HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Apples Inn 1

Guesthouse | 1A Dickens rd, London, England E63BX

61.7% Overall Rating

14 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Anastasija Mezecka thinks…

"Very private and no hassle; the staff was helpful and met us although we were late for check-in. There is no one besides the guests in the property, so it is very private, quiet and calm place.…"

Read all Apples Inn 1 reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

CHECK IN HOURS ARE 12:00 TILL 21:00 IF YOU WANT TO CHECK IN OUTSIDE THESE HOURS PLEASE CONTACT US BEFOREHAND

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Globe Trott Inns
15.09 USD

Hostel 71.4% 370 reviews
Apple Lodge
29.38 USD

Guesthouse 69.0% 19 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
53.73 USD

Guesthouse 65.0% 4 reviews
Apples Inn 3
27.70 USD

Guesthouse 66.7% 12 reviews
Melbourne house
26.86 USD

Hotel 58.7% 22 reviews
Apples Inn Guesthouse
28.54 USD

Guesthouse 64.9% 14 reviews
Carlton House
26.02 USD

Guesthouse 61.4% 12 reviews
Newham Hotel
92.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.7%

Overall Rating

14 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Apples Inn 1'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
52.8%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
60.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anastasija Mezecka

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 April 2014 Anastasija would recommend this property

Liked: Very private and no hassle; the staff was helpful and met us although we were late for check-in. There is no one besides the guests in the property, so it is very private, quiet and calm place. Absolutely hassle-free.

Disliked: There is only one bathroom/toilet available; so sometimes there were a bit of queues (not too bad, everyone was very good at limiting their time to make sure no one else has to wait for too long). Property has seen some better days, but overall was clean. It's about 15 minutes to the closest tube station.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Mya Lannefors

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Ahhh Apples Inn, where to begin? Our stay at this East Ham House of Horrors was to say the least traumatizing... It all started the first night when I heard someone lurking outside our room, my girlfriend said she heard nothing so I told myself that I had imagined it. The second day as we were having a lazy morning I thought I saw someone standing outside our bedrrom door (this was possible since there were frosted windows on the door) as moved closer to the door; the shadow moved away. During our lie-in I must have seen the shadow return to peer at us through scratched gaps on the window at least ten maybe fifteen times. Later we hung up a towel as a result to this unsettling event. However this didn't stop Apples Inn's very own peeping tom pervert to lurk around our door countless times. Even though we heard this pervert during both day and night we didn't confront him since we had no idea what this lunatic was capable of or what he might have done when accused and cornered. Now you might think that this vile villain is only a short term resident and that he's gone now but that's where you're wrong- he is a permanent resident at this gruesome hole in the ground. If these facts weren't enough to put you off I will get back to the house itself. - Black mold - Common areas were unclean - Mice Of course we have addressed mentioed issues with the person in charge but no further response. She has not returned our inquiries, so therefore we must post this in regards to our fellow travellers. We do not recommend a stay at Apples Inn, 1A Dickens Road , simple as that!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roger croft

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 April 2014 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable Bed and clean quite big bedroom, close to public transportation, Bathroom was clean and tidy and there were kitchen facilities but we didn't use kitchen but looked very decent and provided microwave, fridge and other cooking facilities. Overally extremely good for the money and very easy to get into the main parts of London

Disliked: There is no tv in the room but wifi was fast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rabel pritzella

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 April 2014 rabel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in the nice neighbourhood, literally a one minute walk from the bus stop. Superb location. The owner is nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is very safe, our room was very large and clean and unexpectedly came with a kitchenette, for no extra charge. internet was very fast as well.

Disliked: rabel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andy Ross

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 March 2014 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean and our room got comfortable bed, there was a fully equipped kitchen and fast internet connection, we are happy to have this room. Good transport link as bus stop is just 2 minutes walk.

Disliked: Andy left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Blandine Vallat

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 November 2013

Liked: The facilities : kitchen, oven, microwave....

Disliked: The absence of staff (more a guest house than a real hostel), the street really dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the cheapest possibility to get a room for 2 in London. Everything you need for your stay: a bed, a bathroom, a kitchen and wireless LAN.

Disliked: Neighbourhood nood very nice but ok

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Melanie Degner

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

23 September 2013

Liked: only london

Disliked: hostel

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Andrej Turba

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013

Liked: Clean and big kitchen with all facilities included, many food shops 1 minute walk away

Disliked: If there wouldnt be Mr. Kevin in the house, who lives there for over a year (really nice guy) we would wait in the frontyard. After 30 minutes of waiting Maid has arrived. Barely speaking english she took our money with no proof given and went to clean the rooms. They werent even prepared yet! So we had to wait again.. Landlords obviously dont give a ****, they just take money! 1. Very very creepy neighbourhood full of police cars... 2. No sign on the house saying hostel or something 3. Really dirty shower, toilet was okay 4. Old matress on the bed, I could feel every spring 5. There was a lock on the doors, but it didnt work so we had to leave our room without locking it

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anthony Fischer

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

10 July 2013

Liked: For us it was near where we needed to be

Disliked: We were called a few times to say our reservation would be cancelled if we didn't hurry up and get there. The tubes were broken so that was a stress we didn't need. Almost by chance a guy saw us as he was driving away from the property. He said our room was now let but he could take us somewhere (which was miles away). The next morning another traveller said he had tried to get inside for several days and they were charging him as though he was a no show. We felt really lucky it seems dodgy at best !!! DO NOT BOOK HERE !!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me Apples Inn 1 has very goog value for money. Tenant who live there is very helpfull (great thanks for Him!!!). Location maybe isn't perfect but the tube is close this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia anderson

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 June 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the first room when entering - The heating was on and kept us warm through out the cold night. - big decent shared kitchen - neighbourhood seemed nice - good space in toilet and bath room. - no smell and really clean meaning hardly any dust I recommend this, if your looking for one night stay or longer I will say this is a good place :)

Disliked: Olivia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Ligtenberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Large, nicely decorated and clean room. Large Kitchen for use of making our own meals. Close to metro station

Disliked: They close at 9 pm but do not notify travellers of that before they arrive.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice kicthen, and good beds

Disliked: I little far from the city middle

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed in a sparsely furnished room. The place was secure with us having our own key to the house and our bedroom locked. There was a kitchen with good cooking facilities and a table with three chairs. There were 5 bedrooms one occupied by a long term tenant (over 1 year) and two medium term occupants ( months). The long term tenant was extremely helpful in pointing us to busses and tube locations and answering all our question about tourist sites. The bus service was good just 50 meters once you knew where to get on and off to the tube. The Internet access was good and we had no interruptions or problems with 2 iPads. We were in an area with a large amount of ethnic people but we felt very safe, even coming back late at night after a show. Good value for the money.

Disliked: We did not have a phone and only met the landlord when the tenant noticed us and called him. The place looks like a home with no markings to indicate Apple Inn. The front "yard" looked dumpy and uninviting. Direction given were good once you where you were going and 10-15 minutes from Upton Park tube station. Advice on which bus to take and the name of the stop to get off would be helpful. You need to have contact with the office/owner before arriving. The room we had was clean with clean comfortable bedding but the kitchen and bathroom needed more attention and had long standing grime in the corners.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah Campbell

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

06 January 2013 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money for 2 people to have a good sized bedroom, relatively close to the tube. Convenient Tesco Express less than 5 minutes away. Full kitchen so we saved money cooking our own meals. Also lots of takeaway options nearby. Basically it's like staying with a friend - a house that's been converted into an inn, with shared common facilities. Everything was clean and well-stocked. The other guests were friendly and quiet. They also let us checkout later in the day as our train was in the evening and my partner wasn't feeling well. We'll definatley stay again next time we're in London.

Disliked: Only thing I wish I'd known in advance was that the property is managed off-site, meaning once we arrived we were at first a bit worried as the door is unmarked and no one answered. However, someone was over in about 10 minutes once I called the office. Just wish I'd known to call in advance as it was raining and we couldn't just be dropped off when we arrived.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels