We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of The Dictionary, Shoreditch

Hostel | 10 – 20 Kingsland Road, London, England E2 8DA

79.2% Overall Rating

130 out of 149 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/03/2015)

"It had really chill vibe where everyone was encouraged to meet others and hang out. Great for solo travellers and the location is in shoreditch which is obviously a plus."

Read all The Dictionary, Shoreditch reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 81.75
  • Towel USD 7.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

- Group booking? Group of 12 or more traveling to London? Contact us directly - The Dictionary Hostel only accepts guests aged between 18 and 35. - Under-18 year-olds will have to be accompanied by a responsible adult. - Cancellations can be made up to 24 hours prior to arrival. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first night of the stay. - The maximum stay for guests at this establishment is 14 days. - 2 nights minimum stay during weekends (Fridays & Saturdays).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

City Hotel
116.42 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.0% 5 reviews
Islington Inn
31.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Wombats City Hostel London
28.24 USD

Hostel 93.6% 27 reviews
City Inn Express
33.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.0% 18 reviews
Alliance House
50.67 USD

Hostel 80.2% 15 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
19.17 USD

Hostel 80.0% 269 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
32.70 USD

Hostel 82.6% 328 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
20.66 USD

Hostel 86.4% 238 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

130 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Dictionary, Shoreditch'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 145 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and the location

Disliked: No air con in the rooms (was sweltering at night), wifi dropped in & out, no real common room to chill in apart from the kitchen (maybe all the construction going on is going to change that)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: No Internet in rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Was having some construction done while I was there so I'm sure it will be even better when thats completed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good, just a short walk away from Shoreditch High St overground and Old St Underground stations, also plenty of buses running from stops straight out the door. Beds new and comfortable, liked the cage under the bed where you could stash your things, just make sure to bring a padlock. room was really spacious. Other people have commented on the noise at night which nearly put me off as I'm a light sleeper, but I didn't find this a problem, just bring earplugs. Breakfast was good and lots of variety, but set up of dining area was cramped and if you came late there wasn't always a seat.

Disliked: Despite repeated attempts on different devices in different places I could never get the wifi to work. There weren't many power sockets in the room. Hostel is a construction site so lots of sawdust and building materials downstairs which are a bit of a hazard. Cleaners did not clean under the beds so when I arrived mine had old used tissues, used cotton tips, old socks and sunglasses, etc and dust caked all over the ground which aggravated my asthma especially when I was pulling the cage in and out. Despite telling staff about this and a promise of action (although one girl said that the cleaners were busy and so of course some things were missed, aren't we paying for them to clean? other bigger places manage) this was all still there late the next night when I got back. The door in our room needed to be pushed/pulled shut quite hard, there were a couple of times when I went to the door and the lock wasnt engaged meaning anyone could have walked in. Shower door in our room was fitted poorly and the lock didn't align so the door couldn't be locked, and when I was advised to use one of the communal showers, despite the fact that there were two locks on the doors opening straight onto the corridor, neither of them worked, which I hope they have now fixed. When leaving bags there is no tagging system as there are in other hostels. If access to internet, cleanliness and security don't really bother you then stay but otherwise I would wait until it's more established and construction finished before coming back.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jaimee thuesen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 jaimee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff.

Disliked: jaimee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Cook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! The staff was top notch. It is connected to a bar and they were currently renovating other rooms to become more businesses. It's great to see the money going back into the place. It was very clean, I felt quite safe. No complaints! Stay here! It's about a 10 minute walk to the metro and then you can get all around London.

Disliked: Nothing. Stay here!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aidan Wheeler

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 June 2013 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location to travel around london from and a very nice common/ main room to chill in.

Disliked: Maybe some more sockets in rooms to charge phones?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Edie Fox

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Edie would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: only one toilet and one mirror...in the toilet, for a dorm of 12 people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect if you are wanting to explore this side of London. Heaps of bars, cafes abd restaurants around. Staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast was great.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner and 2 of the 3 toilets were broken on our level for the entire 4 day stay. No common room as such for the hostel so not much atmosphere. This may however improve once construction work has finished.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camille Norman-Ross

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2013 Camille would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous atmosphere, really chilled out and pleasant place to stay. Staff were really friendly and helpful, great bar downstairs as well as being in an easy to find and central location. Can't recommend enough.

Disliked: Perhaps remove the part on the website that mentiones 'complimentary towels' as we had to pay £5 for each.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 April 2013

Liked: trendy funky vibe

Disliked: rooms are way too small and no where to hang shirts or trousers or even a shelf for toiletries. You have to buy a towel and there is no laundry service for cleaning the towels . that is very poor I feel. It would be nice to have a kitchen area/common area with a TV and microwave instead of just the bar. Also you had to be in the bar to get the wifi to work

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly environment. The hostel bar is a nice place to hang out.

Disliked: No kitchen facilities. Single-glazed windows in bedrooms means traffic can be quite loud at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good vibe. The bar downstairs was good and the rooms comfortable and clean.

Disliked: The breakfast was pretty terrible, they ran out of everything so quickly so got left with nothing but old bagels and jam.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, hardworking staff, comfortable bed, decent breakfast, good times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever been to! Great atmosphere and located in a very nice area. Ended up staying in the hostel for most of our stay in London!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are top-notch. They were very friendly and helpful, providing local knowledge and the hostel information. Shoreditch is a very trendy part of London and there's plenty to see and do in the area.

Disliked: I marked down their facilities because The Dictionary is still under construction! But don't let that put you off staying there right now. While you might notice workmen coming and going through the corridors, there is no a noise or security problem. I would expect this to be one of the better hostels in the city once the work is complete.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Hocevar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, the room was a bit small but okay, the showers were clean, and the breakfast was simple but good. There's a lovely bar downstairs.

Disliked: Another sink would be great in the bathroom, but it was never really crowded so no problem about that. We were quite lucky with the room as it was on the top floor and away from the main street, so there was only noise from the neighbouring pubs but it stopped at midnight during the week.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Demian Jose Freiberg Schutt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Demian Jose would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, nice and helpful staff

Disliked: There was no kitchen nor fridge at least to put some stuff...and breakfast was not so good, so maybe it would have been useful to have a fridge. No internet in the rooms. No light in each bed, so to see sth at night you should wake up all other travellers in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YURIRIA RUVALCABA FLORES

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 March 2013 YURIRIA would recommend this property

Liked: a great location in the new trendy area of london with to many pubs and things to do and see, the hostel is new and clean and the staff was very nice and helpfull! the breaksfast was really good and translate (the hostel's pub) is amaizing!

Disliked: YURIRIA left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast, the local,

Disliked: The noise (circulation, works on the street in the night and works in the hostel at 7:30am), no kitchen

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, walking distance to the city, and the area is pretty cool anyway. I mafe friends there

Disliked: Breakfast had only bread, butter and coffee/tea

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms with a lovely cafe/bar downstairs. Very trendy and great location.

Disliked: Not as easy to meet people, not much of a traveller/backpacker vibe..with the free WiFi everyone is on their MacBook! Still, did meet some nice people here. Also rooms are boiling and next to main road.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Bielamowicz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and nice place. Very clean. Amazingly good value for a money. Great place to sleep after an intensive day. Also a good place for a party, since many pubs and clubs are nearby and this turns into drawback...

Disliked: ... when you actually plan to sleep well at night. OK - this is place for rather young people, but even being young does not mean that you want to hear noises up to 5am. I stayed 2 nights, first one was not very good while the second one was ok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Steffen Lenke

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Steffen would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly Stuff. Clean room. Nice Breakfast. Good information about the city. No need of an additional tourist information.

Disliked: Had to pay for a electric socket adapter and a lock for the locker. No deposition possible.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Daniek McShane

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 February 2013

Liked: Good for a night out in Shoreditch.

Disliked: The member of staff with a silly hat serving breakfast knows nothing about customer service. The attitude of this staff member was unbelievable, very smug. I was refused juice at precisely 10am because he couldn't be bothered to make it after we queued for breakfast for 15 mins. My friend asked for a drink of water at 10.15am which he begrudgingly served, not what you want after a night out. Its a shame as the rest of the staff made us feel very welcome but it only takes one unreasonable person to sour the experience. Being a Business Studies teacher I know how important customer service is in the service industry, it's an easy problem to solve.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels