HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Safestay

Hostel | 144-152 Walworth Road, Elephant & Castle, London, England SE17 1JL

87.3% Overall Rating

199 out of 207 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Russell Coughtrey thinks…

"Very clean - hotel like accomodation. Attractive breakfast and close to amenties and bus routes to sites, west end etc."

Read all Safestay reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

GENERAL 1. A group is any party consisting of 10 people or more. 2. A £250.00 security deposit is required at check-in for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel. This deposit will be returned on the day of your departure if no damage is detected. You can leave the deposit by cash or debit/credit card. Cards will be pre-authorized on check in for the full amount. If your deposit is being secured for with a third party credit card we will require written authorisation to be provided by the card-holder. 3. Payment for Group Bookings is pre-paid. All payment must be sorted prior to arrival or you may be hindered from checking-in to the property. 4. The remaining balance must be paid at least 4 weeks before your arrival date. This is to include all extras and fees. 5. All fees incurred by the payee due to the method of payment, (i.e. bank transfer fees issued by the sending or receiving bank), are to be paid by the group. Safestay Ltd is not responsible for these fees. 6. If any payment under these terms and conditions is overdue, then without prejudice to our other rights and remedies we may cancel your booking; and/or we may suspend the supply and/or deliveries of any other services provided to you by us. We will however inform you in writing prior to any such action. - In the case of a late departure (after 10am), Safestay reserves the right to charge for a further nights stay at the appropriate rack rate of the bed(s). - We reserve the right to charge the guest for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel, by their actions, including accidental or incidental damages. Damages will be required to be paid prior to departure. Should this damage come to light after the guest has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the guest’s credit / debit card. We will however make every effort to rectify any damage internally prior to contracting specialists to make the repairs, and therefore will make every effort to keep any costs that the guest would incur to a minimum. - We reserve the right to charge the guest the cost of replacing any items that are removed from the premises by them without consent. The charge will be the full replacement amount of the missing item, including any carriage charges. Should the fact that the item is missing come to light after the group has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the group’s credit / debit card, or send an invoice for the amount to the registered address.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Journeys London Bridge Hostel
16.77 USD

Hostel 64.8% 529 reviews
Restup London
18.84 USD

Hostel 78.9% 323 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
74.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.77 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1399 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
19.98 USD

Hostel 86.5% 228 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
18.30 USD

Hostel 81.1% 965 reviews
London Bridge Apartment
133.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
25.02 USD

Hostel 82.7% 258 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

199 out of 207 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Safestay'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 116 of 206 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Russell Coughtrey

Alone

City break

22 April 2014 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean - hotel like accomodation. Attractive breakfast and close to amenties and bus routes to sites, west end etc.

Disliked: Lacks a little intimacy as the building is so big but a minor point.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice decoration, modern, airy, light. More a hotel than a hostel. Superb.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ignacio Deniro

Alone

City break

18 March 2014 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: The atmósfera , nice place, tidy rooms, quiet, nice neigborhood.. Service is excelente and recepcionists are polite and helpfull.. Im always back :)

Disliked: Ignacio left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stine Dalager Nielsen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014 Stine would recommend this property

Liked: The place was nice, clean and well located. Especially the curtains on the bunk beds was a plus when staying in a dorm.

Disliked: The overload of teenagersin the hostel only in London to get drunk. They threw litter and foodwrapping on the shared toilets and completely overtook the bar/lounge area (the only place with wifi) in the evenings. It would have been nice had the hostel offered an opportunity to go online without having to sit in the back pack mayhem.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jenna Keevers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern. Like a hotel with dorm rooms

Disliked: Not a good place to meet people. Too expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nataleo Prasetio

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2013 Nataleo would recommend this property

Liked: The posh feeling of the hostel. Feels like a mini hotel

Disliked: not really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfy beds, nice lounge area, good value for money. Luggage room was a nice to have. Place seems well-run.

Disliked: do not expect any British politeness or help from (female) recepionists.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern, cheap and close to the tube. Beds were already made, unlike most hostels, and had curtains all around for privacy.

Disliked: The luggage room was tiny and wasn't locked, we did get our luggage back though. ;) Breakfast could be longer.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Larisa Tarasova

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Larisa would recommend this property

Liked: new and designed, location pretty good

Disliked: extra pay for towels, full of teens, bar close early, no kithen, check out too early. whorstest thing-only 1 shower for 3 rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious rooms. Good bar area and laundry facilities. Everything seems pretty new.

Disliked: Not a great location, no wifi in the rooms, charge for internet on computers, staff aren´t all that friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere

Disliked: anything particular

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The privacy even in the dorms.

Disliked: The bar/lounge was not 24 hours

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accessibility, facilities, friendliness, cleanliness and value for money.

Disliked: Traffic noise, lacking mop to clear shower floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfortable, friendly staff and loved the huge lockers we get!

Disliked: Not always super clean, had to have a cold shower one morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Generally clean, lots of space, nice showers, comfortable beds etc

Disliked: Private bathroom in dorm was not thoroughly cleaned daily, they just emptied the bins. Not enough toilet roll and no hand soap in toilet in room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Neighborhood

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: newly renovated hostel with stylish interior design (IKEA style) - no complains in respect to this, bus stop right in front of the hostel, nice staff, free breakfast, for London: good value for price

Disliked: only budget breakfast without much at offer (limited to cereals, croissants, yogurt and jam), no wifi in the rooms only in lounge area, area surrounding the hostel is of "rising nature" i.e. still a little shabby but nevertheless close to the city center and well connected to public transportation

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Walter Danh Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2013 Walter Danh would recommend this property

Liked: Very well run facility, the cleanliness was surprising, but my friend and I felt better about it, the rooms are pretty spacious, good size for put personal items

Disliked: Walter Danh left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aniza Ishak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping

17 July 2013 Aniza would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very chic (it was our first experience in a 'backpacker's hostel', it definitely changed our views), they played around with the design and ambiance well with the deep purple theme. The bar, the garden, the lounge was gorgeous. The lady at the reception wasn't as rude as we expected. As for the rooms, we booked the 6 bed room which overlooks some nice buildings. The shower room and toilet was separate, and were both very clean. The breakfast was just average (croissants, toast, frosties and cornflakes). There is Mcdonalds 3 mins walk from the hostel.

Disliked: No room service (didn't know whether this was a norm in the backpacking community), they only threw out what was in our individual trash bins. No WiFi in rooms. The windows would not open wider than the height of a small bottled water - need air circulation esp, in summer. The foreign bartender lady was rude Location - the tube station is NOT 2 mins away. Use the bus instead it's directly in front.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Scholes

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Clean with a nice decor.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, curtains around bed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

tom wood

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 June 2013 tom would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodation was clean and safe.

Disliked: The two boys on reception in the early hours of sun morning were very rude and unhelpful. Firstly they told me the room wasnt booked and then blamed me because I wasn't clear to them at the desk. Then I had to argue for 20 pound change for payment of the room. His reply was hang on just wait ' my maths isn't very good' How on earth did he get the job!? The other guy sat on reception sat the whole time with his earphones in - the other guy had to shake him to respond and help him.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ali Shreif

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 June 2013 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: For the price range, this was probably the best place UV stayed at. It was perfect for my needs, and I have no complaints.

Disliked: This is not really a dislike, but I would like to note that the breakfast on offer (continental) was not that good. The adjacent restaurant had a cheaper all-you-can-eat English breakfast. But to be fair, the breakfast was exactly as advertised, and I chose to have it... so I can't fault Safestay for that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the free wifi in the bar/lounge area.

Disliked: While safestay had places to store your possesstions in the room you shared with others, they didn't provide a lock or any way to really secure your stuff.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels