We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Igloo Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 100 Mansfield Rd, Nottingham, England NG1 3HL

88.7% Overall Rating

279 out of 298 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2015)

Yvonne Cullen thinks…

"I loved the character of the rooms, and although there is no lift, I think that most travellers would be ok with the stairs. The staff are great; and help you find where you need to go. The location…"

Read all Igloo Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: Maximum group size is 5. For groups bigger than 5 please contact the reception to secure your booking. The Igloo Hostel and Annexe are quiet premises suitable for the quiet traveller. We do not accept hen/stag or party groups in either of our properties. For group bookings over 5 people, please visit our website or contact our reception team directly. (any bookings made for more than 5 people on HostelBookers will not be honoured and will be considered invalid, which may result in you losing your 12% deposit).Please note that the property reserve the right to pre-authorise payment 3 days prior to arrival date.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nottingham?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nottingham

Midtown Hostel
27.41 USD

Hostel 90.5% 307 reviews
Igloo Hybrid
24.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Acorn
38.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.3% 24 reviews
The Grantham Hotel
46.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

279 out of 298 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Igloo Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 213 of 237 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justyna Ludewig

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 August 2015 Justyna would recommend this property

Liked: It was really nice to stay there! Everything was just perfect! :D

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvonne Cullen

Alone

Events / festivals

12 August 2015 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the character of the rooms, and although there is no lift, I think that most travellers would be ok with the stairs. The staff are great; and help you find where you need to go. The location is outside the city centre, but is only a short walk from the main music venues Rock City and the Rescue rooms. Moreover there is a great pub just across the road that offers a discount for Igloo residents. As with all hostels, you have to get up early to avoid a queue for the showers, but that wasn't a problem to me. It is also nice to have a kitchen and social area, as not all UK hostels have these facilities. I will definhitely be back.

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Graham Moore

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2015 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel. Had bunk beds for our 4 person private room, which was more than adequate for our needs. Staff were friendly and efficient. Overall, it did the job for our night in Nottingham.

Disliked: Steep stairs to the room may cause problems to some.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and provided a TV. My friends and I were all able to stay in the same room. There was free tea and coffee provided. And we were even provided with a parking space right in the middle of the city!

Disliked: There was some black mould in the bathrooms and the building was dark and cramped.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucia Catalina Silveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2015 Lucia Catalina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very kind, comfortable bed, very nice kitchen and facilities, good location close to the bus station and good shops.

Disliked: Lucia Catalina left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julia Kole

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The self-serve kitchen was clean and tidy and the location was pretty decent.

Disliked: Can't think of anything really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like all the wallpaintings. The people are very nice and helpfull. It is not allowed to park the car in front but there are 3 parking spaces at the back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent living arrangements, Warm comfy beds, Friendly staff.

Disliked: Needs common area that all can use 27/4 I.e Tv room, Bar.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adrian Anger

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Closely located to all the city attractions

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location and decoration

Disliked: Ithe hostal needs a big advise in the street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful!! The laundry service was so fast!

Disliked: Not anything to complain about but it was very hot in the room so had to have the window open all the time so it was pretty noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming,location, price ,cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at their private accommodation site in a two person room and the room was amazing! Been to a lot of hostels and this by far was one of the nicest places I’ve seen. Location was prefect, right next to Victoria Bus Station and only 20 minute walk from the castle. The self-cater kitchen was also a major plus!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Operators have clearly gone to a lot of effort here. Rooms are comfortable, excellent bathrooms, staff very friendly and full of advice. Internet is lightning fast, kitchen is well equipped - these things might not be essential but definitely made Igloo stick out.

Disliked: No complaints at all.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Showers left a bit to be desired.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

H Carter

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 May 2014 H would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: Location and value for money were good.

Disliked: Staff turned up late for check out which had ramifications on day. The room didn't feel clean and beds very creaky which is not great in a bunk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Jimena Cobo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 April 2014

Liked: Everything is super clean and tidy. The kitchen and toilets/showers are great. The beds are comfy and the staff is really helpful. Everything in the building is eco friendly. We recommend it and we'll definitely go again when we return to Nottingham.

Disliked: If you go by train it's quite far from the station but you can always take a taxi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and new cleanliness.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit cramped

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michelle stanleu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Close to town

Disliked: Needs a sign so people know where to go.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Hutchinson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that I called about our heat not working and that the man at reception found a heater and brought it up to us in the attic.

Disliked: The stairs are extremely small and difficult to get up, I actually fell (flew) down them once because I got to excited but that wouldn't be something that would be easily change maybe should be stated when advertising.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janice Copsey

Alone

Business / conference

14 January 2014 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: In city centre, close to buses and trains.

Disliked: A party of 20 French students over-filled the small kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Stapleton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and cosy. It had nice kitchen facilties, was quite close to the town centre and the staff were very informative and helpful :)

Disliked: You had to knock/ring the door bell to be let in every time you returned to the hostel and there was only one shower on my floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great value for money in terms of the facilities available.

Disliked: Nothing!