HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Safestay

Hostel | 144-152 Walworth Road, Elephant & Castle, London, England SE17 1JL

87.0% Overall Rating

208 out of 216 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/07/2014)

Thomas Leydon thinks…

"Staff on desk on arrival were very friendly and happy to help. Rooms were spotless and comfortable Hostel is in a great location"

Read all Safestay reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

GENERAL 1. A group is any party consisting of 10 people or more. 2. A £250.00 security deposit is required at check-in for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel. This deposit will be returned on the day of your departure if no damage is detected. You can leave the deposit by cash or debit/credit card. Cards will be pre-authorized on check in for the full amount. If your deposit is being secured for with a third party credit card we will require written authorisation to be provided by the card-holder. 3. Payment for Group Bookings is pre-paid. All payment must be sorted prior to arrival or you may be hindered from checking-in to the property. 4. The remaining balance must be paid at least 4 weeks before your arrival date. This is to include all extras and fees. 5. All fees incurred by the payee due to the method of payment, (i.e. bank transfer fees issued by the sending or receiving bank), are to be paid by the group. Safestay Ltd is not responsible for these fees. 6. If any payment under these terms and conditions is overdue, then without prejudice to our other rights and remedies we may cancel your booking; and/or we may suspend the supply and/or deliveries of any other services provided to you by us. We will however inform you in writing prior to any such action. - In the case of a late departure (after 10am), Safestay reserves the right to charge for a further nights stay at the appropriate rack rate of the bed(s). - We reserve the right to charge the guest for any damages/vandalism caused to the hostel, by their actions, including accidental or incidental damages. Damages will be required to be paid prior to departure. Should this damage come to light after the guest has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the guest’s credit / debit card. We will however make every effort to rectify any damage internally prior to contracting specialists to make the repairs, and therefore will make every effort to keep any costs that the guest would incur to a minimum. - We reserve the right to charge the guest the cost of replacing any items that are removed from the premises by them without consent. The charge will be the full replacement amount of the missing item, including any carriage charges. Should the fact that the item is missing come to light after the group has departed, we reserve the right to make a charge to the group’s credit / debit card, or send an invoice for the amount to the registered address.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Restup London
20.55 USD

Hostel 79.2% 377 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
66.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 6 reviews
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar
16.98 USD

Hostel 77.4% 1423 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Southbank
33.79 USD

Hostel 84.7% 230 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-Village
25.30 USD

Hostel 81.5% 994 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Oasis
30.40 USD

Hostel 80.8% 260 reviews
London Waterloo Days Hotel
84.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 49 reviews
FRESH @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
25.45 USD

Hostel 82.1% 366 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

208 out of 216 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Safestay'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 215 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aniza Ishak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping

17 July 2013 Aniza would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very chic (it was our first experience in a 'backpacker's hostel', it definitely changed our views), they played around with the design and ambiance well with the deep purple theme. The bar, the garden, the lounge was gorgeous. The lady at the reception wasn't as rude as we expected. As for the rooms, we booked the 6 bed room which overlooks some nice buildings. The shower room and toilet was separate, and were both very clean. The breakfast was just average (croissants, toast, frosties and cornflakes). There is Mcdonalds 3 mins walk from the hostel.

Disliked: No room service (didn't know whether this was a norm in the backpacking community), they only threw out what was in our individual trash bins. No WiFi in rooms. The windows would not open wider than the height of a small bottled water - need air circulation esp, in summer. The foreign bartender lady was rude Location - the tube station is NOT 2 mins away. Use the bus instead it's directly in front.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Scholes

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Clean with a nice decor.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, curtains around bed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

tom wood

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 June 2013 tom would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodation was clean and safe.

Disliked: The two boys on reception in the early hours of sun morning were very rude and unhelpful. Firstly they told me the room wasnt booked and then blamed me because I wasn't clear to them at the desk. Then I had to argue for 20 pound change for payment of the room. His reply was hang on just wait ' my maths isn't very good' How on earth did he get the job!? The other guy sat on reception sat the whole time with his earphones in - the other guy had to shake him to respond and help him.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ali Shreif

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 June 2013 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: For the price range, this was probably the best place UV stayed at. It was perfect for my needs, and I have no complaints.

Disliked: This is not really a dislike, but I would like to note that the breakfast on offer (continental) was not that good. The adjacent restaurant had a cheaper all-you-can-eat English breakfast. But to be fair, the breakfast was exactly as advertised, and I chose to have it... so I can't fault Safestay for that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the free wifi in the bar/lounge area.

Disliked: While safestay had places to store your possesstions in the room you shared with others, they didn't provide a lock or any way to really secure your stuff.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is new and clean.

Disliked: The location of hostel is far from metro station.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ciara O'Hara

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2013 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, 24 hour access, good bathrooms and lovely curtains on each bed for a bit of privacy. Warm and comfortable.

Disliked: There are cages under the beds for your belongings, but locks to lock them need to be rented and the deposit is non refundable. Basically you buy a lock but don't get to keep it. Also really bad music in the bar, but that's my taste in fairness.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would still recommend this hostel because I think in London it is very difficult to find a hostel that is safe and clean. Also the rooms are quite big and I liked the curtains a lot that you have around your beds. Everything is very new and the entrance area and the bar area are very stylish.

Disliked: As mentioned before, all the extra costs. Also there is only 1 toilett and shower also for the 6-8 people rooms. The location is also not the best, you have to walk around 10-15 minutes to get to Elephant&Castle Station, which is the last stop of the Bakerloo line, so not very central.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good. Enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Please improve the orange juice included in breakfast. It's bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall design, the garden and the sprawling bar make an impression of a club, making it easy to communicate (for me). The room (4 dorm) was spacey as in the picture, which is a rarity for London. Enjoyed hot chocolate for breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have been in London as a visitor four or five times already, and I have stayed at Safestay every single time. It is an exceptional hostel with excellent facilities and a friendly and accomodating staff. I would highly recommend this hostel for anyone travelling to London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cemil Serhat AKIN

Alone

Business / conference

19 May 2013 Cemil Serhat would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katelyn Reid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 May 2013 Katelyn would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great beds, breakfast quite good. I needed a couple of good night's sleep to recover from some serious jetlag and this hostel was good for that purpose (quite quiet).

Disliked: Poor hostel atmosphere, more like a budget hotel.There were plenty of groups staying here, including school children. I would not recommend for people looking for the typical hostel experience.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013

Liked: Very nice for a hostel. Staff was friendly. Close to the city center, bus, and tube station.

Disliked: Mostly large school groups with young kids running around or families. Area is really depressed and many seedy characters hanging around close by but I never felt unsafe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gasper Bizjak

With a large group / tour

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2013 Gasper would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, quiet rooms, top location!

Disliked: Gasper left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Florian Weber

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 April 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Place, something between Hostel and hotel.

Disliked: not any furniture in room beide beds (no table / chair / ...)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wenderson Miranda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2013 Wenderson would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is the best hostel that i used, Clean, safe, very organized.

Disliked: The staff could be more flexible.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Efrain Ceh Pavia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Efrain would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really clean. You have hot water all the time. The beds have curtains around them which gives you privacy when you sleep and there's also a big cage for each bed where you can lock your things. The bathroom is quite big so you can bring all your clothes without them getting wet.

Disliked: Checkout: 10 am. Maybe it's just me but I thought it was too early. 11 or 12 is normally the standard. If you don't plan on going out then it's ok. DO NOT go on the hostel's 'club night out'. It was only 10 pounds but also only included 2 clubs. The problem was that the last one was really posh. 6 pounds for a small beer and 12 pounds for a cocktail. I know London is expensive but I've been in the UK long enough to know there are always clubs with more reasonable prices. If you're in a hostel then you're on a budget, they should take you to cheaper places. Also the guide left after 20 min so we had to find our way back to the hostel at 3 am, which was not an easy task in London unless your english is good enough to understand drunk people.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sheung Hang Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Sheung Hang would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy. very nice.

Disliked: Sheung Hang left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sriram Yagnaraman

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2013 Sriram would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was described appropriately in hostelbookers.com. It is really safe stay, the dorm that I stayed was a mixed dorm. It is a good place to meet fellow travellers. It was clean and well maintained. There is a bar area within the hostel, which was a nice place to relax. I think its a good place to come with friends or alone.

Disliked: There was only one shower for 4 dorms with 4/6 beds. I think there could be more showers and bathrooms. The place is a bit far from the metro stop "Elephant and Castle", you have to walk about 15 mins. But it is quite close to city centre from the metro station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A chic hostel is a rarity to be seen. The purple sheets were absolutely gorgeous, slept like a baby. Definitely the best bed in this London trip and such a stylish decor. It is close to tube and buses go all the time from front to the center. Had a nice chat with personnel. Breakfast basic but good.

Disliked: Well at first I thought that this is the Banging Doors hostel. Earplugs saved me. Towels would be nice without an extra cost. The breakfast/bar in the basement is not inviting to have a drink if compared to a pub but as a breakfast point it is perfect with those lovely armchairs and lamps and even a garden.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really, really liked everything about the hostel. Throughout the years, we have tried a lot of different hostels in London and this one was the best by far. The location is great because the tube is just 3 minutes away and it takes you anywhere...the neighbourhood is peaceful with lots of different restaurants (Chinese, Vietnamese, Indian, ...) and is not dangerous at all (as some people suggested). When exiting the tube, there is a shopping centre with Tesco, so you can buy your groceries whenever you feel like it. The rooms are very clean and the showers are great (hot water at all times), the breakfast is just delicious (coffee machine, orange juice, water, milk, cereals, croisants, jam, margarine) and not to mention the beautifully decorated interior of the hostel and great staff. The best value for money!

Disliked: We wish we had stayed longer and not just 5 nights...:)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place, spacious rooms, good breakfast. Beds are ready to use when you arrive. Free WiFi. Great common area (lounge).

Disliked: Not directly in the city centre, but that doesn't really matter, because Elephant & Castle has good connections during day and night with the public transport.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

18 March 2013

Liked: The decor is great, reading lights, curtains on the bed, under-bed lockers. Location isn't so bad, although you do have to catch the tube 3 stations to go anywhere worth being.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not only cleaned once over the 2 days. Which meant the floors were covered in dirt, hair and water. Showers are push button activated, so turn off every 2 minutes. But worst is no sound insulation. Door slam all night, people climbing up and down the stairs or talking is VERY audible. The people staying were 70% school children or football teams, so it was very loud.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels