HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Restup London

Hostel | 172 New kent Road, London, England Se1 4yt

75.1% Overall Rating

299 out of 373 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

Sergio Vasquez thinks…

"Friendly staff and very secure building- the showers were clean and the beds more than adequate"

Read all Restup London reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.77
  • Towel USD 3.39

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings for 10 or more guests is a group booking and must be booked with the hostel directly. Any bookings made through Hostelbookers will not be honoured and the deposit is non refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.97 USD

Hostel 77.4% 1423 reviews
Safestay
37.34 USD

Hostel 87.0% 216 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
33.77 USD

Hostel 84.7% 230 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
23.59 USD

Hostel 81.8% 993 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
30.38 USD

Hostel 80.8% 260 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
66.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
84.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
36.78 USD

Hostel 84.2% 322 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.1%

Overall Rating

299 out of 373 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Restup London'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
70.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 215 of 366 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly environment

Disliked: Not enough bathroom and the room door doesn't always close properly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Friendly staff. Has all facilities you need.Perfect budget accommodation.

Disliked: Can be noisy at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Annabel Everett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 July 2014

Liked: Kept clean often, bathrooms always clean

Disliked: Room was very hot with no fan, no locker in room had to pay for locker every time you opened it, no communal fridge I had to buy new milk everyday, no communal computer I had to walk to Internet cafe

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Of all the hostels I've been to in my life this one was easily the worst one ever . Showers only have one set temperature which is way too hot and you need to hold a button for water to come out. Drains we're clogged with hair and the water was reaching my ankles. Rooms were filthy with no lockers either. When I asked where I could fill up my water bottle I was told to use the taps in the toilet. Toilets and showers are unisex and very confusing since the signs don't make sense at all. Staff were the worst I've seen. They're too busy counting money behind the counter and when you ask them something they make it clear they really don't want to help.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean and tidy

Disliked: i don't really have any complaints about anything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LUKE LANGLEY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 LUKE would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, organised and its everything it says it is.

Disliked: Other groups of kids (30-40 or so) screaming at 12 in the am. Security might be helpful to let them know to be considerate of others. Bring ear plugs if they are there. :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2014

Liked: All

Disliked: 2 plugs in the dorm to plug phone/whatnot in.... So lots more please!!!!! People sitting on the stairs (H&S)...... Only 2 toilets on first floor .... Need more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Torres

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 July 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Efficient, very clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.

Disliked: Nothing to be honest.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Vasquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and very secure building- the showers were clean and the beds more than adequate

Disliked: Could use more hooks in the shower stalls and better temperature regulation- the water was VERY HOT!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jane Galletti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014

Liked: When we came in the first day the kid with blonde hair was nice, there was surprisingly always hot water

Disliked: It was terribly far from everything, most of the staff was rude, breakfast should be included (not worth paying for) - the sockets in the rooms don't work, lots of kids - everywhere, we are college students and there were kids 10 and under running around at all hours. When we asked to order food they said they had none, and directed us across the street... In a pinch (which is why we stayed here) it was not horrible, but I would not go back nor would I recommend this hostel to anyone.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stacey Needham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Was very clean, the staff were very helpful. Free wifi, not too far from the tube station, good location. definately recomend.

Disliked: You have to pay extra for breakfast, but thats not a major thng.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Gornall

Alone

Business / conference

27 June 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: All of above.

Disliked: Location

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: All

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hours reception is very useful, and I liked the breakfast offer. I booked a mixed dorm room with ensuite bathroom and my room mate were very cool, did not make more as were necessary. watched each other when someone was sleeping We could have a few hours rest . Top of that none of the guys were snoring. . :-)

Disliked: The late comers were very noisy, does not matter what time was it, 4 am in the morning or 10pm at night. Especially the group travellers. Some of your staff who served the breakfast did not speak english at all, very poor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyting was okey

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Melissa von Kohnle

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Location cleanliness

Disliked: some staff you have to pay for actually everything Really bad elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thomas richards

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay I am traveling across the uk and the staff are friendly and very polite.

Disliked: thomas left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 June 2014

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Too Warm

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Li Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2014 Li would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is good

Disliked: Need more bathrooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

David Rennie

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, large very noisy complex. In our twin room all you got was a bed in a room. Nothing to hang clothes on or in, they give you the absolute basics.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No community kitchen

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well suited to my visit

Disliked: N/A

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

matthew marquez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The two person room with shower and toilet were very clean and spacious for being a hostel. And for the price ,in London, was a really affordable deal without giving up your own personal standards for security.

Disliked: Location. It's pretty far from the main areas we wanted to go: Camden, Soho, Carnaby st, pretty much the shopping areas. Also, it's far enough from Elephant and Castle train station to get lost and go down some shady streets. But it takes a day and it's pretty easy to navigate the underground to go wherever you need to go.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and services

Disliked: Thin walls and the grizly sounds of shower heads

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jakob Emanuel Burkhardt

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2014 Jakob Emanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: I think the common rooms could be designed a bit more nicely,


See all London hostels
See all London hotels