We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ordnance

Hostel | 18 Beresford Square, Woolwhich Square, London, England SE18 6AY

62.7% Overall Rating

49 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Marc Steinkritzer thinks…

"It was cheap, close to trains and bus services plus it was in a real location and the people were real. I would definitely come and stay again. If you are looking for cheap and affordable…"

Read all Hostel Ordnance reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Antigallican Hotel
22.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 171 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
30.83 USD

Guesthouse 66.5% 7 reviews
Globe Trott Inns
16.23 USD

Hostel 71.4% 436 reviews
Apple Lodge
28.40 USD

Guesthouse 65.8% 25 reviews
Barking Park Hotel
35.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 50.0% 8 reviews
Apples Inn 3
35.70 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 13 reviews
Apples Inn Guesthouse
28.40 USD

Guesthouse 62.9% 16 reviews
Newham Hotel
89.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.7%

Overall Rating

49 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ordnance'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

antonio andrea cadeddu

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2014 antonio andrea would recommend this property

Liked: friendly

Disliked: cleaning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience to public transport Kitchen and wifi Friendly guests and staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Steinkritzer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

08 September 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, close to trains and bus services plus it was in a real location and the people were real. I would definitely come and stay again. If you are looking for cheap and affordable accommodation I would come here again. :)

Disliked: I was all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and I will surely visit again.

Disliked: noise

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very welcoming and friendly and happy to answer any questions I had.

Disliked: Facilities weren't always up to scratch- only one shower for all the rooms to share, never any toilet paper, and the building and beds were a bit dodge. But in some ways I guess I got what I paid for.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paul Bingham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find

Disliked: It was fine

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

sheridian richard-james

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2014 sheridian would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was clean and comfortable.The room was clear and clean

Disliked: looked a bit grim as you entered and a woman on her own would feel unsafe.Only seemed to be one toilet and one show on our floor so when busy i dont quite know how that would work. A fair way out of the city but very close to the train.The kitchen was very grubby even though notices were up to remind people to clear up after than selves. free tea and coffee.bread but seemingly no spreads not even marg? For the money it was fine and i would stay again as feel ok generally. A lick of paint wouldnt go a miss!I like hostels so keep smiling.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014

Liked: It was inexpensive for London.

Disliked: The area during the evening is unsafe. The property as a whole is unsafe. The majority of individuals who are staying at the hostel are not backpackers and seem to be people who have traveled from other countries in search of employment. If I was a single female traveling alone I would never stay here. Fellow backpackers avoid this hostel until they improve it.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jozef Stoila

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014

Liked: many people in this hostel are friendly, just like everywhere in london :)

Disliked: since its so cheap, you might also find some people that arent so friendly, so just be cautious.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014

Liked: The other people same feeling, a boy told us, welcome to hell as soon as we enter to the kitchen

Disliked: Everything, clean, services, location, bed, ventilation, everything was so poor

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: Other travellers at the hostel were very friendly

Disliked: Unclean (!), no safety lockers, wifi didn't work, no towels, located outside London, not enough toilets/showers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for in this hostel; it's one of the cheapest hostels in London. So yes, it's half an hour traveling to the center (but the neighborhood was nice: lively with a lot of shops and a supermarket nearby, and from the hostel it is only a few minutes walk to the tube station) it isn't very clean, there aren't enough plates etc. in the kitchen (but the kitchen is big though) and there isn't much of an atmosphere in the hostel. But if you're just looking for a cheap place to sleep and don't keep high standards to the rest of it then this is the place for you.

Disliked: The lack of cleanliness (as a student living in a studenthouse I don't have that high standards conforming hygiene, but this was just gross), plus the fact that two of the three ladie showers didn't work. Furthermore, the staff wasn't that great, and that's what bothered me most seeing that it doesn't cost anything to be a little bit more hospitable.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014

Liked: It was cheap. Close to the DLR station, 24 hour tesco close by. The cleaner let me use the washing machine and dryer for £7. There is a kitchen if u wanna cook but it is filthy

Disliked: It is in a bad neighbourhood but i guess u wont know that if ur a forigner. Everything is dirty, never toilet paper in the toilet. Im not a clean freak and can out up with alot of crap but i could not stay more than one night here...too unclean

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nadia Hakime

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excellent. Very kind and helpful.

Disliked: The location was a bit far from City centre.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jakob Widmer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

29 May 2014 Jakob would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff and other Guests were very friendly.

Disliked: The Common Areas.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Demétrio Sousa

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

20 May 2014 Demétrio would recommend this property

Liked: The price and it is in front of the subway station....

Disliked: .... The bathroom is not cleaned regularly... The bed is very noise and needs maintenance

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is far from the downtown but train/DLR stations (Woolwich arsenal) are in 50 meters and the ship pier in less than 10 minutes of walk (the trip by Themsa is very nice). Train goes to Charing Cross station directly in the heart of London in half an hour (working days change at London bridge, run to 6th platform, trains come together, next is in 10 minutes). If you don't want to pay for the traveling to 4th zone, walk 1km to the next train station (Woolwich dockyard) in 3d zone. 24h Tesco is over the square and Sainsbury is only few hundred meters further. It is cheap region with relatively cheapshops and restaurants. WiFi

Disliked: It is possible that the pub underneath was renovated as it is written in the description but hostel definitely not (if do not consider few new doors, which are not even painted). Staff tries to keep it clean but it does not give this impression. There are only one male, one female and one common toilet and shower (two additional toilets are over the entrance on stairs). The kitchen is narrow and not enough for all customers with big shortage of dishes and mugs. Continental breakfast consists of flakes, milk, toasts and spread plus tea or coffee. Coming one of the firsts I had all of that and even rest of marmalade. But the brought amount was enough for only few people, I have no idea anything else was add after. Do not be surprised seeing mice there. It seems that someones live there continuously. Do not expect to pay by card but ATM are everywhere around.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to all amenities. Free internet was a bonus!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

KELVIN ONOYIVBE

Alone

City break

01 April 2014 KELVIN would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN ENVIRONMENT AND NICE STAFFS

Disliked: NO KITCHEN

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is far from center but very near from station. And there are some shops and big super market,so useful. We can use wifi in our room. Staff is friendly.

Disliked: Some people who stay there are not tourists. They are local people and seem to live there. So many people use kitchen,kitchen is narrow.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Philip Balint

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 March 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Almost all aspects.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014

Liked: Staff, close to metro station, near to a big Tesco.

Disliked: There is a ugly and really dirty kitchen, the room was in a bad cleanness condition, bad wifi connection, one hour far from city center by metro line. They have a good price, by the way you have to pay more in public transport. Poor breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Springthorpe

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 March 2014 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are exceptionally friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: -Not safe -Dirty -Location


See all London hostels
See all London hotels