We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

72.3% Overall Rating

687 out of 810 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2015)

"Close to Hammersmith station but in a quiet side street. Shop in the floor level with common prices."

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
13.32 USD

Hostel 76.0% 523 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
32.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
14.81 USD

Hostel 81.0% 351 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
33.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
42.38 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
43.76 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
33.66 USD

Hostel 79.2% 88 reviews
Safestay Holland Park
29.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

687 out of 810 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
61.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 380 of 792 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean in my room.

Disliked: Some staff were not very friendly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jakub Sedlak

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2013 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: very clean rooms, showers, beds, my friends like this hostel as well. very good location. only two minutes to Hammersmith underground.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that it is cheap and clean

Disliked: very noisy. the walls are very thin and you can hear people talking int he room next to mine. Also on good friday the laundry came at 6am so lots of big metal cages going across the tiles floors in the corridor and banging of doors. i was not happy. i had 2 nights of not much sleep at all!,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marta Montero

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 March 2013 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Limpio. Muy limpio. Y bien situado. Te guardan las maletas si te hace falta al irte.

Disliked: El internet es de pago... £1 la hora.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: have to pay for wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room were clean and staff were friendly...we also got upgraded! :) I read in the reviews that the area didn't seem very safe, but its 5 mins from hammersmith station and the fact that its down a cul-de-sac just means its not noisy! perfectly located!

Disliked: walls were quite thin, we could hear our neighbours!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price and good location

Disliked: They offer wifi internet connection for 1pound/hour, but it is so slow, that is useless.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Iveta Freimane

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Iveta would recommend this property

Liked: We were excited about the location. We lived close to the center. 250m from the London underground station Hammersmith (4 different underground lines, the secon underground zone (it's very important, because tickets are cheaper (London Underground has 6 zones)). 2 stops to the Westfield shopping center, one of the largest in Europe.

Disliked: The room was very, very, very small :-) Our shower room - very, very small. When I cleaned a teeth and flush mouth at the sink, my ass was in the room :-)))) But take better room with shower and WC (Deluxe Twin Private Ensuite or Deluxe Double Bed Private Ensuite). I do not know what was the shared shower and wc in other floors, but in our ....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the subway, clean rooms.

Disliked: Noise

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 March 2013

Liked: The Hostel was very clean, well located, quiet, and good value for money.

Disliked: The hotel makes the effort in providing patrons with a kitchen, with oven, microwave, stove etc, yet THEY DO NOT PROVIDE cooking utensils, pots, pans, oven trays, etc etc etc with which to cook your food!!! Oh, they do no provide you with a place to eat your food unless you want to trek down to ground level to use the lounge. ALso there are no cleaning utensils or detergent with which to wash your plates. Other than this the

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jakub Gorka

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2013 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was recently renovated, clean, soap and fridge in the room. 24/7 reception.

Disliked: Lack of hangs in the bathrooms which was very unconfortable while showering. No kitchen applience like sponge etc. so we couldn't wash the dishes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

alexandros antoniadis

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

11 March 2013 alexandros would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean good location reasable price!

Disliked: a little noise of the doors in the morning. no elevetor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitchell Conway

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk was helpful and pleasant to deal with

Disliked: Nil

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 February 2013

Liked: Nothing much.

Disliked: The walls are extremely thin, as a result of which you hear every sound the other guests make. All the walls are white, quite dull. There is a fridge in the room, which could be helpful to others, but to us it was useless. That fridge did make an awful lot of noise, and there is no way to turn it off because the plug is behind a large closet that can't be moved. The bed was very uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david brown

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

22 February 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: mine was a single room,so comfortable,as good as a hotel room.

Disliked: nothing,maybe free wifi would be good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price and location, nice rooms - more a hotel than a hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Lima

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Everythong clean, like on the pictures

Disliked: They just don't offer breakfest, but it's on the description. Nothing to complain about.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: /

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013

Liked: none

Disliked: The place is rather noisy, long corridors making it diffucult to get a decent nights sleep, when there are groups, thougt they behaved OK.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Talitha Lovegrove

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Talitha would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are great. Had a private room for two people. Room had chest of drawers, wardrobe, and your own mini fridge and a small table with two chairs. Each floor contained male and female toilets, and unisex showers (although we never ran into anyone else in the shower room). Each floor also has several kitchens that have an oven, microwave, kettle etc. Very handy for self catering. Hostel public areas were cleaned daily, and room was cleaned once during a 5 day stay.

Disliked: Owner of the property claimed we paid him only 90 pounds when we had given him 110. We demanded to recount it. Cash only - no credit card payments, which is frustrating. Showers are controlled by this little button that automatically turns the water off every 5 seconds - makes for a freezing and frustrating shower. The water pressure barely trickles out when more than one person showers at a time. Only three computers were working for the internet, so you often had to wait an hour for others to finish. Staff at reception were VERY unhelpful. I asked what days the changing of the guard happens (every second day in winter) and the man said 'April.' The woman would not let me use the phone for a simple local call to organise a tour. I had to constantly ask for more soap and toilet paper. The other reception staff would not let me extend my stay. They said they didn't handle bookings, and that I had to come back at either 9pm or 9am. Very frustrating. Toilets don't have toilet paper or soap, but you are allocated a few rolls and a few soap bars in your room. Tried to use the toilet downstairs before I had checked in, and wasn't told there was no toilet paper or soap in there by reception. Very rude. However, if you don't rely on the staff, the facilities and location and price are worth it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, easy accessibel by underground, not very expensive.

Disliked: you have to take the underground to go to the centre of Londen. Walking isn't a option (1.5 hours)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and clean, and close to the Hammersmith tube station

Disliked: Seems in a bad part of town, but very safe!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

samuel harvey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to from the station. Friendly people staying there. The tv room is a nice place to eat dinner and chill out in.

Disliked: The lift doesn't work so you have to walk up stairs

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Perez Vazquez

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

01 January 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: good location, next to hammersmith & city line and district line nice rooms but see what we disliked :

Disliked: there were FIVE (yes, 5) kitchens in our floor, whereas there was only ONE shower room. The kitchens have a stove, but the staff doesn't provide any pots or pans!!! that doesn't make any sense!!!! it's absolutely unbelievable, they told us that we should buy our own kitchen stuff! also they only give you 1 toilet paper for the whole stay, there are no cleaning products in kitchen, no soap in toilets, etc

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SEAN BROWN

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 January 2013 SEAN would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location for my new years day run in Hyde park! Stroke of luck to with the parking, right outside main entrance. Fridge was handy as well for party beer!

Disliked: Struggled every time trying to get into room . The key and lock kept turning and turning.Had to ask reception twice to be let in.Very frustrating when soaked and drunk , tired at 2.30 am! The room was Hospital White , needed more colour.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels