HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers London Hostel

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 70%

Location 89%

Safety 82%

Staff 83%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.93USD
  • Luggage Room 2.62USD
  • Towel 3.28USD

Important Information

Please note :

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]


Cancellation policy : 48h
Check in : 15.00pm
If you are going to check-in later than 11pm please can you email to inform us?

Check out : 10:00am
Credit cards result in a 3% surcharge
There is a £0.50 charge for all debit cards.

A ?10 key deposit is payable at check-in, which is returned on return of the key at check-out.

A Continental Breakfast is free for all the guests : fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee, 4 types of breakfast cereals, toast with spreads (jam and peanut butter).

Also a full English cooked breakfast (Eggs, beans and bacon) is available for an extra £3 per day.

You can also use our kitchen to cook meals outside of breakfast time and can help yourself to complementary tea and coffee any time.


Taxes included

Please note that we now operate 24 hour reception.


Upon check-in guests are required to present valid photo ID (i.e. they MUST have government issued official photo ID such as passport or driving licence). Failure to provide ID will mean that you will be refused entry to the hostel and you will be charged for the first night.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 70%

Location 89%

Safety 82%

Staff 83%

Value 72%

Showing 21-30 of 63 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff, the location, and environment!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Many thanks for taking the time to write us an awesome review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time you're in the city!! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Lots of love from Saint James Backpackers Hostel!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Clean rooms and facilities. Good location.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Easy to find from Earl's Court tube.

Disliked: Food stolen from fridge and staff couldn't care less. I reckon she ate it. Stains on duvet cover. Charged to leave luggage for few hours. First time that has ever happened to me at a hostel. Extremely petty in my opinion. Stayed for one night and was in the hotel for a total of 9/10 hours (including sleep). Far too many negative things to ever recommend this this.


The property's response is

We want St James to be your home away from home so we do indeed offer a free kitchen for all our guests to cook in; this includes use of a fridge to store your own food. Unfortunately this sometimes results in food being taken by other guests - whether by accident or on purpose. We have now installed CCTV in the kitchen to reduce this. We feel your frustration at losing your food but to suggest that the staff took your food is just plain mean - and hopefully on reflection you'll agree with that?

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was in London Zone 1 and convenient to tube station. Breakfast had different cereals, toast and spreads, and egg. Very good price.

Disliked: Very loud in the hallways.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Saint James Backpackers Hostel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. Our priority is to make sure our guests are having a good time with us and in London. We have a strict noise policy where no guest is allowed to make noise after 11pm. Should you stay with us again please inform one of our staff members and we will ensure there is no noise near any of the rooms. We hope to see you back with us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff welcome you with the smile,they take the time to show you the place and where is everything.the dorms were perfectly clean and the bed very confortable.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit cold.can have put some more heat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at Saint James Backpackers Hostel! It is always a pleasure for us to make sure our guests are having a good time in London. Sorry to hear we didn’t reach your expectations regarding the heat but we have taken your comments on board and are constantly striving to improve our services.We will be glad to welcome you again!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very friendly staff. I will use this place again.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, we're glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. We are always trying to ensure our guests have the best hostel experience staying with us!!Can't wait to have you stay with us next time you're in the city. As a token of our appreciation we’d be delighted to offer you 10% off of your next stay with us. When you’d like to stay with us next please go to our website and enter the promotional code “LoveSaintJames”.All the best, the team at Saint James Backpackers Hostel.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The lounge area is incredible, they have sky sports, a ps4 and movie nights. The couches are really comfortable and the kitchen and dining area are really spacious. The bathrooms are clean and the beds are reasonably comfortable. The backyard area is also really nice and hostel is close to all the amenities you'll ever need, such as shopping and transport links. The hostel dog Harry is also gorgeous.

Disliked: The pillows could be a bit better, but that's typical of all hostels really.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, we are thrilled you had an exceptional stay with us! We are always trying to ensure our guests have the best hostel experience staying with us!! We appreciate the kind words and can't wait to see you next time you're in London!! Enjoy the rest of your travels! The team at Saint James Backpackers Hostel.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Easy access to heathrow terminals. And most of the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: Hidden charge not mentioned in details of booking if paying by credit card. I even showed the receptionist what I printed and she still refused to do anything about it. Shared bathrooms and showers are cramped and not very functional.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The facilities were really nice. I liked the staff and the building

Disliked: The squeaky bed

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was convenient and nice to go around.Clean rooms and bathroomsStaff were friendly.Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.Good communal areas.

Disliked: Price was high.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability