HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Once Brewed

Hostel | Military Road, Northumberland, Newcastle Upon Tyne, England NE47 7AN

86.3% Overall Rating

8 out of 10 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2013)

Vincent MENARD thinks…

"Near the Hadrian's Wall. When you know how to go from Newcastle, it is really simple. Nice people. A pub just near."

Read all YHA Once Brewed reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Restaurant
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.46

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Newcastle Upon Tyne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Newcastle Upon Tyne

Hadrians Barn
169.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Horton Grange
50.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Metro Inn Newcastle
11.20 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.9% 9 reviews
Newcastle Rooms
20.36 USD

Guesthouse 67.9% 68 reviews
Bentleys
33.93 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 44 reviews
Grainger Hotel
23.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 61 reviews
The Brighton
33.93 USD

Hostel 77.8% 58 reviews
Eshott Hall
151.82 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

8 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Once Brewed'

Atmosphere
82.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
86.0%
Cleanliness
86.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
82.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 10 reviews
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Janet Zerfahs

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014

Liked: It's near a nice pub so you can leave in the evening.

Disliked: It's dirty, bathrooms mouldy and inadequate and bar prices are over inflated. Disappointed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014

Liked: The hostel is well situated to visit Hadrian's Wall on foot.

Disliked: The hostel is locked and reception is closed before their check-in time; so if you show up before 4:00 PM you will be left waiting in the rain outside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ASHLEY Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 ASHLEY would recommend this property

Liked: Location to the wall.

Disliked: ASHLEY left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Vincent MENARD

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2013 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Near the Hadrian's Wall. When you know how to go from Newcastle, it is really simple. Nice people. A pub just near.

Disliked: /

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were welcoming and helpful. They prepared nutritious wholesome food for our group which all enjoyed.

Disliked: The showers struggled but we remained clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Rioux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely amazing!! Especially Steve! I had missed the first night I booked there because of snow/delayed flights/buses. They were really nice about it and didn't charge me for it. When I finally managed to arrive, it was during the afternoon when the office is closed but Steve opened up the office to check me in anyway...and took the time to show me around and recommend a great hiking route. He was super friendly and welcoming. They had had issues with the heating before I arrived but still provided portable heaters even though the heating was fixed. The hostel location is a bit out of the way and remote..but it's right next to an amazing part Hadrian's Wall The food was great too. Awesome experience and I would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: The local buses weren't running so I had to walk 2 miles uphill with my luggage..luckily I packed light and the scenery was beautiful. Check schedules ahead of time :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastically hot showers after a day walking around in freezing temperatures. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Only a short walk to the pub. Scenic location, 20 minutes walk from Roman ruins.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Felipe Marques Navarro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Luiz Felipe Marques would recommend this property

Liked: They have a really nice standard and the landscape there its beautiful.

Disliked: Its really dificult to find it, the adress its confusing. IF YOU ARE NOT ENGLISH, BE AWARE HOW TO GET THERE! I took a taxi and even the taxi driver couldnt find it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, self catering equipment well stocked. Food provided if reqiured. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location excellent. Room was spacious, had wardrobe for clothes and chairs and table in. Good drying room. Would certainly recommend. Excellent hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.