We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Safestay

Hostel | 144-152 Walworth Road, Elephant & Castle, London, England SE17 1JL

89.4% Overall Rating

242 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/04/2015)

Chris Walton thinks…

"Good location, only a few minutes walk from Elephant and Castle underground station and bus stops outside which go to most of the city. Hostel is really nice inside, very clean and trendy looking.…"

Read all Safestay reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.22
  • Towel USD 3.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

GENERAL 1. A group is any party consisting of 10 people or more. 2. A £250.00 security deposit is required at check-in for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel. This deposit will be returned on the day of your departure if no damage is detected. You can leave the deposit by cash or debit/credit card. Cards will be pre-authorized on check in for the full amount. If your deposit is being secured for with a third party credit card we will require written authorisation to be provided by the card-holder. 3. Payment for Group Bookings is pre-paid. All payment must be sorted prior to arrival or you may be hindered from checking-in to the property. 4. The remaining balance must be paid at least 4 weeks before your arrival date. This is to include all extras and fees. 5. All fees incurred by the payee due to the method of payment, (i.e. bank transfer fees issued by the sending or receiving bank), are to be paid by the group. Safestay Ltd is not responsible for these fees. 6. If any payment under these terms and conditions is overdue, then without prejudice to our other rights and remedies we may cancel your booking; and/or we may suspend the supply and/or deliveries of any other services provided to you by us. We will however inform you in writing prior to any such action. - In the case of a late departure (after 10am), Safestay reserves the right to charge for a further nights stay at the appropriate rack rate of the bed(s). - We reserve the right to charge the guest for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel, by their actions, including accidental or incidental damages. Damages will be required to be paid prior to departure. Should this damage come to light after the guest has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the guest’s credit / debit card. We will however make every effort to rectify any damage internally prior to contracting specialists to make the repairs, and therefore will make every effort to keep any costs that the guest would incur to a minimum. - We reserve the right to charge the guest the cost of replacing any items that are removed from the premises by them without consent. The charge will be the full replacement amount of the missing item, including any carriage charges. Should the fact that the item is missing come to light after the group has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the group’s credit / debit card, or send an invoice for the amount to the registered address. Bookings cannot be accepted from any person under the age of 18yrs, unless they are accompanied by an adult (over 18) who is staying in the same dorm/room. Families with children aged 16yrs and under are welcome, however they must book and pay for all beds in order to make the room private (i.e. in the case of 4 bedded dorms or larger). Alternatively we have 2 Bedded and 3 Bedded Private rooms available, subject to availability.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Restup London
18.67 USD

Hostel 84.6% 471 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
69.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
15.56 USD

Hostel 71.5% 1465 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
30.96 USD

Hostel 85.8% 241 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
27.85 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1028 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
30.96 USD

Hostel 82.5% 274 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
69.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.9% 52 reviews
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
23.32 USD

Hostel 77.8% 383 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

242 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Safestay'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 249 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilya Fatin

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

25 June 2015 Ilya would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Comfort.

Disliked: No WiFi in rooms. Problem with the shower - water don't leave it normally and stay in pan.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location. Nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: Some improvements on cleanliness needed (bathroom was a bit dirty, sheets had slight odour).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabela Kudlek

Alone

City break

17 June 2015 Izabela would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very comfortable bed, clean hostel, nice common area

Disliked: Izabela left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vanamoorthy Lingam Somasundaram

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

17 June 2015 Vanamoorthy Lingam would recommend this property

Liked: Was neat and Tidy, Secure as well.

Disliked: No wifi connection in rooms have to come near reception to get wifi.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Antti Tuominen

Alone

City break

06 June 2015 Antti would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the rooms.

Disliked: No quest kitchen. The breakfast is bad.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Johannes Wilholt

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: safe, Area where its located

Disliked: Not that clean, room Wasnt ready Ehen WE arrived

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, and clean.

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Walton

Alone

Business / conference
City break

26 April 2015 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, only a few minutes walk from Elephant and Castle underground station and bus stops outside which go to most of the city. Hostel is really nice inside, very clean and trendy looking. Lots of space to chill out comfortably. Rooms were clean and quiet. Bathrooms were really clean and lots of space. Was given a voucher for a free drink when I arrived too!

Disliked: The cages under the beds for putting your gear in. Two baskets under each bottom bed but the way my room was laid out, couldn't get to one of them. Also, they have lift up lids - careful with them as I didn't lift mine up properly and it fell on my head! Ow!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and friendly staff. The bed got curtains, so if the light is on it didn't disturb you during your sleep. It is a very good location, 5 minutes walk from the underground station. There are many restaurants/snack bar's around the hostel.

Disliked: The breakfast is very early and there is only croissant and cereals. We except like a English breakfast. There is only wifi at the bar.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, large rooms and beds with curtains. Probably the best hostel I have stayed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is extremely nice for a hostel and is more of a mix of hostel/hotel. The only difference between this and a 4 star hotel are the 8 person rooms. The staff was helpful and friendly and they have a complementary breakfast and bar/lounge area downstairs. In the 8 person rooms, each bed has a curtain for privacy. It was very close to the metro, which can take you anywhere in London.

Disliked: The beds were a little squeaky, the breakfast ends at 9am and check out time is 10am -- if you like to sleep in a little you might want to stay longer than one night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great value for money, continental breakfast included in the price

Disliked: Elephant and Castle is not the nicest part of London, but it's close to the tube so has easy access to the tourist attractions

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael breheny

Alone

City break

14 February 2015 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Everything I needed for an overnight stay ;helpful and easy check in ,spotlessly clean room ,comfortable bed which actually had curtains I could pull round ,nice continental breakfast and great all round facilities .loved it here .

Disliked: Only a small dislike as the beds are noisy if you have a restless upper bunk .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaia Colleoni

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 February 2015 Gaia would recommend this property

Liked: new hostel, clean and modern

Disliked: breakfast is a bit poor and wifi works on -1 floor only, not on the ground and not in rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really nice especially staff's kindness.

Disliked: There was nothing special that I disliked during that time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael De Almeida

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 January 2015 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: That's for sure an amazing hostel!

Disliked: Rafael left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar is awesome

Disliked: The bar stops at 23:30 and closes at midnight

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally will

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2015 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: clean, secure, quiet , private , good looking inside and out - suited our family group just fine.

Disliked: Would have liked to have been able to buy tea / coffee/ snacks in the evening at the bar. Would have liked to have seen more made of the history of the building, which is not insignificant and was one of the features which made your hostel stand out from others.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, nice atmosphere, comfortable and safe.

Disliked: Shower rooms flooded. Toilets and washbasins left unclean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no comment

Disliked: no comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bronwyn Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2014 Bronwyn would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanest hostel in London I have stayed at. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. I stayed in and 8 bed dorm the rooms are awesome, nice and spacious and the beds are comfortable with new nice pillows and doonas. your bed alos has curtains so you have privacy when you sleep or if someone has their light on it won't keep you awake. I love the whole atmosphere. They have a breakfast which is basic but good and the downtstairs bar area is so cool. Bus stops right out the front aswell!

Disliked: Bronwyn left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, not far from main sites and good value for money

Disliked: charging for towels

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean Paul Hleihel

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014 Jean Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and up to date. Very practical for travelers. Privacy curtains for the beds as to not be bothered by other guests. Many bathroom and shower options everywhere in case the one in your room is occupied.

Disliked: No wifi in rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christian Ramirez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Secure, nice facilities

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Thomas Leydon

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

07 July 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff on desk on arrival were very friendly and happy to help. Rooms were spotless and comfortable Hostel is in a great location

Disliked: The security guard was very rude when we were getting in at night , accused us of being too loud when we were quietly talking as we got ready for bed. When asked to produce the code of conduct to review what rules we had broken he called the police , after all of this drama we spoke with the police and they were very understanding of our frustration. unfortunately this really ruined our stay at safestay due to one persons attitude. however I cant complement the other staff enough for the kindness and support throughout our stay.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels