We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Ilam

Hostel | Ilam Hall, Ashbourne , Peak District, England DE6 2AZ

92.6% Overall Rating

4 out of 5 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

"Bed sizes were fine and the bedroom was clean. The breakfast, whilst small, was tasty."

Read all YHA Ilam reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the agency for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Peak District?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Ilam'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 5 of 5 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2014

Liked: Bed sizes were fine and the bedroom was clean. The breakfast, whilst small, was tasty.

Disliked: The Wi-Fi cost £5 for 24 hours and did not reach our room. The shower was non-adjustable, very low on the wall (I had to kneel to get it on my head and upper body as I'm over 6" foot) and the stream that came out of the nozzle was tiny. Also, it was on a timer which I had to keep pressing every 15-20 seconds. Finally, I wasn't impressed that the £5 breakfast only included 1 bacon, sausage, egg, and hash brown.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louise iddon

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

16 August 2014 louise would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous building and surroundings. Helpful and informative staff and great location for our visit to Alton Towers. Many thanks :)

Disliked: Nothing. My sister thinks it could have been a haunted building and was a little put off when we arrived at 11 pm at night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old hall in pleasant grounds on the edge of the Peak District You can order evening meal as you arrive Space to dry our muddy boots Helpful friendly staff Caters for singles, groups, families good atmosphere- everyone respects need for quietening down at night

Disliked: Nit-picky thing; noisy dormitory doors....in a large dorm this wakes you up several times a night when someone goes to the loo!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Dale

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Food/Rooms/Location ...

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the house was great

Disliked: internet was expensive