HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Central Backpackers Oxford Hostel

13 Park End Street, Oxford, England

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

NO STAG OR HEN NIGHTS they will be turned away.And your deposit will not be refunded!!

Reception is open from 8AM-11PM ONLY. No arrivals will be accepted outside of these times.

ID required on check-in.
Passport or drivers license.

PLEASE NOTE:
Groups of 5 people or more are not accepted by this hostel through Hostelbookers.com, your booking will be cancelled.

Thanks!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oxford?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 62 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: The receptionists were very helpful, they carried my heavy suitcase upstairs on the day of my arrival and downstairs on my last day (42 stairs ! ). Washing up was done by visitors and checked by the receptionists regularly, which was not common in the hostel I stayed at last year.

Disliked: There should be one more shower.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The beds are awesome

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: How a hostel should be- secure, friendly, comfortable and nice common areas.

Disliked: Unfortunately they cancelled the bbq the night I stayed. Also it can be a little noisy, but no prob if you have ear plugs :)

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very Good!!!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Really nice stuff and warmly atmosphere in the hostel itself.

Disliked: If you have a light sleep take earplugs with you or get them in the hostel. A bar is close and it can be noisy (it didn't disturb me but my roommate)

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was in an excellent location, staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The cigarette smoke from the 'smoking room' often drifted down the hall, concerning for those who don't smoke.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's near to the city centre, they give you free earplugs (what you need for the sound from the bars outside), the bathrooms are good enough. There is a place where you can sit and chill out.

Disliked: 1) I arrived at 2 o'clock at the hostel. I know about the office times till 11am and after 3pm. But the staff member didn't even open the door to put down my luggage. So I had to wait till three in a park nearby. 2) one of the staff members was really wonderful, but the younger staff members where really annoying. The only thing they wanted to do was get drunk and they ignored people who won't do that. Even when the people were sitting next to them. I was lucky that there were two other people who wouldn't get drunk and I had a great time with them, but that was not because of this staff members!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place had a friendly atmosphere and the ppl were kind.

Disliked: Breakfast was not that well rounded as i though it would. Someone like me, who prefers salty food in the morning instead of sweet stuff can get a little disappointed.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location, similar quality to other hostels in Oxford

Disliked: A little expensive, but similar to other hostels in Oxford

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Helpful, kind staff. I really appreciated that there was a ladies dormitory. Met nice people. The three Oxford hostels are very close to another, so it is easy to move from one to another, if one of them does not have enough room for one of the nights you wish to stay. Lots of information about Oxford, presented in interesting and artistic ways. Lots of different places to relax within the hostels. Excellent wifi and internet speed.

Disliked: Across the street from a nightclub but since they wisely supplied earplugs in a bowl on the staircase, this was not a big problem. A small criticism: they charge £1 for using a card at check-in. Since you book online with a card, you might think that they would want to book with a card, but evidently not. Free cash machines are nearby at the train station, for example, but the ATM near the door charges £1.75.Showers were hot early in the morning and cold later. Not a problem on a hot day.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability