HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Rest Up London London Hostel

172 New Kent Road, London, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 61%

Location 82%

Safety 71%

Staff 86%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.26USD
  • Towel 3.14USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 61%

Location 82%

Safety 71%

Staff 86%

Value 76%

Showing 1-10 of 227 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Staff was amazing, very welcoming and eager to help. Location was ideal, it took me only 20 mins to get to Tower Bridge (on foot), and one of the buses took me directly to Big Ben and Oxford Circus. I tried their English breakfast and it was really tasty. I strongly recommend this place and I am sure I will come back.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Agnieszka,Thank you so much for your personal feedback.We at RestUp always strive to make our guests’ experience special and memorable and I am delighted to hear all your expectations were met and it is encouraging to hear that our staff is willing to go above and beyond to meet your expectations.We have indeed a good location close to underground and bus stop offering the option to get fast anywhere in London.Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.Alex Guest Relations Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Really great hostel, with good feel. Very friendly staff, that would tell you what one can do in 2 days in the city. Room was basic , but super clean and they upgraded me for free to 4 bedroom. Bathroom was next to the room , also clean with very hot shower.lovely. It was close to the centre . They have 247 reception and security so it was very safe. I will return.

Disliked: All was good.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: staff was friendly

Disliked: The hostel was really dirty and the size of the 4 female dorm room was so small, I could barely walk inside the room. No internet in the room, you can only connect in common areas. the tables in common areas were dirty and uncomfortable. sheets were dirty. the atmosphere was disturbing. it didnt feel safe either. definitely terrible


The property's response is

The hostel was really dirty and the size of the 4 female dorm room was so small. No internet in the room.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Relaxation / spa, Work / volunteering

Liked: Fine possibilities with public transport. Pretty building from the outside. Fast checkin.

Disliked: Not clean: lots of hairs in bathrooms for example. And nasty toilets. Some non-English speaking staff members. Rooms are tiny. No WiFi in room. No electricity in some rooms. Expensive lockers. Lounge is consistently full because of Internet access there. However, the lounge on the first floor doesn't have Internet at all, most of the times.


The property's response is

Dear guest,Thank you for your personal review.We appreciate your kind words about our historical building and for our fast check-in.We do have a dedicated housekeeping team who are keeping our hostel very clean,sometimes due to the high number of people using this facilities in the same time can create for a short time the sensation no one is cleaning this areas but our staff are cleaning all the common areas very often.Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back Alex,Guest Relations Manager

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is cheap and with the tube you are not far from the centre. It has a big living room. Two members of the staff were very kind and helpful. A third one was very rude all the time.

Disliked: There are neither lockers nor sockets in the rooms. The showers work through a botton you need to push and water only falls for 5 seconds every time you push the botton. It is not possible to adjust the temperature of the water, which is always very hot.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,Thank you for reviewing our hostel.We have indeed a good location close to underground and bus stop offering to our guest the option to get fast anywhere in London.We are looking for ways to improve our showers system in the shortest time.Comments like yours help us to improve and offer to our guest the best experience here in London. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Alex Guest Relations Manager

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendliness of staff and comfortable beds

Disliked: Too hot inside. Wifi access restricted to public spaces #overcrowded.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Amelia, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to provide us with a feedback following your recent stay at RestUp. I am delighted to hear that you found the rooms and facilities to be very nice and our staff friendly.We changed our boiler with a new one and we used a temporary boiler for a short time.Our new boiler is working properly now insuring the comfort of our guests.I very much look forward to welcoming you again soon. Alex Guest Relations Manager

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Although it wasn't that close to any sites or attractions, it was very easy to get around from this area.

Disliked: Did not find the staff overly helpful when asking questions, and also found the wifi only really worked in the lobby.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, nice common areas, can order meals there, bus stop right outside and subway close by, various tours and activities promoted.

Disliked: WiFi only in certain rooms, some people can't shower without keeping the water IN the shower... so floor of my room got quite wet 2 nights in a row. Hostel staff were great about cleaning it up right away though!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, I do need to thank you so much for taking the time to provide your personal feedback after your stay with us. We at RestUp always strive to make our guests’ experience special and memorable.We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Alex Guest Relations Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were so enthusiastic and they upgraded us to a private room at no extra charge. Happy Halloween to me!

Disliked: Elephant and Castle is pretty far away from everything and not my favorite place to walk around at night.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is one of the cheapest hostels in the city and it is close to the city centre.

Disliked: It would be great if the price included unlimited use of one small locker to store the most important items (money, credit card etc). The pay-per use locker is way too expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability