HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Newcastle Rooms

Guesthouse | Benwell lane, benwell, Newcastle Upon Tyne, England NE15 6RU

68.9% Overall Rating

41 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/03/2014)

tracey cattell thinks…

"I stay at this place a lot now when I visit Newcastle and have always found tje staff friendly and efficent"

Read all Newcastle Rooms reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Newcastle Upon Tyne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Newcastle Upon Tyne

Bentleys
33.62 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 44 reviews
Grainger Hotel
30.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 58 reviews
The Brighton
33.62 USD

Hostel 77.8% 58 reviews
Metro Inn Newcastle
11.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.9% 9 reviews
Euro Hostel Newcastle
18.49 USD

Hostel 83.3% 140 reviews
Whites Hotel
30.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.6% 8 reviews
Horton Grange
50.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hadrians Barn
168.12 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.9%

Overall Rating

41 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Newcastle Rooms'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
71.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrius Jasaitis

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 April 2014 Andrius would recommend this property

Liked: good value

Disliked: very noisy neighbours till midnight

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tracey cattell

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

06 March 2014 tracey would recommend this property

Liked: I stay at this place a lot now when I visit Newcastle and have always found tje staff friendly and efficent

Disliked: tracey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money,quiet location,spacious building,complementry breakfast.tea/coffee in rooms,warm building with character.

Disliked: none.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 December 2013

Liked: Room was warm. Free wifi

Disliked: My door being opened by staff at 2 am

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Trevor Payne

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, low key location and secure with off street parking

Disliked: Difficult to see the Roselodge name from the road when you are driving past. Newcastle rooms is easy to spot but the name on the website is Rose lodge and that is what I was looking for

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASHLEY Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 ASHLEY would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a room that was for two people and costs 9 pound each a night. The room was massive with a double bed and a single bed! Such good value, and this included breakfast! Now, the free breakfasts make you think its going to be the stock standard stuff (cereal etc) and it is...but its laid out real nice with croisants, tonnes and tonnes of juice, bread etc! Real good value and if Im ever in Newcastle again 100% staying here!

Disliked: Was excellent!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very reasonable place to stay and get some breakfast. Bus stop right outside the front door.

Disliked: The room was poorly ventilated and became hot very quickly. There was a window, but this opened overlooking the main entrance (which made it difficult to have any privacy).

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

PETER MALONE

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 April 2013

Liked: Nothing except reasonably cheap. Otherwise it was horrendous. Made faulty towers look like a 6 star resort.

Disliked: In a run down area. Miles away from the centre. Service terrible. Rooms horrible. Unclean, old, damp feel. And on the way out the staff asked us to confirm we didn't break anything in the room. Terrible

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

michelle straughan

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 April 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything. It is filthy. 1 guest woke up covered in bites!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nijem Huge

Alone

Business / conference

15 January 2013 Nijem would recommend this property

Liked: Ver nice building... and staff are very friendly...

Disliked: I like it... most a part from the... some people made noise...at late night

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is an old building that's been renovated. It's full of character, through the maze-like corridors. The rooms are also very nice, with attic-like beams pointing upwards.

Disliked: The whole affair was a bit grubby. the fitted carpets compensated a little bit for the cold. Also, the location is terrible. You need around £6-8 to get to the city centre, or wherever there's something worth seeing.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 November 2012

Liked: Absolutely nothing!

Disliked: Everything! It was dirty, unhygienic, had a horrid smell, was in a bad area, the toilets were disgusting! I could go on and on!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As required

Disliked: Bathrooms seem limited - fine in off season

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Steph Scanlon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 October 2012 Steph would recommend this property

Liked: It was a simple room for a good price, location was ok but not great to getin to the town was a £6 cab, the cab service they use are brilliant!

Disliked: The bathrooms where a bit out dated and seemed a little grubby.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

michelle graham

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2012

Liked: nothing, we had a very bad experience here.

Disliked: The noise coming from other guests was disgraceful, shouting, screaming and running round hotel until 5am. My pregnant partner and I had roughly 2 hours sleep.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2012

Liked: Reasonable breakfast included in the price.

Disliked: As far as I could see, the only socket was behind the bed, which meant balancing the kettle base on the bed (very short cable). Didn't bother trying the TV. Taxi driver took me to Rooms Inn. A change of name seems to have caused confusion locally.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

James Hutchison

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 July 2012

Liked: N/A

Disliked: The rooms, the communal facilities, it's felt like being in a run down care home.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: see below...

Disliked: The private rooms do not have it's own toilette. Expect noise when the drunks come in between 0200-0500. The parking is very limited for the occupancy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient

Disliked: Due to the hotels reasonable prices it attracts too many young party goers! Didnt sleep at all! Noise,music,alarms being set off,swearing ,running! Do you get the picture? The police were called but it was too late in the morning when youve been awake all night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good accommodation. very cheap price. will definite stay again.

Disliked: everything was good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and lots of character to this atmospheric hotel.

Disliked: Poor breakfast did not try any other meals

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lorna Ross

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2011 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic Value for money. First time we have come across half board included in price.

Disliked: Should state that evening meals were (apart from 1) all Indian food. We had a 5 year old with us so both nights she had soup. If we were staying longer I would like to have seen other basic meals on menu. Rooms were a bit run down but suited the purpose and the cost.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not centrally located but the bus stop is literally right outside the front door. (When you see the LIDL press the bell). This is the first time I have come across half board in my 9 months of travel. Toast, cereal and coffee for breakfast and 2 course Indian meal at night. The kitchen was built to run a restaraunt so it is very well equipped.

Disliked: This place is essentially a hotel so during our stay it was hit and miss with meeting other travellers. They have a nice big common area with a big screen TV to encourage interaction between guests. We felt safe during our stay but it would not be the area I would walk alone in at night. Beds could be more comfortable but you do get what you pay for.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michael Crosby

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 October 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms/beds

Disliked: Bit out of town