HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Abercorn House Hostel London Hostel

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 65%

Location 84%

Safety 75%

Staff 68%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 65%

Location 84%

Safety 75%

Staff 68%

Value 77%

Showing 81-90 of 171 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No lockers in shared dorms to lock your valuables.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: There were bugs all over the entire room including in the bed. The staff was terrible and unfriendly. Not a hostel feeling in the slightest, would describe it similar to a hospital.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location is good and very accessible. The vicinity if the hostel is clean and well attended.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Exiting as early as posslble in the morning.

Disliked: There was only one shower which was disgusting. The window locks literally came off in our hands so we could not open them. The reception staff were pretty condesending and not very friendly. Wifi was a pound an hour but there was no vouchers to be bought when I went to buy one.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean dishes, cups &cutlery available. Kitchen facilities were great. Own fridge in each room was awesome.

Disliked: Doors open all the time -made the hotel cold & was very unsafe as anyone from outside could access the hallways.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I would suggest this property only for 2 3 days because the only positive thing is the position: less than 2 mins from Hammersmith Underground

Disliked: First of all the staff of the reception sometimes is rude and it is not friendly at all. the room wasn't cleaned and I was afraid for my baggages so I had to buy a safe locker.because of the doors you will wake up several times during the night and on morning.don't expect to be helped by the staff for information, services, additions, advices.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: When we went to check in, the gentlemen at the front desk asked us if we would like a upgrade to a private flat in West Kensington due to loud construction in the Hammersmith area. Although the flat was not ready until 5 o clock it was definitely worth it as we had our own kitchen and a nice little studio apartment. The staff at Abercorn were very good about it all and even payed for our taxi over there. Overall from what we could tell the Abercorn house was in a pretty good location but where we were moved to probably suited us better. I feel that they dealt with the situation well and probably had put themselves out of pocket for the comfort of their guests which I thought was good of them.

Disliked: Would have been nice to know about the change a couple of days in advance as we were pretty knackered by the time we had got there.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the location is superb-just two minutes' walk to the tube and bus station, central london is within 20 minute's time by tube.toilet and shower rooms are tidy and clean.

Disliked: the hotel is currently being refurbished so it might be noisy in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing! although I must say that the hostel looks fairly new, but DIRTY!

Disliked: 1. We booked for three beds and expected that we could at least share a room together, but was told that it was very full so they had to separate us. That was okay, but when we POLITELY enquired the possibility of doing some arrangements the staff was rude.2. As mentioned, my friends and I did not get the same room, so I was given a key to access to another room, sharing with three other guys. But the key that was given by the rude staff did not work, so my friend and I (both guys) went to talk to that guy, and just when my friend was questioning the staff about it, the staff got offended and wanted to get into a fight and told my friend to go to sleep or else he will kick my friend out. Come on we are all 23 years old adults but the staff treated us without respect and rudely, and the worst part was that he told my friend to get outside to fight. Do you treat your customers like that even if they weren't satisfied about the situations you put them into? Is this how you react to complaints? you fight them?3. the toilet was horrible. You will see toilet papers everywhere, stucked and unflushed toilets! I was staying in the 4th floor, went to 2nd and 3rd and the toilets were equally as horrible. To be honest this is the worst hostel I have ever stayed, and in case you want to be threatened by the rude staff and unflushed toilets, please avoid this hostel.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This place is just a few min walk from Hammersmith station. Easy to reach tje other destinations from there. A lot of pubs and restarants around. You r almost in the midle of megapolis.

Disliked: Sometimes it was a bit dirty!! But in general fir the hostel not bed.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability