HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Gallery Hyde Park London Hostel

23 Inverness Terrace, London, England

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 48%

Location 83%

Safety 63%

Staff 64%

Value 61%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 7.83USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 48%

Location 83%

Safety 63%

Staff 64%

Value 61%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: not much- the staff were rude

Disliked: Upon arrival at 11.45 pm i was asked for my ID . When the girl saw that i was 36 she said i could not stay at athe hostel becasue i was over the age limit. I did not see this on the site when i booked it a few months ago. She appolagised and said there were other hostels in the area. She did not offer me a another hostel name,or phone number. It was really poor service. I was really tired and she was rude and not helpful at all. If you choose to stay at this hostel be sure that you are under the 35 age cut off or they will promptly show you the door.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: I dont know. Maybe the stuff

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location was very good, on a quiet street near 2 tube stops and a high street with shops, restaurants etc.

Disliked: The hostel has a lot of potential but our stay started off very badly and only slightly improved. Our 4 bed dorm and the hostel in general is unfinished (screws and wheels strewn on the floor, wardobe in pieces leaning against the wall, no water in toilet so unusable, bunk bed mattresses and duvet covers still in plastic packaging. At least that means they were clean but not given proper sheets and receptionist just stole pillows from another room for us), had to unpack beds ourselves. The closet-sized shared bathroom (1 toilet, 1 shower) was not cleaned during our 4 night stay, floors were always wet, no toilet paper, soap or handtowel, scummy shower floor. The breakfast was below average (1 cereal available (bran flakes) and toast, hot milk (?), orange juice, apple juice, tea and coffee). Dorm rooms are not secure as some rooms do not lock from the inside and keys to the doors are not given out unless you demand them (which we did for peace of mind). Two people had things go missing (a necklace and a phone) and there was a very suspicious man at the hostel who knocked on our door early one morning and stuck his head in to see what we had in our room. He also sat in the lounge facing the stairs and watched everyone come and go. Staff said they couldn't do anything about him but it was very disturbing. We wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone unless and until it is properly finished and things actually work. We also saw one of the dorms downstairs - these feel a bit like a dungeon as the ceilings are very low and it's dark in the passageway.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I love that is it was very close to all the locations I needed to visit here in London, and it was also very close to the tube as well. Great place with great staff!

Disliked: I can't really say that I dislike anything about this place.....Was just an awesome place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It's a very handsome building. The rooms that are finished are fairly clean.The staff are pleasant and helpful. In particular, the 23's manager seemed to be conscientious and genuinely concerned with getting the place running properly.

Disliked: Unfortunately, the 23 is not running properly at the moment.Booking are badly organised. My booking was OK (thanks, HostelBookers), but I met three other travellers who had been misassigned rooms, including two women who had booked a female dorm and been put into mixed accomodation.The showers don't always run hot and the one in my room had terrible water pressure. The kitchen is a mess and another traveller reported finding a dead rat in the bin. There are no locks on the room doors and no lockers - while valuables can be checked at the reception, this is far from ideal.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: beds were really comfy

Disliked: our shower didnt work in 112

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very central, easy to find, friendly staff

Disliked: I did not dislike anything

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Wlan

Disliked: expensive for that service, breakfest included is a joke

Check Availability