HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Abercorn House Hostel London Hostel

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 70%

Location 86%

Safety 79%

Staff 68%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 70%

Location 86%

Safety 79%

Staff 68%

Value 81%

Showing 81-90 of 174 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location is good and very accessible. The vicinity if the hostel is clean and well attended.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Exiting as early as posslble in the morning.

Disliked: There was only one shower which was disgusting. The window locks literally came off in our hands so we could not open them. The reception staff were pretty condesending and not very friendly. Wifi was a pound an hour but there was no vouchers to be bought when I went to buy one.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean dishes, cups &cutlery available. Kitchen facilities were great. Own fridge in each room was awesome.

Disliked: Doors open all the time -made the hotel cold & was very unsafe as anyone from outside could access the hallways.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I would suggest this property only for 2 3 days because the only positive thing is the position: less than 2 mins from Hammersmith Underground

Disliked: First of all the staff of the reception sometimes is rude and it is not friendly at all. the room wasn't cleaned and I was afraid for my baggages so I had to buy a safe locker.because of the doors you will wake up several times during the night and on morning.don't expect to be helped by the staff for information, services, additions, advices.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: When we went to check in, the gentlemen at the front desk asked us if we would like a upgrade to a private flat in West Kensington due to loud construction in the Hammersmith area. Although the flat was not ready until 5 o clock it was definitely worth it as we had our own kitchen and a nice little studio apartment. The staff at Abercorn were very good about it all and even payed for our taxi over there. Overall from what we could tell the Abercorn house was in a pretty good location but where we were moved to probably suited us better. I feel that they dealt with the situation well and probably had put themselves out of pocket for the comfort of their guests which I thought was good of them.

Disliked: Would have been nice to know about the change a couple of days in advance as we were pretty knackered by the time we had got there.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the location is superb-just two minutes' walk to the tube and bus station, central london is within 20 minute's time by tube.toilet and shower rooms are tidy and clean.

Disliked: the hotel is currently being refurbished so it might be noisy in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing! although I must say that the hostel looks fairly new, but DIRTY!

Disliked: 1. We booked for three beds and expected that we could at least share a room together, but was told that it was very full so they had to separate us. That was okay, but when we POLITELY enquired the possibility of doing some arrangements the staff was rude.2. As mentioned, my friends and I did not get the same room, so I was given a key to access to another room, sharing with three other guys. But the key that was given by the rude staff did not work, so my friend and I (both guys) went to talk to that guy, and just when my friend was questioning the staff about it, the staff got offended and wanted to get into a fight and told my friend to go to sleep or else he will kick my friend out. Come on we are all 23 years old adults but the staff treated us without respect and rudely, and the worst part was that he told my friend to get outside to fight. Do you treat your customers like that even if they weren't satisfied about the situations you put them into? Is this how you react to complaints? you fight them?3. the toilet was horrible. You will see toilet papers everywhere, stucked and unflushed toilets! I was staying in the 4th floor, went to 2nd and 3rd and the toilets were equally as horrible. To be honest this is the worst hostel I have ever stayed, and in case you want to be threatened by the rude staff and unflushed toilets, please avoid this hostel.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This place is just a few min walk from Hammersmith station. Easy to reach tje other destinations from there. A lot of pubs and restarants around. You r almost in the midle of megapolis.

Disliked: Sometimes it was a bit dirty!! But in general fir the hostel not bed.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: very basic double room with tiny ensuite shower room, but cheap, brilliant location 100 yards from tube, cafes, shops, but really quiet mews road.

Disliked: lot of coming and going so noise from doors quite late, one receptionist on duty and front door always open, so it feels a bit open house

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very conveniently located. It's right across the street from Hammersmith tube station and about a 15 minute walk from the Kensington Olympia overground station, so you can easily get anywhere in the city by train. The beds were relatively clean and comfortable. They provided towels and there was a fridge in the room.

Disliked: There is a lot of very loud construction going on right outside. The builders started clinking around at 6 am and were doing loud drilling by 8 am. The curtains on the window are also very thin so the sunshine in the morning comes in very bright. The walls are also a bit thin, so when folks got rowdy watching the World Cup it kept my roommate up. The fridge in our room was kind of loud too. If you are a light sleeper this might not be the hostel for you. There was only one key to our room, so if you don't plan carefully you might be stuck locked out and dripping in the hallway after a shower. The showers weren't the most convenient. You have to keep pressing a button to get the water to flow, but at least the water was always nice and hot. There's nowhere to put your stuff to keep it dry, but I just stuffed my clothes in a plastic carrier bag and that did the trick. There's also no handholds or anywhere to prop your leg up, so shaving was a bit of a challenge. Strangely the toilets are gender segregated, but not the showers. No elevator, so you have to haul your luggage up and down the stairs. There wasn't a locker or anything inside the room, so you can't lock up your valuables.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability