We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ordnance

Hostel | 18 Beresford Square, Woolwhich Square, London, England SE18 6AY

61.7% Overall Rating

52 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/01/2015)

CHEUK HON LEO CHAN thinks…

"The price is very cheap and reasonable even though the date I was staying included New Year's Eve. Free breakfast and decent wi-fi provided despite very low price."

Read all Hostel Ordnance reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Antigallican Hotel
22.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 171 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
29.21 USD

Guesthouse 66.5% 7 reviews
Globe Trott Inns
11.36 USD

Hostel 76.1% 445 reviews
Apple Lodge
28.40 USD

Guesthouse 65.8% 25 reviews
Barking Park Hotel
35.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.1% 9 reviews
Apples Inn 3
22.72 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 13 reviews
Apples Inn Guesthouse
24.34 USD

Guesthouse 63.2% 17 reviews
Newham Hotel
89.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.7%

Overall Rating

52 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ordnance'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
61.6%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
44.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 65 of 85 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap ,nice staff, nearness to bus stop and train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safety and good customer care,

Disliked: no

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

CHEUK HON LEO CHAN

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2015

Liked: The price is very cheap and reasonable even though the date I was staying included New Year's Eve. Free breakfast and decent wi-fi provided despite very low price.

Disliked: The sanitary conditions was generally unsatisfactory, especially toilets and showers area. I brought my own sleeping bag and did not use their linen provided as the hygiene standard of this hostel, as I heard here before staying, was not reliable. The room I stayed came without any lock, then you should be aware of your personal belongings at all times.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Dmitri Robkin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 December 2014

Liked: Very disappointed with staying in the hostel. If it even possible to name it as a hostel. Moved out as soon as possible, without any thought of coming back there.

Disliked: Everything was digusting. The staff was absolutely unprofessional. My booking was not found. At first they placed me in one room, then asked to move to another one. Because the bed was booked by another person. The public in the hotel is rather suspicious, so I was constantly worried about my luggage. The atmosphere is absolutey sad.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

corrinne broadbridge

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 December 2014 corrinne would recommend this property

Liked: A great value for money with an easy location to busses and DLR

Disliked: Nothing it is a no frills accommodation

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

antonio andrea cadeddu

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2014 antonio andrea would recommend this property

Liked: friendly

Disliked: cleaning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience to public transport Kitchen and wifi Friendly guests and staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Steinkritzer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

08 September 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, close to trains and bus services plus it was in a real location and the people were real. I would definitely come and stay again. If you are looking for cheap and affordable accommodation I would come here again. :)

Disliked: I was all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and I will surely visit again.

Disliked: noise

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very welcoming and friendly and happy to answer any questions I had.

Disliked: Facilities weren't always up to scratch- only one shower for all the rooms to share, never any toilet paper, and the building and beds were a bit dodge. But in some ways I guess I got what I paid for.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paul Bingham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find

Disliked: It was fine

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

sheridian richard-james

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2014 sheridian would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was clean and comfortable.The room was clear and clean

Disliked: looked a bit grim as you entered and a woman on her own would feel unsafe.Only seemed to be one toilet and one show on our floor so when busy i dont quite know how that would work. A fair way out of the city but very close to the train.The kitchen was very grubby even though notices were up to remind people to clear up after than selves. free tea and coffee.bread but seemingly no spreads not even marg? For the money it was fine and i would stay again as feel ok generally. A lick of paint wouldnt go a miss!I like hostels so keep smiling.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014

Liked: It was inexpensive for London.

Disliked: The area during the evening is unsafe. The property as a whole is unsafe. The majority of individuals who are staying at the hostel are not backpackers and seem to be people who have traveled from other countries in search of employment. If I was a single female traveling alone I would never stay here. Fellow backpackers avoid this hostel until they improve it.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jozef Stoila

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014

Liked: many people in this hostel are friendly, just like everywhere in london :)

Disliked: since its so cheap, you might also find some people that arent so friendly, so just be cautious.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014

Liked: The other people same feeling, a boy told us, welcome to hell as soon as we enter to the kitchen

Disliked: Everything, clean, services, location, bed, ventilation, everything was so poor

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: Other travellers at the hostel were very friendly

Disliked: Unclean (!), no safety lockers, wifi didn't work, no towels, located outside London, not enough toilets/showers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for in this hostel; it's one of the cheapest hostels in London. So yes, it's half an hour traveling to the center (but the neighborhood was nice: lively with a lot of shops and a supermarket nearby, and from the hostel it is only a few minutes walk to the tube station) it isn't very clean, there aren't enough plates etc. in the kitchen (but the kitchen is big though) and there isn't much of an atmosphere in the hostel. But if you're just looking for a cheap place to sleep and don't keep high standards to the rest of it then this is the place for you.

Disliked: The lack of cleanliness (as a student living in a studenthouse I don't have that high standards conforming hygiene, but this was just gross), plus the fact that two of the three ladie showers didn't work. Furthermore, the staff wasn't that great, and that's what bothered me most seeing that it doesn't cost anything to be a little bit more hospitable.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014

Liked: It was cheap. Close to the DLR station, 24 hour tesco close by. The cleaner let me use the washing machine and dryer for £7. There is a kitchen if u wanna cook but it is filthy

Disliked: It is in a bad neighbourhood but i guess u wont know that if ur a forigner. Everything is dirty, never toilet paper in the toilet. Im not a clean freak and can out up with alot of crap but i could not stay more than one night here...too unclean

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nadia Hakime

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was excellent. Very kind and helpful.

Disliked: The location was a bit far from City centre.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jakob Widmer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

29 May 2014 Jakob would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff and other Guests were very friendly.

Disliked: The Common Areas.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Demétrio Sousa

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

20 May 2014 Demétrio would recommend this property

Liked: The price and it is in front of the subway station....

Disliked: .... The bathroom is not cleaned regularly... The bed is very noise and needs maintenance

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is far from the downtown but train/DLR stations (Woolwich arsenal) are in 50 meters and the ship pier in less than 10 minutes of walk (the trip by Themsa is very nice). Train goes to Charing Cross station directly in the heart of London in half an hour (working days change at London bridge, run to 6th platform, trains come together, next is in 10 minutes). If you don't want to pay for the traveling to 4th zone, walk 1km to the next train station (Woolwich dockyard) in 3d zone. 24h Tesco is over the square and Sainsbury is only few hundred meters further. It is cheap region with relatively cheapshops and restaurants. WiFi

Disliked: It is possible that the pub underneath was renovated as it is written in the description but hostel definitely not (if do not consider few new doors, which are not even painted). Staff tries to keep it clean but it does not give this impression. There are only one male, one female and one common toilet and shower (two additional toilets are over the entrance on stairs). The kitchen is narrow and not enough for all customers with big shortage of dishes and mugs. Continental breakfast consists of flakes, milk, toasts and spread plus tea or coffee. Coming one of the firsts I had all of that and even rest of marmalade. But the brought amount was enough for only few people, I have no idea anything else was add after. Do not be surprised seeing mice there. It seems that someones live there continuously. Do not expect to pay by card but ATM are everywhere around.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to all amenities. Free internet was a bonus!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

KELVIN ONOYIVBE

Alone

City break

01 April 2014 KELVIN would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN ENVIRONMENT AND NICE STAFFS

Disliked: NO KITCHEN

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is far from center but very near from station. And there are some shops and big super market,so useful. We can use wifi in our room. Staff is friendly.

Disliked: Some people who stay there are not tourists. They are local people and seem to live there. So many people use kitchen,kitchen is narrow.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels