HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The 23 Hostel

Hostel | 23 Inverness Terrace, London, England W2 3JR

63.9% Overall Rating

9 out of 14 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2013)

Natalie Solomona thinks…

"Location was very good, on a quiet street near 2 tube stops and a high street with shops, restaurants etc."

Read all The 23 Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.39

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Smart Hyde Park Inn
16.77 USD

Hostel 66.1% 1638 reviews
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
41.55 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Astor Queensway
35.25 USD

Hostel 81.3% 596 reviews
Hyde Park Hostel
15.11 USD

Hostel 52.5% 1240 reviews
Hyde Park Suites
50.36 USD

Apartment 75.0% 8 reviews
Dean Court Hotel
33.57 USD

Hostel 75.9% 14 reviews
Royal Bayswater Hostel
15.09 USD

Hostel 62.3% 1782 reviews
New dawn hotel
35.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.9% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.9%

Overall Rating

9 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The 23 Hostel'

Atmosphere
62.9%
Location
81.4%
Facilities
50.0%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
62.9%
Value
64.3%
Safety
65.7%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nicola Curtis

Alone

Events / festivals

03 January 2014

Liked: not much- the staff were rude

Disliked: Upon arrival at 11.45 pm i was asked for my ID . When the girl saw that i was 36 she said i could not stay at athe hostel becasue i was over the age limit. I did not see this on the site when i booked it a few months ago. She appolagised and said there were other hostels in the area. She did not offer me a another hostel name,or phone number. It was really poor service. I was really tired and she was rude and not helpful at all. If you choose to stay at this hostel be sure that you are under the 35 age cut off or they will promptly show you the door.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: I dont know. Maybe the stuff

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Natalie Solomona

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

31 March 2013

Liked: Location was very good, on a quiet street near 2 tube stops and a high street with shops, restaurants etc.

Disliked: The hostel has a lot of potential but our stay started off very badly and only slightly improved. Our 4 bed dorm and the hostel in general is unfinished (screws and wheels strewn on the floor, wardobe in pieces leaning against the wall, no water in toilet so unusable, bunk bed mattresses and duvet covers still in plastic packaging. At least that means they were clean but not given proper sheets and receptionist just stole pillows from another room for us), had to unpack beds ourselves. The closet-sized shared bathroom (1 toilet, 1 shower) was not cleaned during our 4 night stay, floors were always wet, no toilet paper, soap or handtowel, scummy shower floor. The breakfast was below average (1 cereal available (bran flakes) and toast, hot milk (?), orange juice, apple juice, tea and coffee). Dorm rooms are not secure as some rooms do not lock from the inside and keys to the doors are not given out unless you demand them (which we did for peace of mind). Two people had things go missing (a necklace and a phone) and there was a very suspicious man at the hostel who knocked on our door early one morning and stuck his head in to see what we had in our room. He also sat in the lounge facing the stairs and watched everyone come and go. Staff said they couldn't do anything about him but it was very disturbing. We wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone unless and until it is properly finished and things actually work. We also saw one of the dorms downstairs - these feel a bit like a dungeon as the ceilings are very low and it's dark in the passageway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Nwakanma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: I love that is it was very close to all the locations I needed to visit here in London, and it was also very close to the tube as well. Great place with great staff!

Disliked: I can't really say that I dislike anything about this place.....Was just an awesome place to stay.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 March 2013

Liked: It's a very handsome building. The rooms that are finished are fairly clean. The staff are pleasant and helpful. In particular, the 23's manager seemed to be conscientious and genuinely concerned with getting the place running properly.

Disliked: Unfortunately, the 23 is not running properly at the moment. Booking are badly organised. My booking was OK (thanks, HostelBookers), but I met three other travellers who had been misassigned rooms, including two women who had booked a female dorm and been put into mixed accomodation. The showers don't always run hot and the one in my room had terrible water pressure. The kitchen is a mess and another traveller reported finding a dead rat in the bin. There are no locks on the room doors and no lockers - while valuables can be checked at the reception, this is far from ideal.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, easy to find, friendly staff

Disliked: I did not dislike anything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah-Jane Law

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

24 March 2013 Sarah-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: beds were really comfy

Disliked: our shower didnt work in 112

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2013

Liked: Wlan

Disliked: expensive for that service, breakfest included is a joke


See all London hostels
See all London hotels