HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Manchester

Hostel | Potato Wharf, Castlefield Manchester, England M3 4NB

84.7% Overall Rating

290 out of 313 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2014)

Ryan Charles thinks…

"It was really laid back which made a great atmosphere, they had everything you needed, e.g toothbrush, towels and it was also a great location 5 minutes walk from the train station."

Read all YHA Manchester reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.36
  • Breakfast USD 8.39

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the website for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Manchester?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Manchester

Stay Inn Hotel
42.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 62 reviews
Weston Hall
58.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 33 reviews
Ashton House Hostel
16.81 USD

Hostel 73.4% 76 reviews
My-Places Skyline Apartments Manchester
112.07 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hatters at Hilton Chambers
23.54 USD

Hostel 83.8% 760 reviews
The Hatters
23.54 USD

Hostel 79.0% 1194 reviews
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
46.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.7% 3 reviews
My-Places Elizabeth Street Townhouse Manchester
84.06 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

290 out of 313 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Manchester'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 240 of 262 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet, so you can get a good night sleep!

Disliked: Not very clean bathroom/shower facilities and sheets had gum attached into them and horrible stains :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Holmes

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 April 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Good location & comfy beds

Disliked: Booked a 6 bed dorm for 5 of us & arrived to be told we were in two rooms - staff were spot on & sorted it out but still not good. Room was too hot & window wouldn't open. We came in late & respected the quiet 11-7 time but were then woken up around 7 by very noisy guests - not fair or very positive of the location.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Charles

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: It was really laid back which made a great atmosphere, they had everything you needed, e.g toothbrush, towels and it was also a great location 5 minutes walk from the train station.

Disliked: I liked everything about it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Rocio Scasso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014

Liked: Buenos precios en el menú que ofrecen en el hostel y en general el precio de la habitación es barato. Las camas son comodas para dormir Tiene cocina y sala de juegos. Está a dos cuadras del museo de ciencia e industria. Y

Disliked: Los baños sucios. Para usar internet hay que pagar 1libra por 20 min. (igual lo avisan en la web y es sólo gratis para los miembros) La ubicación, está bastante lejos del centro. Principalmente sí se llega en tren a picadilly o a lala estación de micros. Hay que caminar.casi 20 cuadras. Y lo último la noche que me quedé alrededor de las 2 am empezó a sonar la alarma de incendió y alguien pasó gritando fire por los pasillo, imagínense el caos. Al final era alguien bromeando pero por parte del hostel nadie se acerco a aclarar la situación.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, big hostel, nice decoration

Disliked: not free wifi for not members; not free luggage storage

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities on offer, staff helpful. For the price it is a decent hostel.

Disliked: Hostel charges for everything (internet, breakfast etc). It is also nowhere near the centre of town, which made it quite difficult when trying to find hostel and carrying luggage across town.... beds unfortunately were also very uncomfortable

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Colin Butler

Alone

Partying / nightlife

13 February 2014 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Grand rooms, clean facilities and beds.

Disliked: Hardly a £30 per night quality, but I booked last minute so can't complain. Had to buy lock for lockers. Check out was a tad early, but there was an option to pay a few quid for a couple more hours.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cait Mahr

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

12 February 2014 Cait would recommend this property

Liked: The property itself was clean, efficient, and comfortable. The staff were also friendly and accommodating, offering answers to any questions my group had.

Disliked: From where my group needed to travel to (Manchester Academy), the property was not close enough to walk.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had everything we needed in a really nice room and was made clear that help was available if needed. Also plenty of facilities inside that could be used.

Disliked: No soap in the bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice atmosphere and cheap comfy clean rooms.

Disliked: Had to pay for towels if you didn't bring your own but not a big issue.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Whitney Winston

Alone

Family Holiday

29 January 2014 Whitney would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and open. I felt safe and the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: I wish there were outlets in the bathroom. Or some Place to dry your hair outside of the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean, and everything is in perfect working state. What I liked in particular was having the option of storing luggage after checking out. Saved my back from carrying my bag around for the rest of the day. They offer access to a near by gym at a discounted price - they should include this in their ad

Disliked: The vending machine kept refusing to give me Snickers :( I only wish I knew about having access to a gym prior to arriving because I spend the entire day trying to find one Manchester and ended up going to an overpriced one that I didn't even enjoy :(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abdurrezagh Ben omran

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013 Abdurrezagh would recommend this property

Liked: i really liked the place where is located

Disliked: the internet should be free

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Kalauz

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2013 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Cleanliness

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Karla Jacqueline Granados

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Karla Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: el hostal super bien ubicado, muy bnito y el staff muy lindos todos

Disliked: lo malo es que cobran por todo, las toallas, el internet y sin desayuno ( lo cual en la mayoria de los hostales el desayuno tipo buffet viene incluido)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

UN IENG AO IEONG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013 UN IENG would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location just next to the wharf. Staff are really nice and polite.

Disliked: Just feel the bed could be a little bit bigger.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Barron-west

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: The value for money was excellent. Being a vegan I was worried about the breakfast options, but the full English offered enough options for me to have a decent breakfast. I also loved the décor and atmosphere, making it feel very welcoming and warm.

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yutong ma

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 yutong would recommend this property

Liked: Location, view, building

Disliked: Just one Outlet per room, that is not enough. No free wifi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rachel Giddy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean modern hostel with friendly staff in a pretty good location. Rooms are really spacious with sturdy bunks and fresh clean linen.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location Good food and very clean,would not hesitate to go back

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zhenguang Tian

Alone

City break

21 November 2013 Zhenguang would recommend this property

Liked: it is safe and clean.

Disliked: non YHA members can not use their WIFI. Stupid!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SYED ALI

Alone

City break

21 November 2013 SYED would recommend this property

Liked: except for location, it is an extremely good hostel and an excellent value for money too, was happy to stay there, good choice ! SYED

Disliked: SYED left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebeca Dios Garcia

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 November 2013 Rebeca would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok, I thought it was going to be very far from the center but no, it was really good, clean, tidy, beds comfortables, very good in gereral.

Disliked: The heater not too hot and turn on

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katie turner

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2013 katie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, far enough out to be quiet to sleep by the canal but walking distance from city centre. Friendly helpful staff. New and clean.

Disliked: Rooms for couples or just a double bed option would be great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff & cool location, clean room and a good gin & tonic too!

Disliked: Slightly more expensive but after we got there I was happy to pay a little more, good hostel