We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers

Hostel | 21 Longridge Road, London, England SW5 9SB

83.4% Overall Rating

161 out of 183 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2015)

Gladimar Villamil thinks…

"The staff was friendly but aside from that nothing else, as soon as I saw my room I wanted to walk downstairs request a refund and leave, but my luggage was very heavy and it was making it hard for…"

Read all Saint James Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.02
  • Towel USD 3.02

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note : Cancellation policy : 48h Check in : 15.00pm If you are going to check-in later than 11pm please can you email to inform us? Check out : 10:00am Credit cards result in a 3% surcharge There is a £0.50 charge for all debit cards. A ?10 key deposit is payable at check-in, which is returned on return of the key at check-out. A Continental Breakfast is free for all the guests : fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee, 4 types of breakfast cereals, toast with spreads (jam and peanut butter). Also a full English cooked breakfast (Eggs, beans and bacon) is available for an extra £3 per day. You can also use our kitchen to cook meals outside of breakfast time and can help yourself to complementary tea and coffee any time. Taxes included Please note that we now operate 24 hour reception. Upon check-in guests are required to present valid photo ID (i.e. they MUST have government issued official photo ID such as passport or driving licence). Failure to provide ID will mean that you will be refused entry to the hostel and you will be charged for the first night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Barmy Badger Backpackers
36.26 USD

Hostel 91.2% 100 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
16.62 USD

Hostel 64.2% 87 reviews
Sara Hotel
31.73 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
37.39 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
37 collingham place
20.14 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.1% 54 reviews
Anwar house
33.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.8% 197 reviews
Park House
73.83 USD

Hostel 77.6% 17 reviews
YHA London Earls Court
31.73 USD

Hostel 77.7% 130 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

161 out of 183 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saint James Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 178 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Vlasov

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: St James is probably the best value for money in London. Everything was cool. By the way, each bunk in a shared dorm has a personal locker included in the price for every person.

Disliked: It was all good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and common room were nice. The beds were very clean and it was handy to have a sink in the 6 share room.

Disliked: The bathrooms were very dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James King

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 August 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very much enjoyed my stay here. Modern and clean with great people.

Disliked: Wifi internet is below par and often doesn't work

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Brandenburg

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a fantastic location -- not far from the underground. Great and helpful staff. Wonderful kitchen and dining space.

Disliked: No A/C which I know is usually not a problem, it was unseasonably hot -- but our room slept with the windows open so we were very comfortable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Avery Conant

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Avery would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the house, well located like everyone says. The staff were quite nice and welcoming. Comfortable bed for a hostel, and nice large facilities such as the patio and the common room were welcome additions. Also, the movie selection is top notch!

Disliked: One of the women in my room requested that the window be shut, so it was about 80 degrees F or about 27 C at night -- pretty miserable. The toilets were clean but the floors had a lot of dirt and hair, but nothing disgusting.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shelley Bird

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Shelley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, sociable and helpful. The hostel had a very nice kitchen and courtyard. Commons area was comfortable and had free internet and plenty of dining space. The free breakfast was simple but nice and nonetheless very appreciated. Very close to Earl's Court Station as well as several local food stores. Located in a very nice neighborhood. Quiet at night and a good night's sleep!

Disliked: Our room on the top floor was a little hot and stuffy but no complaints other than that. I did note some stray hairs on my linens when we checked in, which makes me question if they were really clean or not. Key deposits are £10 per person. I went with my husband and they required each of us to have our own key and thus put down at £20 deposit. I would have preferred just to have one key between the two of us, because we left the country the day we checked out and didn't need the cash anymore.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Grazielle Santos

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping

15 July 2013 Grazielle would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, safe and secure.

Disliked: Wi fi didn´t work well. Bed sheets were dirty. A little noisy in morning. Suggest inclusion chocolate powder in breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet, nice location

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Glenn Rodgers

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: The Earls court tube is really close by giving access to both Picadilly and district lines giving good connections to the city

Disliked: The Wifi could be a bit temperamental.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonella Zucchiatti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Antonella would recommend this property

Liked: Las comodidades están muy bien. La cocina super equipada, la sala de estar muy cómoda y el desayuno muy completo.

Disliked: Lo único que puedo decir es que el ambiente del hostel es más de gente que vive en el lugar por un tiempo, por lo cual no hay ese ambiente que caracteriza a los hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Meilen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a lovely place in central London. We could walk to Kennsington/Hyde Park, Science and Natural History Museums. There were many inexpensive options for food nearby and a well equipped kitchen in the hostel with several nearby grocers. Rooms were secure and came with lockers underneath each bed for free. Bathrooms were well kept and clean. The lounge has an extensive DVD collection that guests are welcome to use.

Disliked: We didn't know that using the kitchen was 1£ extra (per person per night) and would appreciate that being clean on booking or included in the price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good staff, everything was clean

Disliked: Tends to be more for long term stays, such as while looking for an apartment, rather than lone backpackers looking to meet people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent central location Bunks were clean & comfortable. Ample communal areas & kitchen. Pleasant staff. If your travelling alone and put in some effort you should get talking to people here , but as usual its luck of the draw if the other travellers staying are friendly or not.

Disliked: Communal unisex shower cubicles far too small. Hand wash Soap always ran out in bathroom/ toilets. Private bunk room very basic for price, just bunks, sink and small storage unit - not even a chair provided in room. Breakfast basic which you make for yourself. The constant slamming of doors gets annoying. Room security could have been better - no lock on 2nd floor window and with scaffolding nextdoor it would be very easy access to room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location (Sainsbury's just round the corner), the lockers provided (no need to bring your own lock), free wifi, clean sheets, free computer (just one) provided

Disliked: Having to pay £1 per day to use the kitchen (for the lowest grade accommodation) but £2 breakfast is acceptable, thin walls, thin pillows you don't even know it's there, beds are short, bathrooms a bit too small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located near a convenient underground station, with direct access from Saint Pancras, and to downtown loctions. The neighborhood is lively and interesting.The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet.

Disliked: Our only complaint is that the wi-fi worked properly only in the main room near the reception.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 June 2013

Liked: It's nearby the tube and relatively comfortable.

Disliked: No towels provided and failure of provision of full details regarding any surcharges policy!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marek Heger

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here with my friends just one night, but we felt very good. We had the family room and we shared a bathroom, but it was clean. This hostel offer also breakfast, you can eat cereals, bread..drink coffee, tea, milk. We are from Slovakia, and we met a slovak receptionist here, it was nice. Underground it is not so far, by walk about 4-5 min. Free wifi is also here, u can use a dayroom with tv and comfortable sofa :).

Disliked: Marek left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Ferrari Santos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Could have been cleaner and staff a little more friendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Wee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, converted from a hotel and furnishings still intact. Owner and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Wifi was good, with a free computer on the ground floor.

Disliked: It would have been a big bonus to offer free towels and free baggage hold after checkout. However, the stay was near perfect nonetheless!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paige Taylor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2013 Paige would recommend this property

Liked: First time staying in s hostel and it felt like being at home. They have a big kitchen with everything you need to eat and cook - there is even free pasta & pasta sauce! Breakfast comes with lots of choices of cereal and toast spreads and I made a egg sandwich and ate it in the sun in there huge garden :) and it only cost me 2pound for all this! The staff were very helpful always smiling and willing to help. thank you guys for making my stay really homely and comfortable I will be back!!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's safe, quiet and clean.

Disliked: Breakfast is basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nancy sikora

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 nancy would recommend this property

Liked: We found it a really friendly and welcoming place to stay. It was well placed to visit the many sights of London, We will have no hesitation in staying with you again and telling people what a great place to stay. Thank you for a lovely stay and we wish we could have been with you longer

Disliked: Nothing at all

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: the window in our original room wasn't attached to the ceiling so there was a gap. we were unable to shut out street noise. the floor in the room was also wonky so anything we put on the floor ended up sliding down the building. the room we ended up in had the pipes that all the water in the building ran through so it was noisy and very very hot! also the continental breakfast was not up to the standard i had expected from experience of other hostels. value toast and stale cereal....bring your own breakfast!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels