We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Dictionary, Shoreditch

Hostel | 10 – 20 Kingsland Road, London, England E2 8DA

80.2% Overall Rating

138 out of 158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

"Friendly people, good locations lots of bars and cafes in the area. Continental Breakfast supplied"

Read all The Dictionary, Shoreditch reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in from 14:00. Check-out by 10:00. We cater to the age 18-35 market as a guideline. Please contact us for more info if you fall outside this age range. You must bring the credit/debit card that you booked with, even if you wish to pay the balance in cash. Please remember to bring your valid ID for check-in (passport, EU ID card or UK driving licence are all valid, but student ID cards will not be accepted, sorry!). No-one will be checked-in without their valid ID. We are a hostel for backpackers and tourists - bookings from people resident in London will be accepted at the management’s discretion only. As an extra security precaution to keep everyone safe, you may be asked to provide proof of address. Anyone unable to provide such proof, when asked, will unfortunately not be allowed to stay. If you are a group of 10 or more, please contact us directly. Cancellations can be made up to 24 hours prior to arrival. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of the stay. The maximum stay for guests is 14 days. There is a 2 night minimum stay at weekends (Fridays & Saturdays).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

City Hotel
109.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.0% 5 reviews
Islington Inn
51.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Wombats City Hostel London
39.16 USD

Hostel 90.5% 52 reviews
City Inn Express
46.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.0% 18 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
28.04 USD

Hostel 82.5% 274 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
24.75 USD

Hostel 82.7% 329 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
31.17 USD

Hostel 85.8% 241 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
29.61 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1028 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

138 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Dictionary, Shoreditch'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 123 of 154 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun, quirky area. Nice bar downstairs. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Showers didn't work in the morning (not enough water supply for showers being used).

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 September 2013

Liked: Location, staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The dorms do not have air conditioning and the windows of the room open to an almost closed smoking area, so nobody in the room wanted to open them as the room would get very smokey. It was incredibly hot, stuffy and uncomfortable (stayed in September, the weather was not actually that warm). There was construction going on during my stay which was loud, started in the morning and there were cables, tools etc laying around in communal areas and thoroughfares. The taps/plumbing in the bathrooms make a loud sound when anyone uses them which took a bit of getting used to during the night, woke me up a few times the first night. The breakfast is very basic, relative to other similar hostels. There's a lot of sound spill from the bar next door into the rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Erin Hutchinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2013 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is literally amazing...right in the middle of shoreditch and so easy to get to everywhere from there! Our rooms were nice and big and had great locker storage under each bed that were secure and could also fit your whole bag in which was ace. Beds were comfy and each room had bathrooms in it that were not too flash but did their job. Staff are nice and helpful and play the BEST music in the foyer :)) We booked a 16 bed but ended up in a 12 which was wicked. I would recommend this place - it's going to be so amazing once all the renovations are done, so maybe wait until then!

Disliked: The hostel is still going through a significant amount of renovations which means that the rooms on the bottom floor (not our one thank god) caught the brunt of the construction noise every morning from 10am. The kitchen was also closed during the day and to be honest, the hostel was totally chaotic past 10am when all the workmen came in and with the kitchen not open and the common room under construction you literally had no where to go... Our room was also backing onto shoreditch high st so it was HELLA noisey at night but we got used to it so that's really no big deal. the common room is essentially non existent which is a shame.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reza Zandian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Reza would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cages below the bed, the security was high as they provide a key card. It was super clean with hot water available all the times. The breakfast was reach and organised. Internet was available in the public area which I have found fast enough for anything.

Disliked: Well everything was fine but if I am supposed to be picky I would say I had problem with the water taps as the hot and cold one was separated. I also didn't like the hairdresser cutting hair in the middle of the way to my room, Perhaps he has to find a better place to do so.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 August 2013

Liked: Nice location, WiFi and breakfast included

Disliked: Very loud, showers with almost no water coming out, unfriendly staff

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Giovanni Zaniol

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 July 2013 Giovanni would recommend this property

Liked: Good and clean rooms, helpful staff, very good location, good breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place for young travelers. Great breakfast with lots of variety. Located by a lot of pubs and the underground and transportation is close and easy to navigate. Helpful staff made it easy to experience London the right way.

Disliked: Hard to say because it was during renovation. It is located on a busy street so earplugs are a must to sleep. I didn't like having one shower in a room of 12 people.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 July 2013

Liked: Nice location, friendly staff.

Disliked: My particular room was impossible to sleep in, slept for only about 3-4 hours during two nights I spent there. There are no windows and temperature inside was 28-30 C even during the night. Plus during the night there were other hostel guests in the atrium, who were very noisy (there was no noise isolation in that room at all), and who would stay there at least until 4 AM. Lockers are impossible to use even if you take the lock from the counter (which is actually bought, because after you leave, it turned out that you cannot exchange the lock back for your paid deposit). The entrance door to the room was impossible to close, but the door to the toilet/shower was getting stuck and to open it, you needed to hit it quite hard with an elbow. Also, during my stay hostel was under construction, so during the day it was noisy and dusty. Wouldn't recommend.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and the location

Disliked: No air con in the rooms (was sweltering at night), wifi dropped in & out, no real common room to chill in apart from the kitchen (maybe all the construction going on is going to change that)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: No Internet in rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Was having some construction done while I was there so I'm sure it will be even better when thats completed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good, just a short walk away from Shoreditch High St overground and Old St Underground stations, also plenty of buses running from stops straight out the door. Beds new and comfortable, liked the cage under the bed where you could stash your things, just make sure to bring a padlock. room was really spacious. Other people have commented on the noise at night which nearly put me off as I'm a light sleeper, but I didn't find this a problem, just bring earplugs. Breakfast was good and lots of variety, but set up of dining area was cramped and if you came late there wasn't always a seat.

Disliked: Despite repeated attempts on different devices in different places I could never get the wifi to work. There weren't many power sockets in the room. Hostel is a construction site so lots of sawdust and building materials downstairs which are a bit of a hazard. Cleaners did not clean under the beds so when I arrived mine had old used tissues, used cotton tips, old socks and sunglasses, etc and dust caked all over the ground which aggravated my asthma especially when I was pulling the cage in and out. Despite telling staff about this and a promise of action (although one girl said that the cleaners were busy and so of course some things were missed, aren't we paying for them to clean? other bigger places manage) this was all still there late the next night when I got back. The door in our room needed to be pushed/pulled shut quite hard, there were a couple of times when I went to the door and the lock wasnt engaged meaning anyone could have walked in. Shower door in our room was fitted poorly and the lock didn't align so the door couldn't be locked, and when I was advised to use one of the communal showers, despite the fact that there were two locks on the doors opening straight onto the corridor, neither of them worked, which I hope they have now fixed. When leaving bags there is no tagging system as there are in other hostels. If access to internet, cleanliness and security don't really bother you then stay but otherwise I would wait until it's more established and construction finished before coming back.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jaimee thuesen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 jaimee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff.

Disliked: jaimee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Cook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! The staff was top notch. It is connected to a bar and they were currently renovating other rooms to become more businesses. It's great to see the money going back into the place. It was very clean, I felt quite safe. No complaints! Stay here! It's about a 10 minute walk to the metro and then you can get all around London.

Disliked: Nothing. Stay here!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aidan Wheeler

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 June 2013 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location to travel around london from and a very nice common/ main room to chill in.

Disliked: Maybe some more sockets in rooms to charge phones?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Edie Fox

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Edie would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: only one toilet and one mirror...in the toilet, for a dorm of 12 people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect if you are wanting to explore this side of London. Heaps of bars, cafes abd restaurants around. Staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast was great.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner and 2 of the 3 toilets were broken on our level for the entire 4 day stay. No common room as such for the hostel so not much atmosphere. This may however improve once construction work has finished.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camille Norman-Ross

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2013 Camille would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous atmosphere, really chilled out and pleasant place to stay. Staff were really friendly and helpful, great bar downstairs as well as being in an easy to find and central location. Can't recommend enough.

Disliked: Perhaps remove the part on the website that mentiones 'complimentary towels' as we had to pay £5 for each.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 April 2013

Liked: trendy funky vibe

Disliked: rooms are way too small and no where to hang shirts or trousers or even a shelf for toiletries. You have to buy a towel and there is no laundry service for cleaning the towels . that is very poor I feel. It would be nice to have a kitchen area/common area with a TV and microwave instead of just the bar. Also you had to be in the bar to get the wifi to work

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly environment. The hostel bar is a nice place to hang out.

Disliked: No kitchen facilities. Single-glazed windows in bedrooms means traffic can be quite loud at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good vibe. The bar downstairs was good and the rooms comfortable and clean.

Disliked: The breakfast was pretty terrible, they ran out of everything so quickly so got left with nothing but old bagels and jam.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, hardworking staff, comfortable bed, decent breakfast, good times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever been to! Great atmosphere and located in a very nice area. Ended up staying in the hostel for most of our stay in London!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are top-notch. They were very friendly and helpful, providing local knowledge and the hostel information. Shoreditch is a very trendy part of London and there's plenty to see and do in the area.

Disliked: I marked down their facilities because The Dictionary is still under construction! But don't let that put you off staying there right now. While you might notice workmen coming and going through the corridors, there is no a noise or security problem. I would expect this to be one of the better hostels in the city once the work is complete.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Hocevar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, the room was a bit small but okay, the showers were clean, and the breakfast was simple but good. There's a lovely bar downstairs.

Disliked: Another sink would be great in the bathroom, but it was never really crowded so no problem about that. We were quite lucky with the room as it was on the top floor and away from the main street, so there was only noise from the neighbouring pubs but it stopped at midnight during the week.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels