We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Russell Scott Hostels

Hostel | No 28, Brandreth Road, Sheffield, England S6 3JU.

64.6% Overall Rating

58 out of 86 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2015)

"Nice beds, very clean, all day breakfast, close (about 20-25 mins walk) to city centre and good bus service too."

Read all Russell Scott Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.53
  • Towel USD 1.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sheffield?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.6%

Overall Rating

58 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Russell Scott Hostels'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
51.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 82 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice beds, very clean, all day breakfast, close (about 20-25 mins walk) to city centre and good bus service too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Felix Bachnik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2015 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: Beds

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Emily McWilliams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2015

Liked: nice people

Disliked: dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca ryall

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 May 2015 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice kitchen with tea available all day

Disliked: rebecca left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nick Rabbitts

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2015 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, clean and quiet youth hostel. Sleeping was easy in the comfortable beds, and the other folks in the hostel were also pretty darn cool.

Disliked: The location was a bit far out of town. That said, it was easy to find, once I had Google maps, and the helpfulness of a few locals!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cosy and safe feel. The kitchen was lovely; the beds were very comfortable.

Disliked: The location was a bit strange but taxis into the city were cheap so this was not a big deal.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good-value basic accommodation. Unlimited coffee, tea, bread, margarine, jam and cereal included, with no fixed meal times - guests can help themselves at any time. Fittings, facilities and furniture were ageing but very clean. Kitchen equipment also v. clean. Quality soap-dispensers provided in bathrooms. Staff were reasonably efficient but unobtrusive.

Disliked: Security is poor: door-entry code numbers stay the same each day, making it theoretically possible for guests or others to keep returning even after they have left; and I was not asked for proof of identity on arrival. The suburban location is unsalubrious and a little inconvenient - a steep 30-to-40-minute trudge to the city centre - but buses and trams are available. The kitchen is a little small for a communal facility, but fine if only a few people are there at the same time. A few leaflets of local information were available, but these largely concerned the wider region rather than Sheffield city itself.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Monica Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

07 April 2014

Liked: relatively convenient location

Disliked: unclean toilets and bathrooms, dusty corners in rooms, poor sound-proofing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Penny Gilg

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2014

Liked: Quiet area

Disliked: Very little milk. Very few cups. Showers cold and not very powerful.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast provision was good.

Disliked: We had no heating in our room, this was partly solved by the second day. We were given extra bedding. Neither of the electric showers worked properly, one of them was non functioning and the other was dangerous in that the water control in the cold position on the dial could mean scalding hot water. There was plenty of hot water in the taps but only one bathroom had a plug. We didn't expect much but the decor was a bit patchy and there was a wet patch in our bedroom from ceiling to floor. They need to sort out the maintenance of this property.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nigel Marshall

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014

Liked: Not much. The free breakfast was appreciated though. Free WiFi.

Disliked: Location: miles from anywhere; we had to get a taxi from and to the railway station costing £8 each way. We were unsure whether the bed linen were fresh. The kitchen cabinet doors were almost off their hinges. Bedroom window was taped so that it could not be opened. The plug-in air fresheners were not appreciated.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not a lot

Disliked: How far from city centre and the stale smell of cigarette smoke in the passages and toilet

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sandra Klein

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: It made me laugh.

Disliked: Not clean. In the middle of the night, a handyman came to drill open the door to the room next to ours. When we arrived, we weren't let in immediately. No ID checked. Further note: Neither the cab driver dropping us off nor the one picking us up had ever heard of the place.

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Alice Catani

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 October 2013

Liked: well the building itself was good

Disliked: reception was kinda always closed, we had to wait a lot to find someone. location is so bad, far from city center and on top of a hill, kinda lost in the middle of nowhere

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 July 2013

Liked: It was relatively cheap compare to a proper hotel

Disliked: The worst service for check in and check out. They didn't pay any attention to what was missing. We run out of toilet paper and food for the supposely included breakfast

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adrian Tam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Secluded from city, me gusta Very hostel like atmosphere, good service by Jonathan, he was very helpful

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Walton

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Homely.

Disliked: Took a while to get into wifi, but apparently it's because I have an Apple laptop.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bedsheets, just generally secure feeling

Disliked: Paper-thin walls, anyone talking is easily heard from the room nextdoor

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 May 2013

Liked: Was cheap!

Disliked: Wifi was touch and go Room didnt lock Kitchen was very very unclean Floors all creaked Staff didnt care to give me code to room when they fixed the lock bathrooms very unclean

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

debi sheridan

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2013 debi would recommend this property

Liked: although it is tucked away at the top of a steep incline, it is a restfuil and peaceful spot. the house is unbdergoing modifications and the owner is anxioous to please. the hostel is clean buit basic. more bathrooms would be great.

Disliked: debi left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ricardo Augusto Freire Maia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Ricardo Augusto Freire would recommend this property

Liked: Its a little bit far from city center but there is a tram way that leaves you near the hostel besides its difficult to find it!

Disliked: Its a little bit far from city center but there is a tram way that leaves you near the hostel besides its difficult to find it!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 May 2013

Liked: I liked their attempts to add some colour and decor to the property, though it does need more work.

Disliked: I found it not to be very clean, it looked run down, the doors only locked from the inside (I was only staying one night so that might be why I wasn't given a key). The instructions were also really complicated and didn't make much sense, resulting in me getting quite lost at 11pm at night. Apparently I'm not the only one who has found this to be the case.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As predicted, the hostel was very basic and from the outside it could possibly do with a bit of work... BUT, as a group of young lads, we were just looking for somewhere to lay our heads. Its a good location for getting into town by a short taxi journey and we definitely had no worries about safety. The bathroom facilities were also more than adequate for what we needed. We loved how laid back the guys are there and we had a great laugh in the end. TAKE IT FOR WHAT IT IS

Disliked: Getting up the hill is rather tricky in a car.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large kitchen

Disliked: Dont lock the rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest stay in Sheffield, if you're in a hurry. Nice staff.

Disliked: Thin walls and noisy inhabitants at night.