HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Barmy Badger Backpackers

Hostel | 17 Longridge Road, Earls Court, London, England SW5 9SB

91.7% Overall Rating

78 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

"Had a really good vibe, possibly the best hostel wifi ever and the staff were very helpful. Decent breakfast was included, and in a good location near Earl's court and the district line into the city."

Read all Barmy Badger Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Saint James Backpackers
37.36 USD

Hostel 85.6% 168 reviews
Access Earls Court
39.57 USD

Apartment 77.8% 9 reviews
The Court Hostel
29.72 USD

Hostel 59.9% 638 reviews
The Londonears Hostel
20.38 USD

Hostel 51.9% 65 reviews
Sara Hotel
38.21 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
West Cromwell Hotel
50.52 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
37 collingham place
34.95 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.3% 48 reviews
Anwar house
46.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.7% 191 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

78 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barmy Badger Backpackers'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 77 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really good vibe, possibly the best hostel wifi ever and the staff were very helpful. Decent breakfast was included, and in a good location near Earl's court and the district line into the city.

Disliked: There are a lot of steep stairs, not a problem for me, but something to consider if you aren't capable of climbing some.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Shaw

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location

Disliked: Room a bit small but for the price not a big deal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michele botticelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 michele would recommend this property

Liked: I am young but I have never found a place better than this hostel: it's clean, very close to the underground station and services and facilties provided are optimalt; but most of all the atmosphere is perfect: with a hostel so comfortable my stay was very enjoyable

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location, really close to Hyde Park. The hostel was really safe and clean. I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Johnstone

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

07 July 2014 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as we got there we were greeted by lovely, helpful staff which always gets the stay off to a good start. It was nice and clean. Also, it was the perfect location for what we needed.

Disliked: Honestly, there is not a thing me and my partner disliked about this property. We will definitely be returning.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lee Ryan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely helpful and kind. The free breakfast is amazing! Fast internet. Close to a park for exercise and there are several grocery stores and bars nearby. It is also right next to the train station so its easy to get around.

Disliked: Not much to say here! The floors were kind of squeeky in the room which made it hard not to wake other people up when getting up early or coming in late.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. Staff are very nice. Breakfast is great. Its very clean.

Disliked: There are not enough bathrooms. There is no easy way to climb the bunkbeds.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The welcoming people, the big kitchen, the very typical London house...

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice old house, nice location, nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff as well as the value for money of the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The house is in a very good and safe area with beautiful old houses, close to the tube station, supermarket and restaurants nearby. You can make yourself coffee or tea all day long and enjoy it either in the garden or in the cozy and very clean kitchen of the house. Breakfast consists of fruits (as long as you are an early bird;), cereals, toast, butter and sweet spreads. Very lovly and completly sufficient. There is also storage space in the refrigerator. Great!

Disliked: roommates who get up 6.30 am to pack suitcases while making as much noises as possible... for at least one hour. Or long-term residents, which cut the line in the community shower, as they have to go to work ... depending on your type, expect that you may not get much sleep and have a shower later

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Pigula

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 May 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really awesome hostel. I have stayed at few others and this is the best one. Close to the tube, park, plenty of shoppes, restaurants, and pubs with less than 5 min walk. Nice and quiet area at night. The staff is really friendly and helpful. They go the extra mile for their guests. The hostel is very secure with CCTV in common areas,safe for each guest, and a huge locker that easily fits an entire suitcase. The TV room is very cozy with lots of channels for evening relaxing. The kitchen is well equipped and always clean. And unlike any other hostel, breakfast is included. The beds are very solid and comfortable, with a sturdy fame which doesn't feel like a bunk bed. There is free and reliable wifi which i was able to get in my room (2nd floor) and even in the garden. I love that the bathrooms are like a home bathroom with toilet, shower, and sink all in one. There was always hot water and there it was always available when I needed it. Plenty of hooks to hang your stuff. I have met lots of interesting and fun people there. Great atmosphere and we were often having a drinks in a garden or a movie night in the TV room. This is the friendliest, cleanest and safest place I have stayed in.

Disliked: They were fully booked on the weekend. But other than that nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ana Prazeres

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 May 2014 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good location

Disliked: Small room and toilet facilities

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice facilities.

Disliked: Lots of stairs.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann Perkins

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: We landed at Heathrow and had a couple days to explore London before starting a Topdeck tour of Europe (meeting in Earls Court.) The staff was friendly and helpful. The room and facility was quiet and clean. It was all we could have ask for in a hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.The underground and food shops are very nea, Friendly staff.

Disliked: I stayed for 8 nights totaly in April 2014 but they give me NO discount saying that they pay 10% to Hostelbookers and that its high season.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emilia Ottocan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Emilia would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast (toast, jam, butter, fruit, cereals, milk, tea, coffee)!! The staff was so very kind and helpful. Our ensuite (I think they only have one) was small but had a nice clean bathroom with shower, flatscreen tv, safe, wardrobe, comfy bed and a cozy view over the back garden - pratically everything you would want for your stay :) I'll definitely be staying in this hostel in the future!!

Disliked: They take an extra fee if you pay with card - make sure to have enough cash on you when you arrive (but if not it wouldn't be the end of the world since there's an ATM around the corner)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Divers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, warm, free breakfast is a nice touch

Disliked: Shower was extremely small

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was quiet and the bathroom was very clean for a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James O'Dwyer

Alone

City break

13 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent option for a short stay in London, as it is so well situated. Lots of interesting guests, many of whom are staying there for longer periods, and a very friendly respectful atmosphere. The shared spaces are very clean, and everyone keeps the place tidy. Wifi is excellent. No complaints at all. I will return.

Disliked: Nothing negative to say.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Hrabowych

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 March 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: This was truly my home away from home while I was in London. The kitchen and TV room have excellent atmospheres that allow you to get to know your fellow 'badgers'. The staff was super helpful and you feel very safe when you are in this hostel. Programmable safes inside secure lockers was also a big plus!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chan Tung Ngu

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Chan Tung would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and lovely place and staff very friendly

Disliked: A little noisy but not a problem

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place to stay in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke Byrd

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice clean kitchen

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful.

Disliked: -


See all London hostels
See all London hotels