We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Midtown Hostel

Hostel | 5A Thurland Street, Nottingham, England NG1 3DR

91.4% Overall Rating

242 out of 304 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2015)

"If you need to sleep somewhere in Nottingham that is clean, safe, relax and very well priced. And it's right in the centre of it all"

Read all Midtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 46.12
  • Luggage Room USD 1.54
  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Groups of 4 and above will need to put a deposit or down payment.Please note: Groups of 4 or more from UK should contact us first by phone before booking their places (security requirement.) Failure to do so can result in cancellation of your booking and the deposit will be un-refunded.All groups of four or more people must contact us in advance if they choose to stay in Mid Town Hostel to discuss the need for a safety deposit. All dealings with groups will be done through designated group leader. You can do this via the group booking link on the main page!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nottingham?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nottingham

Igloo Backpackers Hostel
26.13 USD

Hostel 87.7% 292 reviews
The Acorn
38.43 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.3% 24 reviews
The Grantham Hotel
46.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

242 out of 304 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Midtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 211 of 223 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Dawn Beales

Alone

City break

03 February 2011 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly

Disliked: bad signage..had trouble finding the hostel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

JEN HAO LIU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

23 January 2011 JEN HAO would recommend this property

Liked: fine and not too expensive in Nottingham

Disliked: room is quite small and no breakfast...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAVID ERIC TRUSSELL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 DAVID ERIC would recommend this property

Liked: VERY VERY CLEAN AND RELAXED I LOVED EVERYTHINK ABOUT THE PLACE APART FROM THE CERTAIN SHOWERS WAS LUKE WARM OK DET ASAP

Disliked: NOT HAVEING CORRECT TEMPERTURE SHOWERS APART THAT THERE WAS NO DISLIKES OK

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: The heater was switched off halfway through our first night and it was freezing!! Heater in bathroom no working either. Weird neighbours.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, honest, no fuss.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

mylene LEROUX

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 November 2010

Liked: the location is perfect, no curfier, staff very helpfull, good relax ambiance.

Disliked: i dont understand why, i had a reservation in a 6 bedroom dortoir, and the give me a bed in a walkway, betwenn two door. no privaci, no security, no rest. I only stay there for one night, i manage to find somewhere else. And they only have two shower and two toilet for everyone, wich dont seems enough to me...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, functional and good value for money.

Disliked: The mattresses are very uncomfortable and woke uo feeling sore from the extremely prominent springs!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2010

Liked: Great location but that's it.

Disliked: The smell in the room was pretty stale. Was really noisy as they were doing the laundry until 21:30 and our room was right next to the washing machine which sounded like it was going to take off. Kitchen is pretty basic - only a microwave and fridge/freezer. Free tea and coffee but no milk. Internet was ok though we could only get it intermittently in our room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jack Rawcliffe-Foo

Alone

City break

24 October 2010 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Decent price and there were lots of facilities to use in the hostel. Good location for the city centre most attractions.

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

14 September 2010 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very lovely! I really liked the new kitchen and upstairs bathroom.The hostel had a family atmosphere and i felt welcome right away, and being in the centre of Nottingham was convienient.Would recommend.

Disliked: Sebastian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice little hostel, homely. Extremely helpful staff, went out of their way to help me find bus times. Great central location, close to everything and Notts University too. Clean rooms and friendly atmosphere. Recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

WILLIAM King

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2010 WILLIAM would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city centre, and the staff and the other guests were really nice.

Disliked: No cooker in the kitchen, and the television had Sky, but not that many channels.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karolina Lobka

With friends / other travellers

18 August 2010 Karolina would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, and in a perfect location

Disliked: Karolina left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, nice kittchen, friendly staff

Disliked: small room, no breakfast, only two bathrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Owen

21 June 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: As all I wanted was a place to crash after pubs ot was perfect for me as only seconds from town. Staff were helpfull and met some new friends there and at less than £20 a night in city center I thought was great value and will use again.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jie Shi Chun

03 June 2010 Jie Shi would recommend this property

Liked: THANKS FOR THE LOVELY STAY! THE LOCATION IS FANTASTIC, AND THE STAFF EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL.

Disliked: Jie Shi left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CARA SOTO ALONSO

06 April 2010 CARA SOTO would recommend this property

Liked: the hostes are good

Disliked: CARA SOTO left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

28 January 2010

Liked: One of the stuff called nick was nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, very comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Will highly recommend to my friends for the short or long term stay. Thank you very much for the delightful time I had during my short visit. See you again soon !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bertil Bartholdson

24 November 2009 Bertil would recommend this property

Liked: A very cheap accomodation right in the middle of Nottingham city centre.

Disliked: Bertil left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jake Iorwerth

31 October 2009

Liked: enjoyed decent location and great window views front and rearthe rest was not to any hoped standardluckily it did not ruin experience of nottingham

Disliked: Jake left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david grange

26 October 2009 david would recommend this property

Liked: it is very cloce to all you need ,great location,no complaints i will be staying there again.

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were to short for me. (1m 92)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.