We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers

Hostel | 21 Longridge Road, London, England SW5 9SB

85.1% Overall Rating

154 out of 172 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

Daniel Grozdanoski thinks…

"The lounge area is incredible, they have sky sports, a ps4 and movie nights. The couches are really comfortable and the kitchen and dining area are really spacious. The bathrooms are clean and the…"

Read all Saint James Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Barmy Badger Backpackers
35.70 USD

Hostel 91.2% 83 reviews
The Court Hostel
28.40 USD

Hostel 59.9% 638 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
17.85 USD

Hostel 61.9% 81 reviews
Sara Hotel
36.51 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
44.22 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
37 collingham place
21.21 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 79.2% 50 reviews
Anwar house
36.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.1% 192 reviews
Park House
58.42 USD

Hostel 77.6% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

154 out of 172 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saint James Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 167 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Meilen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a lovely place in central London. We could walk to Kennsington/Hyde Park, Science and Natural History Museums. There were many inexpensive options for food nearby and a well equipped kitchen in the hostel with several nearby grocers. Rooms were secure and came with lockers underneath each bed for free. Bathrooms were well kept and clean. The lounge has an extensive DVD collection that guests are welcome to use.

Disliked: We didn't know that using the kitchen was 1£ extra (per person per night) and would appreciate that being clean on booking or included in the price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good staff, everything was clean

Disliked: Tends to be more for long term stays, such as while looking for an apartment, rather than lone backpackers looking to meet people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent central location Bunks were clean & comfortable. Ample communal areas & kitchen. Pleasant staff. If your travelling alone and put in some effort you should get talking to people here , but as usual its luck of the draw if the other travellers staying are friendly or not.

Disliked: Communal unisex shower cubicles far too small. Hand wash Soap always ran out in bathroom/ toilets. Private bunk room very basic for price, just bunks, sink and small storage unit - not even a chair provided in room. Breakfast basic which you make for yourself. The constant slamming of doors gets annoying. Room security could have been better - no lock on 2nd floor window and with scaffolding nextdoor it would be very easy access to room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location (Sainsbury's just round the corner), the lockers provided (no need to bring your own lock), free wifi, clean sheets, free computer (just one) provided

Disliked: Having to pay £1 per day to use the kitchen (for the lowest grade accommodation) but £2 breakfast is acceptable, thin walls, thin pillows you don't even know it's there, beds are short, bathrooms a bit too small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located near a convenient underground station, with direct access from Saint Pancras, and to downtown loctions. The neighborhood is lively and interesting.The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet.

Disliked: Our only complaint is that the wi-fi worked properly only in the main room near the reception.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 June 2013

Liked: It's nearby the tube and relatively comfortable.

Disliked: No towels provided and failure of provision of full details regarding any surcharges policy!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marek Heger

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here with my friends just one night, but we felt very good. We had the family room and we shared a bathroom, but it was clean. This hostel offer also breakfast, you can eat cereals, bread..drink coffee, tea, milk. We are from Slovakia, and we met a slovak receptionist here, it was nice. Underground it is not so far, by walk about 4-5 min. Free wifi is also here, u can use a dayroom with tv and comfortable sofa :).

Disliked: Marek left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Ferrari Santos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Could have been cleaner and staff a little more friendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Wee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, converted from a hotel and furnishings still intact. Owner and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Wifi was good, with a free computer on the ground floor.

Disliked: It would have been a big bonus to offer free towels and free baggage hold after checkout. However, the stay was near perfect nonetheless!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paige Taylor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2013 Paige would recommend this property

Liked: First time staying in s hostel and it felt like being at home. They have a big kitchen with everything you need to eat and cook - there is even free pasta & pasta sauce! Breakfast comes with lots of choices of cereal and toast spreads and I made a egg sandwich and ate it in the sun in there huge garden :) and it only cost me 2pound for all this! The staff were very helpful always smiling and willing to help. thank you guys for making my stay really homely and comfortable I will be back!!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's safe, quiet and clean.

Disliked: Breakfast is basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nancy sikora

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 nancy would recommend this property

Liked: We found it a really friendly and welcoming place to stay. It was well placed to visit the many sights of London, We will have no hesitation in staying with you again and telling people what a great place to stay. Thank you for a lovely stay and we wish we could have been with you longer

Disliked: Nothing at all

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: the window in our original room wasn't attached to the ceiling so there was a gap. we were unable to shut out street noise. the floor in the room was also wonky so anything we put on the floor ended up sliding down the building. the room we ended up in had the pipes that all the water in the building ran through so it was noisy and very very hot! also the continental breakfast was not up to the standard i had expected from experience of other hostels. value toast and stale cereal....bring your own breakfast!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Gerick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to underground station which allows you to get to everything. Staff friendly and always happy to help.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Everything was generally fine.

Disliked: The bunk beds were extremely squeaky so everyone in the room would wake up if someone was moving around. The walls were also very thin so you could hear people walking on your floor and wake up to that. I didn't sleep very well. Otherwise everything was great.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cassy Dove

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Cassy would recommend this property

Liked: Located on the same train line as the airport, and in a good location close to the city and to Chelsea. Good real fast provided, large lockers, plenty of bathrooms and showers, but no where dry to put your stuff in the shower.

Disliked: Make sure you check out during office hours so that you can get your key deposit back!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff and the rooms for everybody.

Disliked: Please change the description "garden view" at the deluxe-room "female only for two persons". There is no garden view and no warddrobe.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and nice atmosphere. Free WiFi. Room was bright and the kitchen and common area very nice. Good location and very easy to find from Earls Court station.

Disliked: No individual lamps in the rooms so no way to turn a light on at night/early morning without disturbing the others. Bathroom quite far away unless you're lucky enough to get a room in that end of the house. Showers could have been cleaner.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013

Liked: Location is good, close to Earl's Court tube station (zone 1). Excellent kitchen. Good breakfast.

Disliked: A fellow guest urinated on the dorm room floor and my bag during the night. No staff were working at the time and were unable to be contacted. Managed to find an off-duty staff member purely by chance, who mopped the floor but would not kick out the offender or contact manager. Manager could still not be contacted the next day. Receptionist promised the other guests in the room would be moved to another room; his did not happen. Urinator not kicked out of hostel until following evening, despite multiple guests repeatedly telling staff they felt unsafe in his presence. Floor not cleaned next day - I don't think they ever clean them! So basically, manager did absolutely nothing for the affected guests, and will not reply to my email about it. Being unable to contact staff at night puts guests' safety and security at risk. Strongly advise against staying here.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly, no problem with wifi internet neither hot water in the showers.

Disliked: I was not lucky: there were 4 guys living in my bedroom, and they were no respectful about who wants to awake up later than 6:30 AM. Staff should clarify rules about silence in bedroom during night time (including early morning).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean, staff was very friendly. I liked the Neighborhood very much (calm and beautiful, 300 m to a tube station, a supermarket just in the corner, many places to eat nearby).

Disliked: They should warn that they charge you 2GBP to live your luggage after check out. Besides that, I had a very good experience

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms, big dining/living area, nice courtyard, lockers.

Disliked: lack of good internet in rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Saint James for 5 nights. It was clean, secure and well located with kind and helpful staff. Earlier reviews had indicated that the hot water ran out early but they seem to have rectified this problem as I had no issues with hot showers even later in the morning or afternoon (good water pressure too!) The beds are comfy and it was nice to have kitchen facilities available. 6ish min walk to well linked tube and grocery shops! (even a Sainsbury's local on the end of the same block for last min/late night options)

Disliked: The wifi was a bit spotty and not accessible in my basement girls dorm (staff did their best with it thought and even restarted it when requested). The common provided desktop computer did work well, however. Most of the pans are already a bit rough looking (c'mon other guests, don't scrape a non stick pan with a metal fork!) and an extra fridge would be welcome as things were getting a bit tight in there.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels