HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Safestay

Hostel | 144-152 Walworth Road, Elephant & Castle, London, England SE17 1JL

87.3% Overall Rating

197 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"Very clean and nice decoration, modern, airy, light. More a hotel than a hostel. Superb."

Read all Safestay reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

GENERAL 1. A group is any party consisting of 10 people or more. 2. A £250.00 security deposit is required at check-in for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel. This deposit will be returned on the day of your departure if no damage is detected. You can leave the deposit by cash or debit/credit card. Cards will be pre-authorized on check in for the full amount. If your deposit is being secured for with a third party credit card we will require written authorisation to be provided by the card-holder. 3. Payment for Group Bookings is pre-paid. All payment must be sorted prior to arrival or you may be hindered from checking-in to the property. 4. The remaining balance must be paid at least 4 weeks before your arrival date. This is to include all extras and fees. 5. All fees incurred by the payee due to the method of payment, (i.e. bank transfer fees issued by the sending or receiving bank), are to be paid by the group. Safestay Ltd is not responsible for these fees. 6. If any payment under these terms and conditions is overdue, then without prejudice to our other rights and remedies we may cancel your booking; and/or we may suspend the supply and/or deliveries of any other services provided to you by us. We will however inform you in writing prior to any such action. - In the case of a late departure (after 10am), Safestay reserves the right to charge for a further nights stay at the appropriate rack rate of the bed(s). - We reserve the right to charge the guest for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel, by their actions, including accidental or incidental damages. Damages will be required to be paid prior to departure. Should this damage come to light after the guest has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the guest’s credit / debit card. We will however make every effort to rectify any damage internally prior to contracting specialists to make the repairs, and therefore will make every effort to keep any costs that the guest would incur to a minimum. - We reserve the right to charge the guest the cost of replacing any items that are removed from the premises by them without consent. The charge will be the full replacement amount of the missing item, including any carriage charges. Should the fact that the item is missing come to light after the group has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the group’s credit / debit card, or send an invoice for the amount to the registered address.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Journeys London Bridge Hostel
28.51 USD

Hostel 64.1% 528 reviews
Restup London
18.46 USD

Hostel 77.7% 319 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
54.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.76 USD

Hostel 84.6% 1397 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
16.61 USD

Hostel 86.9% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
14.93 USD

Hostel 81.1% 964 reviews
London Bridge Apartment
133.89 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
16.61 USD

Hostel 82.7% 258 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

197 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Safestay'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 204 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria luksic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 November 2012 maria would recommend this property

Liked: The design and lounge

Disliked: People there are not very friendly; more than the staff is the people that is staying there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERCAN ORMEN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 ERCAN would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very new hostel. 10 minutes walk distance from Elephant&Castle underground station, not a excellent location but also not very bad. You can find free access in the bar which is very large and warm place to spend time. I am quite pleased with the service which I found in Safestay. Thanks...

Disliked: ERCAN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franz Becker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 October 2012 Franz would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, beds are comfortable and very clean

Disliked: Franz left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Artacho Gonzalez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, facilities and services quality as Hotel. Extremely recommended.

Disliked: Not fully adapted for disabled person (Stairs at HALL to access rooms)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfy beds in nice rooms, all clean, nice bar, nice staff-no complaints.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean , comfortable beds, it feels more like a hotel than a hostel . 8 minute walk to subway

Disliked: very strict about check out by 10 Will be charged extra day. Staff not as friendly or approachable as other hotels all were foreign speakers not English . The location , there are no shops near by and the area is very run down and low income

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Joaquin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel! Out of the hostels I stayed in during my eurotrip this hostel was the fanciest. Felt more like a boutique hotel (as others have said). Very comfy beds with privacy curtains, large lockers under each bunk, large rooms (for a hostel), nice bar area, friendly staff, good price (for London), convenient location - 5 min walk from the nearest tube station.

Disliked: No wifi in rooms (available in bar area for free). Computers were pay per use. The area, as per the locals, is "dodgy" but I didn't have any problems personally.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean, modern facilities with comfortable beds. The bar downstairs in nice and has a lovely outside area.

Disliked: The staff was not the friendliest and most do not speak english. Do not be 15min late for checkout they'll get upset...and the "pubcrawl" was a bit of a scam eventhough we had good night.(we had all understood something different, we left 1h late, free drinks became 2 shots...)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinisa Gojic

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 October 2012 Sinisa would recommend this property

Liked: Facilmente raggiungibile, pulito e ben arredato.

Disliked: Nulla da segnalare.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petr Volny

Alone

Business / conference
City break

06 October 2012 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and modrn hostel. Clean facilities and helpfull staff.

Disliked: You have to have your own locks for the under bed lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xiaolong guo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 xiaolong would recommend this property

Liked: convenient, more importantly it is safe with safe net boxes under beds, free wifi at rooms sometimes but not guranteed. pretty clean and quiet. There are a lot of convenience around like cashier ATM, fast food and groceries.

Disliked: pink color

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lihan Inman

Alone

City break

25 September 2012 Lihan would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in London! clean, safe and a massive bar lounge to meet new people with plasma screen TV's with Sky sports ;-) more like a hotel than a hostel really!

Disliked: All good

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yielmaz Javed

Alone

Business / conference

25 September 2012 Yielmaz would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean, lockers in every room, simply but nice breakfast. They even have a laundry room and an ironing board. Everything seems new!

Disliked: 1£ for renting a towel Ridiculously over-priced switches for devices which, for instance, have two round pins instead of three flat.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It looks very modern, the decor is lovely and so clean. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and also by other members of staff who were very nice. It was a lovely experience. Would recommend it to anybody.

Disliked: Probably the only thing would be that we didn't know the lockers didn't have padlocks so we had to buy one, but other than that, the place is fantastic.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Mayman

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 September 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: I like how modern it is, I like the location, and how it all works well.

Disliked: The difficulties that I had with half of the staff due to the their inadequate English skills. Also the bed was very noisy when getting on or off it making being quiet while others sleep very difficult.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The future of Hostels. First world Hostelling.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrej Veresvarsky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice place near the centre of London, more a hotel than a hostel, with nice bar, garden and even elevators. Worth every penny!

Disliked: Honestly, nothing. I was completely satisfied.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rashid Mehmood

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

09 September 2012 Rashid would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean and lovely staff. Breakfast was good considering its free. Highly recommend!

Disliked: I think breakfast should run until 10am not 9am.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 September 2012

Liked: It doesn't look like a hostel at all, very stylish.

Disliked: It is not far from the metro station, but the area doesn't look safe for me. The location described on the website is not correct, which took me some time to find where it is.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter dooley

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: this is a hostel but it feels like a boutique hotel. you walk in the door from the street, on to a carpeted floor and there in front of you is the reception. Behind the desk are two receptionist in Safeway Tshirts. They are young and exotic, smiling at you, even when you show a pained and tired look. Booking in was like being introduced to the women you would spend the rest of your life with. What i mean was we connected and i understood everything she said. the room was so clean, too clean, it smelled like victory and it was new. The bed was like i was just born a baby panda and i was lying on my mothers chest .i slept like a baby panda. the showers were warm and tender on my white celtic skin. i sang a little and the receptionist said i was a good singer. all in all staying there is like sitting in a gyser after hiking thousand of miles.

Disliked: it lacked the homely feel. the smell of turf and your mother breast feeding the kids while your father opens the door to friends. the bar was like a party in an office. peoples heads in computers, droned out in their own sick sordid fantasy of themselves as heros saving their mothers from exploitation. there was a lift and a stairs and nobody hanging out painting their bodies and lighting candles, stripping to deities and encouraging mass orgies. it lacked that. but overall a must go experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about the place specially that is super clean and modern, the staff was beyond nice very helpful.

Disliked: It would be great if they offered a room for female only.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern facilities, and helpful staff.

Disliked: No kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern and excellent location with access to tube. Free simple breakfast included.

Disliked: Wireless access only available in bar/lounge.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed, nice ensuite bathrooms, good communal facilities. Lots of TVs, Plug sockets, curtains round beds and auto turn-off lighting in entrance halls

Disliked: Instead of lockers they had wire mesh lockable boxes - this wouldn't be so bad (except people can see your stuff) but they had 2 less than the number of beds in the room. The couple that arrived in my room after me therefore didn't have one, and when they complained the staff couldn't help. Bit concerning. Wifi didn't work for me. Don't know why some people (maybe iphones) couldn't connect?. Cash only deposit for towels was frustrating but understandable


See all London hostels
See all London hotels