We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ashton House Hostel

Hostel | 196 Corporation Street, Manchester, England M4 4DU

69.3% Overall Rating

70 out of 94 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/08/2014)

"the location, its really in the city centre the price, it was really cheap the service: friendly people"

Read all Ashton House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Photographic ID is required to check in. Customers may cancel their reservation anytime up 12pm 1 day prior to the day of arrival. For cancellations made outside this period or in the case of no shows, the first night’s stay will be charged. Deposits paid to HostelBookers are non-refundable. Bookings for large parties will be called for pre-payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manchester?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Manchester

Hatters at Hilton Chambers
21.10 USD

Hostel 87.7% 780 reviews
Hatters on Newton Street
19.47 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1255 reviews
My-Places Skyline Apartments Manchester
108.18 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
My-Places Elizabeth Street Townhouse Manchester
81.14 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Weston Hall
56.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 34 reviews
Stay Inn Hotel
40.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 62 reviews
My-Places Abbotsfield Court Townhouses Manchester
97.37 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
YHA Manchester
17.85 USD

Hostel 84.1% 328 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.3%

Overall Rating

70 out of 94 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashton House Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
72.8%
Value
70.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 93 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

todd hunter

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 September 2014

Liked: City centre location

Disliked: The alarms going off all the time. All three nights I booked the alarms kept going off. I had even paid for Friday night but I have cancelled as I do not want to stay here

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Randolph Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Randolph would recommend this property

Liked: location and atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Chi Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014

Liked: Little to be liked, though I did appreciate use of a microwave.

Disliked: Utter failure of a service institution. As a backpacker, the only thing I request when seeking accommodation is a decent room to head back to after a long day out. For Ashton, this requirement was much too high of a standard. We stayed 2 nights in this hole, both times, locked out after midnight because our keycards failed to let us into our already paid for rooms. No one at the front desk was there to assist. The cleaning woman did not have the authority to help. There was one 'emergency' number listed, which we called for an undetermined period (let's just say in that time, my scalding bowl of soup withered into an unrecognizable frigid clump) until finally a woman came non-chalently, took a second to beep our cards, and claimed that 'this type of stuff happens all the time'. Boy, were we thankful that we weren't the only ones who had suffered from complete incompetency. That fact really eased our discomfort. Anyway, at that point we abandoned plan B, which involved sleeping on the street. Skip ahead to us getting into our room. It appears the heater that had been attached to the wall facing the hall was broken and had fallen to the ground. Were we broken into? It sure looked that way. Quickly we call out to 'emergency' lady to request an explanation. This, apparently, had offended her for she became instantly defensive and 'guaranteed' us no one had been in our room. I understood this to be the same type of 'guarantee' that Ashton initially made when we first paid for our stay and they had 'guaranteed' we would actually have access to our rooms. I call bullshit. As for the cherry on top, let me add that unless you particularly enjoy showering in see-thru, transparent hubs where you and your neighbours are free to gawk at each others' naked selves, then this might not be the place for you. Again, that's just a cautionary note because personally, I did not mind that bit, at least, I did not mind it as much as I did mind the fact that the lighting system in said washrooms were auto-sensored. Poor choice. Imagine taking an open shower with your stranger neighbours in the early AMs after a night out and suddenly having all the lights cut out, because the sensor couldnt detect motion in the showers. You're left standing in pitch darkness not knowing who would really get shanked first. Some people enjoy such a game of shower roulette, but again, it wasn't for me. So be warned. When you pay to stay here 1) there is a chance you will never be able to access your own room 2) you probably won't want to use the showers, at least at night, unless you are a bat, or use sonar and/or echolocation.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014

Liked: the location, its really in the city centre the price, it was really cheap the service: friendly people

Disliked: the rooms were not clean, very small, there were no windows, so no clean air and no daylight. also the showers and bathrooms were not really clean as well

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: some staffs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rute Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Rute would recommend this property

Liked: showers

Disliked: Staff are not polite and not really helpfull

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gregory Lyford

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 July 2014 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, good price, welcoming environment

Disliked: Pillows were a little bit on the budget side.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Randolph Reynolds

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Randolph would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: no stove

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Oche Joshua Otalu

Alone

City break

02 June 2014

Liked: The location. The staff are friendly.

Disliked: The room is very cold and has no light.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jade Agius

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: Asthon House is located near the shopping centre, near the bus station and also not far from Eithad Stadium. The staff members are extremely helpful and very polite. I am very satisfied with the service provided and I would totally recommend anyone to visit this hostel. It would be the ideal place to stay if you ould like to visit places in Manchester, it's in the perfect spot for that. Also if you have to attend an event at Etihad Stadium, I would recommend you stay at this hostel as it is the closest hostel to the stadium, it only takes 5 minutes to arrive there by car.

Disliked: The only thing I did not like about Asthon House was the fact that there was not a private bathroom available so we had to use a shared bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 May 2014

Liked: Price

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms, shower not working Well. Difficult to find.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fabricio Claudino

Alone

Events / festivals

25 May 2014 Fabricio would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly !

Disliked: I could not take a shower properly cos almost all the showers were broke, my room was beside the kitchen and the whole night some girls speaking and laughing laud and then a couple of guys joined them, it was awful! The check-in at 3 pm is too late and not necessary because the check-out its at 11am, they could open for check-in earlier!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Murray

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city centre. Not bad parking and really nice staff.

Disliked: Squeaky bedroom door.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapst place to stay in manchester so okay for 2 nights

Disliked: No cooker a bit like a instituition no natural light if staying downstairs

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 April 2014

Liked: The staff at the front desk were helpful.

Disliked: If a hostel's USP is that it has massage showers, you know it hasn't quite worked out what a hostel should be like... Zero character, which makes one less likely to forgive the fact that it was noisy (the 28 bed dorm surprisingly quiet, however there were doorways leading off it to the kitchen, which was the only social space I noticed, and the showers, which are quite loud if you use the radio...

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Wilson

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 April 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Availability of secluded beds. Good value for money.

Disliked: Only criticism is that the door to the dorm does not automatically swing shut and is therefore constantly left open. This is clearly a security issue that needs fixing.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerardo Daniel Martinez Portillo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Gerardo Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: its nice

Disliked: The bathrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the centre!

Disliked: Lack of space in the room!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ellen Armstrong

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap,clean, helpful staff who let us check in early on a very rainy day. fast free wifi.

Disliked: Very noisy but not the hotels fault and it was Saturday night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good budget hostel. Basic, but everything you need.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is close to the bus station and train and tram stops so easy to get around.

Disliked: It seemed a little impersonal and not entirely welcoming.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Cottrell

Alone

Events / festivals

23 February 2014 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Only a one night stay, but everything you would expect from a good hostel. Clean, efficient, Nice hot showers (always a plus) and excellent location.

Disliked: The dorm I was in stretches back to the kitchen and is only separated by an emergency exit. Late comers to the kitchen obviously didn't realise this and it got a bit loud. Maybe a sign?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luke Spanton

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 February 2014

Liked: Notwithstanding the incorrect information about wheelchair accessibility, the hostel is a cheap, central place to stay.

Disliked: See above. My brother is in a wheelchair, and had to get out of the chair and haul himself up and down steps to enter the hostel and then get to the room. This is dirty and humiliating and completely unacceptable.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2014

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: The price was expensive for a 24-people mixed dorm!