We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Barmy Badger Backpackers

Hostel | 17 Longridge Road, Earls Court, London, England SW5 9SB

92.8% Overall Rating

93 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2015)

Ros Casselle thinks…

"It was very central, kept clean, organised well. The staff are very helpful and friendly."

Read all Barmy Badger Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Saint James Backpackers
30.79 USD

Hostel 80.9% 180 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
16.93 USD

Hostel 65.0% 86 reviews
Sara Hotel
30.79 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
36.56 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
37 collingham place
21.04 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 77.4% 52 reviews
Anwar house
26.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 195 reviews
Park House
75.23 USD

Hostel 77.6% 17 reviews
Chelsea House Hotel
55.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.5% 165 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

93 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barmy Badger Backpackers'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anne Reichenbach

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 March 2015

Liked: very friendly staff, nice clean kitchen

Disliked: when you stay in room 2 the kitchen is petty much next door. so you hear people all the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ros Casselle

Alone

Business / conference

24 February 2015 Ros would recommend this property

Liked: It was very central, kept clean, organised well. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: stairs are quite steep

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sheng-Hua Huang

Alone

Business / conference

23 February 2015 Sheng-Hua would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was good and helpful. Quick responses and changed my booking error quickly.

Disliked: Sheng-Hua left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Eva Lalaguna Latre

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 January 2015 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the entrance were always very nice. The dogs that described at the info, were nice and inside the office, so no problem at all with them (I'm usually scared of dogs). The room was clean and a very safe locker compared to other youth hostels

Disliked: If think it would be nice someone at the breakfast time in the kitchen, because when you arrive there the first day, you're a bit lost. It is the first time it is like this in a youth hostel, there's always stuff serving you coffee and tea. And you have to wash the cup etc, which is not a problem, but you think if the others will do the same and the cups, etc will be clean.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel with a nice atmosphere; nice staff, lots of facilities: WiFi, fully equipped kitchen, board games, TV. Location is very convenient: Underground station 5 min away, supermarket and cheap restaurants around the corner.

Disliked: The house is a little bit narrow. I stayed in the top floor which was a little difficult to access with my big suitcase.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean bathrooms and great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

chris vitartas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2014 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff central location and great facilities! Stoked that they had nutella for breakfasts!

Disliked: 3 bed high bunks. okay if you get the first two but if you're scared of heights not much fun. We had the middle bunk fortunately!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was located close to a tube station and in what felt like a safe area. The door code to get into the building and keys for each room made the building feel very secure. Breakfast and wifi included was fantastic.

Disliked: As good as having breakfast included was, perhaps they could also offer juice as well as tea/coffee? Otheewise I didn't have any dislikes about the property.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money! Incredibly friendly, lovely, and very helpful staff. 4-bed female dorm was good with little tiny hallway to aid late night returns. Location is perfect. Minutes away from Earl's Court tube stop and only about twelve minutes drive from Victoria.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how clean the hostel is and the hospitality by the owner! I also loved the location-very convenient going to/coming from Heathrow.

Disliked: The stairs.Also sometimes the people actually living there were a little clique-y.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good location for what I was in London for, was quiet and secure, and not too expensive by London standards.

Disliked: The reception desk is poorly staffed. When I arrived I had to wait outside in the rain until another hostel guest happened to be passing and could let me in. Once inside I had to wait for 10 minutes until someone turned up at reception. The reception was completely unmanned, with no bell or phone number to use to get a staff member. It was similar when checking out - I had to wait until a staff member happened to pass by. The breakfast was very average, even by the normal standards of "free" hostel breakfasts.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Esben Revsbech

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 August 2014 Esben would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for 3 weeks while taking a course in London. It is a rather quiet place which suited me wel considering the length and purpose of my stay. The staff was very friendly and welcomming, and so were all the other guests I met (I can't think of a single one I disliked). The bathrooms and kitchen were in general clean.

Disliked: The number of bathrooms was sometimes a bit on the low side in the mornings. However I seldomly waited for more than 5 minutes - so nothing serious.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Es war sehr sauber! Die Betten waren super auch wenn etwas durchgelegen, was aber für Hostels einfach typisch ist. Die Küche war gut ausgestattet und man kommt auch mit den anderen Gästen ins Gespräch. Zum Frühstück gibts Toasts, Marmelade, Nutella, Butter oder Müsli. Absolut super! Vor allem wenn man bedenkt was London kostet ist man froh wenn das Frühstück im Preis inbegriffen ist! Das Bad war absolut in Ordnung, auch wenn die Dusche vielleicht etwas klein ist. Das alles sauber war, funktioniert und es warmes Wasser gab ist für Londoner Verhältnisse schon besonders! (schon schlechte Erfahrungen gemacht) Alle waren sehr freundlich und es gab auch keine Probleme wenn man zum Beispiel noch seine Bordkarte oder ein Ticket ausdrucken musste. Alles in Allem empfehle ich das Hostel absolut weiter und werde bei meinem nächsten Besuch definitiv wieder dort einchecken!

Disliked: Nichts

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really good vibe, possibly the best hostel wifi ever and the staff were very helpful. Decent breakfast was included, and in a good location near Earl's court and the district line into the city.

Disliked: There are a lot of steep stairs, not a problem for me, but something to consider if you aren't capable of climbing some.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Shaw

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location

Disliked: Room a bit small but for the price not a big deal

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michele botticelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 michele would recommend this property

Liked: I am young but I have never found a place better than this hostel: it's clean, very close to the underground station and services and facilties provided are optimalt; but most of all the atmosphere is perfect: with a hostel so comfortable my stay was very enjoyable

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location, really close to Hyde Park. The hostel was really safe and clean. I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Johnstone

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

07 July 2014 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as we got there we were greeted by lovely, helpful staff which always gets the stay off to a good start. It was nice and clean. Also, it was the perfect location for what we needed.

Disliked: Honestly, there is not a thing me and my partner disliked about this property. We will definitely be returning.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lee Ryan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely helpful and kind. The free breakfast is amazing! Fast internet. Close to a park for exercise and there are several grocery stores and bars nearby. It is also right next to the train station so its easy to get around.

Disliked: Not much to say here! The floors were kind of squeeky in the room which made it hard not to wake other people up when getting up early or coming in late.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. Staff are very nice. Breakfast is great. Its very clean.

Disliked: There are not enough bathrooms. There is no easy way to climb the bunkbeds.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The welcoming people, the big kitchen, the very typical London house...

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice old house, nice location, nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff as well as the value for money of the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The house is in a very good and safe area with beautiful old houses, close to the tube station, supermarket and restaurants nearby. You can make yourself coffee or tea all day long and enjoy it either in the garden or in the cozy and very clean kitchen of the house. Breakfast consists of fruits (as long as you are an early bird;), cereals, toast, butter and sweet spreads. Very lovly and completly sufficient. There is also storage space in the refrigerator. Great!

Disliked: roommates who get up 6.30 am to pack suitcases while making as much noises as possible... for at least one hour. Or long-term residents, which cut the line in the community shower, as they have to go to work ... depending on your type, expect that you may not get much sleep and have a shower later

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Pigula

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 May 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really awesome hostel. I have stayed at few others and this is the best one. Close to the tube, park, plenty of shoppes, restaurants, and pubs with less than 5 min walk. Nice and quiet area at night. The staff is really friendly and helpful. They go the extra mile for their guests. The hostel is very secure with CCTV in common areas,safe for each guest, and a huge locker that easily fits an entire suitcase. The TV room is very cozy with lots of channels for evening relaxing. The kitchen is well equipped and always clean. And unlike any other hostel, breakfast is included. The beds are very solid and comfortable, with a sturdy fame which doesn't feel like a bunk bed. There is free and reliable wifi which i was able to get in my room (2nd floor) and even in the garden. I love that the bathrooms are like a home bathroom with toilet, shower, and sink all in one. There was always hot water and there it was always available when I needed it. Plenty of hooks to hang your stuff. I have met lots of interesting and fun people there. Great atmosphere and we were often having a drinks in a garden or a movie night in the TV room. This is the friendliest, cleanest and safest place I have stayed in.

Disliked: They were fully booked on the weekend. But other than that nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...


See all London hostels
See all London hotels