HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers

Hostel | 21 Longridge Road, London, England SW5 9SB

84.6% Overall Rating

149 out of 166 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

"Location was convenient and nice to go around. Clean rooms and bathrooms Staff were friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Good communal areas."

Read all Saint James Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 101.83
  • Luggage Room USD 3.39
  • Towel USD 3.39

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Barmy Badger Backpackers
40.73 USD

Hostel 91.7% 79 reviews
The Court Hostel
29.70 USD

Hostel 59.9% 638 reviews
Access Earls Court
39.55 USD

Apartment 77.8% 9 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
20.37 USD

Hostel 53.6% 64 reviews
Sara Hotel
33.94 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
58.98 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
37 collingham place
23.29 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.3% 48 reviews
Anwar house
46.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 191 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

149 out of 166 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saint James Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 162 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was convenient and nice to go around. Clean rooms and bathrooms Staff were friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Good communal areas.

Disliked: Price was high.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2014

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Triple room could barely pass as a cupboard, three people in a room that small meant it was far too hot. The beds were really uncomfortable and incredibly loud whenever anyone moved. This all added up to a pretty terrible nights sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siang Yu Tham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2014 Siang Yu would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and friendly, the all-female dorm was lovely. The room is big, lockers were provided, but the beds were slightly creaky. Breakfast was decent.

Disliked: The showers are a bit small and wet

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joseph Moss

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 June 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly, and the hostel itself is very clean in most places, in a good central location, minutes away from major attractions and the area itself felt extremely safe! There are an array of shops nearby for amenities you might've forgotten (For example shampoo as I did) and the tube station is minutes away too! There are lockers under the bed which are free to use and the showers are nice and warm! :)

Disliked: The beds are a little uncomfortable (Mattresses are a bit thin, as is the pillow) and the beds do squeak a lot which can be annoying if you're not the last person in your room to go to bed, the showers can sometimes be a little dirty, but nothing more than a sizable amount of hair in the plugs, as well as a bit of water everywhere, but the general cleanliness of the bathrooms makes up for that! They are a little bit pokey too, I had to get into the shower just to close the door!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean, showers clean and hot ,options for female only bathrooms - breakfast was friendly and staff helpful The house is very large and spacious, lovely terrace garden

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Marie at the front desk was so extremely helpful and sweet. Thanks for the recommendations and getting me oriented in London!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nice staff, clean bathrooms

Disliked: Really noisy doors, too small showers, in double bedroom toilet and shower so small it's impossible to close the doors

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the cleanest hostel I have been in. And nothing was broken! I like how you get your own locker to put all your stuff in.

Disliked: The staff could have been friendlier.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yanchang Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2014 Yanchang would recommend this property

Liked: Review is for the 4 bed dorm and trip was made in winter. Hostel was situated in a quiet neighbourhood and within easy walking distance from Earl's Court station. Room was large and spacious, and it never felt cramped even with all four people including luggage in the room. WC and showers were kept clean and in good working condition. Wifi also worked perfectly, with a good signal in our room throughout our stay. Staff was also warm and friendly throughout our stay. The lady who handled our check in personally brought us to our room on the top floor, which was a nice touch instead of having us search for the room on our own. In sum, I would definitely recommend St James as an option for accomodation in London.

Disliked: Light sleepers may want to bring earplugs as the bedframes do tend to squeak and noise from the corridor carries into the room fairly easily.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a good hostel!!! I will stay there the next time! =)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice property. Good sized bedrooms, I stayed in the eight bed dorm, which had plenty of space, and there was only two of us in the room. Location is excellent, a three minute walk to Earls Court station, which will take you to the main tourist haul in about 20 minutes. The beds were reasonably comfy, albeit a bit creaky. Bedroom was warm, good for when it's cold in the winter. Kitchen was good, too. I used it to make dinner and there was plenty of room to sit and eat. Good sitting area, and reasonably fast internet for browsing. Well connected for night bus routes to and from central London, and TfL bike hire just around the corner.

Disliked: I didn't appreciate having to pay £2 to leave my baggage in the corner of the reception area, only for the staff to not be there all day watching it. This didn't feel very secure, and anybody could have taken any bag. If you stay in the eight bedroom room you have to pay £2 for breakfast, and a further £2 for use of the kitchen, although they do highlight this at the booking stage, it seems like a bit of a money making ploy. The showers were very small, meaning you had to stand in the cubicle to be able to close the door to the cubicle, the toilets were also the same. By the end of my last day there was no toilet paper left in the toilets, meaning I had to find a cubicle on a different floor with one. The staff didn't tell me which room I was in, just that it was on the first floor - not a big issue, but would have made it a lot easier to find the right room after a long journey, instead of spending a few minutes trying the key in every lock. I asked the staff which buses to use, and they were not very sure, although they did look it up for me. A member of staff was more concerned with listening to his music that helping out those staying, which was a bit off putting. And finally, I believe I left something at the hostel, and emailed to find out if they had it. I still haven't had a response, which is frustrating, a simple yes or no answer wouldn't take much effort. However, for the most part, I would recommend this hostel for its excellent location, cheap enough prices and cleanliness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Fletcher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: I was very impressed by the hostel. Straight away the staff were friendly and helpful, it is clean and has a very nice feel to it. I would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: The only thing I disliked (and it isn't really a buggy) is that the showers and toilets were very small and water leaked from the showers easily.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and toilet facilities were clean ,good common room. Beds comfy enough. secure lockers under each bed.

Disliked: Kept awake until 3.30 am by a girl constantly going in and out of room but I yguess you have to expect this staying in any hostel!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Annelie Luijben

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Annelie would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean kitchen, looks brand new and includes a dish washer. Breakfast is very nice and includes several choices of cereal, toast and juices. Common rooms are clean and light. The wifi was free and the location is perfect; close to many restaurants/shops and the Underground.

Disliked: The room was very small, the bathroom was tiny and old. The bed was small and the mattress bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Warren Mashford

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Tiny room size, beds Poor Quality

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bogdan Rybak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2013 Bogdan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel . Close to most atractions in London .

Disliked: Small showers

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located at a central position for a short trip to London.

Disliked: Wifi is only available in the public rooms and not at the rooms upstairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so good. carried our luggage up and downsatirs, a great help as we are not young travellers

Disliked: no lift but not really a problem see above

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well thought out hostel.

Disliked: Common areas well thought out and clean. Encouragement to save on electricity etc.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sergio Resines

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in rooms of max 8 people. More would have been aweful.

Disliked: Me and my girlfriend booked 2 beds in advance but we got two diffrent mixed rooms. We had to send messages to let eachother know when to open the door of the room because it was locked and knokking would disturbed the other people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lizzie Erickson

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 October 2013 Lizzie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a spacious kitchen, common area, and a back garden. The rooms are large, and the bathrooms are generally clean. It's a very quiet laid back place, definitely not a party hostel.

Disliked: The fridge in the kitchen needed to be cleaned more often.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

blaž mitrovic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 blaž would recommend this property

Liked: me and my friends liked everything about this property

Disliked: problems are in the bathroom - doors opening on inside to shower and they could clean a little bit more in the evening around the showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GEMMA CASAS GASSO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 GEMMA would recommend this property

Liked: I like the situation, friend staff, rooms clean.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Lowe

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 October 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice common area, nice bathrooms, bed comfy, great location (near to local Sainsbury's, tube station and bus stops), lots of facilities available. The reception area even had chandeliers!

Disliked: Breakfast was not re-stocked so might have to get up early to have the greatest selection, window difficult to keep open, but these are minor details.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really convenient being close to the tube, supermarket and laundry facilities. The breakfast is ok - toast, cereal, juice etc.

Disliked: The bathrooms needed to be cleaned more regularly, especially when the hostel is full. There is a charge to leave luggage on the day of check out.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels