HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Newquay International Backpackers Newquay Hostel

69-73 Tower Road, Newquay, Cornwall, Newquay, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 70%

Location 91%

Safety 63%

Staff 81%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • BBQ
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Please note that summertime check-in is from 10AM TO 10PM. Sorry but we do not accept Stag and Hen nights. Please note we do not accept anyone less than 16 years of age, (18 in July & August) and the maximum group size is 8.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Newquay?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 70%

Location 91%

Safety 63%

Staff 81%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: The hostel was really cozy, friendly and helpful staff, like a home away from home.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Informal

Disliked: Noise at night( halloween)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly atomsphere..close to all ammenties..value for money..helpful management..

Disliked: No dislikes

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Fairly good location to Fistral beach, short walk to Newquay town centre.CheapSpace for boards/drying

Disliked: The staff were pretty poor; needed me to tell them how much my booking was when I arrived and didn't really seem interested in showing me around. What's more the 'office hours' are not good; I arrived mid-afternoon and had to wait until 5.00pm to check-in. I then had to wait until after 10am to check-out which is inconvenient when you're inevitably woken early by other guests and the latest check-out time is 10.30am! So essentially you're given no option other than to wait around for them and check-out in a half-hour window.The showers were a bit grim; no locks on some doors or great big gaps in the door even when they were locked.Terrible lock on the doors of the rooms. Almost impossible to lock properly when leaving and even though I did take the effort to try and lock it, other guests didn't, and I can't blame them as it was very annoying to do so. So basically no security.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: None

Disliked: I didn't feel safe at all during my stay because of the atomsphere. And breakfast was very very simple, I definitely recommend other travellers to bring their own food. I don't think this hostel worth the price they ask for.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The people; it is such a friendly and welcoming place with a really happy, relaxed atmosphere. The layout of the building is very homely.

Disliked: The only improvement could be to have a slightly larger toilet room with a sink.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendly people, both hosts and other guests, at the hostel, also the breakfast included in the price.

Disliked: The reception seemed to have no record of my reservation made with Hostelbookers. Fortunately I had printed the reservation details sent to my email, which were accepted as verification. Breakfast served from eight to ten, and reception not opening till ten, seems very late.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's such a great setup for a weekend's surfing. The changing and shower facilities leading to a 5 minute walk down to Fistral, just perfect. The staff are very friendly and chilled out, the other lodgers were all a good crowd and the whole place was clean and well looked after. Thoroughly enjoyed my weekend there. Will be back for the autumn surf as well.

Disliked: Zilch, zip, nothing, nowt, nada!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: It did what it said it would. Reasonably priced bed in an ideal location.

Disliked: Not a lot.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly, informal, helpful. Good to surf, sail n sand folk.

Disliked: Close to beach, cinema, shops, bus station, super market, some parking.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability