HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Dictionary Hostel, Shoreditch, London London Hostel

10-20 Kingsland Road, London, England

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 91%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 7.85USD

Important Information

Check-in from 14:00.
Check-out by 10:00.

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

We cater to the age 18-35 market as a guideline. Please contact us for more info if you fall outside this age range. You must bring the credit/debit card that you booked with, even if you wish to pay the balance in cash. Please remember to bring your valid ID for check-in (passport, EU ID card or UK driving licence are all valid, but student ID cards will not be accepted, sorry!). No-one will be checked-in without their valid ID.

We are a hostel for backpackers and tourists - bookings from people resident in London will be accepted at the management’s discretion only. As an extra security precaution to keep everyone safe, you may be asked to provide proof of address. Anyone unable to provide such proof, when asked, will unfortunately not be allowed to stay.

If you are a group of 10 or more, please contact us directly. Cancellations can be made up to 24 hours prior to arrival. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of the stay.

The maximum stay for guests is 14 days. There is a 2 night minimum stay at weekends (Fridays & Saturdays).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 91%

Value 75%

Showing 21-30 of 82 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly people, good locations lots of bars and cafes in the area. Continental Breakfast supplied

Disliked: Our room was very close to the street and was very loud at night, lmpractial locker facilities

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Big room. En suite shower and toilet. Breakfast included.

Disliked: Tribes. Partyheads. Culture vultures. Older dudes.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location was perfect for what we wanted from our weekend. Shoreditch is a vibrant, cosmopolitan part of London so there is no shortage of bars and dining options within easy reach. The staff were really helpful and there is a really nice chilled vibe around the place. Cannot beat this for VFM in such a prime London location.

Disliked: The dorm we stayed in did not have air con so unless we kept the door and window open it could get a little stuffy in the room. I can imagine if it was a hot day the room could be unbearable to sleep in.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Big, light rooms. Friendly staff

Disliked: The fast internet I got as an upgrade didn't work

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location has everything a you would need and expect in a London hostel. Staff were really friendly and accommodating I left my washing in the public laundry overnight by accident and they took it in for me and re washed it the next day! Great location

Disliked: There was some sort of tour group or school group that made it hard to get breakfast in the morning

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback! :D We like to go the extra mile to help our guests out, even if that means getting their underwear out the dryer! ;) Haha! we've taken your feedback on board about groups and breakfast and have set up a second breakfast area upstairs in the courtyard on days when we have groups in. We have also reconfigured the table layout in the kitchen to give more space to move around. Yay! Thanks for your input in helping sort this out. Hope to see you again soon! :)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is superb - right in the hipsteric heart of London, an interesting area to explore and wandering around. The property itself offers a great kitchen and community area to hang out. Wifi-Connection is very good.

Disliked: As good as this place is located - as noisy it is getting at nighttime - especially in a room with more than 2 beds. Just grab a pair of Earpluggs at the reception and you´ll be fine.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there! Thanks so much for your amazing review! :) :) Glad you made the most of Shoreditch and enjoyed the location to the full! Loving your pragmatic approach to life with the earplugs tip! ;) In all seriousness, we are waiting for permission from the council to get the windows replaced to help cut out some noise from outside. We need extra permissions due to the conservation status of the area. But earplugs will do for now, right? ;) Hope to see you in Shoreditch again soon :D

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location is not bad. Staff is very different from who is seeving you. The lady in the first morning was very nice

Disliked: Breakfast is very very simple. Clean the rooms and look more after the toilets


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback! We love to hear your thoughts :) Glad you enjoyed the location & service! Our free breakfast includes 2 types of bread, 4 types of cereal, fresh bagels/croissants, jam, peanut butter, honey, tea/coffee, juice & fruit. We also have cakes, sandwiches & pastries in our cafe & a full hot breakfast range in our bar (full English, eggs Florentine, porridge, muesli) so there's something for most tastes ;) I will pass on your comments RE toilets to cleaning team asap. Thanks :D

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Good location ,good service.

Disliked: Some bathroom are little bit small.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed our location and service! That's what we like to hear :) Some of our bathrooms are, like all the best things in life, small but perfectly formed ;) Hope to see you again soon! All the best.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Very cheap and in a good location.

Disliked: Horrible smell - like bleach covering urine & excrement. Rat traps in the bedrooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great score! You're right, as a preventative measure, we have traps around the hostel, but these are against mice - definitely not rats. It's standard in the industry & doesn't mean we have a problem - we don't, thankfully! :) I'm sorry to hear you experienced a bad smell. That's not normal & not something I've heard any other complaints about, so hopefully it was just a one off. The hostel's cleaned top to bottom every day by our team, but any problems, just speak to Reception :)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff, and clean.

Disliked: Wish there was a living room common area.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi. Thanks for the great comments! :) It's like you read our mind - we are currently renovating part of the hostel behind the scenes to create a brand spanking new reception and communal area. We have the kitchen at the moment where you can hang out, but it can be a bit cramped at busy times, which is why we decided to make this change. I really hope you'll come back to see the improvements soon. They should be finished in the next fortnight :) All the best with the rest of your travels.

Check Availability