We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Restup London

Hostel | 172 New kent Road, London, England Se1 4yt

84.5% Overall Rating

390 out of 475 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2015)

Yee Lin Yapp thinks…

"the toilet is clean and there is a lot toilet and shower available. the breakfast are worth although the choices not much."

Read all Restup London reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.23
  • Towel USD 3.12

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Any bookings for 10 or more guests is a group booking, please contact the hostel directly for group above 10 people. Any bookings made through Hostelbookers will not be honoured and the deposit is non refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
14.05 USD

Hostel 71.1% 1466 reviews
Safestay
26.55 USD

Hostel 89.4% 251 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
23.27 USD

Hostel 85.8% 241 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
23.27 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1028 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
18.58 USD

Hostel 82.2% 275 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
58.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
61.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
YHA London St Paul's
31.23 USD

Hostel 82.7% 329 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

390 out of 475 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Restup London'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 275 of 469 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yee Lin Yapp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2015 Yee Lin would recommend this property

Liked: the toilet is clean and there is a lot toilet and shower available. the breakfast are worth although the choices not much.

Disliked: Yee Lin left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

01 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I dont know. It was ok.

Disliked: I/ You didnt find at first the bathroom. Or something else...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to stay if you want to save money.

Disliked: It was a little far from train station.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff: very polite, nice, never too busy to help you. I liked the fact that I got a free map of the city and the discounts it had for some London attractions. I liked the food they cooked at the hostel.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that there are no chairs in the rooms. For someone who has to sleep in the upper bed it is very uncomfortable when having to dress, put on one's shoes etc. I didn't like the fact that there is no soap in the showers. Fortunetley I had my own. I didn't like the fact the there was a single switch for two beds with no adaptor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most areas are spacious. Staff always look for solutions proactively

Disliked: one room that I stayed in adjacent to the laundry room is too small for the beds and the beds are shaky because they are designed to have a 3rd bed on top. A bit dangerous.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location ,people in reception nice. clean and bright.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, quite clean, nice staff

Disliked: No wifi in rooms or outside, only directly in the social area inside. No possibility to lock stuff in room (like cage or similar) - the only way to lock something is to pay for a locker which you can use max 24h amd have to pay each time you open it. Only one hanger in shower, no one next to sink - no possibility to put stuff while washing. Thin walls - very loud. Of there is one window on a room for many people then it is very small, old, has thin glass and you cannot really air rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Small bathrooms No wi-fi in the room Smaller bedrooms more expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: It's ok

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is good, the atmosphere is fantastic but the best of all is the staff. All the people working here are really nice, friendly, kind and helpful. I'm a teacher and I was travelling with a group of students and the people at the reception helped us solve all of them... and they were many!

Disliked: Maybe that the room wasn't cleaned during our stay here, they just changed the bag in the bin.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: That because I was late checking in I almost didn't have a place to stay due to situations beyond my control.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wai Lok Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2015 Wai Lok would recommend this property

Liked: Good Staff.

Disliked: Too close to A201 that traffic noise and lighting are problems at mid-night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Angelika Kyek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2015 Angelika would recommend this property

Liked: The price for a 4 bed room just for woman in London was great.

Disliked: Its really loud cause of the street. The windows are pretty old and dirty. Not enought toilets and showers. Check in till 3 am is soooooo annoying - couldnt really sleep. In room 7B was no switch to turn of the light in the bathroom. The enviroment wasnt really save for me as single traveling woman at night - besides I decided to walk trought London instead of using Tube bus etc - its way too far. From Hostel to London Bridge youre walking about 30-40 minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheilla Gomes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2015 Sheilla would recommend this property

Liked: Top: the shower. Toilets always cleaned.

Disliked: Found some aunts in our room. Some rooms are located near the main road and you can suffer with the car's noise.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Ord

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment you step through the front door, you immediately feel welcome and are pleasantly surprised. Walking from Elephant & Castle at first was a little bit nerve-wracking, particularly when your friends are starting to question where on Earth you have brought them. But the hospitality, the services, the room; all were fantastic! Yes, it's not a hotel and doesn't have the glamour of a Hilton but if that's what was to be expected then it's clear you have been looking on the wrong site. Everything was as expected or more. Not going to lie but I particularly enjoyed the shower. 'It came in like a waterfall...' Cheap and cheerful. I would stay here again.

Disliked: There really isn't much to complain about with this property. Everything was clear when booked and all was easy going. The towel charges came as a surprise but it wasn't an issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the price for the accommodation offered. It was well worth the money. The building is clean an feels safe

Disliked: I did not like not having wifi in the rooms. Even when I went to the lobby I had a lot of problems with the wifi going off and on and being very slow

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

neslihan sonmez

Alone

City break

14 May 2015

Liked: the building is so fancy and well decorated but not room. It is very small and no air in it. the map showing location in hostel bookers is also wrong.

Disliked: it is not safe because you can only lock your staff into lockers room and each time you want to take your staff you have to pay money. That's why I kept my violet with me but my money is stolen in the next day by some one stayed in my room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gloria Elphinstone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2015 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff friendly and very helpful. Clean bed and room.

Disliked: A lock on toilet door is broken on 0 floor (1 st flight of stairs) and probably not enough frivacy in shower bays. Having said this I managed quite OK.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oltion Berberi

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 April 2015 Oltion would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean. The reception service

Disliked: The bar service, the variety of products served.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

obi Nneji

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 April 2015 obi would recommend this property

Liked: Spare was quite ok

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was an issue with the cleanliness and smell of our bathroom and the staff helped us right away and we were changed rooms. The staff at restup london were great. Really helpful and lots of fun. Especially a receptionist named Sam who helped alot.

Disliked: There were no board games and the continental breakfast was very plain. Maybe add some crossants or pan au chocolate.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice historic building

Disliked: Only six showers per floor are not enough

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Martin Riecke

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: international staff

Disliked: Beds too small for anyone taller than 1,70m and very creaky; rooms very dusty; only three toilet stalls each for males and females per floor (and they were dirty); wifi only in lobby; no free luggage storage

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tahir Murtaza

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2015 Tahir would recommend this property

Liked: Budget friendly

Disliked: No wifi in rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

bash ETTI

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Work / volunteering

02 March 2015

Liked: not to say

Disliked: state needed improvement


See all London hostels
See all London hotels