HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Dictionary, Shoreditch

Hostel | 10 – 20 Kingsland Road, London, England E2 8DA

79.2% Overall Rating

106 out of 120 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2014)

Genevieve Burke thinks…

"Really great place, felt very comfortable staying here. Lovely people, clean bathroom and well-equipped kitchen."

Read all The Dictionary, Shoreditch reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: We cater to the 18-35 year old market and valid government ID will be needed for each guest checking-in. Group bookings of 12 or more people will not be accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

City Hotel
66.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.0% 5 reviews
City Reach Apartment
83.60 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Qbic London City
49.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.2% 3 reviews
Times Square Apartment
83.60 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
83.60 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Monument Street Serviced Apartment
98.06 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
City View Hotel Bethnal Green
83.60 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
City Inn Express
41.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.7% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

106 out of 120 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Dictionary, Shoreditch'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 117 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: I was given the VIP treatment here, from the moment I first stepped through the front door to the moment I checked out. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the hostel is stylish and clean. You can enter or leave the Hostel at all hours of the day. The Hostel has night staff so information and advice is always available. I had a great nights sleep here, as the beds are super comfy. My favorite part by far is the lounge/cafe. They offer free breakfast between 8am and 10am (there are dohnuts, FREE DOHNUTS :O). The lounge istelf is spacious and modern and it's a nice place to chill out. Oh and there is free wifi throughout the entire building! This hostel made my weekend in London more relaxing and enjoyable.

Disliked: You can somtimes get loud people staggering up the stairs in the midle of the night, but what do you expect; it is a youth hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The overall feeling of the hostel was really nice. Free Wi-Fi is always a plus. The location was perfect. Nice bars, restaurants and shops in walking distance.

Disliked: I was staying in a 16-bedroom room and we didn't had our own toilet. Another thing is that the breakfast could have been a bit better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very new and clean. The bathroom facilities were good. It was a welcoming environment in the common room where you could use the min-kitchen and watch tv. There is good lock-up facilities under the beds but you need to have your own padlock.

Disliked: The 'luggage room' was non-existant, you just had to sit it in the common room which didn't feel incredibly safe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and good value for the price, definetly one of the best stays in London, thank you very much guys!

Disliked: almost nothing, probably one: just one common space and allwasy too noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanja Bayer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Tanja would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very nice, the location was perfect and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: Tanja left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Young, vibrant and friendly staff. One of the few budget accommodation options in east london area. Very up and coming neighbourhood, lots of bars and restaurants.

Disliked: We got put into an unfinished room in the new wing of the hostel because it was just before new years and although everything was new, the room was also covered in construction dust and smelt heavily of fresh paint. In addition the description on the hostelbookers website was for the rooms in the old wing which all have private bathrooms. The new room did not have a private bathroom and the most irritating thing: there was only one sink and tiny mirror shared between everyone on the floor (up to 20 people).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

oyku irmakkesen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 oyku would recommend this property

Liked: very large rooms, you don't have jump over the bags all around. bar downstairs is great for chilling out.

Disliked: oyku left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerry Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Gerry would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, being in the heart of Shoreditch with many trendy bars around. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the on-site bar was a great place to have some drinks with other travelers as well as locals.

Disliked: Gerry left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and café is really cool, in the veenings it´s easy to get in contact, dance drink and just climb into bed next door, the staff was superfriendly and helpful (even though i did have to switch rooms as it was overbooked)

Disliked: A kitchen and communal room as such would be nice, also a computer not only wifi and keep it cleaner please ;-)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Guenther Radspieler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Guenther would recommend this property

Liked: Topp

Disliked: Noth

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, one of the best hostels I ever stayed in. Really spacious rooms, especially for London and comfortable beds too. The bathroom facilities were clean and new and the lounge downstairs is a really nice space, you could comfortably hang out there for a few hours. I saw some guy whinging about the 18-40 policy but I'm sorry, that's what really gives this place a buzz. Nothing worse than staying in a hostel full of school groups and anyone older can have their mid-life crisis in a hotel. This doesn't feel like a hostel, more like a boutique hotel.

Disliked: When I got back there was a random Italian guy staying in my bed. It turned out someone in my room let him in by mistake and the the guy at reception was pretty helpful in kicking him out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chiara Giavarini

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2012 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel!!! Great location, shoreditch is a really cool place for young between 18-30 and closer to the major points of interest (with tube)! Ok is not cleaned as an hotel but for cheap price we can close an eye! The staff is young and avaible all night!, they can give you a lot of advices to spent yours days in London!! I will come back when i'll be in this city! ( nice bar also "Translate" that gives breakfast service to hostel!!)

Disliked: I had some troubles with my bed cause one of the customer and it was not good. But staff quickly resolved it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and on-site bar open until 2am...!

Disliked: We had some difficulties with regards to booking all 8 beds of an 8 bed room (for 5 of us) only to find there was somebody else already staying in one of the 8 beds. We did receive a partial refund, but did feel sorry for the foreign girl who had to put up with five drunk, snoring blokes that night!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Stephen Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Better than average breakfast. Nice bar downstairs.

Disliked: Door to the shower was too water damaged 'to close (in a mixed bed dorm room!), and water would always leak out into the bedroom. Staff are severly disorganized resulting in people getting woken up in the middle of the night to switch beds around. Wireless internet worked only half the time, and at one point they'd rented out the "common room" to a private function. Lots of potential, but the place is pretty shoddy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Glass

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff. Probably the best I have had in my 7 months of traveling (maybe I am biased since most are Aussie :D). Really cool vibe there, met some great people. Has excellent character, Wifi is good, beds are clean. Location is absolutely awesome. They make great coffee, bagels are awesome, cool bar.

Disliked: Major disadvantage at this stage is there is no kitchen, which forces you to eat out all the time, which is expensive in London. Until the expansion/teething issues are sorted there will be some minor issues, but the rest of the experience makes up for it. Only other slight disadvantage is that the place has Mac Fever, so a lot of people in the common area consistently 'Macing' by themselves which could make it difficult if you want to meet a lot of people. This hostel has great plans for expansion, and I dare say will be one of the best (if not the best) in London when complete.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: The entrance wasn't so easy to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute hostel, lots of character and clean.

Disliked: No organised activites for the guests, making it easier to meet people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Friendly Staff, Cleanliness, Character

Disliked: Mixed Bedrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiatong Elle Duan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Xiatong Elle would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is included. Staff r kind and helpful. When u meet a problem they always could solve it. Room is very clean. And for most of the times. Room is quiet

Disliked: The first night is not quiet at all because there is a BBQ in the roof. Well we can not sleep at 3. But when we find the staff there. They come up to get all of the drunk people downstairs immediately. For the other 4 nights. Room was extremely quiet that u could sleep well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saul Baker

Alone

City break

24 September 2012 Saul would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Great area of London! And this is how a proper hostels should be, unlike those heartless corperate hostels that are all over London! See you guys again!

Disliked: Saul left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff and brilliant location

Disliked: bathrooms could have been cleaner

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, has a lot of character, good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012

Liked: Staff are friendly & helpful.

Disliked: Quite far from nearest tube station (10-15 min walk). You can take the bus but that takes just as long. Rooms are really small and cramped, even though mine was not fully occupied. The industrial kind of decor works well and seems stylish in the bar, but the raw brick walls etc. in the rooms just make them a bit shabby and unfinished. They had a paint job done in my room whilst people were staying there; the painters went in and out and moved my stuff around. When they were done, the obnoxious smell from the paint lingered for the rest of my stay. The "common room" is the bar on the ground floor where everyone just stares at their MacBooks or iPads and communicates digitally rather than really. I guess that's what they call hip these days (it's like that in all the bars in the neighbourhood), but it doesn't really help in getting a conversation going or meeting new people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common area was great had a good vibe to it. Beds were comfortable & bathrooms were spotless.

Disliked: The name of the hostel is written on an A4 piece of paper - you'll miss it. Staff seemed to be focused/distracted on the building work going on it took 20mins to check in. I placed my order for breakfast and on the 2nd day and they didn't have my order, the staff didn't really care. You need a massive padlock to lock up your bag. No key to enter when the place is closed, have to be lucky and hope the there is someone at reception to let you in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On first sight of the property it was full of character and quirky, with a rustic feel. As a group we was very impressed with the facilities which was supplied and the cleanliness of the room. The beds are comfy with good storage baskets under the beds to keep your belongings safe. The bathroom facilities are basic and small but very clean. The staff are friendly and happy to help at all hours of the night, and can answer any questions. Overall i would rate this hostel at 90% as it was exactly what i was looking for, reasonable price, safe and clean place to stay ideal for backpackers and students.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels