We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

70.3% Overall Rating

647 out of 763 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/09/2014)

Edward Lawrence thinks…

"Good location near Hammersmith tube station, good wifi and plenty of bathrooms. Does what it says on the tin"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
17.69 USD

Hostel 77.1% 518 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
53.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
20.93 USD

Hostel 82.1% 344 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
45.44 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
48.15 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
40.57 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
West One Guesthouse
24.34 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 27 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
24.34 USD

Hostel 78.6% 87 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

647 out of 763 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
67.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 363 of 746 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: /

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013

Liked: none

Disliked: The place is rather noisy, long corridors making it diffucult to get a decent nights sleep, when there are groups, thougt they behaved OK.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Talitha Lovegrove

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Talitha would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are great. Had a private room for two people. Room had chest of drawers, wardrobe, and your own mini fridge and a small table with two chairs. Each floor contained male and female toilets, and unisex showers (although we never ran into anyone else in the shower room). Each floor also has several kitchens that have an oven, microwave, kettle etc. Very handy for self catering. Hostel public areas were cleaned daily, and room was cleaned once during a 5 day stay.

Disliked: Owner of the property claimed we paid him only 90 pounds when we had given him 110. We demanded to recount it. Cash only - no credit card payments, which is frustrating. Showers are controlled by this little button that automatically turns the water off every 5 seconds - makes for a freezing and frustrating shower. The water pressure barely trickles out when more than one person showers at a time. Only three computers were working for the internet, so you often had to wait an hour for others to finish. Staff at reception were VERY unhelpful. I asked what days the changing of the guard happens (every second day in winter) and the man said 'April.' The woman would not let me use the phone for a simple local call to organise a tour. I had to constantly ask for more soap and toilet paper. The other reception staff would not let me extend my stay. They said they didn't handle bookings, and that I had to come back at either 9pm or 9am. Very frustrating. Toilets don't have toilet paper or soap, but you are allocated a few rolls and a few soap bars in your room. Tried to use the toilet downstairs before I had checked in, and wasn't told there was no toilet paper or soap in there by reception. Very rude. However, if you don't rely on the staff, the facilities and location and price are worth it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, easy accessibel by underground, not very expensive.

Disliked: you have to take the underground to go to the centre of Londen. Walking isn't a option (1.5 hours)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and clean, and close to the Hammersmith tube station

Disliked: Seems in a bad part of town, but very safe!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

samuel harvey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to from the station. Friendly people staying there. The tv room is a nice place to eat dinner and chill out in.

Disliked: The lift doesn't work so you have to walk up stairs

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Perez Vazquez

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

01 January 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: good location, next to hammersmith & city line and district line nice rooms but see what we disliked :

Disliked: there were FIVE (yes, 5) kitchens in our floor, whereas there was only ONE shower room. The kitchens have a stove, but the staff doesn't provide any pots or pans!!! that doesn't make any sense!!!! it's absolutely unbelievable, they told us that we should buy our own kitchen stuff! also they only give you 1 toilet paper for the whole stay, there are no cleaning products in kitchen, no soap in toilets, etc

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SEAN BROWN

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 January 2013 SEAN would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location for my new years day run in Hyde park! Stroke of luck to with the parking, right outside main entrance. Fridge was handy as well for party beer!

Disliked: Struggled every time trying to get into room . The key and lock kept turning and turning.Had to ask reception twice to be let in.Very frustrating when soaked and drunk , tired at 2.30 am! The room was Hospital White , needed more colour.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Spencer Woods

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Spencer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were very nice, the room and entire place was very clean, and there was a mini fridge in the room. Also access to a kitchen and clean bathrooms.

Disliked: You have to press the button constantly to take a shower. Kind of down a dark road, but not a big deal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly (and upgraded us to a nicer room free of charge!), the room was ideal and the location is good.

Disliked: The communal area wasn't busy so there wasn't a great atmosphere for meeting other people

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012

Liked: Quite clean and new.

Disliked: Very weak shower and you have to press the button every 5 seconds and it stops when you press it, so I was frozen in the shower. No hook inside shower, everyone places the shampoo on the ground. No wifi, you pay 1 pound for 1 hour wifi. The staff were extremely unfriendly especially the guy works at night. Kitchen has no facilities at all, not even one pot or pan.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness, atmosphere and location were excellent

Disliked: the shared showers

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012

Liked: Good location,close to subway,lot of pubs nearby where you can get a cheap,decent meal.

Disliked: Very small, uncomfortable room...extremely small bed(sofa bed with mattress on top), very small bathroom...nothing that would show the true meaning of a name "deluxe room". We did not expect too much, but this was not good value for money.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Damjana Cvelbar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Damjana would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean room and facilities, fridge in the room, towels inclueded in price (they were changed after 3 days)

Disliked: It would be nice (and practical) if there were any hangers or shelves in the showers and bathrooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very well located. Not too far from the city center and serviced by 3 very good tube lines, Circle, District, and Piccadilly. Also, the hostel itself was very clean. The housekeeping staff were especially friendly as well.

Disliked: We tried to check in early at around 7AM however we were told that we had to pay for another night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lucie Susova

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice and clean rooms and kitchen.

Disliked: Terrible toilets, dirty and uncomfortable showers.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Dura

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 December 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and I was impressed with the complementary shower gel and soap. The staff were quite friendly. Good value for money and excellent for anyone wanting a cheap overnight stay.

Disliked: N/A

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012

Liked: The location is excellent.

Disliked: The staff is unfriendly. The receptionist is sitting behind a thick glass like in prison's visisting area.Awkard mental house atmoshpere and smell.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, cleanliness,safety (we stayed in double deluxe room on groundfloor and it was great-basic, but everything we needed)

Disliked: n/a

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean rooms and other facilities. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: No free Wifi and the cleaning could be noisy in the morning ;)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: unfriendly environment, no lift, no internet

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean bathrooms and showers. Also the rooms were up to date and clean. Hammersmith tube station is just down the road. Can really recommend the private two person room!

Disliked: There was construction going on on Saturday morning.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

joga bains

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

15 November 2012 joga would recommend this property

Liked: very clean - rooms and beds clean showers clean enough to have a shower in! toilets clean I have this fixation with cleaniness

Disliked: you can only pay with cash - no credit card machine - which is a bit disappointing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Flavio Zuffa

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Flavio would recommend this property

Liked: PRICE, position

Disliked: Flavio left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, freshly renovated, Big room, nice kittchen, towls and soap included, over all nearly perfect

Disliked: No Toilette paper and a hair in the sower and in the bed but except that very very clean


See all London hostels
See all London hotels