HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Midtown Hostel

Hostel | 5A Thurland Street, Nottingham, England NG1 3DR

91.1% Overall Rating

235 out of 296 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/06/2014)

Andrew Addison thinks…

"This hostel had incredibly friendly and helpful staff and a very relaxing atmosphere, which is exactly what I was looking for. Going midweek definitely helped, too. Even still, there are plenty of…"

Read all Midtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.79
  • Luggage Room USD 1.69
  • Towel USD 1.69

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Groups of 4 and above will need to put a deposit or down payment.Please note: Groups of 4 or more from UK should contact us first by phone before booking their places (security requirement.) Failure to do so can result in cancellation of your booking and the deposit will be un-refunded.All groups of four or more people must contact us in advance if they choose to stay in Mid Town Hostel to discuss the need for a safety deposit. All dealings with groups will be done through designated group leader. You can do this via the group booking link on the main page!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nottingham?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nottingham

Igloo Backpackers Hostel
28.78 USD

Hostel 88.0% 285 reviews
The Acorn
35.97 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.3% 24 reviews
The Grantham Hotel
50.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.8% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

235 out of 296 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Midtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 203 of 215 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Szmigielski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very helpful, carried my big suitcase all the way upstairs! very clean hostel, mattress was comfortable. its a small hostel, but was very cosy with a friendly atmosphere. perfect loaction, middle of city centre. wifi signal was perfect (even on the top floor i was skyping).

Disliked: -

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: The location is quite good. The hostel is in the Centre Nottingham.

Disliked: Too expensive. 18 pounds per night during weekend. And the bed was unclean . I saw a lots of leftover of cookies on the bed when I checked in. The staff could not even speak English fluently, which cause some trouble when I tried to check in. The owner of the Hostel seems to have party after midnight until 2 or 3 am, which was so annoying. There were only 2 toilets and 2 bathrooms in the hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds. Good location

Disliked: Staff weren't much help with where to go see and eat

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

22 October 2011

Liked: cleanish

Disliked: Awefull! the receptionist hardly spoke english. He gave us the wrong code to get back in the hostel at night. in the morning the reception sepose to be open but we had to wake him (and his girlfriend) up to get towel thats we payed for. Others people had to check out at the time and he said (just leave the keys at the door) so he could go back te bed. The kithcen was out of tea and coffee and for any futher questions we had to get him out of bed again.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cheap but with a great location and good facilities for such a small place, great value.

Disliked: Not enough bathroom/shower facilities, staff member was not regularly available even when supposed to be.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2011

Liked: Leaving it to go home

Disliked: It's dirty, noisy, the staff are drunks, unorganised, rude and useless. The wifi doesn't work except if you sit on the stairs, and it's poor then, front door is always left open, very hard to find and not enough toilets, showers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, right by everything I needed to get to in Nottingham. The price was definitely right, at £18, and there was no worries about curfews or anything like that. They also didn't charge you extra for bedding, as I know some hostels do, and there was a decent shower available.

Disliked: The staff was helpful enough when he was there. However, he almost got me locked out, because after telling me the access code that morning, he then changed it before I got back that night. Took a long while to get through to him on the telephone. It was also quite noisy that night, making it difficult to sleep, plus the bed visibly shook every time the person in the bottom or lower bunk moved. Then again, you would expect both of those things in a hostel (especially on a Saturday night), as it's a cheap place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely staff, very kind and helpfull. good point is location, smack bang in the city centre, perfect for me. i stayed in a lovely room, i found my stay very comfortable, definitely recommendatory for value for money

Disliked: Nothing, everything was good.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011

Liked: Really good location, 2 minutes from the main square. And the price was good.

Disliked: I didn't like that it had no towels and u had to pay for everything (towels, luggage room, laundry). I paid to use the laundry, i hung my clean clothes and the next day someone from another room used my towel!! I complained to the receptionist and he just said "ok". Moreover, the bathroom and the room were not so clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jussi Päivinen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 August 2011 Jussi would recommend this property

Liked: It was really in the center of the town, and the price was good. Shower that I used was really spacious and good. Beds were comfy.

Disliked: Rooms were little bit small and the door really made a loud cranking noise every time it was opened, not nice during the night if someone comes in. Check-in was pretty strange, seemed like the guy doing it was little out of place. The Wi-fi worked only in the stairwell in front of the check-in room, at least on my phone.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick Bentley

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: location, faclities

Disliked: Entrance was narrow and awkward especially for anygone carrying heavy bags.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely place where you can discovery the city easily. excellent value for money! suitable for teen!

Disliked: nothing...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very centrally located, only a few meters from the market. Also only a few minutes walk from the Bus station. Our room and lounge/kitchen was very clean and comfy.

Disliked: Only a minor thing that the water pressure on the shower was quite low.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susan Silvia Renggli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Susan Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: I've met a lot of interesting and nice people and had a great time there.

Disliked: Nothing..

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: uncomfortable beds and to less bathrooms for too many people

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Main door entrance difficult to find at first. No parking (bikes in our case).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Erickson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The people were amazing, very accommodating and helpful. The location was perfect, easy to get everywhere. It was always very clean, I never felt uncomfortable.

Disliked: My bed was very squeaky haha.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Dawn Beales

Alone

City break

03 February 2011 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly

Disliked: bad signage..had trouble finding the hostel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

JEN HAO LIU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

23 January 2011 JEN HAO would recommend this property

Liked: fine and not too expensive in Nottingham

Disliked: room is quite small and no breakfast...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAVID ERIC TRUSSELL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 DAVID ERIC would recommend this property

Liked: VERY VERY CLEAN AND RELAXED I LOVED EVERYTHINK ABOUT THE PLACE APART FROM THE CERTAIN SHOWERS WAS LUKE WARM OK DET ASAP

Disliked: NOT HAVEING CORRECT TEMPERTURE SHOWERS APART THAT THERE WAS NO DISLIKES OK

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: The heater was switched off halfway through our first night and it was freezing!! Heater in bathroom no working either. Weird neighbours.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, honest, no fuss.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

mylene LEROUX

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 November 2010

Liked: the location is perfect, no curfier, staff very helpfull, good relax ambiance.

Disliked: i dont understand why, i had a reservation in a 6 bedroom dortoir, and the give me a bed in a walkway, betwenn two door. no privaci, no security, no rest. I only stay there for one night, i manage to find somewhere else. And they only have two shower and two toilet for everyone, wich dont seems enough to me...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, functional and good value for money.

Disliked: The mattresses are very uncomfortable and woke uo feeling sore from the extremely prominent springs!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2010

Liked: Great location but that's it.

Disliked: The smell in the room was pretty stale. Was really noisy as they were doing the laundry until 21:30 and our room was right next to the washing machine which sounded like it was going to take off. Kitchen is pretty basic - only a microwave and fridge/freezer. Free tea and coffee but no milk. Internet was ok though we could only get it intermittently in our room.