We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

78.7% Overall Rating

716 out of 845 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2015)

"There is a garden, comfortable dining room, many kitchens and plus that mystical spooky feeling that I got lost while walking in those long corridors"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
18.57 USD

Hostel 76.6% 524 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
42.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
20.13 USD

Hostel 80.1% 353 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
35.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
58.51 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
43.69 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
35.11 USD

Hostel 79.2% 88 reviews
Safestay Holland Park
21.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

716 out of 845 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
73.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 399 of 827 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great it's a lovely neighbourghood & the tube & buses are really close. The room is tiny but in nice condition & perfect for just staying the night and sightseeing by day.

Disliked: There isn't much & this souldn't be read as dislikes, more so as a couple of suggestions to the owners: 1 the most important one is the doors. They MUST be fixed so they don't bang when closing, the noise woke us up (and probably the rest of the hostel) several times during the nights from the late arrivals/party goers. 2 there isn't free wifi, c'mon it's 2013 there should be free wifi like installed in all hostels :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a quit place,

Disliked: The doors make much noise when they shut.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013

Liked: Provided a room and a secure place to sleep

Disliked: Staff were not helpful, there was no greeting on arrival. There were no maps of the area (or knowledge). While there was a kitchen there was no way to cook as there were no basics cooking utensils. The shower button must be pressed continuously while showering. The private rooms were clinical and you could hear everything in the halls.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was good face to the expensive prices in London. The room was clean and warm. It isn't in the city centre hoever it's well communicated.

Disliked: The room was very small and the staff was unkind. Wi-fi is subject to charges.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013

Liked: location is perfect

Disliked: dirty toilets and showers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Orzelek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: The Abercorn house hostel is located next to the Hammersmith metro station. We stayed in a 4 bed room, which was very clean. Fridge was included in a stanard price.

Disliked: You have to keep the key with you at all time, because doors are automatically closed. Beds were very noisy. You cannot move while sleeping.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Merje Chaabi

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Merje would recommend this property

Liked: Looked new and clean.

Disliked: Merje left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel położony w świetnej lokalizacji (druga strefa), z hostelu do stacji metra Hammersmith ok. 5 min. pieszo (bardzo blisko). Dojazd do ścisłego centrum zajmuje pół godziny. Obiekt położony w bocznej uliczce- cicho od ulicy. W obu pokojach lodówki, mydła, szampony oraz ręczniki (oszczędność miejsca w walizce) oraz talerze, kubki i sztućce, w pierwszym szafa, drugi z otwartą wnęką i drążkiem. Na stacji metra mini galeria handlowa, m.in. Tesco czynne do 24:00. W sąsiedztwie sklepy i kafejki. Cały obiekt sprawia wrażenie czystego i schludnego. Do intensywnego zwiedzania super, także wyjazd z przyjaciółmi. Nie polecam dla rodzin z dziećmi.

Disliked: Mimo faktu, iż kuchni jest na piętrze sporo i są świetnie wyposażone (kuchenka z piekarnikiem, czajnik elektryczny, kuchenka mikrofalowa, toster)- absolutny brak w nich garnków czy płynu do mycia naczyń, więc są praktycznie zbędne. W pokoju tylko główne światło, co przy chęci poczytania zmusza do wstawania. Jeden, droższy pokój z łazienką totalnie ciemny- 1. okno zza wnęki, trudno się w nim obudzić! Dodatkowo za oknem pracujący robotnicy (od ok. 8 rano). Pomiędzy pokojami dość cienkie ścianki działowe (rozmowy, kaszel i chrapanie słychać głośno- mimo kulturalnych sąsiadów). Dodatkowym minusem jest brak windy (3 lub więcej pięter w budynku), a także fakt, iż w jednej rezerwacji dla 4. os. dostaliśmy pokoje w dwóch skrajnych częściach hostelu- podróż trwała 2-3 min.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david guerin

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

26 April 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: very pleased with our stay good value clean comfortable and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Internet booking could be improved keeps over booking.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, recently renovated and room floors were tile so there wasn't any dust, hair or anything. Showers and toilets were ok, each guest is given their own toilet rolls and soaps, which I think is a good idea. Location is really good, 3 miniutes walk to Hammersmith bus and tube stations. There are lots of bus lines ending in Hammersmith and 5 tube lines passing from stations. Heatrow airport is 25 minutes away from Hammersmith station.

Disliked: As all the floors ar tile you can hear footsteps when you are in your room and sometimes it can be noisy, but walls are not that thin so I didn't have a problem with sleeping.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dragan Vlahovic

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Dragan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything,

Disliked: The staff members never smiling!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernadett Szabó

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Bernadett would recommend this property

Liked: Very well equipped rooms and excellent location.

Disliked: The bathroom is too cold.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Damon Bary

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

15 April 2013 Damon would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very clean, facilities are quite good. Double room was quite large with lots of storage space.

Disliked: Noise travels throughout the hostel making it very hard to sleep when there are people coming in and out constantly. Walls must be paper thin.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Niamh Gorry

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is incredibly clean and the beds are comfy. This is the second time i've used this hostel and i would choose it again. It is so close to the tube, quiet area, affordable. Great place.

Disliked: It's not very easy to meet other travellers as there is no kind of communal area that is used but when travelling in a group this wouldn't matter.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Удобное расположение. Рядом метро и автобусы

Disliked: Душ и туалет общие на этаже. И не разделены на М и Ж

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No decoration, completely white room. Only one light, and interruptor away from the bed. Vacuum noise early in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro. Easy to reach main touristic sights. Fridge in the room. Available many kitchens.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2013

Liked: location.

Disliked: Not really a kitchen, no common place to meet people. If you are looking for a place to have fun and meet people, it is not the good adress! Not very clean, we had to ask the staff to remove a dustbin which was in the room for 2 days. Fridge, toilet paper in the room > not really convenient huge corridors, look like a hotel more than a friendly hostel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, really close to Hammersmith Tube Station and local shops/cafe's. Good laundry facilities and heating in rooms.

Disliked: The walls are thin, you can pretty much hear every little thing that happens, room next door had a baby that never stopped crying. There are no utensils in the kitchen so using the stoves and oven is pretty much out of the question...not even any sponges to wash up with, also there was a shortage of toilet paper!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean in my room.

Disliked: Some staff were not very friendly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jakub Sedlak

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2013 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: very clean rooms, showers, beds, my friends like this hostel as well. very good location. only two minutes to Hammersmith underground.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that it is cheap and clean

Disliked: very noisy. the walls are very thin and you can hear people talking int he room next to mine. Also on good friday the laundry came at 6am so lots of big metal cages going across the tiles floors in the corridor and banging of doors. i was not happy. i had 2 nights of not much sleep at all!,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marta Montero

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 March 2013 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Limpio. Muy limpio. Y bien situado. Te guardan las maletas si te hace falta al irte.

Disliked: El internet es de pago... £1 la hora.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: have to pay for wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room were clean and staff were friendly...we also got upgraded! :) I read in the reviews that the area didn't seem very safe, but its 5 mins from hammersmith station and the fact that its down a cul-de-sac just means its not noisy! perfectly located!

Disliked: walls were quite thin, we could hear our neighbours!


See all London hostels
See all London hotels