HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Euro Hostel Newcastle

Hostel | 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle Upon Tyne, England NE1 6UQ

85.1% Overall Rating

134 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"Generally really friendly reception staff. More like a hotel than a hostel in many ways."

Read all Euro Hostel Newcastle reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.70
  • Breakfast USD 6.79
  • Towel USD 3.40

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Bookings of 6 or more people, must be confirmed with the property before booking. Failure to do so can result in your booking being cancelled and your deposit lost. Please contact the agency before making your reservation. Cancellation policy for standard booking: 15:00 the day before arrival

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Newcastle Upon Tyne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Newcastle Upon Tyne

Student Castle Newcastle
76.41 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Whites Hotel
32.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.6% 8 reviews
The Brighton
33.96 USD

Hostel 77.8% 58 reviews
Grainger Hotel
23.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 61 reviews
Bentleys
33.96 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 44 reviews
Newcastle Rooms
20.38 USD

Guesthouse 67.5% 67 reviews
Metro Inn Newcastle
11.21 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.9% 9 reviews
Horton Grange
50.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

134 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Euro Hostel Newcastle'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 138 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and central

Disliked: Noisy people in the early morning

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like a hotel. Had a tv in the room and an ensuite bathroom.

Disliked: The shower didn't have a curtain, the food at the bar was average, breakfast was okay for 4 pounds.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julie Charlton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: the showers were very small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kwang Siong Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Kwang Siong would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere maybe

Disliked: Toilet cleanliness can be improved

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Rowland

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 April 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and cheap beds made for a fantastic stay nice bar too

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Generally really friendly reception staff. More like a hotel than a hostel in many ways.

Disliked: Kitchen could be better if they actually had knives that cut and cups... it is otherwise a great kitchen, just missing some basics. Also rooms need a little more attention to detail with the cleaning.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to check in and out

Disliked: The plates at breakfast were dirty and smelly and the food was cold. Had to ask for a refund.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for single room stay. Staff and cleaners are nice. Most of all, I love Geordieland (in some way..

Disliked: Heaters are too warm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tracy Rankin

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 February 2014 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient, safe and value for money.

Disliked: Tracy left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar was good when open

Disliked: Kitchen and bar were not available on Saturday and Sunday due to function

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very centrally located. It was clean and the facilities were good, if lacking in a bit of character. It felt more like a hotel.

Disliked: The hostel lacked character. It had very much a hotel feel about it. The set up and facilities didn't encourage people to come together or interact, which is what hostels are all about for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People there are really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sandra Klein

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff. Breakfast was nice.

Disliked: Our room (one of very few rooms without a window) was very hot so we had a fan running all night. Also, had booked a double but were put in a twin room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt tyrie

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 matt would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel location in the city, Fantastic Breakfast and restaurant, clean rooms and friendly helpful staff service.

Disliked: I had no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a value service, good staff, clean and include a really good breakfast

Disliked: none

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very secure and the location is great.

Disliked: It was a bit dirty. You have to pay to leave your bag. It's a really noisy neighbourhood.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivian Sureshkumar

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 September 2013 Vivian would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, well serviced.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff on arrival and great central location with great value for money.

Disliked: The breakfast could have been more exciting.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Reza Zandian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013 Reza would recommend this property

Liked: It was secured (key-cards, cages below the bed and luggage rooms), good breakfast with variety showers and bathroom in the room and friendly and helpful staffs. Internet was also free and with good speed but not strong in the room.

Disliked: It was a bit dusty in the rooms as I guess nobody vacum-clean it but the bed linen were clean. they also charge for the luggage storage (1£ for each bag) and other things.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the private room for 4 pp was very neat clean and modern. We had own restroom which was really convenient. Really value for money.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and facilities were great.

Disliked: I stayed mid week, and there wasn't much of an atmosphere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dirk Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: Nice beds and convenient large lockers under the beds! The morning breakfast was more than you can expect in most places with a large assortment of preserves, yogurt and some sweet buns as well as the usual toast, cereal, juice and hot beverages. The staff are very friendly and have useful unbiased maps.

Disliked: The bathrooms are tiny and I felt like I could shower whilst on the toilet (you probably could). The need to put your card into a slot to work the lights is troublesome even though its probably energy efficient. Location is a bit random and.at a bit of a back end.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2013

Liked: Relatively close to the station, nice bar/restaurant area, WIFI, 24 hr reception.

Disliked: We booked a double room initially, but for some reason we were given a "twin" room, which was actually a 4 bed dorm room, so we were expected to sleep on single bunk beds. Aside from the fact we'd obviously booked a double, not a twin, it was not clear at the time of booking that the rooms were actually just dorm rooms that we had privately booked, and this was not explained at the front desk. We were not shifted to a double room initially, but when we realised the room we had been given had no windows, and therefore on a warm evening had no air flow whatsoever and was very claustrophobic, we asked to be moved. We were eventually shown a room which had a double bed and windows. Why were were not put in this nicer room intially, I don't know, as the hostel seemed empty. It was midnight when we arrived, and it would've been better if our time had not been wasted and we'd been given what we'd paid for without having to go through the rigmarole of complaining.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was very central in new-castle

Disliked: reception did not know if we have to pay for parking our motor-bikes in front of the hostel on the motor-cycle place