HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

71.5% Overall Rating

562 out of 654 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"It is a cheap hostel and its not far from the city center. There is a small cheap shop at the reception."

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
19.97 USD

Hostel 79.0% 508 reviews
Comfotel Blu
43.62 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Comfotel Grn
36.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Sapphire Hotel
37.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.7% 3 reviews
Plaza Hotel
32.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 10 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
19.97 USD

Hostel 82.3% 330 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
46.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Holland Park Grove
46.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.5%

Overall Rating

562 out of 654 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 316 of 636 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms were neat, clean, and looked newly renovated Its location was excellent for visiting the HMV Hammersmith Apollo for an event

Disliked: no dislikes

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were nice and clean but could use better pillows. Location is a good place for exploring London and our room had a fridge

Disliked: The showers are sooooo rediculous, they had 20 second timers in them which was extremely annoying and not ideal in a cold place like London. They didnt even have a place to hang your clothes or towels or even a shelf to put shampoo on! The staff were also extremely rude and un helpful, seemed to rather play on there computers then acknowledge you. Overall id still stay here again as the price was reasonable for backpackers and it was clean but seriously need to work on the bathroom!!! Oh and the kitchen doesnt have any pans to cook with which was a bummer.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 September 2012

Liked: Good location for my purpose of stay; low rates

Disliked: 1) The staff were just so unfriendly and indifferent. Throughout the week of my stay, I wasn't greeted once nor received any smiles. 2) Because I had booked an extra night prior to arrival, I informed the receptionist during check-in. He didn't tell me that I wouldn't be able to stay in the room for the extra night until the last day morning when I was asked to empty up the room. Since I was in a hurry that morning, I really had to rush back to my room and pack everything up and had them stored in the luggage room. When I told the receptionist that he could've informed me earlier, what I got was an indifferent "NOW I tell you" and no apology whatsoever. 3) The shower experience was simply the worst I've experienced in my whole life (compared also to some remote areas in Borneo). First of all, the water temperature couldn't be adjusted and it was simply too hot. I couldn't stand under the shower directly at all and could only splash some water on my body slowly. Second, the water went off after 10 seconds after the button was pushed, so I had to keep on pushing the button countless times in one shower. Third, the light in the shower went off after 1 minute or 2. So I had to stepped out of the shower quite a few times in one shower just to trigger the sensor showing that I'm still there. Because of the hot water, I sweated after every shower and didn't feel clean. I never disliked going to shower this much. 4) The corridors and room smelled of some very strong detergent or pesticide. It's there all the time everyday. To make thing worse, the window of my room could only be opened very slightly, so the room was always stuffy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and provided good facilities. It's also in a great location, a very short walk to the tube station and plenty of buses.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good.

Disliked: No free Wi-Fi. We see one cockroach! :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Ashby

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 September 2012 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean, close to tube and bus and yet off the main road and quiet. Good value little coffee bar. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Not much character.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SILVIA LEONTE

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 September 2012 SILVIA would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleaness

Disliked: maybe some dishwash solution in the kitchen would be nice.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcelo Kleemann

Alone

Family Holiday

02 September 2012 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Localização e limpeza.

Disliked: Pouca area comum e sem atmosfera.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Will Fowler

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 September 2012 Will would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, sterile, and decently safe. It's also close to the Tube and other eateries, etc.

Disliked: I don't like how there isn't soap or toilet paper already in the bathroom for one to use. It seems cheap on the management's part. I also didn't like having to pay for WiFi/Internet and the staff could have been a little nicer (although, I wouldn't say they were rude). The cash only policy is also lame and inconvenient for guests, which made me think that the staff just didn't care and would rather be focusing on avoiding taxes.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location + new furtinue (because renovation) + cleanliness

Disliked: not friendly staff + not much facilities + no breakfast or kitchen is not fully functional

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

harold reilly

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

19 August 2012 harold would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and close to tube station,i would come back in future and also reccomend to friends and family

Disliked: maybe a breakfast in morning would help,like st christophers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Piergiorgio Evangelista

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Piergiorgio would recommend this property

Liked: I really appreciated the location, it's very close to hammersmith station. The room was clean and tidy

Disliked: The staff was very cold with us, one day I asked for a supermarket and the guy in the reception barely answered me.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near is the bus station and underground. Close to Tesco(shop) if u need something to snack. We were in the room deluxe double and I must admit for the money is good but a little small, almost new, clean. We remained five days and the maid was cleaning the room twice. In room is a refrigerator, two plates, two cup, large cup fot cereal, cutlery. You get towels, little soaps and shampoo. You can use common kitchen where the microwave, toaster, oven and stove without pots.

Disliked: Payment in cash! Ther is no cooking pot in the kitchen. Chargeable internet access!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really modern rooms ..loads of facilities

Disliked: a bit dusty rooms no color get them backpackers to paint on the walls!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Romain FRANCOIS

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 August 2012 Romain would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a pretty quiet area, rooms & facilities are brand new. Really asthonished, specially after all the bad comments have seen around.

Disliked: A bit far from everythg but the tube is just 2mn walk.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Dana Taimrova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2012

Liked: It is near of the tube.

Disliked: It is problem to cook there. There was not cleaning in 7 days.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to hammersmith train station. However, hammersmith is about 20mins from city. Cost 7.70 pounds for a daily off peak train ticket to get into town

Disliked: Had to pay for wifi, no aircon, out of city, noisy

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near the Tube and easy access to the City of London

Disliked: Not a friendly place to meet people. Deal in CASH only. Reception behind glass with small slots convey unfriendliness and heavy security.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

jennifer legrand

Alone

Business / conference

26 July 2012 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, friendly staff, crockery for breakfast and towels provided in the room. Clean kitchen.

Disliked: No toilet paper or hand soap in the communal toilets, instead two rolls and two hotel soaps were given in the room so you have to take your toilet paper and soeap each time you go to toilets ! Rooms should have their personal lavatory. You have to pay by cash only for the room which is annoying.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

grzegorz pyzik

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 July 2012 grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent

Disliked: Cockroaches

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Regine Schmidt

Alone

City break

22 July 2012 Regine would recommend this property

Liked: everything is new and clean, quit rooms, good location, very close to hammersmith station

Disliked: showers: nothing to put your clothes, no comunnity area, nothing where you can eat lunch, etc. (besides on the bed in your room)

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2012

Liked: It was clean, when we asked to move rooms due to the loud noises made by construction inside the building they granted it, the kitchen is half decently kitted out, the room has sufficient plugs. As we were a couple, we had a double room and the bed was very comfy. There didn't seem to be much of a sense of "hostel community", but it's an adequate bed for the night and you can get in using the N9 or N97 from Trafalgar square if you miss the last trains. There is a little high street nearby and a mall containing Primark (much quieter than in Oxford St!) and most major retailers. Marks and Spencers make awesome microwavable food, so it's worth checking out if you'll be eating in. You can reach anything in town easily, it just takes a while.

Disliked: Despite the fact that everything is in the process of being refurbished, there were a few oddities. The fridge is ancient and hums, the blinds were broken, and the shower has no temperature control. You hear everything going on in the hallway, whether it's just someone walking or the powerdrill if you have the misfortune of having a room near the stairs, as the sound reverberates through the stairway very loudly. The rooms are very sparsely furnished: one wardrobe, a tiny table, a fridge and lamp (although this is offset by the very cheap price. This didn't bother me, but could be an issue for others).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

King Yeung Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: I booked a twins room but my friend was not coming. They managed to change it into a dorm bed without any extra charge. Many toilets and bathrooms.

Disliked: it would be better if there are hooks for clothes and towels and somewhere to place shampoo and shower gel i guess. It's a big hostel with many many rooms and they have cleaning lady cleaning everything every afternoon. Yeah the bathroom is really clean but the neighborhood is not that clean so I saw a cockroach in the room below the bunk bed, probably coming in from the street. Hammersmith is a very convenient location BUT it's in Zone B (or Zone 2? I forgot) so it's more expensive to get to the centre. Add this to your budget too. No Free Internet. It's 1 pound/hr. I bought the card but it didn't work. :( So virtually no internet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities.

Disliked: Noisy guests and the smell of cigarettes coming from ouside every time you open the window.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels