HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Igloo Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 110 Mansfield Rd, Nottingham, England NG1 3HL

86.9% Overall Rating

261 out of 278 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

Maria Jimena Cobo thinks…

"Everything is super clean and tidy. The kitchen and toilets/showers are great. The beds are comfy and the staff is really helpful. Everything in the building is eco friendly. We recommend it and…"

Read all Igloo Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: Maximum group size is 6. For groups bigger than 6 please contact the reception to secure your booking. The Igloo Hostel and Annexe are quiet premises suitable for the quiet traveller. We do not accept hen/stag or party groups in either of our properties. For group bookings over 6 people, please visit our website or contact our reception team directly. (any bookings made for more than 6 people on HostelBookers will not be honoured and will be considered invalid, which may result in you losing your 10% deposit).” Please note that the property reserve the right to pre-authorise payment 2 days prior to arrival date

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nottingham?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nottingham

Victoria Centre Apartments
75.55 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Midtown Hostel
23.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 292 reviews
The Acorn
35.68 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.3% 24 reviews
The Grantham Hotel
41.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

261 out of 278 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Igloo Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 217 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Jimena Cobo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 April 2014

Liked: Everything is super clean and tidy. The kitchen and toilets/showers are great. The beds are comfy and the staff is really helpful. Everything in the building is eco friendly. We recommend it and we'll definitely go again when we return to Nottingham.

Disliked: If you go by train it's quite far from the station but you can always take a taxi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and new cleanliness.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit cramped

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michelle stanleu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Close to town

Disliked: Needs a sign so people know where to go.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Hutchinson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that I called about our heat not working and that the man at reception found a heater and brought it up to us in the attic.

Disliked: The stairs are extremely small and difficult to get up, I actually fell (flew) down them once because I got to excited but that wouldn't be something that would be easily change maybe should be stated when advertising.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janice Copsey

Alone

Business / conference

14 January 2014 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: In city centre, close to buses and trains.

Disliked: A party of 20 French students over-filled the small kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Stapleton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and cosy. It had nice kitchen facilties, was quite close to the town centre and the staff were very informative and helpful :)

Disliked: You had to knock/ring the door bell to be let in every time you returned to the hostel and there was only one shower on my floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great value for money in terms of the facilities available.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What i liked most is the helpfulness of the staff and their will to help you. Moreover, it is close to the centre and to the Victoria bus station, which is quite relieving when you carry luggage and finally it is very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Silvia Viñallonga Cruzado

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location in a quiet area. I only stayed a night and I could rest well. Not far from city centre.

Disliked: More bathrooms would be welcomed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. Also there is a good effort at energy and resource conservation.

Disliked: Breakfast included would have been nice.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 June 2013

Liked: Nice lounge. Nice Kitchen. Rooms are fine. Lockers work. Showers are okay. Company was fine.

Disliked: I was told in a telephone call prior to my arrival that I had the choice of locking my bike up outside, or leaving it in a luggage room. For a brief 20 minute spell I locked my bike to a low-level window grill, which I thought was a dedicated cycle locking bar. Some thieve(s) decided to remove the bar from the wall in order to steel my £1000+ BMX. I have come to the conclusion that the window grill was fixed to the wall using sub-standard (old) construction methods. It had no real function as a safety feature as it was located on the external face of the wall (security bars should be located internally). It also failed as a pad-lock feature. This theft has basically left me £1000.00 out of pocket. The Igloo Hostel can improve in the following ways: - Update safety features by updating construction methods (window-grill). - Include full CCTV system to increase safety to customers. - Include security lights to the outside of property (motion sensitive). - Include (theft) warning signs. - Include intruder signs. - Join neighbour hood watch scheme (actively promote it as theft deterrent).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tiago Pitchon Sampaio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers are in a separate part of the room. It is good to avoid waiking people up. The price to do the laundry is resonable.

Disliked: You don't have acess to the hostel 24h and you need keys to open your room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great clean rooms with friendly staff

Disliked: NA

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anne Campbell

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: Rooms quite small for 8 people

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 April 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: It's affordable, clean, very nicely located and the facilities are excellent. The staff are all incredibly friendly and welcoming. Should I have required any assistance with anything, I have no doubt whatsoever that they would gladly have done all they could to help.

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference

26 March 2013

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: It was quite disappointing from the picture given and quite expensive for what we got.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No curfew, no restrictions on use of kitchen or lounge, free use of internet, and kitchen always open.

Disliked: The building seemed a little run down and in need of redecoration, stairs were steep and narrow. Not significant if the cost is kept low.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest there

Disliked: Too basic.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ian McCulloch

Alone

Business / conference

25 February 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: The bed was a little uncomfortable, but then again I'm 51, younger visitors would probably think it's fine! The wi-fi is a bit flaky, too.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Titin Miki

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 December 2012 Titin would recommend this property

Liked: It is homely with good kitchen facilities. Staff is very friendly and honest,easy to deal.it is convenient just a few minutes walk to Victoria centre.

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, living room with free TV and computers, lots of suggestions on what to do in town

Disliked: reception is only open until noon, you had to wait for someone to let you into the building as you had no key for the front door

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Burcu Kirmizigul

Alone

City break

12 October 2012 Burcu would recommend this property

Liked: The living room is nice and naturally comfortable nothing extravagant. The staff picked me up from the corner as I could not find the place, if you are going there at night at a horrible weather, make sure you stop at the right corner up hill on the Manfield Road. The property was very clean. I have stayed just over the night and left early so not much to say but it was nice, safe and clean.

Disliked: 6 beds female room could have been a 4 bed room easily. The room is quite small for 6 bed accomodation, I think.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmoshere, good facilities and in easy reach of city centre just 5 mins walking. Oh and good staff (Charlie!!) Highly recommend!!

Disliked: nothing