HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Stay In Chelsea

Guesthouse | 7 Brechin Place, London, England SW7 4QB

68.6% Overall Rating

16 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/03/2014)

Zuzana Rájová thinks…

"Location is perfect, it is on a quiet street and you can walk to the centre. We like a lot a kitchen - there is a big fridge, cooker, oven an even a washing machine. And there is also a table which…"

Read all Stay In Chelsea reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Evelyn Gardens Halls
43.09 USD

Hostel 86.5% 55 reviews
MEININGER London Hyde Park
28.17 USD

Hostel 84.2% 1151 reviews
Acacia Hostel
24.86 USD

Hostel 65.4% 464 reviews
Curzon House Hotel
38.12 USD

Hotel 80.7% 34 reviews
YHA London Earls Court
24.86 USD

Hostel 78.6% 125 reviews
Astor Hyde Park
38.12 USD

Hostel 87.9% 720 reviews
Anwar house
36.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 191 reviews
37 collingham place
26.96 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 79.2% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

16 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stay In Chelsea'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
67.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Po Chun Huang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: Not too far away from the underground station

Disliked: 1. The sink of the tub inside the bathroom is stuck with a whole lot of hair making the water barely able to pass through while taking a shower, which is disgusting when your feet is soaked in the dirty water that ran through the hair from lots of different people's body parts. 2. The staff only showed up to collect the money, but when we needed help he never appears 3. WiFi was crappy, didn't work properly 4. Oven was out of order, but nobody came to fix it or even reply after we sent a message to the reception person 5. Noise from next door on the same floor of the same hostel could be heard clearly, which sucked when we were trying to get some sleep during midnight 6. Construction going on upstairs during the day which was really noisy

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jose Maria Garzon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014

Liked: Localización. Barrio bonito, pero caro.

Disliked: Nos dieron una habitación que no se correspondía con lo que habiamos reservado y pagado. Luego para solucionarlo un poco trajeron un pequeño frigo y un microondas. Estaba sin limpiar a la hora de comer, sin sábanas ni toallas ni nada.Cuando hicieron la cama olvidaron las fundas de almohada, y se veian sucias y amarillas (tengo fotos). Hubo que buscar a gente de la limpieza para cambiar las toallas porque nos las dieron con manchas negras y agujeros. En nuestro baño no había agua caliente, y no nos avisaron. No la repararon en toda la semana. Había que peregrinar en busca de un baño con agua caliente ( 4 plantas más arriba con escaleras empinadas) La suciedad de los baños. Moho en los azulejos de algunos baños (hay fotos), olor de la moqueta, especialmente en la planta de abajo. Los baños de arriba están viejos y bastante sucios también Pésima calidad de las ventanas. Se oye el tráfico desde muy temprano y hasta el paso de los aviones. Aislamiento malo. En invierno ya puede funcionar bien la calefacción porque entra aire por las ventanas. Vistas a un patio sucio lleno de restos de maderas todo tirado por ahí. Eso sí, te cobran nada más llegar y todavía estamos esperando la factura. Imposible localizar a nadie por teléfono si tienes algún problema. Si podéis, buscar otra cosa.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zuzana Rájová

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, it is on a quiet street and you can walk to the centre. We like a lot a kitchen - there is a big fridge, cooker, oven an even a washing machine. And there is also a table which is big enough for four people and also for playing board games :-)

Disliked: We had to wait for the staff when we arrive, it was hard to get in touch with them. And a toaster was broken.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Purdy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 February 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Cheap and cheerful

Disliked: Waiting for 20 minutes in the rain outside until someone came to let us in.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014

Liked: Clean and big room. Love that there was a mini kitchen with sink in the room. Location was about 200metres from the train station.

Disliked: We waited for an hour outside in the cold for someone to open the door and attend to us. That was very bad as we had previously informed the place that we will be arriving.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city centre

Disliked: cold shower/bathroom

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 October 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: small roms, no hot water for shower, no reception or staff to complain

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013

Liked: Close to Gloucester tube station

Disliked: No hot water in the showers, a bit dusty, expensive...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Michael Behn

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 July 2013

Liked: central location with perfect Connection to the city of London located in a very nice part of London.

Disliked: Status of renovation of rooms. See upper comment.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the subway and a nice safe area with good places to drink or eat. Very handy in the morning for breakfast. Only 10min subway ride to Picadilly Circus. Great connection to other lines too. Bathrooms were clean ( depends on other guests too of course, because shared, but they clean it regularly ). Great shower actually. The room was simple, clean and spacious. With an electric kettle, tea, toaster, microwave, fridge and a few kitchen supplies. We didn't really use it, but thought that was a plus. I slept really well, although the mattress could be a bit better. I assume that also varies from room to room. Definitely not bad. The housekeeper that I met to collect the key was super friendly and helpful. If you know what to expect you won't be disappointed. Not a luxurious place, but a clean, simple good spot to stay for a couple of days in a nice area. I thought the price value for this place in this location was excellent. London is an expensive city and this was a very good deal. I had a fantastic trip and that was partly because of the good stay. I think I'll definitely come back here when in London again.

Disliked: They don't have a reception desk nor luggage room. Because they rent out studios. That's not a huge problem, in fact, it's inherent of what they offer, so I shouldn't put this as a dislike. It's just to inform. But it would've just been handier perhaps if they had a luggage room and desk. I had to leave my luggage at St Pancras in the morning ( 9 pounds for 24h ) and then later go back to pick it up. The last day we had to check out before 11 AM, but we could leave our luggage in the hallway ( at own risk ) and pick it up later. It worked out fine, but it's not ideal. Taking your luggage and leaving it at a station is an option then. It's just something you have to keep in mind.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013

Liked: Nice studios and pretty good value, good location, lots of pubs, chains and restaurants nearby plus a 24h tesco

Disliked: Its not really safe as the main door is open at all times.Worse there is NO reception ! Also if you check in late like us it will probably cause trouble. We were put in a different and better room than expected on the first night, thats fine, all this over the phone but the next day we had to change to our initial room and that was not well managed. We had to wait again till 1pm although we checked out at 10.30. Meanwhile our bags were left in the corridor, with no locked main door. When we finally checked in we received no apologies from the manager. Actually we never saw him... The cleaner guy managed everything and it's clearly not his duty although he was very nice and as helpful as possible. But then we had to pay him, because it's cash only. No receipt of course. Feels comfy to give 150 pounds in cash with no proof! TL,DR bad management, very unwelcoming, feels unsafe

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katherine Morgan-Collins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a really good location and the tube line gets to you to lots of places conveniently. There are heaps of bars and restaurants around. The room itself was quite large and the little kitchenette was handy.

Disliked: There is no reception, I never received my change, the crockery/cutlery in my room was dirty, one of the bathrooms on my floor was broken and so there was always a queue to use the other one. It doesn't really feel like a hostel, there seems to be long term residents in the building and there's no common room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wen Yang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

25 May 2013 Wen would recommend this property

Liked: The loction is good and the room is clean.There are enough bathrooms so you don't need to wait. Most important, the price is very cheap.So if you just need a clean and comfort place to rest ,it will be a good choice.

Disliked: 1.We book a twin room with kitchen ,but they offer a double room for us without notification us previously. We think it is kind of cheat. 2.The rooms are near street ,a bit of noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, safe and quiet- just a short walk from Glouchester road tube. Perfect if you want affordable posh, staying right in the heart of London. A perfect location and a great price. I'm now going to stay here every time I come to London.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Laura Lowe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Location was brilliant. Staff were friendly.

Disliked: Provided kettle and cups, but nothing to drink with them. Most of the plugs didn't work in our room either.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane Hussey

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 March 2013 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really clean and nice place to stay. It's not a backpackers hostel and it's not a place to meet people, but if you just want a decent room and bed in a great location so you can explore, it's perfect!

Disliked: Shane left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels