We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ordnance

Hostel | 18 Beresford Square, Woolwhich Square, London, England SE18 6AY

57.7% Overall Rating

60 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2015)

"It is close to DLA and Rail services. I was leaving early in the morning so I arranged "no key- no deposit" deal with the staff. 24h rception worked great for me as I arrived at 2a.m. I rang only once and…"

Read all Hostel Ordnance reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

The Albion
15.46 USD

Hostel 61.1% 13 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
21.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.5% 176 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
26.28 USD

Guesthouse 57.4% 12 reviews
Globe Trott Inns
10.82 USD

Hostel 79.4% 483 reviews
Barking Park Hotel
34.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 51.1% 9 reviews
Apples Inn 3
23.18 USD

Guesthouse 68.0% 14 reviews
Apples Inn Guesthouse
24.73 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 22 reviews
Newham Hotel
85.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
57.7%

Overall Rating

60 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ordnance'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
63.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Oscar Sosa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2015

Liked: Train station very close and a ver y Big supermarket with 24 hour Service.

Disliked: Messy, dirty.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 July 2015

Liked: It is close to DLA and Rail services. I was leaving early in the morning so I arranged "no key- no deposit" deal with the staff. 24h rception worked great for me as I arrived at 2a.m. I rang only once and within a minute there was sombody from the staff with me. The building is quite unique so I just walk aroud it and found the entrance door easly. Clean bed leniens and no bedbugs.

Disliked: To start with: a bit untidy reception(easy to fix), shower and toilets need a proper upgrade and so does the ktchen.(not so easy) Very dirty windows everywhere in the propety.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Sirli Raudsepp

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015

Liked: It was close to the train station, there were pkenty of shops and restourants near by.

Disliked: Dirty, loud, unsafe, washing room for women was molded and always occupied. It wad terribly hot in the rooms. The room was small, bare and ugly.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Gal Monica Sonia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2015

Liked: It was cheap nothing else

Disliked: Messy you feel you have to leave it as soon as possible

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 May 2015

Liked: Anything at all.

Disliked: It is the most horrible hostel I have been to, I have traveled enough to say that. It is dirty, only one bathroom because they had lost the key from the girls bathroom. The only one working was so disgusting, all the used toilete paper on the floor. The kitchen with a few dishes and everything dirty there. The guy at the reception completely clueless, I had to pay 8 pounds left and he said he had no change, he could take 10. Thats so irrespectful. The linen was not clean at all, it smelled of sweat.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Mladen Stanev

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

19 May 2015

Liked: It have to be closed forever.

Disliked: Mladen left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

10 May 2015

Liked: Terrible

Disliked: Terrible stay. The manager charged me an extra £150. I booked online for 14 people for 2 nights and payed £40 as a percentage online. I called ahead and let the manager know we would only have 10 people staying, he said that should be fine. When I arrived he charged me for the extra people full price and said the £40 I already paid was nothing to do with him so had to pay that as well. He didn't accept card payments which was nowhere on the website and threatened to charge me £50 extra for telling him this was ridiculous. He then threw us in a room with no door! There were 3 other men in the room already when I originally booked 2 rooms with 8 and 6 people. I said if I was paying for the 5 extra beds I wanted them and he said they weren't free. I was not happy at all with nowhere to keep property and no doors!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 May 2015

Liked: - good location, low price, free WiFi - simple breakfast with toast, butter, jam, cereals and milk inlcuded - rooms themselves were ok - kitchen has 3 fridges, 1 microwave and 1 stove with oven

