HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Albion

Hostel | 48 Woolwhich Church Street, London, England SE18 5NN

58.6% Overall Rating

6 out of 12 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Ejovwoke Oyonase thinks…

"I LOVED IT. The Albion feels like home from the minute you walk in the front door. Clean and chic. Very quiet place:) The Albion is easily the best hostel I've stayed at. Very nice atmosphere! Keep…"

Read all The Albion reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Important Information

CHECK IN BEFORE 11PM. If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email or phone 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2013 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges. we do not accept any children in our hostel and groups bigger than 5 people.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Antigallican Hotel
23.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 163 reviews
Hostel Ordnance
13.43 USD

Hostel 58.3% 61 reviews
Apples Inn 1
30.22 USD

Guesthouse 61.7% 29 reviews
Globe Trott Inns
15.09 USD

Hostel 71.4% 370 reviews
Melbourne house
26.86 USD

Hotel 58.7% 22 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
53.73 USD

Guesthouse 65.0% 4 reviews
Apple Lodge
29.38 USD

Guesthouse 69.0% 19 reviews
Apples Inn 3
27.70 USD

Guesthouse 66.7% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.6%

Overall Rating

6 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Albion'

Atmosphere
56.7%
Location
58.3%
Facilities
53.3%
Cleanliness
48.3%
Staff
68.3%
Value
61.7%
Safety
63.3%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 10 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ejovwoke Oyonase

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2014 Ejovwoke would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED IT. The Albion feels like home from the minute you walk in the front door. Clean and chic. Very quiet place:) The Albion is easily the best hostel I've stayed at. Very nice atmosphere! Keep doing that great job!!!

Disliked: Ejovwoke left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

10 March 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Where do I start? I arrived for check-in in the afternoon and there were no staff present. Apparently the staff don't use their computer booking system so they have no idea who's checking in. So disorganised. I had to wait a good 30 minutes to be let in; then 4 policemen showed up! They had been called for a domestic dispute. Turns out there was a couple staying at the hostel where the man beats his wife. On one occasion, he even pulled a knife on her. The owner was quite rude despite the fact that he left me waiting.The staff were performing my check-in and I could hear a woman's muffled cries. It was horrible. They tried to put me in the same room as that couple but I refused to stay in such a dangerous situation and left. The place is filthy and feels unsafe. THEY USED KITCHEN CUTLERY TO UNBLOCK A TOILET AND THEN PUT IT BACK IN THE KITCHEN. Do not stay here.. go 10 minutes down the road and pay an extra quid a night for a decent place. Women, especially, do not stay here!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dimitar GRUEV

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 August 2013 Dimitar would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice atmosphere and cool people.

Disliked: Dimitar left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ndeshi Langshaw

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 August 2013

Liked: Nothing stand out but yea they have wireless

Disliked: What i dislike the property was very dirty, even in the kitchen you would not want to eat there. Disorganise as we meant to be in 4 bunk bed but ended up in six with 6 strangers, who work and they would want a light off so we had no choice as you feel for them. Who ever had a mobile had no customer service he put down the phone on me. So do not ask questions when you are unsure. They need to renovate their shower. They need to clean the hostel to make it adaptable. They need to employ someone who have good understanding about customer servicer

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mieczyslaw Skubis

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 June 2013 Mieczyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: ease commuting to the city

Disliked: Mieczyslaw left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mateusz Wojtowicz

Alone

Events / festivals

28 June 2013 Mateusz would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean toalets, nice terrace, nice smeal

Disliked: karaoke on Friday night in the bar lol

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place is OK, but what I am really concerned is indoor smoking everywhere- in rooms, bathrooms, kitchen. This filthy habit is really diminishing property value, since everything stinks afterwards, bothering non smoking guests and is a public nuisance, because it is illegal to smoke indoors in UK. I would advice owners and managers to let people smoke either in a balcony or outdoors only, but not inside. I don't think anyone deserves to breathe second hand cheap cigarette smoke.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: The lady who manage the bar is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The owner was not honest and charged me a high rate that do not reflect the service. This person seems to be a troublemaker and not a friendly person.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels