We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of PubLove @ The Crown, Battersea

Hostel | 102 Lavender Hill, London, England SW11 5RD

76.2% Overall Rating

262 out of 297 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/02/2015)

Sam Francis thinks…

"Cool, modern environment with friendly, approachable staff. Incredible selection of alcohol, and, the chips they serve are some of the best I´ve had! Lovely brioche buns with the Burger too."

Read all PubLove @ The Crown, Battersea reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Clapham Guest House
28.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Euro Lodge Clapham
26.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 231 reviews
Euro Hotel Clapham
34.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.4% 77 reviews
Oakley Hotel
43.20 USD

Hostel 94.3% 3 reviews
Travel Joy Hostels
17.70 USD

Hostel 90.4% 528 reviews
PubLove @ The White Ferry, Victoria
16.95 USD

Hostel 78.6% 779 reviews
Grapevine Hotel
29.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.4% 346 reviews
Hanover Hotel
44.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 69 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

262 out of 297 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'PubLove @ The Crown, Battersea'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 224 of 295 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the character of the pub, the guests and staff, the bed was comfortable, good value for money since it included a breakfast, near bus stops.

Disliked: Lack of kitchen facilities especially since food is forbidden from being consumed in the hostel as well as in the main pub area - I was rudely told to eat my salad in the back corner away from paying customers (I was already in the back and there were no customers in the pub at all at the time - also there is no signage saying that hostelers can or can't eat in the pub anyways just in the hostel rooms). At the time of my stay there was a heat wave in London and I happened to have the third bunk on the third floor with a tiny crack for a window opened. To say the least, I roasted in my sleep. They need to have fans or better windows for weather like this. Otherwise, I really enjoyed my stay. Even got a half priced drink!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CAIO CESAR VIEL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013 CAIO CESAR would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere. Although the bathrooms are shared, they are in a good number and for being far from the rooms, they offer more privacy. The staff are really helpfull and the price is great.

Disliked: Well, it would be good if there were electrict sockets near the beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best hostel I've stayed at in London so far. Very friendly, well kept and secure. Pleanty of transport options nearby. Good value.

Disliked: No kitchen, but this wasn't really a problem for me.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013

Liked: The pub downstairs was nicely decorated. I never had to wait for a shower. Also the location of the hostel is pretty good---very easy to get home late at night from most places!

Disliked: I barely slept because it was SO HOT. I've never been so hot in my life. With the three-tiered bunk beds there was stuff everywhere since no one had a place to put bags, etc. The showers were dirty and the water pressure was terrible. The staff wasn't very friendly, nor were the other travelers I met. The front door and room door require codes to get in, but they changed the codes while I was there which was annoying. The hostel generally lacks warmth and character, which in my opinion are the most important elements of a hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice hostel, the location was very good because I have some friends living nearby. It is clean, dorm are spacious and it has a good vibe with the pub downstairs.

Disliked: It was extremely hot in the dorm, like a sauna. Everybody sleeping with doors open to try to get some fresh air. Maybe is not ususal being so hot in london but hostel could provide at least one ventilator.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Open 24 hours, friendly staff, good size rooms, very comfortable beds

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hugo Saúl Almeida

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Hugo Saúl would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very nice and helpfull.

Disliked: We wanted to stay there another night but the price doubled

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great night sleep, really comfortable beds, was clean and secure. Good wifi

Disliked: Bit out of the way and requires a couple of transfers to get ther via public transport. Lack of kitchen was a pain.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. clapham is a neat suburb and it is just down the road from the train station. A supermarket (asda) and other places to get necessary items.

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Claudia Fanfa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, close to supermarket, good wifi

Disliked: dirty, far from center, no kitchen

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly enough and helpful, and the bar downstairs was pretty chill, and a nice touch to a hostel, especially with the location. I wasn't sure what to do my first night and it was nice to be able to just sit and have a drink.

Disliked: It was a little bit far from where I wanted to go in London, but that was my own fault for messing up my hostel booking and having to book something really last minute. It was a really good value for what I paid. I probably would not want to stay here for more than a couple of nights though because the lack of kitchen would be a bit of a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Baljit Goraya

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013

Liked: Secure place at back to put bikes. Convenient location.

Disliked: Noisy / smelly / on top of a pub with kareoke. The site did not say to bring i.d. and i.d. was required.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean, good location, good vibe from the other guests, nice pub below, really cheap!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The incredible 'jukebox' ! Put in a pound or two, and hear nine or ten pieces of ANY pop music you ever knew! 80s dance, looney glam rock from the 1970s, Bowie, Siouxsie... even Symptom of Teh Universe, by Black Sabbath!

Disliked: Small suspicion on the ceiling heat detectors.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Owen Thomas

Alone

Business / conference

12 June 2013

Liked: friendly staff, very nice lounge and good number of nice shower rooms

Disliked: with bunk beds of that hight it is DANGEROUS to only have railing a couple of inches higher than the mattress.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Biermann

Alone

Business / conference

10 June 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was incredibly clean and quiet. The showers and toilets were spacious and it never felt over crowded. The beds were very fresh and comfortable. Brilliant value for money :)

Disliked: The breakfast was extremely limited - I was hoping for some fruit or a selection of bread.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its really clean and well organized. the breakfast was nice and the common area really comfortable

Disliked: they only have stairs and going to the 2nd floor can be tough

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, plenty of shower and toilet facilities.

Disliked: Bit far from the centre of town, but that can't really be helped. No pay-as-you-go computers for use. Bit of a negative as when going away for only a few nights I normally leave my laptop at home.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

catalin horodinca

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2013 catalin would recommend this property

Liked: it is a great place to stay for just a few days. easy to get to the city even by bus. the area is allright. you can dine around at affordable prices.

Disliked: for those who want something hot as meal there is no kitchen. it was for me a huge handicap . hope they will soon find a solution for this.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, good showers, not far from transport and friendly staff. Just bring a towel and padlock.

Disliked: Annoying not to be able to sit up in bed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Very clean, nice rooms, free breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean.

Disliked: Only had small lockers. Bed was slept in when I first got there but the staff was nice and changed the sheets and made the bed for me right away.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 May 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: No kitchen, most hostels have kitchens to prepare your own food; Very difficult to find as you must assume it is above the bar; kareoke on saturdays nights is something to love/hate, it is the worst singing you will ever hear even from the hostess of the show; Staff were incompetent, i mean like i have never seen people act before, and they are running a business; "Breakfast included!" = a bowl of cereal and the worst coffee that you wont even drink; One cleaning lady for the entire building = clean beds but dirty everything else; And my god the smell in the bedroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Neads

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfy beds and nice warn doonas. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great value for money if you're looking for the basics. Would definitely recommend to everyone and stay here again in the future

Disliked: No kitchen facilities


See all London hostels
See all London hotels