HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers London Hostel

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 68%

Location 89%

Safety 80%

Staff 81%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.22USD
  • Luggage Room 2.81USD
  • Towel 3.51USD

Important Information

Please note :

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]


Cancellation policy : 48h
Check in : 15.00pm
If you are going to check-in later than 11pm please can you email to inform us?

Check out : 10:00am
Credit cards result in a 3% surcharge
There is a £0.50 charge for all debit cards.

A ?10 key deposit is payable at check-in, which is returned on return of the key at check-out.

A Continental Breakfast is free for all the guests : fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee, 4 types of breakfast cereals, toast with spreads (jam and peanut butter).

Also a full English cooked breakfast (Eggs, beans and bacon) is available for an extra £3 per day.

You can also use our kitchen to cook meals outside of breakfast time and can help yourself to complementary tea and coffee any time.


Taxes included

Please note that we now operate 24 hour reception.


Upon check-in guests are required to present valid photo ID (i.e. they MUST have government issued official photo ID such as passport or driving licence). Failure to provide ID will mean that you will be refused entry to the hostel and you will be charged for the first night.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 68%

Location 89%

Safety 80%

Staff 81%

Value 69%

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
41+

Liked: There were lice in room and.inbed.linen Yuk

Disliked: OKshowers

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The location was good. The cleaning staff were good.

Disliked: Check in time was mentioned as 00-23:59 while booking. However when visited the hostel, was told that check in time was incorrectly mentioned and is 3 PM. On insisting was provided a bed in the dorm (lucky that there was an empty bed). Locker wasnt working. At reception the staff spoke mostly in languages other than english amongst themselves .

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Near to a lot of services like supermarket, restaurants, etc. Neat to Earls Court underground station, so you can be on the center of London in around 10 min.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: You cannot beat it for value for money and the staff is so nice and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear John Boyd,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travellers’. I'm sure our entire hostel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Be assured your nice words have been shared with the entire team.
See you next time you're in the city!! Lots of love from Saint James Backpackers Hostel!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: There was a decent kitchen. Staff were friendly enough. Doing their best I suppose with bad management. Good location

Disliked: Dorm not cleanCurtain fallen down for most of the stayComplaint not responded to by management and no apology

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The location is superb, the staff are friendly and courteous, the mattress is underwhelming but clean, the facilities overall are very good and I would recommend this hostel for the weary traveller. Kind regardsConor

Disliked: Only improvement I would suggest is a flexible attitude to haggle over price for repeat business, but rugby world cup affected price a little too much.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: The atmosphere is wonderful, it's like to create his own family in London, we all speak English, but we are all from so many parts of the world. We eat together and share so many laughs, memories, stories... I've a place to live now in London

Disliked: Sometimes the cleanliess, because not all the customers are so respectfull with the others. But most of the time it is quite clean and the employees are wonderfull and really helpfull.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice communal area

Disliked: Could have been cleaned a bit more properly

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is really good.

Disliked: Rooms were dusty and restrooms were smelly and very tiny. On my first day I found my room very dusty. During my stay (3 days) dust was on the same place as it was on the fist day. Restrooms have been cleaned every day, but after it toilets or showers were full of hairs and dirt. Staff was not very friendly and helpful. On my fist day I couldn't sleep because of noise guests.

Check Availability