HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Saint James Backpackers

Hostel | 21 Longridge Road, London, England SW5 9SB

85.0% Overall Rating

152 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

"Location was convenient and nice to go around. Clean rooms and bathrooms Staff were friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Good communal areas."

Read all Saint James Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 99.57
  • Luggage Room USD 3.32
  • Towel USD 3.32

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Barmy Badger Backpackers
34.85 USD

Hostel 91.2% 83 reviews
The Court Hostel
29.04 USD

Hostel 59.9% 638 reviews
Access Earls Court
38.67 USD

Apartment 77.8% 9 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
18.25 USD

Hostel 50.7% 73 reviews
Sara Hotel
37.34 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
45.22 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
37 collingham place
21.69 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 79.2% 50 reviews
Anwar house
24.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 191 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

152 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saint James Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 165 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Lowe

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 October 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice common area, nice bathrooms, bed comfy, great location (near to local Sainsbury's, tube station and bus stops), lots of facilities available. The reception area even had chandeliers!

Disliked: Breakfast was not re-stocked so might have to get up early to have the greatest selection, window difficult to keep open, but these are minor details.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really convenient being close to the tube, supermarket and laundry facilities. The breakfast is ok - toast, cereal, juice etc.

Disliked: The bathrooms needed to be cleaned more regularly, especially when the hostel is full. There is a charge to leave luggage on the day of check out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Barbora Prechová

Alone

Events / festivals

24 September 2013 Barbora would recommend this property

Liked: - location, people, atmosphere

Disliked: - no shelves in the bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Egler

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 September 2013 Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: GOod location, good access to public transport, Staff was friendly and helpful, place was clean and tidy, bathrooms well maintained, Kitchen was, without exaggeration, pretty amazing, and the people there were all quite warming.

Disliked: Not much to dislike about it to be honest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Barker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a historical town house in a quiet residential road. It is close to shops which open late, and an area with bars, cafes and restaurants. The rooms are clean, there is a well equipped kitchen, and a continental breakfast is included in the price to stay here. I was welcomed by Elvita, when I arrived and she spent time to talk with me and to show me to my room and the other facilities. There is a lounge and dining room when I met other guests. There is a garden where visitors can sit in the fresh air.

Disliked: There is nothing I dislike about this hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

João Cristóvão

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 João would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is very well equiped with all you need.

Disliked: The fact that there are too many stairs. It wouldn't hurt if there were a couple more bathrooms, particularly in the last floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My top bunk bed was comfortable, clean and and had a small shelf, a hook with a hanger and separate plugs for each bunk (they would lend UK plug adapters for a 10£ deposit). The bathroom was pretty basic but also clean (could use a small shelf or hooks in the shower room). I showered rather early so it was never busy. The common areas were also comfortable, it was a calm atmosphere in general, not a party atmosphere -- which was great for my plans that weekend. The breakfast was simple but alright (coffee, milk, cereal, juice, bread, boiled eggs). The location is very convenient (walking distance to the easyBus stop to Gatwick and the area is nice and close to the tube). The free wifi worked well even when so many people were using it at once!

Disliked: I didn't use the fridge for storing my food but it was almost completely full, hardly any space available. I also arrived rather late in the evening from the airport and the girl from reception turned on the light when showing me to my bunk, which probably woke up some of the other guests... The door to our room and the floor near the entrance made some noise, so it was hard to be quiet when entering the room very late or leaving very early... I didn't really talk to the other guests, many people kept to their own and I didn't notice any activities promoted that would've motivated me to integrate more, although there were tons of movies available.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Graham Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Natural history museum and other sites were approx a 15 min walk away from the hostel which is why I stayed here. You're less than 10 mins from the earls court station which is handy as a reference point when you're out exploring! Nice common room and kitchen area. Sainsbury among other Supermarkets are within walking distance. Had a public use computer

Disliked: Shower drains got plugged often. Which is kind of bound to happen I suppose.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Afonso Aires

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2013 Afonso would recommend this property

Liked: Good faciliteis in a good part of london. Wireless in the room is a plus.

Disliked: Afonso left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, very close to Earl's Court tube station. Breakfast is simple cereal and toast. Nice common areas where you can relax and meet people.

Disliked: Hostel was fully booked when I stayed, this meant that the shared bathrooms got messy quickly and there were queues at peak times. The pillows in the rooms are very very flat!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good lounge and outdoor area as well as proximity to transport and three supermarket

Disliked: They kept changing the price some nights in my two week stay there were 16 pound and then the last weekend I was due to stay there they made it more than double that price and I'd been a good customer and it was moving out of the summer israel season. I found a hostel nearby for hals the price with the same facilities (but not as nice) so I moved there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and it's attached to a bar where you can order food.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Vlassov

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: All good.

Disliked: All good. More people would be nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Vlasov

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: St James is probably the best value for money in London. Everything was cool. By the way, each bunk in a shared dorm has a personal locker included in the price for every person.

Disliked: It was all good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and common room were nice. The beds were very clean and it was handy to have a sink in the 6 share room.

Disliked: The bathrooms were very dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James King

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 August 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very much enjoyed my stay here. Modern and clean with great people.

Disliked: Wifi internet is below par and often doesn't work

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Brandenburg

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a fantastic location -- not far from the underground. Great and helpful staff. Wonderful kitchen and dining space.

Disliked: No A/C which I know is usually not a problem, it was unseasonably hot -- but our room slept with the windows open so we were very comfortable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Avery Conant

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Avery would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the house, well located like everyone says. The staff were quite nice and welcoming. Comfortable bed for a hostel, and nice large facilities such as the patio and the common room were welcome additions. Also, the movie selection is top notch!

Disliked: One of the women in my room requested that the window be shut, so it was about 80 degrees F or about 27 C at night -- pretty miserable. The toilets were clean but the floors had a lot of dirt and hair, but nothing disgusting.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shelley Bird

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Shelley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, sociable and helpful. The hostel had a very nice kitchen and courtyard. Commons area was comfortable and had free internet and plenty of dining space. The free breakfast was simple but nice and nonetheless very appreciated. Very close to Earl's Court Station as well as several local food stores. Located in a very nice neighborhood. Quiet at night and a good night's sleep!

Disliked: Our room on the top floor was a little hot and stuffy but no complaints other than that. I did note some stray hairs on my linens when we checked in, which makes me question if they were really clean or not. Key deposits are £10 per person. I went with my husband and they required each of us to have our own key and thus put down at £20 deposit. I would have preferred just to have one key between the two of us, because we left the country the day we checked out and didn't need the cash anymore.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Grazielle Santos

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping

15 July 2013 Grazielle would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, safe and secure.

Disliked: Wi fi didn´t work well. Bed sheets were dirty. A little noisy in morning. Suggest inclusion chocolate powder in breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet, nice location

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Glenn Rodgers

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: The Earls court tube is really close by giving access to both Picadilly and district lines giving good connections to the city

Disliked: The Wifi could be a bit temperamental.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonella Zucchiatti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Antonella would recommend this property

Liked: Las comodidades están muy bien. La cocina super equipada, la sala de estar muy cómoda y el desayuno muy completo.

Disliked: Lo único que puedo decir es que el ambiente del hostel es más de gente que vive en el lugar por un tiempo, por lo cual no hay ese ambiente que caracteriza a los hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Meilen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a lovely place in central London. We could walk to Kennsington/Hyde Park, Science and Natural History Museums. There were many inexpensive options for food nearby and a well equipped kitchen in the hostel with several nearby grocers. Rooms were secure and came with lockers underneath each bed for free. Bathrooms were well kept and clean. The lounge has an extensive DVD collection that guests are welcome to use.

Disliked: We didn't know that using the kitchen was 1£ extra (per person per night) and would appreciate that being clean on booking or included in the price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels