HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oxford hostels

Reviews of Athena Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 255 Cowley Road, Oxford, England OX4 1XQ

78.6% Overall Rating

40 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/03/2013)

Erdem Gülova thinks…

"It was really lovely and clean, it is a nice walk to main street and also quiet and peaceful... It was snowing outside but the room was really hot :)"

Read all Athena Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

To secure your room, could you please provide the security code of your credit card. And we will not charge you now, and you can pay the balance with cash, UK debit card, UK cheque when you check in, it is free of charge. However if you pay by credit card (Master card, Visa Card) there is 3% bank charge, if you pay by American Express, there is 4.5% bank charge. And also could you please let us know your arrival time. then we can wait for you. We are looking forward to see you soon. If you wish to make a group booking (6 or more people), could you please call Group booking Team before you book the room through website.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oxford?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oxford

The Ridings Guest House
65.57 USD

Guesthouse 81.2% 7 reviews
All Seasons Guest House
100.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Central Backpackers Oxford
31.94 USD

Hostel 88.2% 743 reviews
Oxford backpackers
30.26 USD

Hostel 76.5% 646 reviews
YHA Oxford
28.58 USD

Hostel 83.5% 258 reviews
The Galaxie Hotel
67.25 USD

Hotel 4 star 72.9% 10 reviews
Heythrop Park Hotel
63.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.5% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.6%

Overall Rating

40 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Athena Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. Nice room. All good!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erdem Gülova

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Erdem would recommend this property

Liked: It was really lovely and clean, it is a nice walk to main street and also quiet and peaceful... It was snowing outside but the room was really hot :)

Disliked: .

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

03 February 2013

Liked: The room was quite nice, and clean.

Disliked: The owner seemed pretty disorganised and didn't speak good English. The hotel (other than the room) was a bit worse for wear.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

24 August 2012

Liked: i do not like it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Begoña Quecedo Iglesias

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Begoña would recommend this property

Liked: Big bedrooms, friendly staff and great breakfast!

Disliked: They did not answer our e-mails and we had to move to the other guest house which was weird, but in exchange we got full breakfast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2012

Liked: Bed was clean and comfortable and the hotel was a short taxi ride from the centre of town.

Disliked: The room was small and bathroom was really tiny.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms. Good job guys.

Disliked: Small chaos during a breakfast.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011

Liked: We left

Disliked: We arrived at 12.30 pm. The dining room had not been cleaned from breakfast. There were no maps available and the ower could not direct us to tourist information. Told our room was 100 metres down the road. It was about 400 m in actuality. A big difference when carrying luggage. And breakfast was only available at the first building. Checkout was at 10 am but our room had not yet been cleaned. There was no emergency evacuation information in the room. The front door to our building had to be shut using the key but most of the other guests did not do this so often the front door was left open and the whole building was insecure. There was no "quiet time" information so other guests were noisy and disruptive at all hours of the night. The owner did not seem to know enough of the local language to conduct his business well. And when we raised concerns he tried to blame problems on hostelbookers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

James Brownsell

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 September 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: It was ideally located for my needs

Disliked: The staff member who greetd us didn't have an exact idea of what it was that I wanted, but we got it worked out in the end.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matteo Scarpellini

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2011 Matteo would recommend this property

Liked: It's 30 minutes from the center, nice to walk to. the price it's reasonable and the free wi-fi connection allow you to plan your daily program day by day

Disliked: Not exactly a great vieux on the back of the building but nothing really important!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Cleanliness - value for money - breakfast - well appointed

Disliked: - A bit dated - Eating area a bit cosy when full - could do with a coat of paint. - a little bit dingey

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Lo Giudice

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 August 2011 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: The homely, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Carlin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was lovely, clean, bountiful supply of biscuits and in a great location!

Disliked: Nothing - We all thought it was very good value for money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a lovely little place to stay, the owners are so nice and helpful and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. the breakfast is also really great! I would for certain stay again!

Disliked: the only thing wrong with this place is it's location. its about a 15-20 walk out of the centre of the city of oxford which is fine its just the area is a bit seedy with drunks and the like in the area so be a bit careful when walking around at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, the staff is very friendly and warm, make us feel that we were back to home. The breakfast was nice, really enjoy it. Very convenient in term of location. I really like this place.

Disliked: No comment on this.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this property because we had the chance to have a living room. that's uncommon in the other hostel. That's was really nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Benjamin Sabanas

Alone

11 November 2010 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: They really paid attention to small details, are very unbeareucratic, and very honest. Their place is on cowley road just opposite the city arms (good pub), with a bus stop right outside the door, I didnt find any other hotel in such a good location for such a good price.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very neat And clean , generous breakfast included . After traveling and camping for. Month it was like an oasis . Would not hesitate to stay here again . Excellent location . Loved it !

Disliked: A little noisy at night because it is located right on Cowley Road .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Johnson

06 June 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: After traveling for a month in N. Europe and staying at a variety of hotels (from awful to awesome) I must say the Athena Guesthouse was my favorite (comfy, clean, good value for $). I stayed for 6 nights. The location is fantastic, it's ~ 20+ minute walk into the city center, and there are loads of lovely restaurants, bars, music venues and shops within a moments walk from Athena and all along the way into town. Janet and Jack the owners are friendly, but not ob/intrustive, breakfast is just fine (and ample!) and the rooms are clean and well stocked with cookies, coffee, hot chocolate, tea and toiletries. Fresh fruit is available for guests throughout the day and despite a fully booked weekend (including a hen party), the guesthouse was peaceful. I will definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was very delicious

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carole Palmer

31 May 2010 Carole would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners , lovely clean and spacious room , good location - Will be back!

Disliked: Carole left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the facilities and cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arnaud Delas

16 May 2010 Arnaud would recommend this property

Liked: very nice people, great service.

Disliked: Arnaud left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Andrew Sokac

09 May 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: No comments

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.


See all Oxford hostels