HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers

Hostel | 21 Longridge Road, London, England SW5 9SB

82.5% Overall Rating

141 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2014)

"This is probably the cleanest hostel I have been in. And nothing was broken! I like how you get your own locker to put all your stuff in."

Read all Saint James Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 100.67
  • Luggage Room USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Barmy Badger Backpackers
36.91 USD

Hostel 91.1% 60 reviews
The Court Hostel
29.36 USD

Hostel 59.9% 638 reviews
Access Earls Court
39.09 USD

Apartment 77.8% 9 reviews
Maranton Hotel
66.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Londonears Hostel
20.97 USD

Hostel 57.4% 21 reviews
Sara Hotel
37.75 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
41.11 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
37 collingham place
23.29 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 78.2% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

141 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saint James Backpackers'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 151 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Wee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, converted from a hotel and furnishings still intact. Owner and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Wifi was good, with a free computer on the ground floor.

Disliked: It would have been a big bonus to offer free towels and free baggage hold after checkout. However, the stay was near perfect nonetheless!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paige Taylor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 June 2013 Paige would recommend this property

Liked: First time staying in s hostel and it felt like being at home. They have a big kitchen with everything you need to eat and cook - there is even free pasta & pasta sauce! Breakfast comes with lots of choices of cereal and toast spreads and I made a egg sandwich and ate it in the sun in there huge garden :) and it only cost me 2pound for all this! The staff were very helpful always smiling and willing to help. thank you guys for making my stay really homely and comfortable I will be back!!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's safe, quiet and clean.

Disliked: Breakfast is basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nancy sikora

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 nancy would recommend this property

Liked: We found it a really friendly and welcoming place to stay. It was well placed to visit the many sights of London, We will have no hesitation in staying with you again and telling people what a great place to stay. Thank you for a lovely stay and we wish we could have been with you longer

Disliked: Nothing at all

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: the window in our original room wasn't attached to the ceiling so there was a gap. we were unable to shut out street noise. the floor in the room was also wonky so anything we put on the floor ended up sliding down the building. the room we ended up in had the pipes that all the water in the building ran through so it was noisy and very very hot! also the continental breakfast was not up to the standard i had expected from experience of other hostels. value toast and stale cereal....bring your own breakfast!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Gerick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to underground station which allows you to get to everything. Staff friendly and always happy to help.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Everything was generally fine.

Disliked: The bunk beds were extremely squeaky so everyone in the room would wake up if someone was moving around. The walls were also very thin so you could hear people walking on your floor and wake up to that. I didn't sleep very well. Otherwise everything was great.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cassy Dove

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Cassy would recommend this property

Liked: Located on the same train line as the airport, and in a good location close to the city and to Chelsea. Good real fast provided, large lockers, plenty of bathrooms and showers, but no where dry to put your stuff in the shower.

Disliked: Make sure you check out during office hours so that you can get your key deposit back!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff and the rooms for everybody.

Disliked: Please change the description "garden view" at the deluxe-room "female only for two persons". There is no garden view and no warddrobe.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and nice atmosphere. Free WiFi. Room was bright and the kitchen and common area very nice. Good location and very easy to find from Earls Court station.

Disliked: No individual lamps in the rooms so no way to turn a light on at night/early morning without disturbing the others. Bathroom quite far away unless you're lucky enough to get a room in that end of the house. Showers could have been cleaner.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013

Liked: Location is good, close to Earl's Court tube station (zone 1). Excellent kitchen. Good breakfast.

Disliked: A fellow guest urinated on the dorm room floor and my bag during the night. No staff were working at the time and were unable to be contacted. Managed to find an off-duty staff member purely by chance, who mopped the floor but would not kick out the offender or contact manager. Manager could still not be contacted the next day. Receptionist promised the other guests in the room would be moved to another room; his did not happen. Urinator not kicked out of hostel until following evening, despite multiple guests repeatedly telling staff they felt unsafe in his presence. Floor not cleaned next day - I don't think they ever clean them! So basically, manager did absolutely nothing for the affected guests, and will not reply to my email about it. Being unable to contact staff at night puts guests' safety and security at risk. Strongly advise against staying here.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly, no problem with wifi internet neither hot water in the showers.

Disliked: I was not lucky: there were 4 guys living in my bedroom, and they were no respectful about who wants to awake up later than 6:30 AM. Staff should clarify rules about silence in bedroom during night time (including early morning).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean, staff was very friendly. I liked the Neighborhood very much (calm and beautiful, 300 m to a tube station, a supermarket just in the corner, many places to eat nearby).

Disliked: They should warn that they charge you 2GBP to live your luggage after check out. Besides that, I had a very good experience

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms, big dining/living area, nice courtyard, lockers.

Disliked: lack of good internet in rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Saint James for 5 nights. It was clean, secure and well located with kind and helpful staff. Earlier reviews had indicated that the hot water ran out early but they seem to have rectified this problem as I had no issues with hot showers even later in the morning or afternoon (good water pressure too!) The beds are comfy and it was nice to have kitchen facilities available. 6ish min walk to well linked tube and grocery shops! (even a Sainsbury's local on the end of the same block for last min/late night options)

Disliked: The wifi was a bit spotty and not accessible in my basement girls dorm (staff did their best with it thought and even restarted it when requested). The common provided desktop computer did work well, however. Most of the pans are already a bit rough looking (c'mon other guests, don't scrape a non stick pan with a metal fork!) and an extra fridge would be welcome as things were getting a bit tight in there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lianne Willems

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 April 2013 Lianne would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, friendly people and the building is new and clean (except for the bathrooms which were sometimes a bit dirty). The room was very small but clean and it had a little balcony. We enjoyed our stay at this hostel very much.

Disliked: Lianne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Keith Roe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2013 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. A good clean and friendly atmosphere from staff and good facilities for eating in and saving money.

Disliked: Keith left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Juliana Soares

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: The bedroom was not clean, It ad dusty and appeared that haven't been cleaned for one month.

Disliked: When I arrived I left on no purpose my boots on the row and when I asked to the staff if they have seen the girl said she had saw but she didn't know where it was. Then, after two days they found it and the boy complained to me saying that I couldn't left my stuff outside my bedroom, I said that I have not done that on purpose but he was not simpar....

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013

Liked: Situated in a nice and quiet neighborhood with an underground station nearby, the inner city of London is just about 10 minutes away (Westmister and Trafalgar square, for instance)

Disliked: Vague information about the breakfast at arrival, no explanation about how that works, where the dishes and cutlery were etc. Bedding wasn't very clean as well as the shared bathrooms. Very hot in the bathrooms en bedrooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good located close to Tube and all you need - pubs, supermarkets etc. I had a private room: Very clean and better than every other hostel room I've seen so far. It was very quiet and it was a pleasure to stay there. I can tell almost nothing about the common facilities since I didn't have time to use them but it all looked pretty good.

Disliked: Kitchen could be a little cleaner but this of course depends on the behaviour of the people who use it just before you go in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandr Michailovskij

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2013 Aleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: Really very clean and friendly place. I was staying in few 3 star hotels in London and they was much more expensive and less clean than Saint James. Reception staff very friendly and helpfull, always smiling. Breakfast like at home :)

Disliked: Aleksandr left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building, great living room area, nice staff

Disliked: We had a 4 beds room and there was only one light at the ceiling so coming in at night always meant to wake everyone

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very true to description, and great for a single traveller or a group.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy - friendly staff - close to Earls Court tube (which is just inside Zone 1 on the tube map) - nice area - 24hr Tescos nearby

Disliked: I forgot to take a towel! You'll need to take a towel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very near from subway station

Disliked: lack of choices for breakfast


See all London hostels
See all London hotels