We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Safestay

Hostel | 144-152 Walworth Road, Elephant & Castle, London, England SE17 1JL

88.9% Overall Rating

216 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Bronwyn Morgan thinks…

"The cleanest hostel in London I have stayed at. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. I stayed in and 8 bed dorm the rooms are awesome, nice and spacious and the beds are comfortable with new…"

Read all Safestay reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

GENERAL 1. A group is any party consisting of 10 people or more. 2. A £250.00 security deposit is required at check-in for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel. This deposit will be returned on the day of your departure if no damage is detected. You can leave the deposit by cash or debit/credit card. Cards will be pre-authorized on check in for the full amount. If your deposit is being secured for with a third party credit card we will require written authorisation to be provided by the card-holder. 3. Payment for Group Bookings is pre-paid. All payment must be sorted prior to arrival or you may be hindered from checking-in to the property. 4. The remaining balance must be paid at least 4 weeks before your arrival date. This is to include all extras and fees. 5. All fees incurred by the payee due to the method of payment, (i.e. bank transfer fees issued by the sending or receiving bank), are to be paid by the group. Safestay Ltd is not responsible for these fees. 6. If any payment under these terms and conditions is overdue, then without prejudice to our other rights and remedies we may cancel your booking; and/or we may suspend the supply and/or deliveries of any other services provided to you by us. We will however inform you in writing prior to any such action. - In the case of a late departure (after 10am), Safestay reserves the right to charge for a further nights stay at the appropriate rack rate of the bed(s). - We reserve the right to charge the guest for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel, by their actions, including accidental or incidental damages. Damages will be required to be paid prior to departure. Should this damage come to light after the guest has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the guest’s credit / debit card. We will however make every effort to rectify any damage internally prior to contracting specialists to make the repairs, and therefore will make every effort to keep any costs that the guest would incur to a minimum. - We reserve the right to charge the guest the cost of replacing any items that are removed from the premises by them without consent. The charge will be the full replacement amount of the missing item, including any carriage charges. Should the fact that the item is missing come to light after the group has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the group’s credit / debit card, or send an invoice for the amount to the registered address.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Restup London
19.64 USD

Hostel 77.1% 408 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.23 USD

Hostel 75.2% 1434 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
16.07 USD

Hostel 82.7% 234 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
16.07 USD

Hostel 83.7% 1007 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
17.69 USD

Hostel 82.4% 262 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
14.44 USD

Hostel 78.9% 373 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

216 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Safestay'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 127 of 222 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no comment

Disliked: no comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bronwyn Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2014 Bronwyn would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanest hostel in London I have stayed at. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. I stayed in and 8 bed dorm the rooms are awesome, nice and spacious and the beds are comfortable with new nice pillows and doonas. your bed alos has curtains so you have privacy when you sleep or if someone has their light on it won't keep you awake. I love the whole atmosphere. They have a breakfast which is basic but good and the downtstairs bar area is so cool. Bus stops right out the front aswell!

Disliked: Bronwyn left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, not far from main sites and good value for money

Disliked: charging for towels

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean Paul Hleihel

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014 Jean Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and up to date. Very practical for travelers. Privacy curtains for the beds as to not be bothered by other guests. Many bathroom and shower options everywhere in case the one in your room is occupied.

Disliked: No wifi in rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christian Ramirez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Secure, nice facilities

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Thomas Leydon

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

07 July 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff on desk on arrival were very friendly and happy to help. Rooms were spotless and comfortable Hostel is in a great location

Disliked: The security guard was very rude when we were getting in at night , accused us of being too loud when we were quietly talking as we got ready for bed. When asked to produce the code of conduct to review what rules we had broken he called the police , after all of this drama we spoke with the police and they were very understanding of our frustration. unfortunately this really ruined our stay at safestay due to one persons attitude. however I cant complement the other staff enough for the kindness and support throughout our stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Barth

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: looks modern, seems to be well maintained, minor repairs done immediately, large breakfast room, cleanest hostel in GB I have ever been to, friendly staff + very helpful OVERALL: two thumbs up!

Disliked: windows could not be opened enough to let fresh air in; nightly temperatures in the room 27 degrees

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, and they delivered what they promised.

Disliked: The breakfast. There were not much to chose from.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I likes its decor, purple linen and well cubicled beds, easy acsess to spacious showers

Disliked: Initially i got lost trying to find my room walked round and round in circles and reception staff were busy and unsympathetic, i then encountered a deaf cleaner who took me to the room and was incredibly kind despite her language disability.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean with private bathroom

Disliked: Location is slightly inconvenient

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CARLOS CASTRO

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 CARLOS would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente! Definitivamente volvería. Los cuartos muy limpios los baños también... un ambiente muy agradable

Disliked: Lo único que no me gustó es que no hay señal de internet en laa habitaciones.... solo en el bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Russell Coughtrey

Alone

City break

22 April 2014 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean - hotel like accomodation. Attractive breakfast and close to amenties and bus routes to sites, west end etc.

Disliked: Lacks a little intimacy as the building is so big but a minor point.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice decoration, modern, airy, light. More a hotel than a hostel. Superb.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ignacio Deniro

Alone

City break

18 March 2014 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: The atmósfera , nice place, tidy rooms, quiet, nice neigborhood.. Service is excelente and recepcionists are polite and helpfull.. Im always back :)

Disliked: Ignacio left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stine Dalager Nielsen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014 Stine would recommend this property

Liked: The place was nice, clean and well located. Especially the curtains on the bunk beds was a plus when staying in a dorm.

Disliked: The overload of teenagersin the hostel only in London to get drunk. They threw litter and foodwrapping on the shared toilets and completely overtook the bar/lounge area (the only place with wifi) in the evenings. It would have been nice had the hostel offered an opportunity to go online without having to sit in the back pack mayhem.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jenna Keevers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern. Like a hotel with dorm rooms

Disliked: Not a good place to meet people. Too expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nataleo Prasetio

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2013 Nataleo would recommend this property

Liked: The posh feeling of the hostel. Feels like a mini hotel

Disliked: not really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfy beds, nice lounge area, good value for money. Luggage room was a nice to have. Place seems well-run.

Disliked: do not expect any British politeness or help from (female) recepionists.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern, cheap and close to the tube. Beds were already made, unlike most hostels, and had curtains all around for privacy.

Disliked: The luggage room was tiny and wasn't locked, we did get our luggage back though. ;) Breakfast could be longer.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Larisa Tarasova

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Larisa would recommend this property

Liked: new and designed, location pretty good

Disliked: extra pay for towels, full of teens, bar close early, no kithen, check out too early. whorstest thing-only 1 shower for 3 rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious rooms. Good bar area and laundry facilities. Everything seems pretty new.

Disliked: Not a great location, no wifi in the rooms, charge for internet on computers, staff aren´t all that friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere

Disliked: anything particular

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The privacy even in the dorms.

Disliked: The bar/lounge was not 24 hours

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accessibility, facilities, friendliness, cleanliness and value for money.

Disliked: Traffic noise, lacking mop to clear shower floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels