We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers

Hostel | 21 Longridge Road, London, England SW5 9SB

82.9% Overall Rating

158 out of 178 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/01/2015)

"Friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Clean rooms and facilities. Good location."

Read all Saint James Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Breakfast is not included. A full English cooked breakfast it is available as an optional extra at £5 per day. Breakfast consists of bacon and eggs, baked beans, fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee, 6 types of breakfast cereals, toast with spreads (jam and peanut butter). You can also use our kitchen to cook meals outside of breakfast time and can help yourself to complementary tea and coffee any time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Barmy Badger Backpackers
34.89 USD

Hostel 92.1% 90 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
17.85 USD

Hostel 62.6% 83 reviews
Sara Hotel
32.46 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
34.49 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
37 collingham place
20.82 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 77.4% 52 reviews
Anwar house
27.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 193 reviews
Park House
79.31 USD

Hostel 77.6% 17 reviews
Chelsea House Hotel
34.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.5% 165 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

158 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saint James Backpackers'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 121 of 173 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015

Liked: There's lots of common areas

Disliked: Unhelpful staff. Very cliquey hostel. Not a place to make friends as most of them live there full time. Need to be comfortable sharing rooms with middle-age men, because even if you're a 20 year old girl with 7 older guys in your room (one who claims to be a retired terrorist), they will not let you switch rooms. No events were going on during the weekend. Not fun. Don't recommend it. You can find cheaper and better!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the location, and environment!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Benjamin Kingston

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015

Liked: Easy to find from Earl's Court tube.

Disliked: Food stolen from fridge and staff couldn't care less. I reckon she ate it. Stains on duvet cover. Charged to leave luggage for few hours. First time that has ever happened to me at a hostel. Extremely petty in my opinion. Stayed for one night and was in the hotel for a total of 9/10 hours (including sleep). Far too many negative things to ever recommend this this.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Clean rooms and facilities. Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was in London Zone 1 and convenient to tube station. Breakfast had different cereals, toast and spreads, and egg. Very good price.

Disliked: Very loud in the hallways.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff welcome you with the smile,they take the time to show you the place and where is everything.the dorms were perfectly clean and the bed very confortable.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit cold.can have put some more heat.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Radulescu

Alone

City break

10 September 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. I will use this place again.

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Grozdanoski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge area is incredible, they have sky sports, a ps4 and movie nights. The couches are really comfortable and the kitchen and dining area are really spacious. The bathrooms are clean and the beds are reasonably comfortable. The backyard area is also really nice and hostel is close to all the amenities you'll ever need, such as shopping and transport links. The hostel dog Harry is also gorgeous.

Disliked: The pillows could be a bit better, but that's typical of all hostels really.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jean Paul Hleihel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014

Liked: Easy access to heathrow terminals. And most of the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: Hidden charge not mentioned in details of booking if paying by credit card. I even showed the receptionist what I printed and she still refused to do anything about it. Shared bathrooms and showers are cramped and not very functional.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were really nice. I liked the staff and the building

Disliked: The squeaky bed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was convenient and nice to go around. Clean rooms and bathrooms Staff were friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Good communal areas.

Disliked: Price was high.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2014

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Triple room could barely pass as a cupboard, three people in a room that small meant it was far too hot. The beds were really uncomfortable and incredibly loud whenever anyone moved. This all added up to a pretty terrible nights sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siang Yu Tham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2014 Siang Yu would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and friendly, the all-female dorm was lovely. The room is big, lockers were provided, but the beds were slightly creaky. Breakfast was decent.

Disliked: The showers are a bit small and wet

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joseph Moss

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 June 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly, and the hostel itself is very clean in most places, in a good central location, minutes away from major attractions and the area itself felt extremely safe! There are an array of shops nearby for amenities you might've forgotten (For example shampoo as I did) and the tube station is minutes away too! There are lockers under the bed which are free to use and the showers are nice and warm! :)

Disliked: The beds are a little uncomfortable (Mattresses are a bit thin, as is the pillow) and the beds do squeak a lot which can be annoying if you're not the last person in your room to go to bed, the showers can sometimes be a little dirty, but nothing more than a sizable amount of hair in the plugs, as well as a bit of water everywhere, but the general cleanliness of the bathrooms makes up for that! They are a little bit pokey too, I had to get into the shower just to close the door!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean, showers clean and hot ,options for female only bathrooms - breakfast was friendly and staff helpful The house is very large and spacious, lovely terrace garden

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Marie at the front desk was so extremely helpful and sweet. Thanks for the recommendations and getting me oriented in London!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nice staff, clean bathrooms

Disliked: Really noisy doors, too small showers, in double bedroom toilet and shower so small it's impossible to close the doors

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the cleanest hostel I have been in. And nothing was broken! I like how you get your own locker to put all your stuff in.

Disliked: The staff could have been friendlier.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yanchang Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2014 Yanchang would recommend this property

Liked: Review is for the 4 bed dorm and trip was made in winter. Hostel was situated in a quiet neighbourhood and within easy walking distance from Earl's Court station. Room was large and spacious, and it never felt cramped even with all four people including luggage in the room. WC and showers were kept clean and in good working condition. Wifi also worked perfectly, with a good signal in our room throughout our stay. Staff was also warm and friendly throughout our stay. The lady who handled our check in personally brought us to our room on the top floor, which was a nice touch instead of having us search for the room on our own. In sum, I would definitely recommend St James as an option for accomodation in London.

Disliked: Light sleepers may want to bring earplugs as the bedframes do tend to squeak and noise from the corridor carries into the room fairly easily.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a good hostel!!! I will stay there the next time! =)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice property. Good sized bedrooms, I stayed in the eight bed dorm, which had plenty of space, and there was only two of us in the room. Location is excellent, a three minute walk to Earls Court station, which will take you to the main tourist haul in about 20 minutes. The beds were reasonably comfy, albeit a bit creaky. Bedroom was warm, good for when it's cold in the winter. Kitchen was good, too. I used it to make dinner and there was plenty of room to sit and eat. Good sitting area, and reasonably fast internet for browsing. Well connected for night bus routes to and from central London, and TfL bike hire just around the corner.

Disliked: I didn't appreciate having to pay £2 to leave my baggage in the corner of the reception area, only for the staff to not be there all day watching it. This didn't feel very secure, and anybody could have taken any bag. If you stay in the eight bedroom room you have to pay £2 for breakfast, and a further £2 for use of the kitchen, although they do highlight this at the booking stage, it seems like a bit of a money making ploy. The showers were very small, meaning you had to stand in the cubicle to be able to close the door to the cubicle, the toilets were also the same. By the end of my last day there was no toilet paper left in the toilets, meaning I had to find a cubicle on a different floor with one. The staff didn't tell me which room I was in, just that it was on the first floor - not a big issue, but would have made it a lot easier to find the right room after a long journey, instead of spending a few minutes trying the key in every lock. I asked the staff which buses to use, and they were not very sure, although they did look it up for me. A member of staff was more concerned with listening to his music that helping out those staying, which was a bit off putting. And finally, I believe I left something at the hostel, and emailed to find out if they had it. I still haven't had a response, which is frustrating, a simple yes or no answer wouldn't take much effort. However, for the most part, I would recommend this hostel for its excellent location, cheap enough prices and cleanliness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Fletcher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: I was very impressed by the hostel. Straight away the staff were friendly and helpful, it is clean and has a very nice feel to it. I would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: The only thing I disliked (and it isn't really a buggy) is that the showers and toilets were very small and water leaked from the showers easily.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and toilet facilities were clean ,good common room. Beds comfy enough. secure lockers under each bed.

Disliked: Kept awake until 3.30 am by a girl constantly going in and out of room but I yguess you have to expect this staying in any hostel!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Annelie Luijben

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Annelie would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean kitchen, looks brand new and includes a dish washer. Breakfast is very nice and includes several choices of cereal, toast and juices. Common rooms are clean and light. The wifi was free and the location is perfect; close to many restaurants/shops and the Underground.

Disliked: The room was very small, the bathroom was tiny and old. The bed was small and the mattress bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Warren Mashford

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Tiny room size, beds Poor Quality


See all London hostels
See all London hotels