We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers

Hostel | 21 Longridge Road, London, England SW5 9SB

79.1% Overall Rating

164 out of 188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2015)

Gladimar Villamil thinks…

"The staff was friendly but aside from that nothing else, as soon as I saw my room I wanted to walk downstairs request a refund and leave, but my luggage was very heavy and it was making it hard for…"

Read all Saint James Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.12
  • Towel USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note : Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”] Cancellation policy : 48h Check in : 15.00pm If you are going to check-in later than 11pm please can you email to inform us? Check out : 10:00am Credit cards result in a 3% surcharge There is a £0.50 charge for all debit cards. A ?10 key deposit is payable at check-in, which is returned on return of the key at check-out. A Continental Breakfast is free for all the guests : fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee, 4 types of breakfast cereals, toast with spreads (jam and peanut butter). Also a full English cooked breakfast (Eggs, beans and bacon) is available for an extra £3 per day. You can also use our kitchen to cook meals outside of breakfast time and can help yourself to complementary tea and coffee any time. Taxes included Please note that we now operate 24 hour reception. Upon check-in guests are required to present valid photo ID (i.e. they MUST have government issued official photo ID such as passport or driving licence). Failure to provide ID will mean that you will be refused entry to the hostel and you will be charged for the first night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Barmy Badger Backpackers
39.04 USD

Hostel 92.0% 108 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
17.18 USD

Hostel 61.1% 104 reviews
Sara Hotel
36.70 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Anwar house
29.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.9% 200 reviews
Park House
76.32 USD

Hostel 76.2% 18 reviews
Chelsea House Hotel
56.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.8% 168 reviews
YHA London Earls Court
23.43 USD

Hostel 78.4% 131 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
37.48 USD

Hotel 84.8% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

164 out of 188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saint James Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 183 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2015

Liked: Location is really good.

Disliked: Rooms were dusty and restrooms were smelly and very tiny. On my first day I found my room very dusty. During my stay (3 days) dust was on the same place as it was on the fist day. Restrooms have been cleaned every day, but after it toilets or showers were full of hairs and dirt. Staff was not very friendly and helpful. On my fist day I couldn't sleep because of noise guests.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2015

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Rooms were small and cramped, everything felt old. Needs new beds that don't squeek every time someone moves.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Bakytova

Alone

City break

29 May 2015 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: cheerful and helpful staff, great location

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aleksander Lebedinetc

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2015 Aleksander would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and frienliness.

Disliked: Aleksander left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gulseven Lowe

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 April 2015 Gulseven would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, it,s only 5 minute walk from Earls Court station

Disliked: Gulseven left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gladimar Villamil

Alone

Business / conference

19 April 2015

Liked: The staff was friendly but aside from that nothing else, as soon as I saw my room I wanted to walk downstairs request a refund and leave, but my luggage was very heavy and it was making it hard for me to have to move out again after I'd finally gotten everything up 2 flights of stairs which is where the 1st floor of rooms is located.

Disliked: 1) It is uncomfortable to move around in. 2) The breakfast is scattered all over the place, I had no idea where the cereal was, there was just a table with 2 juices but no glassware there are also a couple of milks around but nothing on a table for breakfast, everything just goes around from person to person, after I managed to get a glass for juice I just left without eating anything it was just inconvenient. 3) The bed linen was dirty, many visible stains on the comforter on the bed. 4) The amenities are just long very narrow rooms, very uncomfortable to move around in. 5) With your luggage, they do not offer any secure way to store your luggage and if you would like it "stored" they charge a fee of 2 pounds for you to leave it in the lobby in plain sight. 6) Almost no wi-fi signal at all, extremely weak signal, they just tell you to wait for it to get better.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, friendly staff, great facilities and price, and very clean. Location is excellent.

Disliked: Can be noisy at night from other people staying at hostel.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Patrícia Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015

Liked: - Good breakfast; - Sympathy of the staff; - Near to the underground and bus stop; - Calm and safe zone with supermarket and restaurants nearby.

Disliked: - Room: We booked the twin en-suite and it doesn't look like the photos. The bathroom is really small, it's almost impossible to stay inside and close the door. - Noise: We heard a noise in our room in the 4 nights we stayed and they didn't fix it. We complained because we didn't sleep very well and to solve it they gave us ear tampons. - Cleanliness: We stayed 4 nights and the room and the bathroom were never cleaned. They didn't change the sheets either.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015

Liked: There's lots of common areas

Disliked: Unhelpful staff. Very cliquey hostel. Not a place to make friends as most of them live there full time. Need to be comfortable sharing rooms with middle-age men, because even if you're a 20 year old girl with 7 older guys in your room (one who claims to be a retired terrorist), they will not let you switch rooms. No events were going on during the weekend. Not fun. Don't recommend it. You can find cheaper and better!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the location, and environment!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Benjamin Kingston

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015

Liked: Easy to find from Earl's Court tube.

Disliked: Food stolen from fridge and staff couldn't care less. I reckon she ate it. Stains on duvet cover. Charged to leave luggage for few hours. First time that has ever happened to me at a hostel. Extremely petty in my opinion. Stayed for one night and was in the hotel for a total of 9/10 hours (including sleep). Far too many negative things to ever recommend this this.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Clean rooms and facilities. Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was in London Zone 1 and convenient to tube station. Breakfast had different cereals, toast and spreads, and egg. Very good price.

Disliked: Very loud in the hallways.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff welcome you with the smile,they take the time to show you the place and where is everything.the dorms were perfectly clean and the bed very confortable.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit cold.can have put some more heat.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Radulescu

Alone

City break

10 September 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. I will use this place again.

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Grozdanoski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge area is incredible, they have sky sports, a ps4 and movie nights. The couches are really comfortable and the kitchen and dining area are really spacious. The bathrooms are clean and the beds are reasonably comfortable. The backyard area is also really nice and hostel is close to all the amenities you'll ever need, such as shopping and transport links. The hostel dog Harry is also gorgeous.

Disliked: The pillows could be a bit better, but that's typical of all hostels really.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jean Paul Hleihel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014

Liked: Easy access to heathrow terminals. And most of the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: Hidden charge not mentioned in details of booking if paying by credit card. I even showed the receptionist what I printed and she still refused to do anything about it. Shared bathrooms and showers are cramped and not very functional.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were really nice. I liked the staff and the building

Disliked: The squeaky bed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was convenient and nice to go around. Clean rooms and bathrooms Staff were friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Good communal areas.

Disliked: Price was high.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2014

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Triple room could barely pass as a cupboard, three people in a room that small meant it was far too hot. The beds were really uncomfortable and incredibly loud whenever anyone moved. This all added up to a pretty terrible nights sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siang Yu Tham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2014 Siang Yu would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and friendly, the all-female dorm was lovely. The room is big, lockers were provided, but the beds were slightly creaky. Breakfast was decent.

Disliked: The showers are a bit small and wet

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joseph Moss

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 June 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly, and the hostel itself is very clean in most places, in a good central location, minutes away from major attractions and the area itself felt extremely safe! There are an array of shops nearby for amenities you might've forgotten (For example shampoo as I did) and the tube station is minutes away too! There are lockers under the bed which are free to use and the showers are nice and warm! :)

Disliked: The beds are a little uncomfortable (Mattresses are a bit thin, as is the pillow) and the beds do squeak a lot which can be annoying if you're not the last person in your room to go to bed, the showers can sometimes be a little dirty, but nothing more than a sizable amount of hair in the plugs, as well as a bit of water everywhere, but the general cleanliness of the bathrooms makes up for that! They are a little bit pokey too, I had to get into the shower just to close the door!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean, showers clean and hot ,options for female only bathrooms - breakfast was friendly and staff helpful The house is very large and spacious, lovely terrace garden

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Marie at the front desk was so extremely helpful and sweet. Thanks for the recommendations and getting me oriented in London!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nice staff, clean bathrooms

Disliked: Really noisy doors, too small showers, in double bedroom toilet and shower so small it's impossible to close the doors


See all London hostels
See all London hotels