HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Apple Lodge

Guesthouse | 46 Heigham Road, East Ham, London, England E6 2JG.

65.8% Overall Rating

17 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Krijn van Alten thinks…

"The location of the property was in a nice street, with shops and a underground station very close by."

Read all Apple Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge 1
30.83 USD

Guesthouse 66.5% 7 reviews
Apples Inn 3
35.70 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 13 reviews
Apples Inn Guesthouse
28.40 USD

Guesthouse 62.9% 16 reviews
Globe Trott Inns
12.98 USD

Hostel 71.4% 436 reviews
Cottage 3L
42.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Newham Hotel
89.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
27.59 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Barking Park Hotel
35.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 50.0% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.8%

Overall Rating

17 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Apple Lodge'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
64.8%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
67.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Krijn van Alten

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014

Liked: The location of the property was in a nice street, with shops and a underground station very close by.

Disliked: There was a lack of communication. When we arrived on Monday we couldn't come in, but we couldn't get in touch with someone of the staff until the next day around 11 AM. And during our stay there was hardly anyone of the staff in the property, so there was also no possibility to ask questions. Also both bathrooms had there problems. There where to, on the base floor and one on the first floor. The one on base floor was very old so everyone used the one on the first floor. This one was much better, but here there where troubles as well, this time with the warm water.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like much about this property, I would recommend it anyway to guests (insist on choosing the right room, not like me just ordering...): - Location, location, location - two tube lines 100m away from hostel, max. 40 minutes to center. I bought weekly paper travel cards for zones 1-3 and that's it (remember to have photo with you). - Kitchen is OK, very, very hot water - you don't need to boil all the spoons before using etc. - Toilets a bit dirty, but two on each floor, enough for shower.

Disliked: Hostel's manager cheats. They know you will complain for room 3 square meters for 2 people and doesn't inform you in advance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Spencer

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 May 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice and clean lodge, with free fast wifi, tube station is very close, nice big fully equipped kitchen, we enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 May 2014

Liked: being close to the tube station.

Disliked: the main light didnt work, no facilities to hang my clothes, bad internet connection, poor shower, smallest room ever! wasnt given check out information.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price

Disliked: It is a bit far from the center

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not too far from East Ham Underground Station and is just 3 mins walking to the main road which has lots of convenience stores and really nice Indian vegan restaurants.

Disliked: When I first came for the room I booked, it was hard to reach the owner because nobody was home to open the door. When he came, he explained that there's no room available at that property so he took me to another lodge just nearby that's also Apple Lodge. The heater doesn't work, I'm lucky it's still summer otherwise the house would be really cold especially during the night. The microwave and oven is really dirty, the cleaner comes everyday but she never cleaned them. The knives are annoying to use, almost useless. I suggest the owner should buy one or two new normal knives.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kolby St Germain

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2013 Kolby would recommend this property

Liked: It was really great to have a private bedroom. Also, we accidentally booked the wrong dates, and they were very kind about it and changed our reservations for no extra fee. It was also really clean, and a maid came in to clean the common areas everyday. It's very close to a grocery store and many delicious smelling restaurants.

Disliked: The second day, there was no hot water. No one is ever at the property besides the maid in the mornings, so we just couldn't have a shower that night. The kitchen hardly has any utensils or pots to cook with. The one pot we had was so warped and damaged that it made cooking very difficult. It also takes about 35 mins to get into the city each day.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap place to stay. Close by underground and cheap supermarket. Everything you need.

Disliked: Not luxurious, but great price. Can't expect more for the price. We had the cheapest room, which was super small. But it was all we wanted and needed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its not a real hostelplace or simething where uts easy to catch up with people. Its well worth the money,clean and secure and close to a cheap supermarket and station

Disliked: There is no owner around to ask you should be aware that u possibly had ti call them when arrivung there. Also dont be surprised cause theres no sign outside

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Justin Lancaster

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013

Liked: Inexpensive.

Disliked: We had signifigant issues with this property. First, is is much farther form the center of London than I had expected, as it took at least 30 minutes on the train to central London. Second, we had problems with our reservation. We reserved 3 rooms (there rooms are two people each, and we are a group of 5, so we needed 3 rooms). However, when we got there, it turned out they had not reserved the appropraite rooms, and had to move us to another of their properties (only about a block away), where we got two rooms, one of which had a couch to accomidate the third person in that room. We then had to argue with them to get sheets and such for the couch, since they "don't normally supply linens for the couch", despite the fact that it was their mistake in the first place. In addition, they charged us the full price for the three rooms, despite only getting two rooms. When we noticed the discrepancy later in the day, we notified them and they agreed to refund the money, first in person, then via PayPal. However, it has been over two weeks since we left and we have still not received a refund, so we are disputing the charge on our credit card.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia anderson

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 June 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was big, very clean and nice, the property is very close the the tube station and there is nice kitchen you can use, and also lots of cheap restaurant nearby, I will book this room again.

Disliked: Olivia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, nearby underground and food stores / restaurants

Disliked: no reception (had to wait in the frontyard)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siu Hin Mok

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Siu Hin would recommend this property

Liked: Good size for a double room, clean room, clean toilets. Good and friendly staff, answered the call and gave us the key on time for check-in. Not noisy at night, cheap restaurants nearby.

Disliked: Far from the center, at zone 3 of London tube, 30 min to Victoria station, but it is very close to East Ham tube station, less than 3 min walk.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels