We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Restup London

Hostel | 172 New kent Road, London, England Se1 4yt

76.2% Overall Rating

369 out of 454 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

Benjamin Ord thinks…

"From the moment you step through the front door, you immediately feel welcome and are pleasantly surprised. Walking from Elephant & Castle at first was a little bit nerve-wracking, particularly…"

Read all Restup London reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.18
  • Towel USD 3.10

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings for 10 or more guests is a group booking, please contact the hostel directly for group above 10 people. Any bookings made through Hostelbookers will not be honoured and the deposit is non refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
17.03 USD

Hostel 69.7% 1457 reviews
Safestay
27.86 USD

Hostel 92.6% 243 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
21.52 USD

Hostel 86.5% 239 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
19.97 USD

Hostel 86.4% 1025 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
21.52 USD

Hostel 82.5% 274 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
61.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
61.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
27.86 USD

Hostel 82.7% 329 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

369 out of 454 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Restup London'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 261 of 448 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Ord

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment you step through the front door, you immediately feel welcome and are pleasantly surprised. Walking from Elephant & Castle at first was a little bit nerve-wracking, particularly when your friends are starting to question where on Earth you have brought them. But the hospitality, the services, the room; all were fantastic! Yes, it's not a hotel and doesn't have the glamour of a Hilton but if that's what was to be expected then it's clear you have been looking on the wrong site. Everything was as expected or more. Not going to lie but I particularly enjoyed the shower. 'It came in like a waterfall...' Cheap and cheerful. I would stay here again.

Disliked: There really isn't much to complain about with this property. Everything was clear when booked and all was easy going. The towel charges came as a surprise but it wasn't an issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the price for the accommodation offered. It was well worth the money. The building is clean an feels safe

Disliked: I did not like not having wifi in the rooms. Even when I went to the lobby I had a lot of problems with the wifi going off and on and being very slow

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

neslihan sonmez

Alone

City break

14 May 2015

Liked: the building is so fancy and well decorated but not room. It is very small and no air in it. the map showing location in hostel bookers is also wrong.

Disliked: it is not safe because you can only lock your staff into lockers room and each time you want to take your staff you have to pay money. That's why I kept my violet with me but my money is stolen in the next day by some one stayed in my room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gloria Elphinstone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2015 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff friendly and very helpful. Clean bed and room.

Disliked: A lock on toilet door is broken on 0 floor (1 st flight of stairs) and probably not enough frivacy in shower bays. Having said this I managed quite OK.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oltion Berberi

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 April 2015 Oltion would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean. The reception service

Disliked: The bar service, the variety of products served.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

obi Nneji

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 April 2015 obi would recommend this property

Liked: Spare was quite ok

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was an issue with the cleanliness and smell of our bathroom and the staff helped us right away and we were changed rooms. The staff at restup london were great. Really helpful and lots of fun. Especially a receptionist named Sam who helped alot.

Disliked: There were no board games and the continental breakfast was very plain. Maybe add some crossants or pan au chocolate.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice historic building

Disliked: Only six showers per floor are not enough

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Martin Riecke

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: international staff

Disliked: Beds too small for anyone taller than 1,70m and very creaky; rooms very dusty; only three toilet stalls each for males and females per floor (and they were dirty); wifi only in lobby; no free luggage storage

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tahir Murtaza

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2015 Tahir would recommend this property

Liked: Budget friendly

Disliked: No wifi in rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

bash ETTI

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Work / volunteering

02 March 2015

Liked: not to say

Disliked: state needed improvement

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cherise Osolin

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Cherise would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: We were not informed about the late check in time. Our school party was spread all across the hostel not housed together.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt very friendly and very safe. The staff were helpful. It was reasonably priced.

Disliked: The English breakfasts took a long time coming and were cold when they arrived. There were men using the female bathrooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Robert Rajnak

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: friendly receptionists

Disliked: * lack of elevator !!!! * lack of Wi Fi in rooms !!!! * very bad quality foods ( NO salads, veggies, fruits )

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was well located.

Disliked: It was dirty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ALEXANDER WILLIAMS

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 February 2015 ALEXANDER would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good and policies are user friendly

Disliked: shared bathroom are insufficient compared to number of occupiers on the floor

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marcello Muylaert

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 February 2015

Liked: The location is ok you have bus at the door and subway 10 min walking.

Disliked: They don't divide people by age they put me to share room whith old people one of them was a old lady who was drunk and smelling, I felt not safe at all there's not lockers inside the room, doesn't have internet sinal in the rooms and even in a commun area the signal is very weak. For finish one of the staff Should not doing this job just looking angry and not helpfull I had a problem with mu check in and asked if I could do it in some computer but he said it was impossible I explaned it was important and I was having problem with the internet but he said he couldn't do nothing for help when I said about do a review complain about it he just got crazy and agressive he threaten to kick me out for no reason. I don't recommend this place to anyone.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Tannam

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 January 2015 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and easy to get to.

Disliked: Nothing, it was a good place to stay.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the common area was very nice.

Disliked: the rooms could have been cleaner!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The small cafe has simple but very tasty food.

Disliked: There are no kitchen facilities and only one washing machine and dryer. The showers could be better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Janiak

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2015 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city center, walk distance to tube.

Disliked: Small room without any cupboard.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raymond Firmo Narag

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 Raymond Firmo would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. Near the tube station. It had a vendo machine.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hana Podzimkova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2015 Hana would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms and bathrooms, nice reception, dinning room and relax zone

Disliked: no wifi in rooms, only in reception area no safety, only luggage roomis in hall way- 3£ and when you open cabinet you pay again

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Priamo Casula

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

03 January 2015

Liked: Staff were helpful and friendly at reception.

Disliked: The box, because it's far too small to be called a room has absolutely nothing other than two bunk beds. Where are people supposed to hang a jacket? This room was exactly what I would imaging a proson abroad to be like. Very very disappointing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tim Wiles

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Clean rooms and toilets.

Disliked: Lack of self-catering kitchen.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels