HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Midtown Hostel

Hostel | 5A Thurland Street, Nottingham, England NG1 3DR

90.1% Overall Rating

231 out of 292 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

Aneta Hawrot thinks…

"The location is second to none. Right in the heart of all the action and stone's throw away from all the attractions, but quiet at the same time. The staff was very helpful and friendly but not in…"

Read all Midtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.41
  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Groups of 4 and above will need to put a deposit or down payment.Please note: Groups of 4 or more from UK should contact us first by phone before booking their places (security requirement.) Failure to do so can result in cancellation of your booking and the deposit will be un-refunded.All groups of four or more people must contact us in advance if they choose to stay in Mid Town Hostel to discuss the need for a safety deposit. All dealings with groups will be done through designated group leader. You can do this via the group booking link on the main page!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nottingham?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nottingham

Victoria Centre Apartments
75.62 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Igloo Backpackers Hostel
26.89 USD

Hostel 86.9% 278 reviews
The Acorn
35.71 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.3% 24 reviews
The Grantham Hotel
50.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

231 out of 292 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Midtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 200 of 211 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Wilkinson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 October 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and welcoming staff, low cost and ideal location. It was also very quiet, despite being in the town centre. Beds were comfy and clean.

Disliked: Nothing, really. The 6-bed dorm room was a bit cramped and there's limited shower and toilet facilities, but we knew this in advance and it wasn't really an issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Personal was really funny and helpful and cool! I really had fun with the other guests!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and home-like property makes it easy to meat stuff and fellow travelers! It's by far not a "sleeping machine" like so many new houses, found around the world recently, but still includes that backpacker atmosphere loved by many. Atmosphere was relaxed and made me fell a home. The hostel is situated close to the city's main square and attractions and only 10 min walking (or 1 tramway stop) from the train station.

Disliked: To get a simple map of Nottingham would be helpful; availability of train timetables from Nottingham (i.e. to Lincoln, Liverpool, London, Norwich via King's Lynn, Peak District Region, Skegness or York) should be a great feature for all guests!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gail White

Alone

Business / conference

27 July 2012 Gail would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, cheap and cheerful

Disliked: Gail left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Valerio Gherardi

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Valerio would recommend this property

Liked: Un ottimo luogo per fare amicizia, parlare una lingua straniera (non solo inglese) o semplicemente rilassarsi un po'.

Disliked: Valerio left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shenjian Wang

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Shenjian would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect!!! The second time there. Made many friends and watched a football game together. The advantage of a small hostel!!! Hope to visit the hostel even after I live in Nottingham

Disliked: None

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. The spare bed is a bed between the dorm and the hall but there was no problem in me moving in to the dorm.

Disliked: Spare bed could be described more so you know what you're getting. The first bed I put my stuff on had bogeys stuck to the fitted sheet so obviously had been changed since the last person slept there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, spacious bathroom, comfortable bed, and location near city centre.

Disliked: There was only a microwave for cooking. Would have been improved by having an oven, or even a hot plate.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniela Uhl

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: central location, friendly staff

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Chloe Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2012 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was friendly and very welcoming, also up for a laugh! Hostel also had really good communal areas and a very well stocked kitchen and nice lounge area with tv and games that wasn't advertised but should be!

Disliked: Lack of bathrooms as there were only 2 loos and the bunk beds could do with being a bit sturdier!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kristina Rapic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 April 2012 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: No complaints, we had a good time. Our room was small but nice, the hostel was clean, good shower and toilet facilities, nice kitchen and living room area, very good location, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ryan Maudlen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 April 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great

Disliked: Only 2 showers / toilets

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luccienne Kutschy

Alone

Romantic getaway

19 March 2012 Luccienne would recommend this property

Liked: It was close in the city

Disliked: Luccienne left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen and free tea and coffee, although it ran out in the morning. the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: the lack of bathrooms and showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Droste

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, cheap, clean, friendly staff eager to make sure I was having a good stay. The lock on my door was broken when I arrived, I told the manager and it was fixed a couple of hours later. Seemed very laid back and relaxed kind of place. Top marks.

Disliked: The wifi was excruciatingly slow at times and often dropped out all together. It was fine during the day though so perhaps it was the increase in users in the evening (though that small increase shouldn't hurt it as much as it did), or perhaps someone was useing all the bandwidth up on torrents. Otherwise no complaints.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly and checked that i was ok with all the arrangements, it was nice and clean (not spotless but cleaner than i expected and certainly cleaner than my room at home!), it was right in the centre of town so everything was close by - very handy, it was suprisingly quiet for a Saturday night and the common areas were very big and nicely furnished. And the best thing of all - it's super cheap! At 12 quid a night it was the cheapest place i found.

Disliked: I booked the 'spare bed', which was basically a bed slotted into the space between a shared room and the main hall way, so people are walking past your bed during the night. I didn't mind this since it was so cheap and i'm a heavy sleeper, but i think it could be made a little clearer as to exactly what the 'spare bed' is as some people may be unpleasantly suprised on arrival - that said, what do expect for 12 pounds?

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient and quiet location, comfy beds, friendly staff.

Disliked: Stinky staircase.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ioannis Gkoumas

Alone

Events / festivals

20 December 2011

Liked: It was very close to city center and the staff of the property offered me to keep my luggage after my check out for a few hours because I had to attend to a ceremony before I leave city and couldn't carry my staff around.

Disliked: Me and a friend of mine had to move from room to room every day for no reason and they didn't have keys for the door of the 2nd room I had to go. They said they were 24h there so I wouldn't need the key to enter my room. I actually wanted it to be able to lock the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, staff was very kind and helpful, the atmospere was very homely. All in all we had a great time there!

Disliked: --

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lolita Maner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Lolita would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable and a pleasant . the hostel has a very homely atmosphere due to it being quite small. the locations is also great as you are in the center of Nottingham. Overall a good stay.

Disliked: a bit cold at times, but blankets provided.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ara Mura

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

28 November 2011 Ara would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfy bed and superb location. I have no complains.

Disliked: -----

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arina Joos

Alone

City break

28 November 2011 Arina would recommend this property

Liked: The location in the centre of Nottingham is perfect! The staff was very friendly, And the mattress was so confy! No complains.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Szmigielski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very helpful, carried my big suitcase all the way upstairs! very clean hostel, mattress was comfortable. its a small hostel, but was very cosy with a friendly atmosphere. perfect loaction, middle of city centre. wifi signal was perfect (even on the top floor i was skyping).

Disliked: -

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: The location is quite good. The hostel is in the Centre Nottingham.

Disliked: Too expensive. 18 pounds per night during weekend. And the bed was unclean . I saw a lots of leftover of cookies on the bed when I checked in. The staff could not even speak English fluently, which cause some trouble when I tried to check in. The owner of the Hostel seems to have party after midnight until 2 or 3 am, which was so annoying. There were only 2 toilets and 2 bathrooms in the hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds. Good location

Disliked: Staff weren't much help with where to go see and eat