HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Crown, Clapham

Hostel | 102 Lavender Hill, London, England SW11 5RD

76.6% Overall Rating

259 out of 293 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

"Stayed for a night and it was good value. Good location as it was 10min walk from Clapham Junction, the quality of the facilities and the free breakfast was good. Staff were quite helpful. The hostel is not too far from…"

Read all FRESH @ The Crown, Clapham reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Clapham Guest House
48.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Euro Lodge Clapham
42.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 227 reviews
Euro Hotel Clapham
64.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.6% 76 reviews
Oakley Hotel
51.12 USD

Hostel 94.3% 3 reviews
Travel Joy Hostels
34.14 USD

Hostel 88.6% 520 reviews
FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
24.33 USD

Hostel 81.1% 766 reviews
Grapevine Hotel
55.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 345 reviews
Hanover Hotel
48.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

259 out of 293 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Crown, Clapham'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 220 of 290 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paolo Ricossa

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 November 2013 Paolo would recommend this property

Liked: I went to this hostel two times in a month and I'm planning to come back there next month, the staff is so friendly that will make you feel at home and it's really clean and safe.

Disliked: The 7 night maximum stay limit

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's an amazing place in an excellent location with very kind staff

Disliked: Because there are no kitchen for the travellers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast for free

Disliked: outside of the city

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013

Liked: The bathroom and toilets are cleaned every night.

Disliked: - When we arrived, the staff walked away twice to help other people on the bar when we checked in. - Then when we came into our room, there was always a bad smell. There was a garbage bin that hadn't been emptied and that's where the smell came from. We putted the garbage bin in the corridor and it stayed there until we left 3 days later. - Every night there was noise of other guests at 3am in the corridor and the staff didn't do anything about it! - The rooms are very basic! We had the room for 2 persons, but if you are a couple, i wouldn't recommend it because it are bunk beds - There is a bar downstairs, but this hostel is very hard to meet other people because locals are also going to this bar!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: No common places to stay but the bar which was anything but quiet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam molloy

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Very attentive staff, loved the atmosphere and general cadre of the place. would definitely come back again!

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location between Clapham Junction and Clapham Common and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were lockers in the bedrooms, and enough showers to not have to wait too long most times.

Disliked: There were no kitchen facilities.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hailey Heishman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Hailey would recommend this property

Liked: We had the best roommates && bartenders downstairs, everyone made us feel very welcome .. we will be back for sure

Disliked: It was a little far from central London, but that is about the only thing I can complain about other than the bathroom being dirty once .. but it was cleaned up by that night

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, price was reasonable, comfortable beds, bar

Disliked: Having purposely booked a room for 6 people in a room of 6 we did not expect for other guests to have access to our room. No key for the doors, only door codes which they never changed so on arrival we had a random girl in our room leaving her stuff on our clean beds as she was planning to move into another room but couldnt be bothered to take her belongs with her, bearing in mind check out is 10.30, we didnt check in until 4pm so she really should have been there. The next day mid way getting dressed, another guest without knocking props our door open as she piles her belongs into the room. she said that she knows that she is in the room and did we know which bed was free. We said they all are as we are all leaving. Again check out is meant to be 10.30 and check in 2pm. The fact that some guests retained their codes and came and go into other peoples rooms as they pleased. Did not feel very secure and very off putting.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean bathrooms, rooms were spacious, friendly and helpful staff, value for money. Good location if you're looking to stay in clapham but average if you're looking to see the tourist sights.

Disliked: No kitchen (but this is nor uncommon in London)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanna Czarnomska

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 September 2013 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathroom, breakfasts.

Disliked: problem with beds; stuff twice gave my friend's bed to the other person.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I paid 12.50 euros per night which is a good price for a bed in London, not too far from the center. For sure you're still sleeping with 8 other person so your stay will really depends on that. Who is snoring, who is sleeping at 9pm... For me it was a good experience. The breakfast was ok, tea, coffee, jam, butter and toasts. The common area is the bar downstairs.

