We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers

Hostel | 21 Longridge Road, London, England SW5 9SB

82.1% Overall Rating

159 out of 179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/01/2015)

"Friendly, helpful and efficient staff. Clean rooms and facilities. Good location."

Read all Saint James Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.08
  • Towel USD 3.08

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Breakfast is not included. A full English cooked breakfast it is available as an optional extra at £5 per day. Breakfast consists of bacon and eggs, baked beans, fresh fruit juices, tea and coffee, 6 types of breakfast cereals, toast with spreads (jam and peanut butter). You can also use our kitchen to cook meals outside of breakfast time and can help yourself to complementary tea and coffee any time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Barmy Badger Backpackers
33.16 USD

Hostel 92.7% 94 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
16.97 USD

Hostel 65.0% 86 reviews
Sara Hotel
30.85 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
28.92 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
37 collingham place
19.79 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 77.4% 52 reviews
Anwar house
30.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 195 reviews
Park House
75.38 USD

Hostel 77.6% 17 reviews
Chelsea House Hotel
32.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.5% 165 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

159 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saint James Backpackers'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 121 of 174 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bogdan Rybak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2013 Bogdan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel . Close to most atractions in London .

Disliked: Small showers

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located at a central position for a short trip to London.

Disliked: Wifi is only available in the public rooms and not at the rooms upstairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so good. carried our luggage up and downsatirs, a great help as we are not young travellers

Disliked: no lift but not really a problem see above

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well thought out hostel.

Disliked: Common areas well thought out and clean. Encouragement to save on electricity etc.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sergio Resines

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in rooms of max 8 people. More would have been aweful.

Disliked: Me and my girlfriend booked 2 beds in advance but we got two diffrent mixed rooms. We had to send messages to let eachother know when to open the door of the room because it was locked and knokking would disturbed the other people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lizzie Erickson

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 October 2013 Lizzie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a spacious kitchen, common area, and a back garden. The rooms are large, and the bathrooms are generally clean. It's a very quiet laid back place, definitely not a party hostel.

Disliked: The fridge in the kitchen needed to be cleaned more often.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

blaž mitrovic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 blaž would recommend this property

Liked: me and my friends liked everything about this property

Disliked: problems are in the bathroom - doors opening on inside to shower and they could clean a little bit more in the evening around the showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GEMMA CASAS GASSO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 GEMMA would recommend this property

Liked: I like the situation, friend staff, rooms clean.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Lowe

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 October 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice common area, nice bathrooms, bed comfy, great location (near to local Sainsbury's, tube station and bus stops), lots of facilities available. The reception area even had chandeliers!

Disliked: Breakfast was not re-stocked so might have to get up early to have the greatest selection, window difficult to keep open, but these are minor details.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really convenient being close to the tube, supermarket and laundry facilities. The breakfast is ok - toast, cereal, juice etc.

Disliked: The bathrooms needed to be cleaned more regularly, especially when the hostel is full. There is a charge to leave luggage on the day of check out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Barbora Prechová

Alone

Events / festivals

24 September 2013 Barbora would recommend this property

Liked: - location, people, atmosphere

Disliked: - no shelves in the bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Egler

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 September 2013 Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: GOod location, good access to public transport, Staff was friendly and helpful, place was clean and tidy, bathrooms well maintained, Kitchen was, without exaggeration, pretty amazing, and the people there were all quite warming.

Disliked: Not much to dislike about it to be honest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Barker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a historical town house in a quiet residential road. It is close to shops which open late, and an area with bars, cafes and restaurants. The rooms are clean, there is a well equipped kitchen, and a continental breakfast is included in the price to stay here. I was welcomed by Elvita, when I arrived and she spent time to talk with me and to show me to my room and the other facilities. There is a lounge and dining room when I met other guests. There is a garden where visitors can sit in the fresh air.

Disliked: There is nothing I dislike about this hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

João Cristóvão

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 João would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is very well equiped with all you need.

Disliked: The fact that there are too many stairs. It wouldn't hurt if there were a couple more bathrooms, particularly in the last floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My top bunk bed was comfortable, clean and and had a small shelf, a hook with a hanger and separate plugs for each bunk (they would lend UK plug adapters for a 10£ deposit). The bathroom was pretty basic but also clean (could use a small shelf or hooks in the shower room). I showered rather early so it was never busy. The common areas were also comfortable, it was a calm atmosphere in general, not a party atmosphere -- which was great for my plans that weekend. The breakfast was simple but alright (coffee, milk, cereal, juice, bread, boiled eggs). The location is very convenient (walking distance to the easyBus stop to Gatwick and the area is nice and close to the tube). The free wifi worked well even when so many people were using it at once!

Disliked: I didn't use the fridge for storing my food but it was almost completely full, hardly any space available. I also arrived rather late in the evening from the airport and the girl from reception turned on the light when showing me to my bunk, which probably woke up some of the other guests... The door to our room and the floor near the entrance made some noise, so it was hard to be quiet when entering the room very late or leaving very early... I didn't really talk to the other guests, many people kept to their own and I didn't notice any activities promoted that would've motivated me to integrate more, although there were tons of movies available.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Graham Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Natural history museum and other sites were approx a 15 min walk away from the hostel which is why I stayed here. You're less than 10 mins from the earls court station which is handy as a reference point when you're out exploring! Nice common room and kitchen area. Sainsbury among other Supermarkets are within walking distance. Had a public use computer

Disliked: Shower drains got plugged often. Which is kind of bound to happen I suppose.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Afonso Aires

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2013 Afonso would recommend this property

Liked: Good faciliteis in a good part of london. Wireless in the room is a plus.

Disliked: Afonso left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, very close to Earl's Court tube station. Breakfast is simple cereal and toast. Nice common areas where you can relax and meet people.

Disliked: Hostel was fully booked when I stayed, this meant that the shared bathrooms got messy quickly and there were queues at peak times. The pillows in the rooms are very very flat!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good lounge and outdoor area as well as proximity to transport and three supermarket

Disliked: They kept changing the price some nights in my two week stay there were 16 pound and then the last weekend I was due to stay there they made it more than double that price and I'd been a good customer and it was moving out of the summer israel season. I found a hostel nearby for hals the price with the same facilities (but not as nice) so I moved there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and it's attached to a bar where you can order food.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Vlassov

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: All good.

Disliked: All good. More people would be nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Vlasov

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: St James is probably the best value for money in London. Everything was cool. By the way, each bunk in a shared dorm has a personal locker included in the price for every person.

Disliked: It was all good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and common room were nice. The beds were very clean and it was handy to have a sink in the 6 share room.

Disliked: The bathrooms were very dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James King

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 August 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very much enjoyed my stay here. Modern and clean with great people.

Disliked: Wifi internet is below par and often doesn't work

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Brandenburg

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a fantastic location -- not far from the underground. Great and helpful staff. Wonderful kitchen and dining space.

Disliked: No A/C which I know is usually not a problem, it was unseasonably hot -- but our room slept with the windows open so we were very comfortable.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels