HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Crown, Clapham

Hostel | 102 Lavender Hill, London, England SW11 5RD

75.1% Overall Rating

224 out of 252 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"- clean and comfortable beds - good connection with city center (both day and night) - bar downstairs"

Read all FRESH @ The Crown, Clapham reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Euro Lodge Clapham
33.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.3% 226 reviews
Euro Hotel Clapham
39.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 74 reviews
Oakley Hotel
52.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Travel Joy Hostels
31.67 USD

Hostel 93.1% 507 reviews
FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
18.42 USD

Hostel 76.0% 730 reviews
Grapevine Hotel
55.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.2% 342 reviews
Hanover Hotel
49.87 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.6% 67 reviews
Vegas Hotel
31.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.1%

Overall Rating

224 out of 252 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Crown, Clapham'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 249 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Carroll

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: very modern and new facilities. Very nice ablutions and very friendly staff. Bar has good prices

Disliked: no real social area or cooking facilities

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT staff! The bar downstairs provides a great atmosphere for guests and it doesn't stay open very late so as not to disturb guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

JUNJI OISHI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 JUNJI would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere, and so cleanless.

Disliked: bad location.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Strozzi Soares

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of clean bathrooms and showers, though they are shared with all travellers.

Disliked: Building structure and rooms quite old, no kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet, free breakfast!

Disliked: No kitchen or place to relax other than the pub downstairs. Also no chairs in the rooms and you can't sit on the bunks because they are too close together.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marina Barbosa

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything, friendly staff, good location, it's close to the station and you can take a bus in front of it! A lot of bathrooms and they are clean! Nice to have a pub under the hostel, so you can meet new people! Etc. Free breakfast!

Disliked: The beds, aren't good cause usually you have only 2, one on the top of the other, in this case it was 3, making difficult to move when you're on your bed!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Jiri Boakye- Danquah

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 December 2012

Liked: The owner has gone to a lot of trouble to develop the space. Well thought out bathrooms and showers,clean rooms and new fittings throughout.

Disliked: I had the most unpleasant experience, hopefully it was an isolated incident. I lost my phone (LG E400 srp 119 pounds sterling), one member of staff helped me cancel my sim by lending me the hostel phone HOWEVER 2 days later another member of staff was using my phone behind the bar. After a lot of hassle I got my phone back. This is part of the sms that was left on MY phone: "How?! Did you steel (sic) from a hostel guest: p?! ....... If your (sic) talking about the old guy that owns it haha (sic) yes him:) " Keep away from this place till the owner sorts out his priorities namely his staffing. It is all well and good having a nice place but it means nothing when there is a distinct possibility that the staff will steal your property.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to get to and the staff were very helpful. We didn't realise it was above a pub, and there was a guy outside who noticed us looking lost who told us we were in the right place (no idea if he was an employee or a guest though, I didn't see him again). Breakfast was satisfying, if a little boring (but for included breakfast frankly great). Mattresses were comfy, sheets and duvets were clean and warm. Lockers in the room. You can eat outside food in the pub (we bought pizza from across the street to have for dinner) bathrooms were always remarkably clean while we were there.

Disliked: No food in the room, the code for the door up to the hostel stopped working for one evening randomly (though the staff were super patient with us going in and out during the day). We had to change rooms halfway through our stay and the three-tier bunk beds weren't ideal, but I guess make best use of the space on hand. Pub can be loud an rowdy at night but you can't really hear it upstairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Didier Notez

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 December 2012 Didier would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and nice Hostel to stay at. Bar staff is super friendly and the Chicken pizza is delicious!

Disliked: The nearest tubestation is quite far, but there is a busstop right in front of the door!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 December 2012

Liked: Lots of toilets and showers

Disliked: 3 high bunk beds

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentin Karamomchev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Valentin would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really clean and tidy place. The staff is kind, there is awesome music in the bar downstairs and every morning you have breakfast included.

Disliked: Valentin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Pelchy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't too sure about to the hostel's front bar entrance at first, but they have an access code for entrance to the hostel area of the building, plus room combination numbers. LOTS of showers available and the breakfast was yummy! We love Teddy!

Disliked: The location is definitely off the beaten path, but it only adds for more adventure!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked to be allowed to leave the luggage in the sore room after check out. The coded locks work well and are very innovative.

Disliked: In the fifteen bed dorm it was not possible to close the window to the street. If I were not dead from sight seeing I might have had problems to find some sleep in the night. I did not like the continental breakfast for only toast and instant coffee -- no fruits, no vegetable, no bread and no honey.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clarissa Murray

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 November 2012 Clarissa would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and easy Clapham hostel

Disliked: Clarissa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and very cheap. The best deal in London.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Brown

Alone

Business / conference

07 November 2012 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Very safe excellent value.

Disliked: Nothing really for the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukasz Ciecwierz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2012 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness Friendliness atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly, the hostel is clean. It is very easy to get the city centre by a bus (to Trafalgar Square) or a train (to Victoria Station).

Disliked: It would be good if the rooms were equipped with some chairs and tables - the bunks are too low to sit and there is enough room for additional furniture. Small shared kitchenette with a kettle and a microwave oven would be also a good idea to make a stay more comfortable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sheridian richard-james

Alone

Business / conference

01 November 2012 sheridian would recommend this property

Liked: spotless, clean hot showers.

Disliked: sheridian left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

kellie fathers

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

31 October 2012

Liked: It was a good location, and clean.

Disliked: I had a terrible experience staying here, we arrived at 1 in the morning after a long day, only to be turned away because we did not have photographic ID! IT DID NOT STATE ON MY BOOKING FORM THAT THIS WAS REQUIRED!!! We were stranded in a strange city at 1 in the morning, very frightening! THE STAFF WERE VERY UNHELPFULL, WOULD NOT RECCOMEND STAYING HERE!!!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meadhbh Healy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 October 2012 Meadhbh would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern building, brilliant staff, loved my stay

Disliked: The bar itself could have been more comfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything listed above :)

Disliked: There is nothing to be mentioned, everything was fine.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub downstairs was very fun.

Disliked: Very far from the centre. Loud Frenchmen (I know, but I disliked it).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the cleanest hostel in London. The showers are the cleanest I've seen in a hostel. Reason enough to stay at the Crown! Other good things: free breakfast and comfortable beds. And the internet works in the rooms!

Disliked: No kitchen or even microwave or kettle. But the showers were so clean that I really didn't care.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 October 2012

Liked: There is an ASDA (Walmart) about 6 blocks away. You can eat there in the day time. The maid is sweet and overworked. The sheets are clean.

Disliked: Pretty much everything else.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels