanky hotel. The only real bummer is that they charge for wifi, and it's a bit pricey. But what a gorgeous place. Yeah, it's a bit out of the town center, but it's a nice walk.

Disliked: Staff wasn't particularly helpful, but not rude or anything. The decibel level in the kitchen did get ear-splitting, though, with some undisciplined children.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they have big kitchen, drying room, and clean shower rooms. If people bring food they can enjoy cooking.

Disliked: Wifi is not free and need to take bus to go to city center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Landreth

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and up to date in furnishings and facilities.

Disliked: We had a little trouble finding it because we could not find a street or road name or address for the facility.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samantha White

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: the location and breakfast

Disliked: the locks on the door did not work and there was no wi-fi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, clean and friendly place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsten Mahlen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendly staff, fairly close to the station and to the center

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -great building large open areas -large rooms with good personal space -basin inside the room with mirror -close to the bus stop -10 minute walk to small grocers -only 5.50 from town to hostel in taxi -clean and neat rooms -beds were clean

Disliked: -as a single young traveler the atmosphere was very excluding -it was a 40 minute walk out of town and it was 2.70 for a single bus fair & the buses stop at 7.30pm from saturday to thursday -the wifi was only really available in the restaurant -there were only two computers -the prices for wifi were a rip off even more so if you needed a computer -there was no television or anything, so if you wanted a quiet night you literally had to sit alone at the hostel with no one else and no noise/music/anything.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Erna Lise Snoeij

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2012 Erna Lise would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel and the staff are very nice. The rooms are big and the beds are okay. There is a cosy living room for watching tv or playing cards.

Disliked: The hostel is a bit far from the train station. We arrived in the evening and had to take a taxi, but this is even cheaper than the bus. By day the distance is okay to walk to the centre.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Adrienne Carey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2012 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel and grounds, lots of outdoor seating and large rooms

Disliked: It is a 40 minute walk from Stratford upon Avon but the walk is very easy and quite nice I did it several times. Otherwise buses leave from the from of the hostel. The showers weren't great and the Internet was very expensive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely helpful as I arrived after midnight and reception was not open. However they provided me with the code and gave me clear instructions where to find my key and room. It was really helpful, excellent customer service. The hostel was very clean and well- equipped.

Disliked: It is a bit far from centre, I had to catch a taxi.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dorm, 2 spacious lounges. My dorm had the latest YHA bunks which are excellent - solid and plenty of head room!

Disliked: Not much room in the kitchen. Mobile broadband reception was poor because of the thick walls of the building.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mary mason

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 mary would recommend this property

Liked: lovely hostel with very helpful staff - a great place to stay on a visit to Stratford

Disliked: Members kitchen could be better equipped

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a beautiful area; it has everything that one would want in a hostel; it has a really good feeling about it. I was so grateful to go to it after the last hostel I had been at.

Disliked: It's not wildly convenient, but it's really not a bad walk at all--and there is a bus if your luggage is too heavy--though the bus doesn't go too late.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A clean hostel with very helpful staff, breakfast was extra but quite good.

Disliked: Location wasn't the greatest and buses stopped running at around 8pm but a cab was only about 6.50 gbp so with 3 people its cheaper than the bus.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kaylyn bull

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 kaylyn would recommend this property

Liked: It was on a beautiful grounds, and it was very clean. John was awkward and hilarious.

Disliked: I paid for 24 hours of internet service, but was not told that I would be kicked out of the lounge, the only place that I could get service, at 11 pm. It was very difficult to talk to my family overseas, and a big waste of my money. The website also doesn't tell you how far away from Stratford Upon Avon it is, my friend and I ended up walking aimlessly for 40 minutes before we could find it, carrying huge, heavy rucksacks. If we had known it was in a different town, we would have taken the bus and it would have been fine.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location just outside Staratford, spacious rooms, bar, restaurant, breakfast excellent value at £4.95, good facilities, lovely setting, warm (it was snowing when I arrived)

Disliked: showers very difficult to turn on. Instructions re the knack to turn them on would be useful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hazel Davison

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 January 2012 Hazel would recommend this property

Liked: It was great to be able to book a private room for our group and know that we were the only ones to have access to that room and the ensuite shower room. The breakfast in the morning was really good: a selection of fresh fruits, cereals, muesli, toast and jams, as well as a variety of cooked breakfast items (including vegeterian sausages), fruit juices, tea and coffee. For £5 we were really impressed with the buffet!

Disliked: Hazel left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Price was very reasonable for the location.

Disliked: Humming noise in room 7 boys dorm meant that I didn't sleep particularly well. Also beds made really loud creaking noises when turning over.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, good facilities, lots of space in rooms and communal spaces.

Disliked: Nothing, is a little way out of town but this is well described during booking.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tammy Thurland

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Tammy would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. Very welcoming on arrival and helpful if we had any questions. The house is set in a beautiful garden and everything was clean, well presented and just what you'd expect from a YHA

Disliked: The doors between the rooms slam very, very easily!!! This meant that we woken up by some very inconsiderate people at 6.30 in the morning!! Also the floors are quite thin so when people are walking above the rooms it's like a load of elephants!! People just need to stop the doors slamming (very easily done by just holding hand on doors as they close) and be more considerate when walking around. We tried hard to be.