HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Safestay

Hostel | 144-152 Walworth Road, Elephant & Castle, London, England SE17 1JL

86.2% Overall Rating

207 out of 215 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/07/2014)

Thomas Leydon thinks…

"Staff on desk on arrival were very friendly and happy to help. Rooms were spotless and comfortable Hostel is in a great location"

Read all Safestay reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.42

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

GENERAL 1. A group is any party consisting of 10 people or more. 2. A £250.00 security deposit is required at check-in for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel. This deposit will be returned on the day of your departure if no damage is detected. You can leave the deposit by cash or debit/credit card. Cards will be pre-authorized on check in for the full amount. If your deposit is being secured for with a third party credit card we will require written authorisation to be provided by the card-holder. 3. Payment for Group Bookings is pre-paid. All payment must be sorted prior to arrival or you may be hindered from checking-in to the property. 4. The remaining balance must be paid at least 4 weeks before your arrival date. This is to include all extras and fees. 5. All fees incurred by the payee due to the method of payment, (i.e. bank transfer fees issued by the sending or receiving bank), are to be paid by the group. Safestay Ltd is not responsible for these fees. 6. If any payment under these terms and conditions is overdue, then without prejudice to our other rights and remedies we may cancel your booking; and/or we may suspend the supply and/or deliveries of any other services provided to you by us. We will however inform you in writing prior to any such action. - In the case of a late departure (after 10am), Safestay reserves the right to charge for a further nights stay at the appropriate rack rate of the bed(s). - We reserve the right to charge the guest for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel, by their actions, including accidental or incidental damages. Damages will be required to be paid prior to departure. Should this damage come to light after the guest has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the guest’s credit / debit card. We will however make every effort to rectify any damage internally prior to contracting specialists to make the repairs, and therefore will make every effort to keep any costs that the guest would incur to a minimum. - We reserve the right to charge the guest the cost of replacing any items that are removed from the premises by them without consent. The charge will be the full replacement amount of the missing item, including any carriage charges. Should the fact that the item is missing come to light after the group has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the group’s credit / debit card, or send an invoice for the amount to the registered address.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Restup London
20.67 USD

Hostel 77.9% 370 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
67.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
17.08 USD

Hostel 77.8% 1422 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
37.40 USD

Hostel 84.7% 230 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
28.69 USD

Hostel 80.0% 992 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
27.16 USD

Hostel 83.0% 259 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
67.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
32.43 USD

Hostel 81.8% 365 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.2%

Overall Rating

207 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Safestay'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 214 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Thomas Leydon

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

07 July 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff on desk on arrival were very friendly and happy to help. Rooms were spotless and comfortable Hostel is in a great location

Disliked: The security guard was very rude when we were getting in at night , accused us of being too loud when we were quietly talking as we got ready for bed. When asked to produce the code of conduct to review what rules we had broken he called the police , after all of this drama we spoke with the police and they were very understanding of our frustration. unfortunately this really ruined our stay at safestay due to one persons attitude. however I cant complement the other staff enough for the kindness and support throughout our stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Barth

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: looks modern, seems to be well maintained, minor repairs done immediately, large breakfast room, cleanest hostel in GB I have ever been to, friendly staff + very helpful OVERALL: two thumbs up!

Disliked: windows could not be opened enough to let fresh air in; nightly temperatures in the room 27 degrees

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, and they delivered what they promised.

Disliked: The breakfast. There were not much to chose from.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I likes its decor, purple linen and well cubicled beds, easy acsess to spacious showers

Disliked: Initially i got lost trying to find my room walked round and round in circles and reception staff were busy and unsympathetic, i then encountered a deaf cleaner who took me to the room and was incredibly kind despite her language disability.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean with private bathroom

Disliked: Location is slightly inconvenient

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CARLOS CASTRO

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 CARLOS would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente! Definitivamente volvería. Los cuartos muy limpios los baños también... un ambiente muy agradable

Disliked: Lo único que no me gustó es que no hay señal de internet en laa habitaciones.... solo en el bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Russell Coughtrey

Alone

City break

22 April 2014 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean - hotel like accomodation. Attractive breakfast and close to amenties and bus routes to sites, west end etc.

Disliked: Lacks a little intimacy as the building is so big but a minor point.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice decoration, modern, airy, light. More a hotel than a hostel. Superb.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ignacio Deniro

Alone

City break

18 March 2014 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: The atmósfera , nice place, tidy rooms, quiet, nice neigborhood.. Service is excelente and recepcionists are polite and helpfull.. Im always back :)

Disliked: Ignacio left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stine Dalager Nielsen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014 Stine would recommend this property

Liked: The place was nice, clean and well located. Especially the curtains on the bunk beds was a plus when staying in a dorm.

Disliked: The overload of teenagersin the hostel only in London to get drunk. They threw litter and foodwrapping on the shared toilets and completely overtook the bar/lounge area (the only place with wifi) in the evenings. It would have been nice had the hostel offered an opportunity to go online without having to sit in the back pack mayhem.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jenna Keevers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern. Like a hotel with dorm rooms

Disliked: Not a good place to meet people. Too expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nataleo Prasetio

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2013 Nataleo would recommend this property

Liked: The posh feeling of the hostel. Feels like a mini hotel

Disliked: not really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfy beds, nice lounge area, good value for money. Luggage room was a nice to have. Place seems well-run.

Disliked: do not expect any British politeness or help from (female) recepionists.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern, cheap and close to the tube. Beds were already made, unlike most hostels, and had curtains all around for privacy.

Disliked: The luggage room was tiny and wasn't locked, we did get our luggage back though. ;) Breakfast could be longer.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Larisa Tarasova

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Larisa would recommend this property

Liked: new and designed, location pretty good

Disliked: extra pay for towels, full of teens, bar close early, no kithen, check out too early. whorstest thing-only 1 shower for 3 rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious rooms. Good bar area and laundry facilities. Everything seems pretty new.

Disliked: Not a great location, no wifi in the rooms, charge for internet on computers, staff aren´t all that friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere

Disliked: anything particular

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The privacy even in the dorms.

Disliked: The bar/lounge was not 24 hours

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accessibility, facilities, friendliness, cleanliness and value for money.

Disliked: Traffic noise, lacking mop to clear shower floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfortable, friendly staff and loved the huge lockers we get!

Disliked: Not always super clean, had to have a cold shower one morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Generally clean, lots of space, nice showers, comfortable beds etc

Disliked: Private bathroom in dorm was not thoroughly cleaned daily, they just emptied the bins. Not enough toilet roll and no hand soap in toilet in room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Neighborhood

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: newly renovated hostel with stylish interior design (IKEA style) - no complains in respect to this, bus stop right in front of the hostel, nice staff, free breakfast, for London: good value for price

Disliked: only budget breakfast without much at offer (limited to cereals, croissants, yogurt and jam), no wifi in the rooms only in lounge area, area surrounding the hostel is of "rising nature" i.e. still a little shabby but nevertheless close to the city center and well connected to public transportation

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Walter Danh Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2013 Walter Danh would recommend this property

Liked: Very well run facility, the cleanliness was surprising, but my friend and I felt better about it, the rooms are pretty spacious, good size for put personal items

Disliked: Walter Danh left no negative feedback.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels