We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YMCA Cornwall Hostel

Hostel | International House, The Orchard, AlvertonStreet Penzance, England TR18 4TE

80.5% Overall Rating

229 out of 270 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

Paul Waddy thinks…

"The room rate, and that an effort was made to accomodate me in rooms that had no other occupants."

Read all YMCA Cornwall Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penzance?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

229 out of 270 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YMCA Cornwall Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 217 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Randolph Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Randolph would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Clean and convenient

Disliked: N/A

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Closeness to town facilities

Disliked: Very noisy at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Grote

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness. Supportive.

Disliked: Some building work was going on in the lounge whilst we were having breakfast. I am sure it is temporary. It had to be done.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tara Fremont

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 August 2014 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the beds, they were comfortable and nice.

Disliked: It was a good 15-20 minute walk from the bus/train station.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kathleen Kraeupl

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom for the whole hallway, which was ok but there were only 3 sinks, which let to some queueing in the morning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mirjam Fuchs

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Mirjam would recommend this property

Liked: The clean and big rooms

Disliked: Smoking area right in front our window... Really bad smell!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was included, that was nice! The showers and toilets were clean.

Disliked: WiFi was only available in the common room and not in the bedroom. The rooms are really small and have only two electric points in a room for 6 people! The common room didn't look really cosy, but they are reconstructing it, so maybe it will become better!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Sharp

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

08 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access, good parking, comfortable room

Disliked: No electrical sockets in room - bit noisy at night (large hostel some guests partying).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Waddy

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The room rate, and that an effort was made to accomodate me in rooms that had no other occupants.

Disliked: The check in time of 1600 hoursnis a bit to late. I haven't encounted this late a check in time ever before.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, room was spacious, shared bathrooms were clean and decent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private twin room, which was basic but clean. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff. For a cheap break, it was okay - I would recommend to people who are not bothered by the drawbacks I list below.

Disliked: Very noisy - the firedoors on each room are set up to slam shut rather than close quietly, and there is no basic soundproofing on the doors, so you can hear everything going on in the corridors and bathroom. Dance classes with loud trance music in the gym next to our room started at an early hour - about 7.30 or 8 a.m. Also note the kitchen does not have an oven - just hobs and a microwave - and you are not allowed to use it after 10 p.m. There are the usual youth hostel showers - a push button you have to keep pressing, and nowhere to keep clothes dry while you shower. Hygiene issues with the men's loos (toilet seat did not stay up). No lockers. Common room was a little alienating, as it's used as a corridor to get to the rooms. You are not allowed to access your room between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom were really clean. Everybody was friendly.

Disliked: The room is small for 6 people, but for this price it is still ok. The Wi-Fi was available only in the communal area. You can't use the USBs on the PCs. There aren't lockers in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Bricknell

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 May 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly and happy staff

Disliked: no power sockets in room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a twin room which was very clean and bright, with spotless fresh linen on beds, 2nd pillow available on request, bathrooms clean and fresh. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hostel not central but is within walking distance to town centre as long as you're not carrying too much, also on good local bus route.

Disliked: Common room was not available on one evening due to a booking for a local youth club. This made it very difficult to find somewhere to eat our evening meal. From conversation with a staff member, this situation will be phased out sometime in the future. Washing machine had to be watched as it tends to shut down at random times throughout the cycle. Receptionist Carol was very apologetic and helpful. They sre aware of problem and hoping to have it sorted soon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chia Tien Tsai

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Chia Tien would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and tidy, even I walk around without wearing my shoes, I still got no dust on my feet. The most amazing thing is the breakfast, I can choose what kind of food and how much I would like to eat.

Disliked: no electric socket power point to recharge my batteries in my room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kevin Moss

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Includes a light Breakfast with your stay.

Disliked: Only thing was a little more expensive then you normally pay for a hostel but did match the price of other hostels in the area & this looks to be by far the best.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

liqiong YANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 liqiong would recommend this property

Liked: it's very good, the staff's advice is so useful to us

Disliked: liqiong left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david brown

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 February 2014 david would recommend this property

Liked: staff was polite and friendly.rooms were good,they provided good kitchen area. only 5 mins from town centre.

Disliked: nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good common room facilities. Breakfast and self service kitchen.

Disliked: One of the showers wasnt working properly. I booked a single room and got a room with a two bunk beds.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: far from station

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Franzen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very small and quiet hostel with relaxing atmosphere. Staff was friendly. Free WiFi.

Disliked: There are gym classes on the same floor. During these times, there is very loud music and shouting in the otherwise quiet hostel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean with pleasant staff and the basic facilities you'd expect.

Disliked: Nothing particularly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything is good, expect the shower.

Disliked: awful shower

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marco Zollinger

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful people, very friendly.

Disliked: The Toilets were not really clean...