We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ashton House Hostel

Hostel | 196 Corporation Street, Manchester, England M4 4DU

62.6% Overall Rating

77 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2015)

"I liked the location, how reasonable the prices are for bank holiday especially if your staying for one night it is ideal. Beds where really comfy, really clean room and clean toilets, it has been a better stay at this…"

Read all Ashton House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Photographic ID is required to check in. Customers may cancel their reservation anytime up 12pm 1 day prior to the day of arrival. For cancellations made outside this period or in the case of no shows, the first night’s stay will be charged. Deposits paid to HostelBookers are non-refundable. Bookings for large parties will be called for pre-payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manchester?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Manchester

Hatters at Hilton Chambers
23.85 USD

Hostel 85.3% 803 reviews
Hatters on Newton Street
20.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1289 reviews
My-Places Skyline Apartments Manchester
76.92 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
My-Places Elizabeth Street Townhouse Manchester
76.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Weston Hall
53.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.3% 36 reviews
Stay Inn Hotel
38.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 65 reviews
My-Places Abbotsfield Court Townhouses Manchester
92.32 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
YHA Manchester
15.39 USD

Hostel 89.3% 337 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.6%

Overall Rating

77 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ashton House Hostel'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
65.6%
Value
63.2%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 108 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and the mixed dorm was secure and clean.

Disliked: The only bad thing was the toilet facilities. None of the cubicles had locks on the doors and the toilet entrance door didn't have a handle and it was very stiff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Gualdron

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: the facilities are very comfortable

Disliked: nothing, alright!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Simon Bailyes

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 August 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Toilets were filthy - no locks, broken toilet roll dispensers. Rooms were filthy - broken/missing blinds on the windows which meant you had to wake up to people walking and looking in. Staff were extremely rude - I told them that the lights weren't working and the toilet lock was broken and she responded with "well you should have read reviews before you stayed". Different member of staff refused to give me my deposit back in the morning because they spelt my name wrong and I "pronounced it wrong" to them. After spelling my name to them, I managed to get my deposit back. There were missing floor tiles that made it unsafe to walk at night. Showers were disgusting. Just an overall pathetic attempt at a hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

09 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and ease of location

Disliked: Shower and toilet facilities, they could be looked after as no toilet seat in one loo, and shower head not fixed in place with loose doors.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hui Qing Lee

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 June 2015

Liked: Ideal location, that's all.

Disliked: The sockets are not enough for all the backpackers. The shower rooms are not as clean as I expected.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, how reasonable the prices are for bank holiday especially if your staying for one night it is ideal. Beds where really comfy, really clean room and clean toilets, it has been a better stay at this hostel then some of the expensive hotels I have stayed in, in Manchester previously. People seemed friendly enough, didn't stay there too long to see what their other facilities were like.

Disliked: It took a while for someone to answer the door when i first got there and or got back to the hotel on a night time.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main train station

Disliked: The toilets don't have locks and there was water on the floor all the time

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015

Liked: That it was cheap and nice

Disliked: It was hard to find

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2015

Liked: Reception 24hours open, located near Victoria station (5min walk)

Disliked: Dirty restrooms, noisy rooms,

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good price and very good location

Disliked: they booked my bed twice and they tried to kick me out. One lady, probably the manager, tried to convince me to find another place, but it didn´t happened cause I´ve insisted. Two very disgusting cubiculs for more then 30 person.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location. Very near the city centre and Victoria railway station. The reception staff were very helpful and i was impressed with the clean bed linen and general cleanliness. There was some refurbishment going on , hence some necessary upheaval but as a budget accommodation goes it was great. As long as you are not expecting 5 star hotel levels you should be pleased with Ashton House. It does what it says on the tin!! I would stay there again without hesitation.

Disliked: Nothing too dislike really. Friendly staff and residents, no problems.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Stephanie Battiston

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2015

Liked: They charged my Visa automatically for the room, then on the way out told me I owed another different amount. Then when I called a few days later to let them know and reverse the second charge, they ended up charging me a THIRD time. This hostel cannot figure out its booking/payments and have now charged my Visa 3 separate times for over 150 pounds. This is unacceptable and now they will not answer their phone.

Disliked: Scammed me 3 times.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

todd hunter

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 September 2014

Liked: City centre location

Disliked: The alarms going off all the time. All three nights I booked the alarms kept going off. I had even paid for Friday night but I have cancelled as I do not want to stay here

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Randolph Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Randolph would recommend this property

Liked: location and atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Chi Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014

Liked: Little to be liked, though I did appreciate use of a microwave.

Disliked: Utter failure of a service institution. As a backpacker, the only thing I request when seeking accommodation is a decent room to head back to after a long day out. For Ashton, this requirement was much too high of a standard. We stayed 2 nights in this hole, both times, locked out after midnight because our keycards failed to let us into our already paid for rooms. No one at the front desk was there to assist. The cleaning woman did not have the authority to help. There was one 'emergency' number listed, which we called for an undetermined period (let's just say in that time, my scalding bowl of soup withered into an unrecognizable frigid clump) until finally a woman came non-chalently, took a second to beep our cards, and claimed that 'this type of stuff happens all the time'. Boy, were we thankful that we weren't the only ones who had suffered from complete incompetency. That fact really eased our discomfort. Anyway, at that point we abandoned plan B, which involved sleeping on the street. Skip ahead to us getting into our room. It appears the heater that had been attached to the wall facing the hall was broken and had fallen to the ground. Were we broken into? It sure looked that way. Quickly we call out to 'emergency' lady to request an explanation. This, apparently, had offended her for she became instantly defensive and 'guaranteed' us no one had been in our room. I understood this to be the same type of 'guarantee' that Ashton initially made when we first paid for our stay and they had 'guaranteed' we would actually have access to our rooms. I call bullshit. As for the cherry on top, let me add that unless you particularly enjoy showering in see-thru, transparent hubs where you and your neighbours are free to gawk at each others' naked selves, then this might not be the place for you. Again, that's just a cautionary note because personally, I did not mind that bit, at least, I did not mind it as much as I did mind the fact that the lighting system in said washrooms were auto-sensored. Poor choice. Imagine taking an open shower with your stranger neighbours in the early AMs after a night out and suddenly having all the lights cut out, because the sensor couldnt detect motion in the showers. You're left standing in pitch darkness not knowing who would really get shanked first. Some people enjoy such a game of shower roulette, but again, it wasn't for me. So be warned. When you pay to stay here 1) there is a chance you will never be able to access your own room 2) you probably won't want to use the showers, at least at night, unless you are a bat, or use sonar and/or echolocation.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014

Liked: the location, its really in the city centre the price, it was really cheap the service: friendly people

Disliked: the rooms were not clean, very small, there were no windows, so no clean air and no daylight. also the showers and bathrooms were not really clean as well

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: some staffs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rute Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Rute would recommend this property

Liked: showers

Disliked: Staff are not polite and not really helpfull

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gregory Lyford

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 July 2014 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, good price, welcoming environment

Disliked: Pillows were a little bit on the budget side.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Randolph Reynolds

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Randolph would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: no stove

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Oche Joshua Otalu

Alone

City break

02 June 2014

Liked: The location. The staff are friendly.

Disliked: The room is very cold and has no light.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jade Agius

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: Asthon House is located near the shopping centre, near the bus station and also not far from Eithad Stadium. The staff members are extremely helpful and very polite. I am very satisfied with the service provided and I would totally recommend anyone to visit this hostel. It would be the ideal place to stay if you ould like to visit places in Manchester, it's in the perfect spot for that. Also if you have to attend an event at Etihad Stadium, I would recommend you stay at this hostel as it is the closest hostel to the stadium, it only takes 5 minutes to arrive there by car.

Disliked: The only thing I did not like about Asthon House was the fact that there was not a private bathroom available so we had to use a shared bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 May 2014

Liked: Price

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms, shower not working Well. Difficult to find.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fabricio Claudino

Alone

Events / festivals

25 May 2014 Fabricio would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly !

Disliked: I could not take a shower properly cos almost all the showers were broke, my room was beside the kitchen and the whole night some girls speaking and laughing laud and then a couple of guys joined them, it was awful! The check-in at 3 pm is too late and not necessary because the check-out its at 11am, they could open for check-in earlier!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Murray

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city centre. Not bad parking and really nice staff.

Disliked: Squeaky bedroom door.

The property's response is...