HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Igloo Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 100 Mansfield Rd, Nottingham, England NG1 3HL

88.0% Overall Rating

269 out of 287 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

"The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful!! The laundry service was so fast!"

Read all Igloo Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: Maximum group size is 5. For groups bigger than 5 please contact the reception to secure your booking. The Igloo Hostel and Annexe are quiet premises suitable for the quiet traveller. We do not accept hen/stag or party groups in either of our properties. For group bookings over 5 people, please visit our website or contact our reception team directly. (any bookings made for more than 5 people on HostelBookers will not be honoured and will be considered invalid, which may result in you losing your 12% deposit).” Please note that the property reserve the right to pre-authorise payment 2 days prior to arrival date

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nottingham?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nottingham

Midtown Hostel
22.70 USD

Hostel 91.5% 298 reviews
The Acorn
35.22 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.3% 24 reviews
The Grantham Hotel
46.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

269 out of 287 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Igloo Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 205 of 226 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adrian Anger

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Closely located to all the city attractions

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location and decoration

Disliked: Ithe hostal needs a big advise in the street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful!! The laundry service was so fast!

Disliked: Not anything to complain about but it was very hot in the room so had to have the window open all the time so it was pretty noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming,location, price ,cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at their private accommodation site in a two person room and the room was amazing! Been to a lot of hostels and this by far was one of the nicest places I’ve seen. Location was prefect, right next to Victoria Bus Station and only 20 minute walk from the castle. The self-cater kitchen was also a major plus!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Operators have clearly gone to a lot of effort here. Rooms are comfortable, excellent bathrooms, staff very friendly and full of advice. Internet is lightning fast, kitchen is well equipped - these things might not be essential but definitely made Igloo stick out.

Disliked: No complaints at all.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Showers left a bit to be desired.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

H Carter

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 May 2014 H would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 May 2014

Liked: Location and value for money were good.

Disliked: Staff turned up late for check out which had ramifications on day. The room didn't feel clean and beds very creaky which is not great in a bunk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Jimena Cobo

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 April 2014

Liked: Everything is super clean and tidy. The kitchen and toilets/showers are great. The beds are comfy and the staff is really helpful. Everything in the building is eco friendly. We recommend it and we'll definitely go again when we return to Nottingham.

Disliked: If you go by train it's quite far from the station but you can always take a taxi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and new cleanliness.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit cramped

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michelle stanleu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Close to town

Disliked: Needs a sign so people know where to go.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Hutchinson

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that I called about our heat not working and that the man at reception found a heater and brought it up to us in the attic.

Disliked: The stairs are extremely small and difficult to get up, I actually fell (flew) down them once because I got to excited but that wouldn't be something that would be easily change maybe should be stated when advertising.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janice Copsey

Alone

Business / conference

14 January 2014 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: In city centre, close to buses and trains.

Disliked: A party of 20 French students over-filled the small kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Stapleton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and cosy. It had nice kitchen facilties, was quite close to the town centre and the staff were very informative and helpful :)

Disliked: You had to knock/ring the door bell to be let in every time you returned to the hostel and there was only one shower on my floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great value for money in terms of the facilities available.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What i liked most is the helpfulness of the staff and their will to help you. Moreover, it is close to the centre and to the Victoria bus station, which is quite relieving when you carry luggage and finally it is very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Silvia Viñallonga Cruzado

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location in a quiet area. I only stayed a night and I could rest well. Not far from city centre.

Disliked: More bathrooms would be welcomed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. Also there is a good effort at energy and resource conservation.

Disliked: Breakfast included would have been nice.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 June 2013

Liked: Nice lounge. Nice Kitchen. Rooms are fine. Lockers work. Showers are okay. Company was fine.

Disliked: I was told in a telephone call prior to my arrival that I had the choice of locking my bike up outside, or leaving it in a luggage room. For a brief 20 minute spell I locked my bike to a low-level window grill, which I thought was a dedicated cycle locking bar. Some thieve(s) decided to remove the bar from the wall in order to steel my £1000+ BMX. I have come to the conclusion that the window grill was fixed to the wall using sub-standard (old) construction methods. It had no real function as a safety feature as it was located on the external face of the wall (security bars should be located internally). It also failed as a pad-lock feature. This theft has basically left me £1000.00 out of pocket. The Igloo Hostel can improve in the following ways: - Update safety features by updating construction methods (window-grill). - Include full CCTV system to increase safety to customers. - Include security lights to the outside of property (motion sensitive). - Include (theft) warning signs. - Include intruder signs. - Join neighbour hood watch scheme (actively promote it as theft deterrent).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tiago Pitchon Sampaio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers are in a separate part of the room. It is good to avoid waiking people up. The price to do the laundry is resonable.

Disliked: You don't have acess to the hostel 24h and you need keys to open your room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great clean rooms with friendly staff

Disliked: NA

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anne Campbell

Alone

Business / conference

21 April 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: Rooms quite small for 8 people

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 April 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: It's affordable, clean, very nicely located and the facilities are excellent. The staff are all incredibly friendly and welcoming. Should I have required any assistance with anything, I have no doubt whatsoever that they would gladly have done all they could to help.

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...