Disliked: I really can't understand all those 100% ratings here, looks like fake ratings to me. The rooms themselves were ok, apart from the dirty sheets you're sometimes getting. But the rest is a total MESS! Toilets, showers, kitchen... everything filthy and broken!!! Staff doesn't clean during the day while some really disgusting people staying here. The reception looks messy too, everywhere stuff. The Nigerian owner doens't care and can get quite rude sometimes. Toilets and showers are very insufficient, people have to queue regularely. Some toilet seats are missing, someone just broke the toilet flush, 1 shower is blocked, a 'female bathroom' that isn't even accessible without a key from the reception. Also missing signage for bathroom etc. Kitchen has in total 1 plate (!!!), 1 knife (!!!), 2 cups (!!!), 2 bowls (!!!) and 2-3 forks. There are however 3 fridges, 1 microwave and 1 stove with oven. Many people who are staying there are everything from a bit weird to completely nuts and/or are locals living on social benefit (DSS) or homeless. However, there are genuine travellers or people looking for work here, especially from Eastern Europe, so you can still make some friends.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location directly next to supermarket and train sttion

Disliked: not so clean facility is not complete!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JACKELINE RODRIGUES TORRES

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2015 JACKELINE RODRIGUES would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is friendly,seems like a family home. The staff are friendly and helpfull! The famale bath are clean!! I'm really enjoing the stay here...

Disliked: JACKELINE RODRIGUES left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Griffin

Alone

Partying / nightlife

17 February 2015 George would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent property, nice people,

Disliked: Better breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denis Marzotto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

15 February 2015 Denis would recommend this property

Liked: TV lounge, kitchen, bed, people

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Said Rashid

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 February 2015 Said would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a lively atmosphere. SR

Disliked: Said left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Roberts

Alone

Business / conference

12 February 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is located next to the dlr station and its close by to all amenities.

Disliked: None

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 February 2015

Liked: Noting at all the state it was in was unbelievable, I read some comments and there were mixed reviews so thou l would give it a go, how wrong l was. The bad comments are correct, it was extremely bad the conditions were like a crack house, bed sheets worn out, the bathrooms OMG tissues all over bins full, damp and mould all over I wouldn't even let my worst enemy stay here

Disliked: EVERYTHING, mattress were really bad, slept like 3 hours in 9 hours, pillows non existence, bathroom disgusting, bed sheets and duvet had really worn sheets

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap ,nice staff, nearness to bus stop and train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safety and good customer care,

Disliked: no

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

CHEUK HON LEO CHAN

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2015

Liked: The price is very cheap and reasonable even though the date I was staying included New Year's Eve. Free breakfast and decent wi-fi provided despite very low price.

Disliked: The sanitary conditions was generally unsatisfactory, especially toilets and showers area. I brought my own sleeping bag and did not use their linen provided as the hygiene standard of this hostel, as I heard here before staying, was not reliable. The room I stayed came without any lock, then you should be aware of your personal belongings at all times.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Dmitri Robkin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 December 2014

Liked: Very disappointed with staying in the hostel. If it even possible to name it as a hostel. Moved out as soon as possible, without any thought of coming back there.

Disliked: Everything was digusting. The staff was absolutely unprofessional. My booking was not found. At first they placed me in one room, then asked to move to another one. Because the bed was booked by another person. The public in the hotel is rather suspicious, so I was constantly worried about my luggage. The atmosphere is absolutey sad.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

corrinne broadbridge

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 December 2014 corrinne would recommend this property

Liked: A great value for money with an easy location to busses and DLR

Disliked: Nothing it is a no frills accommodation

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

antonio andrea cadeddu

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2014 antonio andrea would recommend this property

Liked: friendly

Disliked: cleaning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience to public transport Kitchen and wifi Friendly guests and staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Steinkritzer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

08 September 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap, close to trains and bus services plus it was in a real location and the people were real. I would definitely come and stay again. If you are looking for cheap and affordable accommodation I would come here again. :)

Disliked: I was all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and I will surely visit again.

Disliked: noise

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very welcoming and friendly and happy to answer any questions I had.

Disliked: Facilities weren't always up to scratch- only one shower for all the rooms to share, never any toilet paper, and the building and beds were a bit dodge. But in some ways I guess I got what I paid for.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels