HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Restup London

Hostel | 172 New kent Road, London, England Se1 4yt

82.2% Overall Rating

318 out of 393 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

Margarida Marques thinks…

"The hostel is big and in a beautiful building. Close to the centre and metro and bus stations."

Read all Restup London reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.61
  • Towel USD 3.32

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings for 10 or more guests is a group booking and must be booked with the hostel directly. Any bookings made through Hostelbookers will not be honoured and the deposit is non refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.58 USD

Hostel 75.9% 1426 reviews
Safestay
33.16 USD

Hostel 86.9% 217 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
24.70 USD

Hostel 82.3% 233 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
21.39 USD

Hostel 84.3% 1002 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
28.02 USD

Hostel 80.1% 261 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
65.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
65.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
34.81 USD

Hostel 84.2% 322 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

318 out of 393 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Restup London'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 227 of 387 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet, good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Margarida Marques

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 August 2014 Margarida would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is big and in a beautiful building. Close to the centre and metro and bus stations.

Disliked: My room was very very small, only had a beliche and the space to open the door. Even though there were a lot of children and the hostel is suited to families, most of the nights I couldn't sleep at all because of very noisy, sreaming people in the middle of the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hemming

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

12 August 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the centre of London, is modern inside and very clean, staff are polite and friendly, the showers are hot - all I could wish for!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Houston

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 August 2014 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good, exceptionally clean,fantastically accomadiating Helpful staff, highly recommended looking Forward to our next rest stop stay.

Disliked: Melanie left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kudirat Bayo

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Kudirat would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it's location

Disliked: That there was only one lift and the rooms were kinda small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: V comfy,friendly atmosphere, felt safe,felt comfortable brining my 11yr old son here,v clean

Disliked: Told when booked it was a garden view and we didnt have one we were other side of building and I guess we were charged more for that privlidge!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Devan Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2014 Devan would recommend this property

Liked: Location near markets and restaurants with great prices, near bike rentals which is cheap and beneficial for your trip. First hostel I stayed at with children, gave it a homey feel.

Disliked: far from city centre, but also better to be away from crowds

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff professionalism

Disliked: No wifi in rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It was cool and funky.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isaac Mitias

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

28 July 2014 Isaac would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Coby Weyland

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2014 Coby would recommend this property

Liked: It was more like a hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: Coby left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: Not a lot!

Disliked: Staff were very rude on arrival, cleaners vacuuming at 6am. Lockers cost £3 per day Rooms were dirty No wifi in rooms and common room closed. Bathroom and showers terrible, light timer lasted 3 seconds so spent most of my shower in the dark I've stayed in batter hostels in third world countries

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly environment

Disliked: Not enough bathroom and the room door doesn't always close properly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Friendly staff. Has all facilities you need.Perfect budget accommodation.

Disliked: Can be noisy at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Annabel Everett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 July 2014

Liked: Kept clean often, bathrooms always clean

Disliked: Room was very hot with no fan, no locker in room had to pay for locker every time you opened it, no communal fridge I had to buy new milk everyday, no communal computer I had to walk to Internet cafe

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Of all the hostels I've been to in my life this one was easily the worst one ever . Showers only have one set temperature which is way too hot and you need to hold a button for water to come out. Drains we're clogged with hair and the water was reaching my ankles. Rooms were filthy with no lockers either. When I asked where I could fill up my water bottle I was told to use the taps in the toilet. Toilets and showers are unisex and very confusing since the signs don't make sense at all. Staff were the worst I've seen. They're too busy counting money behind the counter and when you ask them something they make it clear they really don't want to help.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean and tidy

Disliked: i don't really have any complaints about anything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LUKE LANGLEY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 LUKE would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, organised and its everything it says it is.

Disliked: Other groups of kids (30-40 or so) screaming at 12 in the am. Security might be helpful to let them know to be considerate of others. Bring ear plugs if they are there. :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2014

Liked: All

Disliked: 2 plugs in the dorm to plug phone/whatnot in.... So lots more please!!!!! People sitting on the stairs (H&S)...... Only 2 toilets on first floor .... Need more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Torres

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 July 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Efficient, very clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.

Disliked: Nothing to be honest.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Vasquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and very secure building- the showers were clean and the beds more than adequate

Disliked: Could use more hooks in the shower stalls and better temperature regulation- the water was VERY HOT!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jane Galletti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014

Liked: When we came in the first day the kid with blonde hair was nice, there was surprisingly always hot water

Disliked: It was terribly far from everything, most of the staff was rude, breakfast should be included (not worth paying for) - the sockets in the rooms don't work, lots of kids - everywhere, we are college students and there were kids 10 and under running around at all hours. When we asked to order food they said they had none, and directed us across the street... In a pinch (which is why we stayed here) it was not horrible, but I would not go back nor would I recommend this hostel to anyone.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stacey Needham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Was very clean, the staff were very helpful. Free wifi, not too far from the tube station, good location. definately recomend.

Disliked: You have to pay extra for breakfast, but thats not a major thng.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Gornall

Alone

Business / conference

27 June 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: All of above.

Disliked: Location

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: All


See all London hostels
See all London hotels