HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers London Hostel

21 Longridge Road, London, England

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 67%

Location 89%

Safety 80%

Staff 80%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.96USD
  • Luggage Room 2.64USD
  • Towel 3.30USD

Important Information

Please note :

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]


Cancellation policy : 48h
Check in : 15.00pm
If you are going to check-in later than 11pm please can you email to inform us?

Check out : 10:00am
Credit cards result in a 3% surcharge
There is a £0.50 charge for all debit cards.

A ?10 key deposit is payable at check-in, which is returned on return of the key at check-out.

A Continental Breakfast is free for all the guests : fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee, 4 types of breakfast cereals, toast with spreads (jam and peanut butter).

Also a full English cooked breakfast (Eggs, beans and bacon) is available for an extra £3 per day.

You can also use our kitchen to cook meals outside of breakfast time and can help yourself to complementary tea and coffee any time.


Taxes included

Please note that we now operate 24 hour reception.


Upon check-in guests are required to present valid photo ID (i.e. they MUST have government issued official photo ID such as passport or driving licence). Failure to provide ID will mean that you will be refused entry to the hostel and you will be charged for the first night.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 67%

Location 89%

Safety 80%

Staff 80%

Value 69%

Showing 11-20 of 63 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice communal area

Disliked: Could have been cleaned a bit more properly

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is really good.

Disliked: Rooms were dusty and restrooms were smelly and very tiny. On my first day I found my room very dusty. During my stay (3 days) dust was on the same place as it was on the fist day. Restrooms have been cleaned every day, but after it toilets or showers were full of hairs and dirt. Staff was not very friendly and helpful. On my fist day I couldn't sleep because of noise guests.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Rooms were small and cramped, everything felt old. Needs new beds that don't squeek every time someone moves.


The property's response is

Hello, we are sorry if our hostel didn't reach your expectations, we took your comments on board. Also we have plans to renovate a few amenities during winter this year. At the moment as a busy period we can not proceed those renovations :) Still feel free to come back and try the changes! All the best and have a lovely summer !!!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: cheerful and helpful staff, great location

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thanks for taking time to write us a review. We are happy you enjoyed the hostel and our staff ! :)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere and frienliness.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for writing us a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the hostel :)

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The staff was friendly but aside from that nothing else, as soon as I saw my room I wanted to walk downstairs request a refund and leave, but my luggage was very heavy and it was making it hard for me to have to move out again after I'd finally gotten everything up 2 flights of stairs which is where the 1st floor of rooms is located.

Disliked: 1) It is uncomfortable to move around in. 2) The breakfast is scattered all over the place, I had no idea where the cereal was, there was just a table with 2 juices but no glassware there are also a couple of milks around but nothing on a table for breakfast, everything just goes around from person to person, after I managed to get a glass for juice I just left without eating anything it was just inconvenient. 3) The bed linen was dirty, many visible stains on the comforter on the bed. 4) The amenities are just long very narrow rooms, very uncomfortable to move around in. 5) With your luggage, they do not offer any secure way to store your luggage and if you would like it "stored" they charge a fee of 2 pounds for you to leave it in the lobby in plain sight. 6) Almost no wi-fi signal at all, extremely weak signal, they just tell you to wait for it to get better.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review , we apologies if our hostel didn't reach your expectations.We manage our best to give to the guests a FREE breakfast and this between the dining area and lounge which are next to each others.
If you would have share your demand (Glasses , questions..) to the staff they would have been more then happy to help you out and make your stay comfortable. We provide good standards and cheap accommodations but have CCTV cameras everywhere and security/reception 24/7.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Comfortable beds, friendly staff, great facilities and price, and very clean. Location is excellent.

Disliked: Can be noisy at night from other people staying at hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you FOR YOUR AWESOME REVIEW!
We are happy you enjoy the hostel, we apologies if you were disturb by the noise.
We ask people to keep quiet after 11pm.
Kind Regards
St James Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location was excellent, it,s only 5 minute walk from Earls Court station

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoy the hostel!
All the best!

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Good breakfast;- Sympathy of the staff;- Near to the underground and bus stop;- Calm and safe zone with supermarket and restaurants nearby.

Disliked: - Room: We booked the twin en-suite and it doesn't look like the photos. The bathroom is really small, it's almost impossible to stay inside and close the door.- Noise: We heard a noise in our room in the 4 nights we stayed and they didn't fix it. We complained because we didn't sleep very well and to solve it they gave us ear tampons.- Cleanliness: We stayed 4 nights and the room and the bathroom were never cleaned. They didn't change the sheets either.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There's lots of common areas

Disliked: Unhelpful staff. Very cliquey hostel. Not a place to make friends as most of them live there full time. Need to be comfortable sharing rooms with middle-age men, because even if you're a 20 year old girl with 7 older guys in your room (one who claims to be a retired terrorist), they will not let you switch rooms. No events were going on during the weekend. Not fun. Don't recommend it. You can find cheaper and better!

Check Availability