HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Abercorn House Hostel London Hostel

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 58%

Location 78%

Safety 67%

Staff 65%

Value 74%

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 58%

Location 78%

Safety 67%

Staff 65%

Value 74%

Showing 61-70 of 436 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Exceptionally clean and looked newly decorated. The beds were comfortable. Honestly the nicest hostel I've stayed in by far in London.

Disliked: Our room was near the check-in counter and common area, so it was a bit noisy. But this is to be expected in hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: War rooms, good location.

Disliked: Join the rest of Europe and stop charging for wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was friendly. It was really close to the Hammersmith underground. I was by myself and everything was fine. But I suppose I was skittish in big unfamiliar City by myself. My room was clean and it was exactly what I needed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I have never experienced a hostel before and thought it might be cheap and dirty. But I can honestly say it was a huge surprise to find the room we had was clean and tidy. Clean and tidy beds and toilet . I would recommend and definitely use this hostel again .

Disliked: There was nothing I could make a complaint about

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've been staying in Abercorn House on my travels to London for two years now, and I've always been satisfied with my choice. Only five minutes walk away there is Hammersmith bus station, and Hammersmith underground station(s), that provide you with great many choices for bus travel and excellent connections to London with four different tube lines (Hammersmith&City, Circle, District and Piccadilly lines). Hammersmith has also couple different Tescos, Sainsburys, Primark, loads of Starbucks cafes, Pret-a-manger (which is the best place to get some tasty food to-go!) and many nice cafes, pubs and restaurants for traveller. If not wanting to eat outside, the hostel provides you with a refrigerator, cutlery and plates in your room (I've never been to a dorm since the private rooms are so cheap so don't know about those), and their shared kitchens have basic needs: oven, microwave, stove. Even though I haven't seen any pots and pans yet, so you might want to stick to microwaveable food, or frozen pizza. Or just fresh fruit.The staff has always been very helpful and kind, and the 24h reception works pretty well for a traveller like me (last time I came in around 2am). There's also a 24/7 open small cafe/kiosk, where they sell some juices, hot drinks, noodles, etc. Nothing fancy.The rooms have two towels for one person, one smaller for hands (toilets are shared in most rooms, but don't worry, I've never seen toilet paper to finish!) and one normal sized for showering. And from what I've seen, they clean everything daily. The adorable cleaning lady who doesn't really speak English even washed the kitchen wall the last time when we were in the kitchen at the same time!

Disliked: Abercorn House, like all the older buildings in UK has some problems with humidity and insulation. It tends to be a bit cold at night, especially if you've left your window open for the day (I often do for better air circulation) but luckily the duvets are fluffy and warm. Windows are also often left open in the showers and toilets, I imagine for the same reason, so it can be chilly in those rooms too. One thing that is a bit weird, is that there is no gender-based showers. The shared showers are also mixed showers, guys and girls in the same. For as a Finn me it's not that bad, I've been going to sauna with strangers for all my life, but I can see how that could be a problem for shy or private people.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location at reasonable price

Disliked: It's cold and even windy in the bathroom. Wi-fi is not free. It costs 1gbp/hour

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: The Russian/Italian girl at reception was pretty arrogant

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had a twin bedroom with private bathroom. It room was clean, towel and linen were changed frequently, shower gel was also provided. There re kitchens that could be used as well that were clean as well. I would stay here another time and I'd recommend it to others

Disliked: The shower handle came out of place so there has to be some maintenance.There is a building site adjacent to it so if you plan to stay at the hostel in the mornings it would be a little bit of a problem due to the noise.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel very nice than I thought. It's quite new and clean.

Disliked: However, it's very noise when someone strongly shut the doors and we still heard others conversation from corridor.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: location

Disliked: very bad staff, very noisy, bad showers, facilities very basic

Check Availability