Disliked: I don't really know if it was because of the space organisation, (common area in the bar) but i found quite difficult to meet people there compare with other previous experiences in other hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillipa Munt

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

19 September 2013 Phillipa would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Value for money, loved the decor

Disliked: Phillipa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mel Moore-Hart

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 September 2013 Mel would recommend this property

Liked: It is a lovely and friendly hostel with a great atmosphere located not far from clapham junction. The rooms were exceptionally well kept and the beds were quite comfortable. Special mention to Pheobe and co for a great time. Albert has a cool beard.

Disliked: Mel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, close to things, clean

Disliked: toilets didn't work properly

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Barbier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place, super clean, solid dorm beds, safe, bus pass in front of the hotel, many services near

Disliked: No spot to iron, have to do the laundry outside, no kitchen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the reception area bigggggggg and secure of doors ...helpful reception 24 hours

Disliked: the height between beds the first and second one very short ...no chairs or Clothes hangers...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Hann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was awesome - lots of nice cereal and toast topping options, as well as good coffee/tea! The beds were comfortable. Internet connection was good - especially for a hostel. I liked that there was a bar downstairs, but it wasn't open too late, so noise was never a problem at night. A good number of bathrooms/toilets as well, including a few large ones which had the shower, sink and toilet all in one room, which you could lock and do your entire morning/night routine.

Disliked: As advertised, there are triple stacked bunk beds. I stayed on the top bunk, and honestly it is a bit scary up there, because the rails on the side of the bed are not very much higher than the mattress. Luckily I did not have any problems with rolling off in the night. Also there was only 2 outlets for a 9 person room, so that made it difficult.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and relatively quiet.

Disliked: No way to interact with others. There is a bar downstairs but it is open to the whole public which makes meeting people a little harder.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is relatively very good in terms of price (£ 10 anight) , centred location, nice people, reception and drinks are available 24/7. I enjoyed the two nights really.

Disliked: hot weather nights needs absolutely improving the airing facilities within the rooms especially when they are stuffed with smelly people. Good luck for every one!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, hot shower.

Disliked: Too small and far from city centre

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the character of the pub, the guests and staff, the bed was comfortable, good value for money since it included a breakfast, near bus stops.

Disliked: Lack of kitchen facilities especially since food is forbidden from being consumed in the hostel as well as in the main pub area - I was rudely told to eat my salad in the back corner away from paying customers (I was already in the back and there were no customers in the pub at all at the time - also there is no signage saying that hostelers can or can't eat in the pub anyways just in the hostel rooms). At the time of my stay there was a heat wave in London and I happened to have the third bunk on the third floor with a tiny crack for a window opened. To say the least, I roasted in my sleep. They need to have fans or better windows for weather like this. Otherwise, I really enjoyed my stay. Even got a half priced drink!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CAIO CESAR VIEL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013 CAIO CESAR would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere. Although the bathrooms are shared, they are in a good number and for being far from the rooms, they offer more privacy. The staff are really helpfull and the price is great.

Disliked: Well, it would be good if there were electrict sockets near the beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best hostel I've stayed at in London so far. Very friendly, well kept and secure. Pleanty of transport options nearby. Good value.

Disliked: No kitchen, but this wasn't really a problem for me.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013

Liked: The pub downstairs was nicely decorated. I never had to wait for a shower. Also the location of the hostel is pretty good---very easy to get home late at night from most places!

Disliked: I barely slept because it was SO HOT. I've never been so hot in my life. With the three-tiered bunk beds there was stuff everywhere since no one had a place to put bags, etc. The showers were dirty and the water pressure was terrible. The staff wasn't very friendly, nor were the other travelers I met. The front door and room door require codes to get in, but they changed the codes while I was there which was annoying. The hostel generally lacks warmth and character, which in my opinion are the most important elements of a hostel.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels