HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers London

Hostel

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 72%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.67USD
  • Luggage Room 3.11USD
  • Towel 3.89USD

Important Information

Please note :

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]


Cancellation policy : 48h
Check in : 15.00pm
If you are going to check-in later than 11pm please can you email to inform us?

Check out : 10:00am
Credit cards result in a 3% surcharge
There is a £0.50 charge for all debit cards.

A ?10 key deposit is payable at check-in, which is returned on return of the key at check-out.

A Continental Breakfast is free for all the guests : fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee, 4 types of breakfast cereals, toast with spreads (jam and peanut butter).

Also a full English cooked breakfast (Eggs, beans and bacon) is available for an extra £3 per day.

You can also use our kitchen to cook meals outside of breakfast time and can help yourself to complementary tea and coffee any time.


Taxes included

Please note that we now operate 24 hour reception.


Upon check-in guests are required to present valid photo ID (i.e. they MUST have government issued official photo ID such as passport or driving licence). Failure to provide ID will mean that you will be refused entry to the hostel and you will be charged for the first night.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 72%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 130 reviews

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The staff was friendly but aside from that nothing else, as soon as I saw my room I wanted to walk downstairs request a refund and leave, but my luggage was very heavy and it was making it hard for me to have to move out again after I'd finally gotten everything up 2 flights of stairs which is where the 1st floor of rooms is located.

Disliked: 1) It is uncomfortable to move around in. 2) The breakfast is scattered all over the place, I had no idea where the cereal was, there was just a table with 2 juices but no glassware there are also a couple of milks around but nothing on a table for breakfast, everything just goes around from person to person, after I managed to get a glass for juice I just left without eating anything it was just inconvenient. 3) The bed linen was dirty, many visible stains on the comforter on the bed. 4) The amenities are just long very narrow rooms, very uncomfortable to move around in. 5) With your luggage, they do not offer any secure way to store your luggage and if you would like it "stored" they charge a fee of 2 pounds for you to leave it in the lobby in plain sight. 6) Almost no wi-fi signal at all, extremely weak signal, they just tell you to wait for it to get better.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review , we apologies if our hostel didn't reach your expectations.We manage our best to give to the guests a FREE breakfast and this between the dining area and lounge which are next to each others.
If you would have share your demand (Glasses , questions..) to the staff they would have been more then happy to help you out and make your stay comfortable. We provide good standards and cheap accommodations but have CCTV cameras everywhere and security/reception 24/7.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Comfortable beds, friendly staff, great facilities and price, and very clean. Location is excellent.

Disliked: Can be noisy at night from other people staying at hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you FOR YOUR AWESOME REVIEW!
We are happy you enjoy the hostel, we apologies if you were disturb by the noise.
We ask people to keep quiet after 11pm.
Kind Regards
St James Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location was excellent, it,s only 5 minute walk from Earls Court station

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoy the hostel!
All the best!

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Good breakfast;- Sympathy of the staff;- Near to the underground and bus stop;- Calm and safe zone with supermarket and restaurants nearby.

Disliked: - Room: We booked the twin en-suite and it doesn't look like the photos. The bathroom is really small, it's almost impossible to stay inside and close the door.- Noise: We heard a noise in our room in the 4 nights we stayed and they didn't fix it. We complained because we didn't sleep very well and to solve it they gave us ear tampons.- Cleanliness: We stayed 4 nights and the room and the bathroom were never cleaned. They didn't change the sheets either.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There's lots of common areas

Disliked: Unhelpful staff. Very cliquey hostel. Not a place to make friends as most of them live there full time. Need to be comfortable sharing rooms with middle-age men, because even if you're a 20 year old girl with 7 older guys in your room (one who claims to be a retired terrorist), they will not let you switch rooms. No events were going on during the weekend. Not fun. Don't recommend it. You can find cheaper and better!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff, the location, and environment!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Many thanks for taking the time to write us an awesome review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time you're in the city!! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Lots of love from Saint James Backpackers Hostel!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Clean rooms and facilities. Good location.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Easy to find from Earl's Court tube.

Disliked: Food stolen from fridge and staff couldn't care less. I reckon she ate it. Stains on duvet cover. Charged to leave luggage for few hours. First time that has ever happened to me at a hostel. Extremely petty in my opinion. Stayed for one night and was in the hotel for a total of 9/10 hours (including sleep). Far too many negative things to ever recommend this this.


The property's response is

We want St James to be your home away from home so we do indeed offer a free kitchen for all our guests to cook in; this includes use of a fridge to store your own food. Unfortunately this sometimes results in food being taken by other guests - whether by accident or on purpose. We have now installed CCTV in the kitchen to reduce this. We feel your frustration at losing your food but to suggest that the staff took your food is just plain mean - and hopefully on reflection you'll agree with that?

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was in London Zone 1 and convenient to tube station. Breakfast had different cereals, toast and spreads, and egg. Very good price.

Disliked: Very loud in the hallways.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Saint James Backpackers Hostel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. Our priority is to make sure our guests are having a good time with us and in London. We have a strict noise policy where no guest is allowed to make noise after 11pm. Should you stay with us again please inform one of our staff members and we will ensure there is no noise near any of the rooms. We hope to see you back with us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff welcome you with the smile,they take the time to show you the place and where is everything.the dorms were perfectly clean and the bed very confortable.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit cold.can have put some more heat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at Saint James Backpackers Hostel! It is always a pleasure for us to make sure our guests are having a good time in London. Sorry to hear we didn’t reach your expectations regarding the heat but we have taken your comments on board and are constantly striving to improve our services.We will be glad to welcome you again!

Check Availability