HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Dictionary, Shoreditch

Hostel | 10 – 20 Kingsland Road, London, England E2 8DA

80.3% Overall Rating

118 out of 135 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

Filipe Geyer thinks…

"If you like to party, it is close to some bars, but it can be noisy at night. I don't mind that though."

Read all The Dictionary, Shoreditch reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

- Group booking? Group of 12 or more traveling to London? Contact us directly - The Dictionary Hostel only accepts guests aged between 18 and 35. - Under-18 year-olds will have to be accompanied by a responsible adult. - Cancellations can be made up to 24 hours prior to arrival. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of the stay. - The maximum stay for guests at this establishment is 14 days. - 2 nights minimum stay during weekends (Fridays & Saturdays).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

City Hotel
87.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.0% 5 reviews
Qbic London City
48.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.4% 4 reviews
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
43.78 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
City View Hotel Bethnal Green
82.92 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
City Inn Express
39.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.6% 17 reviews
Alliance House
56.53 USD

Hostel 80.2% 14 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
28.03 USD

Hostel 80.1% 261 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
34.83 USD

Hostel 84.2% 322 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

118 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Dictionary, Shoreditch'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 131 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever been to! Great atmosphere and located in a very nice area. Ended up staying in the hostel for most of our stay in London!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are top-notch. They were very friendly and helpful, providing local knowledge and the hostel information. Shoreditch is a very trendy part of London and there's plenty to see and do in the area.

Disliked: I marked down their facilities because The Dictionary is still under construction! But don't let that put you off staying there right now. While you might notice workmen coming and going through the corridors, there is no a noise or security problem. I would expect this to be one of the better hostels in the city once the work is complete.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Hocevar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, the room was a bit small but okay, the showers were clean, and the breakfast was simple but good. There's a lovely bar downstairs.

Disliked: Another sink would be great in the bathroom, but it was never really crowded so no problem about that. We were quite lucky with the room as it was on the top floor and away from the main street, so there was only noise from the neighbouring pubs but it stopped at midnight during the week.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Demian Jose Freiberg Schutt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Demian Jose would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, nice and helpful staff

Disliked: There was no kitchen nor fridge at least to put some stuff...and breakfast was not so good, so maybe it would have been useful to have a fridge. No internet in the rooms. No light in each bed, so to see sth at night you should wake up all other travellers in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YURIRIA RUVALCABA FLORES

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 March 2013 YURIRIA would recommend this property

Liked: a great location in the new trendy area of london with to many pubs and things to do and see, the hostel is new and clean and the staff was very nice and helpfull! the breaksfast was really good and translate (the hostel's pub) is amaizing!

Disliked: YURIRIA left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast, the local,

Disliked: The noise (circulation, works on the street in the night and works in the hostel at 7:30am), no kitchen

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, walking distance to the city, and the area is pretty cool anyway. I mafe friends there

Disliked: Breakfast had only bread, butter and coffee/tea

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms with a lovely cafe/bar downstairs. Very trendy and great location.

Disliked: Not as easy to meet people, not much of a traveller/backpacker vibe..with the free WiFi everyone is on their MacBook! Still, did meet some nice people here. Also rooms are boiling and next to main road.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Bielamowicz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and nice place. Very clean. Amazingly good value for a money. Great place to sleep after an intensive day. Also a good place for a party, since many pubs and clubs are nearby and this turns into drawback...

Disliked: ... when you actually plan to sleep well at night. OK - this is place for rather young people, but even being young does not mean that you want to hear noises up to 5am. I stayed 2 nights, first one was not very good while the second one was ok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Steffen Lenke

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Steffen would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly Stuff. Clean room. Nice Breakfast. Good information about the city. No need of an additional tourist information.

Disliked: Had to pay for a electric socket adapter and a lock for the locker. No deposition possible.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Daniek McShane

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 February 2013

Liked: Good for a night out in Shoreditch.

Disliked: The member of staff with a silly hat serving breakfast knows nothing about customer service. The attitude of this staff member was unbelievable, very smug. I was refused juice at precisely 10am because he couldn't be bothered to make it after we queued for breakfast for 15 mins. My friend asked for a drink of water at 10.15am which he begrudgingly served, not what you want after a night out. Its a shame as the rest of the staff made us feel very welcome but it only takes one unreasonable person to sour the experience. Being a Business Studies teacher I know how important customer service is in the service industry, it's an easy problem to solve.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for connecting to Stansted Airport. Clean and newly renovated.

Disliked: Extremely noisy. The bar downstairs plays music until late night making sleeping impossible. The rooms in general have no sound isolation what so ever.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: I was given the VIP treatment here, from the moment I first stepped through the front door to the moment I checked out. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the hostel is stylish and clean. You can enter or leave the Hostel at all hours of the day. The Hostel has night staff so information and advice is always available. I had a great nights sleep here, as the beds are super comfy. My favorite part by far is the lounge/cafe. They offer free breakfast between 8am and 10am (there are dohnuts, FREE DOHNUTS :O). The lounge istelf is spacious and modern and it's a nice place to chill out. Oh and there is free wifi throughout the entire building! This hostel made my weekend in London more relaxing and enjoyable.

Disliked: You can somtimes get loud people staggering up the stairs in the midle of the night, but what do you expect; it is a youth hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The overall feeling of the hostel was really nice. Free Wi-Fi is always a plus. The location was perfect. Nice bars, restaurants and shops in walking distance.

Disliked: I was staying in a 16-bedroom room and we didn't had our own toilet. Another thing is that the breakfast could have been a bit better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very new and clean. The bathroom facilities were good. It was a welcoming environment in the common room where you could use the min-kitchen and watch tv. There is good lock-up facilities under the beds but you need to have your own padlock.

Disliked: The 'luggage room' was non-existant, you just had to sit it in the common room which didn't feel incredibly safe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and good value for the price, definetly one of the best stays in London, thank you very much guys!

Disliked: almost nothing, probably one: just one common space and allwasy too noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanja Bayer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Tanja would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very nice, the location was perfect and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: Tanja left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Young, vibrant and friendly staff. One of the few budget accommodation options in east london area. Very up and coming neighbourhood, lots of bars and restaurants.

Disliked: We got put into an unfinished room in the new wing of the hostel because it was just before new years and although everything was new, the room was also covered in construction dust and smelt heavily of fresh paint. In addition the description on the hostelbookers website was for the rooms in the old wing which all have private bathrooms. The new room did not have a private bathroom and the most irritating thing: there was only one sink and tiny mirror shared between everyone on the floor (up to 20 people).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

oyku irmakkesen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 oyku would recommend this property

Liked: very large rooms, you don't have jump over the bags all around. bar downstairs is great for chilling out.

Disliked: oyku left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerry Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Gerry would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, being in the heart of Shoreditch with many trendy bars around. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the on-site bar was a great place to have some drinks with other travelers as well as locals.

Disliked: Gerry left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and café is really cool, in the veenings it´s easy to get in contact, dance drink and just climb into bed next door, the staff was superfriendly and helpful (even though i did have to switch rooms as it was overbooked)

Disliked: A kitchen and communal room as such would be nice, also a computer not only wifi and keep it cleaner please ;-)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Guenther Radspieler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Guenther would recommend this property

Liked: Topp

Disliked: Noth

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, one of the best hostels I ever stayed in. Really spacious rooms, especially for London and comfortable beds too. The bathroom facilities were clean and new and the lounge downstairs is a really nice space, you could comfortably hang out there for a few hours. I saw some guy whinging about the 18-40 policy but I'm sorry, that's what really gives this place a buzz. Nothing worse than staying in a hostel full of school groups and anyone older can have their mid-life crisis in a hotel. This doesn't feel like a hostel, more like a boutique hotel.

Disliked: When I got back there was a random Italian guy staying in my bed. It turned out someone in my room let him in by mistake and the the guy at reception was pretty helpful in kicking him out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chiara Giavarini

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2012 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel!!! Great location, shoreditch is a really cool place for young between 18-30 and closer to the major points of interest (with tube)! Ok is not cleaned as an hotel but for cheap price we can close an eye! The staff is young and avaible all night!, they can give you a lot of advices to spent yours days in London!! I will come back when i'll be in this city! ( nice bar also "Translate" that gives breakfast service to hostel!!)

Disliked: I had some troubles with my bed cause one of the customer and it was not good. But staff quickly resolved it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and on-site bar open until 2am...!

Disliked: We had some difficulties with regards to booking all 8 beds of an 8 bed room (for 5 of us) only to find there was somebody else already staying in one of the 8 beds. We did receive a partial refund, but did feel sorry for the foreign girl who had to put up with five drunk, snoring blokes that night!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels