HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Newquay hostels

Reviews of Newquay International Backpackers

Hostel | 69 - 71 - 73 Tower Road, Newquay, England TR7 1lX

73.3% Overall Rating

114 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/09/2012)

"- the residents were really friendly, and, shortly after my arrival, asked me to join them on their night out. I enjoyed my stay so much I returned the following weekend! For the price you can't beat what you get- a…"

Read all Newquay International Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that summertime check-in is from 10AM TO 10PM. Sorry but we do not accept Stag and Hen nights. Please note we do not accept anyone less than 16 years of age, (18 in July & August) and the maximum group size is 8.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Newquay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Newquay

Longbeach Hotel
25.17 USD

Hostel 86.6% 25 reviews
Base Surf Lodge
33.56 USD

Hostel 92.2% 7 reviews
Fistral View
36.91 USD

Hostel 92.7% 14 reviews
Kirribilli Guest House
50.34 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 23 reviews
St. Christopher`s Inn - Newquay
19.97 USD

Hostel 85.6% 92 reviews
The Escape Surf School
149.33 USD

Hostel 82.1% 4 reviews
Surfside Stop B & B
55.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 10 reviews
Hotel Sunnyside
32.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.8% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

114 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Newquay International Backpackers'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 116 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gerasimos siliverdis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 gerasimos would recommend this property

Liked: IT IS A UNIQUE PLACE TO STAY BECAUSE THE PEOPLE THAT RUN IT ARE GREAT

Disliked: NOTHING.IT IS THE BEST HOSTEL.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Cancela

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool place full of cool people!

Disliked: Nothing really!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, funny and extravagant

Disliked: The kitchen was messy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bleiwerk Evelyn

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2013 Bleiwerk would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: safety, no door key

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013

Liked: KITCHEN EQUIPEMENTS

Disliked: CLEANLIESS, NO WAY TO LOCK THE BEDROOM, SMALL KITCHEN / DINING AREA CONSIDERING THE NOMBER OF BEDS AVAILABLE

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012

Liked: The hostel is in a pretty convenient location.

Disliked: Fairly ordinarily run hotsel that is in a poor state of repair and lacks cleaniness and atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - the residents were really friendly, and, shortly after my arrival, asked me to join them on their night out. I enjoyed my stay so much I returned the following weekend! For the price you can't beat what you get- a large shower and toilet block, large TV, big film collection, a room to store boards and wetsuits, large kitchen with 2 fridges, several sofas, front and back patios, Alfie the resident dog.... -a safe is available at reception for your valuables, so you can't really complain... - I found all the bedding, sinks and toilets to be clean -The staff (Dave and Lorna) are friendly and helpful and I saw them check residents in even when they were not 'on duty' and reception had closed I would recommend this hostel if you want to meet friendly people, enjoy the surf, no curfews, and laid back atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john ellard

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2012 john would recommend this property

Liked: Room we stayed in was excellent and very clean, staff were laid back and helpful. Would recommend to anyone!

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Paolo Cardillo

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2012 Paolo would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. The bed room was ok

Disliked: No locker in the door. No toilet paper in the toilet and trash bin

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 August 2012

Liked: Location is ok but room are not cleaned... kitchen was very dirty... No room keys or latch from inside so very unsecured. Very costly compare to facilities provided. No dust bin in room. No bathroom or toilet on 2nd floor.

Disliked: Kitchen. Room. Toilets.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pip Huggins

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2012 Pip would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very relaxed and laid back feel, the place was clean and pretty well maintained. Great store room for surf gear and hot showers, you could leave your board and wetsuit etc. and it would be safe...had no problems with leaving possessions there even though there were no locks or keys. Good location being equal distance between Fistral and the town beaches. Staff were helpful. And comfy mattresses!

Disliked: Even though it turned out to be fine leaving our belongings in the hostel though there weren't locks to the doors, it would have been good to have had lockers to put things in.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joel Ali

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: very laid back

Disliked: lots of things were broken and out of order

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

02 July 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: The used condom hanging from underneath the top bunk in our room/ general cleanliness

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rebecca Howells

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 June 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and enough facilities for all

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Nock

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The accomodation is in an ideal location near the fistral beach end of town 2mins to red lion pub and 5mins to main central nightlife. The people are really friendly and its a great laid back atmosphere. Suit Yonger travelers into surfing and partying. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Trying to rember the code for the front door at 5am after a night in Walk about club.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibes

Disliked: N/a

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2012

Liked: we were in a refurbished room which was fine

Disliked: the kitchen was dirty and cluttered. No one appeared to clean up after themselves. You had to cue for the shower and toilet, which was also dirty and cluttered with wetsuits, coffee cups etc.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jordan Meiers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nice, a lot like staying at a friend's. Surf atmosphere, friendly staff :)

Disliked: Occasional wait for the bathroom, as they were doing renovations. No locks on the dorm doors, but felt safe enough

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

reece strawbridge

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: See Above

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher dolphy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: good friendly laid back staff

Disliked: no locks on the doors of the rooms

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2011

Liked: Its reasonably central, the staff (when you can find them) are friendly, helpful and laid back. The board store and shower area is useful for surfers with their own gear. Although there were no locks on the door I felt that my stuff was pretty safe at the hostel, and they also gave me my own room as they were quite empty at the time, which was handy.

Disliked: I really think this hostel oversells itself. In all fairness it is a budget hostel and you get what you pay for, but there are a number of things that I just felt weren't quite as they'd been portrayed in the advert and by other reviewers, and that it probably would have been worth paying an extra few quid a night to go somewhere else. Whilst all the facilities they mention in the description are there, the hostel isn't particularly comfortable - the lights in the showers are turned off during the day, the sauna wasn't on when I was there, there's no hot water from the sink taps in the rooms at certain times, there are REALLY creaky beds and a number of things at the hostel just generally weren't well maintained (such as the big hole in the roof in the room I was in and the bathroom window which wouldn't shut). As for the social vibe that everyone's mentioned, I have to be honest and say that I didn't particularly feel it. In all fairness to the guys at the hostel it was out of season so it was quite empty and the staff and long termers were friendly enough. However, that was about the extent of it. The long termers monopolise the living room throughout the day, and the majority of people seem to be quite happy just staring at the TV for most of it. I'm sure in the summer things are probably better in the summer, but personally I wouldn't recommend letting the social side be the main factor in whether you decide to stay here. And as I said above, if you look past that, there are a number of other hostels and B&B's in Newquay that would probably provide better accommodation for around the same price.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2011

Liked: It was close to the beach and central town

Disliked: Poorly run, and the workers were highly unprofessional.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were very friendly and it had a homely feel the location was also good. Beds were comfy.

Disliked: There were no lockers or keys to the room and random people often just walked into the house. The bathrooms were not very clean and my room needed a vacuum (there were toenail clippings on the floor)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff

Disliked: creaky beds, and no loo paper :S


See all Newquay hostels