HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of FRESH @ The Crown, Clapham

Hostel | 102 Lavender Hill, London, England SW11 5RD

80.8% Overall Rating

246 out of 277 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2014)

"Very clean with a friendly atmosphere. Buzzing with young people who are willing to make friends. A great place for someone fresh in London!"

Read all FRESH @ The Crown, Clapham reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Clapham Guest House
50.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Euro Lodge Clapham
39.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 227 reviews
Euro Hotel Clapham
41.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 74 reviews
Oakley Hotel
53.80 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Travel Joy Hostels
41.74 USD

Hostel 88.7% 519 reviews
FRESH @ The White Ferry, Victoria
20.48 USD

Hostel 80.9% 748 reviews
Grapevine Hotel
61.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.5% 343 reviews
Hanover Hotel
49.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

246 out of 277 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FRESH @ The Crown, Clapham'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 209 of 274 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

David Ross

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 March 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Location and with a bus stop just outside.

Disliked: No kitchen for cooking meal, although a microwave could be placed in the 'snug' area of the pub where guests can eat takeaway's. Breakfast could have been served from 6am - 10am.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean

Disliked: the triple bump beds are very cramped and small

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good standard place

Disliked: Staff unfriendly and was double booked in my room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Balint

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 March 2014 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and the bar at the entrance.

Disliked: The luggage room was in the basement, with the door wide open and another door nearby was unlocked and leading into the backyard. The wifi was complicated to connect to. You could feel the resorts from the matress on the bed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, the shower was nice and hot, great breakfast... Staff were really nice and the pub is modern and cute! ASDA is close by for very cheap food aswell.

Disliked: There was no kitchen and cheap restaurants were hard to find close by

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ELOISE FIGGE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 ELOISE would recommend this property

Liked: The employees were really nice. The place was really perfect!

Disliked: No complain at all! erfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louise edwards

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 February 2014 louise would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely fantastic! location: amazing. staff: couldnt do enough. really clean and tidy. quiet enough. beds comfy, lockers in the rooms, plenty of loos and showers, although they were only on one floor and i had to walk down loads of stairs but cant complain as it was clean and there were no ques etc. atmosphere is good as it is in a pub and it was nice to sit downstairs and have a drink but there was no hostel exclusive comunial area so if you are a lone traveller it may make it slightly harder to make friends.

Disliked: nothing...perhaps the directions could have indictaed that it was in the actual pub!!!!! was walking up and down the street for about 20mins trying to find a hostel and not a pub!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a useful location for my purpose (15 minutes walk to Clapham Junction, buses towards Waterloo, Brixton, Camberwell). It's only a few doors from Battersea Arts Centre which is a good place to have a coffee. There is a Laundrette at 62 Battersea Rise (15 minute walk, £5 a wash). The pub is spacious and a good place for a drink, it's pricey but comparatively cheap for Clapham. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Unfortunately there is no kitchen, which makes mealtime particularly expensive if you're trying to travel cheap. It also means easting a lot of cold store bought hummus if you don't have the money to eat out. I also think the breakfast could be a little better, toast and cereal is on offer which is fine, but unfortunately the bread is economy and it pretty gross.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 January 2014

Liked: The downstairs bar is very nice.Bathroom and toilets facilities are good.

Disliked: The hostel has many useless rules like no being able to have your own food or drinks. The rooms are very uncomfortable, with very bad lighting. The hostel is way to expensive for the type of beds you receive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katelyn Muller

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 December 2013 Katelyn would recommend this property

Liked: When I first walked in I thought I was in the wrong place because it looked and felt more like a local pub than a hostel. The staff was so friendly, as was everyone at the bar and in the hostel. The beds were clean and comfortable, and everything was in good condition. Easy to get to, and there is food in the morning. So much more than I was expecting for the price!

Disliked: Katelyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jen Schomann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Jen would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Helpful staff. Perfect Location.

Disliked: Bad WIFI connection.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Me ldon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful

Disliked: Stairs. But that's London pubs for you.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Brooke McIntyre

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013

Liked: Had clean sheets. Pin codes on doors.

Disliked: No common area where you could drink own drinks, only allowed to eat in a secluded room, no kitchen facilities at all, not even a kettle or fridge. Staff (all except for one) were extremely rude and would not even give tap water, didn't see a smile the whole time. No safe area to store luggage only small lockers. Incredibly hot rooms, only one window could be cracked open. Not super easy to get to the city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Ryder

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 December 2013 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, clean rooms, friendly staff and nice bar

Disliked: Cold shower

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paolo Ricossa

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 November 2013 Paolo would recommend this property

Liked: I went to this hostel two times in a month and I'm planning to come back there next month, the staff is so friendly that will make you feel at home and it's really clean and safe.

Disliked: The 7 night maximum stay limit

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's an amazing place in an excellent location with very kind staff

Disliked: Because there are no kitchen for the travellers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast for free

Disliked: outside of the city

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013

Liked: The bathroom and toilets are cleaned every night.

Disliked: - When we arrived, the staff walked away twice to help other people on the bar when we checked in. - Then when we came into our room, there was always a bad smell. There was a garbage bin that hadn't been emptied and that's where the smell came from. We putted the garbage bin in the corridor and it stayed there until we left 3 days later. - Every night there was noise of other guests at 3am in the corridor and the staff didn't do anything about it! - The rooms are very basic! We had the room for 2 persons, but if you are a couple, i wouldn't recommend it because it are bunk beds - There is a bar downstairs, but this hostel is very hard to meet other people because locals are also going to this bar!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: No common places to stay but the bar which was anything but quiet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam molloy

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Very attentive staff, loved the atmosphere and general cadre of the place. would definitely come back again!

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location between Clapham Junction and Clapham Common and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were lockers in the bedrooms, and enough showers to not have to wait too long most times.

Disliked: There were no kitchen facilities.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hailey Heishman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Hailey would recommend this property

Liked: We had the best roommates && bartenders downstairs, everyone made us feel very welcome .. we will be back for sure

Disliked: It was a little far from central London, but that is about the only thing I can complain about other than the bathroom being dirty once .. but it was cleaned up by that night

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, price was reasonable, comfortable beds, bar

Disliked: Having purposely booked a room for 6 people in a room of 6 we did not expect for other guests to have access to our room. No key for the doors, only door codes which they never changed so on arrival we had a random girl in our room leaving her stuff on our clean beds as she was planning to move into another room but couldnt be bothered to take her belongs with her, bearing in mind check out is 10.30, we didnt check in until 4pm so she really should have been there. The next day mid way getting dressed, another guest without knocking props our door open as she piles her belongs into the room. she said that she knows that she is in the room and did we know which bed was free. We said they all are as we are all leaving. Again check out is meant to be 10.30 and check in 2pm. The fact that some guests retained their codes and came and go into other peoples rooms as they pleased. Did not feel very secure and very off putting.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean bathrooms, rooms were spacious, friendly and helpful staff, value for money. Good location if you're looking to stay in clapham but average if you're looking to see the tourist sights.

Disliked: No kitchen (but this is nor uncommon in London)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanna Czarnomska

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 September 2013 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathroom, breakfasts.

Disliked: problem with beds; stuff twice gave my friend's bed to the other person.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels