We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ordnance

Hostel | 18 Beresford Square, Woolwhich Square, London, England SE18 6AY

70.5% Overall Rating

59 out of 99 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2015)

JACKELINE RODRIGUES TORRES thinks…

"The hostel is friendly,seems like a family home. The staff are friendly and helpfull! The famale bath are clean!! I'm really enjoing the stay here..."

Read all Hostel Ordnance reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.52

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Antigallican Hotel
21.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.3% 172 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
27.33 USD

Guesthouse 62.1% 8 reviews
Globe Trott Inns
15.18 USD

Hostel 73.6% 454 reviews
Barking Park Hotel
33.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.1% 9 reviews
Apples Inn 3
30.37 USD

Guesthouse 68.0% 14 reviews
Apples Inn Guesthouse
27.33 USD

Guesthouse 61.4% 20 reviews
Newham Hotel
83.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Cottage 3L
39.48 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.5%

Overall Rating

59 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ordnance'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 93 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JACKELINE RODRIGUES TORRES

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2015 JACKELINE RODRIGUES would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is friendly,seems like a family home. The staff are friendly and helpfull! The famale bath are clean!! I'm really enjoing the stay here...

Disliked: JACKELINE RODRIGUES left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Griffin

Alone

Partying / nightlife

17 February 2015 George would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent property, nice people,

Disliked: Better breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denis Marzotto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

15 February 2015 Denis would recommend this property

Liked: TV lounge, kitchen, bed, people

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Said Rashid

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 February 2015 Said would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a lively atmosphere. SR

Disliked: Said left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Roberts

Alone

Business / conference

12 February 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is located next to the dlr station and its close by to all amenities.

Disliked: None

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 February 2015

Liked: Noting at all the state it was in was unbelievable, I read some comments and there were mixed reviews so thou l would give it a go, how wrong l was. The bad comments are correct, it was extremely bad the conditions were like a crack house, bed sheets worn out, the bathrooms OMG tissues all over bins full, damp and mould all over I wouldn't even let my worst enemy stay here

Disliked: EVERYTHING, mattress were really bad, slept like 3 hours in 9 hours, pillows non existence, bathroom disgusting, bed sheets and duvet had really worn sheets

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap ,nice staff, nearness to bus stop and train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safety and good customer care,

Disliked: no

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

CHEUK HON LEO CHAN

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2015

Liked: The price is very cheap and reasonable even though the date I was staying included New Year's Eve. Free breakfast and decent wi-fi provided despite very low price.

Disliked: The sanitary conditions was generally unsatisfactory, especially toilets and showers area. I brought my own sleeping bag and did not use their linen provided as the hygiene standard of this hostel, as I heard here before staying, was not reliable. The room I stayed came without any lock, then you should be aware of your personal belongings at all times.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Dmitri Robkin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 December 2014

Liked: Very disappointed with staying in the hostel. If it even possible to name it as a hostel. Moved out as soon as possible, without any thought of coming back there.

Disliked: Everything was digusting. The staff was absolutely unprofessional. My booking was not found. At first they placed me in one room, then asked to move to another one. Because the bed was booked by another person. The public in the hotel is rather suspicious, so I was constantly worried about my luggage. The atmosphere is absolutey sad.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

corrinne broadbridge

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 December 2014 corrinne would recommend this property

Liked: A great value for money with an easy location to busses and DLR

Disliked: Nothing it is a no frills accommodation

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

antonio andrea cadeddu

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2014 antonio andrea would recommend this property

Liked: friendly

Disliked: cleaning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience to public transport Kitchen and wifi Friendly guests and staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Steinkritzer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

08 September 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, close to trains and bus services plus it was in a real location and the people were real. I would definitely come and stay again. If you are looking for cheap and affordable accommodation I would come here again. :)

Disliked: I was all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and I will surely visit again.

Disliked: noise

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very welcoming and friendly and happy to answer any questions I had.

Disliked: Facilities weren't always up to scratch- only one shower for all the rooms to share, never any toilet paper, and the building and beds were a bit dodge. But in some ways I guess I got what I paid for.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paul Bingham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find

Disliked: It was fine

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

sheridian richard-james

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2014 sheridian would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was clean and comfortable.The room was clear and clean

Disliked: looked a bit grim as you entered and a woman on her own would feel unsafe.Only seemed to be one toilet and one show on our floor so when busy i dont quite know how that would work. A fair way out of the city but very close to the train.The kitchen was very grubby even though notices were up to remind people to clear up after than selves. free tea and coffee.bread but seemingly no spreads not even marg? For the money it was fine and i would stay again as feel ok generally. A lick of paint wouldnt go a miss!I like hostels so keep smiling.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014

Liked: It was inexpensive for London.

Disliked: The area during the evening is unsafe. The property as a whole is unsafe. The majority of individuals who are staying at the hostel are not backpackers and seem to be people who have traveled from other countries in search of employment. If I was a single female traveling alone I would never stay here. Fellow backpackers avoid this hostel until they improve it.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jozef Stoila

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014

Liked: many people in this hostel are friendly, just like everywhere in london :)

Disliked: since its so cheap, you might also find some people that arent so friendly, so just be cautious.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014

Liked: The other people same feeling, a boy told us, welcome to hell as soon as we enter to the kitchen

Disliked: Everything, clean, services, location, bed, ventilation, everything was so poor

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: Other travellers at the hostel were very friendly

Disliked: Unclean (!), no safety lockers, wifi didn't work, no towels, located outside London, not enough toilets/showers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for in this hostel; it's one of the cheapest hostels in London. So yes, it's half an hour traveling to the center (but the neighborhood was nice: lively with a lot of shops and a supermarket nearby, and from the hostel it is only a few minutes walk to the tube station) it isn't very clean, there aren't enough plates etc. in the kitchen (but the kitchen is big though) and there isn't much of an atmosphere in the hostel. But if you're just looking for a cheap place to sleep and don't keep high standards to the rest of it then this is the place for you.

Disliked: The lack of cleanliness (as a student living in a studenthouse I don't have that high standards conforming hygiene, but this was just gross), plus the fact that two of the three ladie showers didn't work. Furthermore, the staff wasn't that great, and that's what bothered me most seeing that it doesn't cost anything to be a little bit more hospitable.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014

Liked: It was cheap. Close to the DLR station, 24 hour tesco close by. The cleaner let me use the washing machine and dryer for £7. There is a kitchen if u wanna cook but it is filthy

Disliked: It is in a bad neighbourhood but i guess u wont know that if ur a forigner. Everything is dirty, never toilet paper in the toilet. Im not a clean freak and can out up with alot of crap but i could not stay more than one night here...too unclean

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nadia Hakime

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excellent. Very kind and helpful.

Disliked: The location was a bit far from City centre.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels