HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers London Hostel

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.67USD
  • Luggage Room 3.12USD
  • Towel 3.89USD

Important Information

Please note :

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]


Cancellation policy : 48h
Check in : 15.00pm
If you are going to check-in later than 11pm please can you email to inform us?

Check out : 10:00am
Credit cards result in a 3% surcharge
There is a £0.50 charge for all debit cards.

A ?10 key deposit is payable at check-in, which is returned on return of the key at check-out.

A Continental Breakfast is free for all the guests : fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee, 4 types of breakfast cereals, toast with spreads (jam and peanut butter).

Also a full English cooked breakfast (Eggs, beans and bacon) is available for an extra £3 per day.

You can also use our kitchen to cook meals outside of breakfast time and can help yourself to complementary tea and coffee any time.


Taxes included

Please note that we now operate 24 hour reception.


Upon check-in guests are required to present valid photo ID (i.e. they MUST have government issued official photo ID such as passport or driving licence). Failure to provide ID will mean that you will be refused entry to the hostel and you will be charged for the first night.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 73%

Showing 21-30 of 94 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff welcome you with the smile,they take the time to show you the place and where is everything.the dorms were perfectly clean and the bed very confortable.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit cold.can have put some more heat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at Saint James Backpackers Hostel! It is always a pleasure for us to make sure our guests are having a good time in London. Sorry to hear we didn’t reach your expectations regarding the heat but we have taken your comments on board and are constantly striving to improve our services.We will be glad to welcome you again!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very friendly staff. I will use this place again.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, we're glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. We are always trying to ensure our guests have the best hostel experience staying with us!!Can't wait to have you stay with us next time you're in the city. As a token of our appreciation we’d be delighted to offer you 10% off of your next stay with us. When you’d like to stay with us next please go to our website and enter the promotional code “LoveSaintJames”.All the best, the team at Saint James Backpackers Hostel.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The lounge area is incredible, they have sky sports, a ps4 and movie nights. The couches are really comfortable and the kitchen and dining area are really spacious. The bathrooms are clean and the beds are reasonably comfortable. The backyard area is also really nice and hostel is close to all the amenities you'll ever need, such as shopping and transport links. The hostel dog Harry is also gorgeous.

Disliked: The pillows could be a bit better, but that's typical of all hostels really.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, we are thrilled you had an exceptional stay with us! We are always trying to ensure our guests have the best hostel experience staying with us!! We appreciate the kind words and can't wait to see you next time you're in London!! Enjoy the rest of your travels! The team at Saint James Backpackers Hostel.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Easy access to heathrow terminals. And most of the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: Hidden charge not mentioned in details of booking if paying by credit card. I even showed the receptionist what I printed and she still refused to do anything about it. Shared bathrooms and showers are cramped and not very functional.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The facilities were really nice. I liked the staff and the building

Disliked: The squeaky bed

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was convenient and nice to go around.Clean rooms and bathroomsStaff were friendly.Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.Good communal areas.

Disliked: Price was high.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Triple room could barely pass as a cupboard, three people in a room that small meant it was far too hot. The beds were really uncomfortable and incredibly loud whenever anyone moved. This all added up to a pretty terrible nights sleep.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were helpful and friendly, the all-female dorm was lovely. The room is big, lockers were provided, but the beds were slightly creaky. Breakfast was decent.

Disliked: The showers are a bit small and wet

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Staff are very friendly, and the hostel itself is very clean in most places, in a good central location, minutes away from major attractions and the area itself felt extremely safe! There are an array of shops nearby for amenities you might've forgotten (For example shampoo as I did) and the tube station is minutes away too! There are lockers under the bed which are free to use and the showers are nice and warm! :)

Disliked: The beds are a little uncomfortable (Mattresses are a bit thin, as is the pillow) and the beds do squeak a lot which can be annoying if you're not the last person in your room to go to bed, the showers can sometimes be a little dirty, but nothing more than a sizable amount of hair in the plugs, as well as a bit of water everywhere, but the general cleanliness of the bathrooms makes up for that! They are a little bit pokey too, I had to get into the shower just to close the door!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The property was very clean, showers clean and hot ,options for female only bathrooms - breakfast was friendly and staff helpful The house is very large and spacious, lovely terrace garden

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability