HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Igloo Backpackers Hostel Nottingham Hostel

100 Mansfield Road, Nottingham, England

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.27USD

Important Information

If cancelled or modified up to 3 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged.
If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.

PLEASE NOTE: Maximum group size is 5 for online bookings. For groups bigger than 5, you must contact our reception team directly. Any online bookings made for more than 5 people will be considered invalid. Also… we are quiet premises suitable for the quiet traveller. We do not accept hen/stag or party groups in any of our properties.

Important Payment Info: For all bookings arriving on a Friday or Saturday night, full payment will be charged to the card the booking was made with up to 3 days prior to date of arrival (as this is the only way for us to make sure we are not holding a booking with an invalid card). There is currently no card fee when paying with a UK Debit Card, however we might have to start charging a small charge on payments made with a UK Debit Card at some point in the future. If paying with a Credit Card or a foreign Debit Card, there is a £1 charge on all payments under £40 and a 2.5% charge on all payments of £40 or more. Should you wish for payment to be charged to a different card or split payment over several different cards, then please be sure to contact our reception team with new card details on the number below at least 4 days prior to your arrival date. As a general rule, any booking that is for less than 4 nights and not arriving on a Friday or Saturday night will be ‘pay on arrival’, but we reserve the right to charge payment prior to arrival date – not being able to obtain payment might result in your booking being cancelled.
For any booking of 4 nights or more, a 50% deposit will be charged to the card the booking was made with.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nottingham?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
41+

Liked: It is clean and comfortable and when we were there, quiet.

Disliked: our room - the Nest - was on the top floor and the nearest bathroom/toilet was on the floor below. it would have been good to have a toilet - if not a bathroom - on the same level. the stairways are narrow and a bit claustrophobic.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Fresh place, walking distance to anything important in Nottingham. Simple, but it gives you what you need - hot showers, fresh bathroom and a bed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Having stayed there before it was my no 1 choice mainly for its location near to just about everything in Nottingham

Disliked: Chemical air fresheners.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: It was really nice to stay there! Everything was just perfect! :D

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very clean hostel. Had bunk beds for our 4 person private room, which was more than adequate for our needs. Staff were friendly and efficient. Overall, it did the job for our night in Nottingham.

Disliked: Steep stairs to the room may cause problems to some.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and provided a TV. My friends and I were all able to stay in the same room. There was free tea and coffee provided. And we were even provided with a parking space right in the middle of the city!

Disliked: There was some black mould in the bathrooms and the building was dark and cramped.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I loved the character of the rooms, and although there is no lift, I think that most travellers would be ok with the stairs. The staff are great; and help you find where you need to go. The location is outside the city centre, but is only a short walk from the main music venues Rock City and the Rescue rooms. Moreover there is a great pub just across the road that offers a discount for Igloo residents. As with all hostels, you have to get up early to avoid a queue for the showers, but that wasn't a problem to me. It is also nice to have a kitchen and social area, as not all UK hostels have these facilities. I will definhitely be back.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very kind, comfortable bed, very nice kitchen and facilities, good location close to the bus station and good shops.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The self-serve kitchen was clean and tidy and the location was pretty decent.

Disliked: Can't think of anything really.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really like all the wallpaintings.The people are very nice and helpfull.It is not allowed to park the car in front but there are 3 parking spaces at the back.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability