We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

79.3% Overall Rating

672 out of 791 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2015)

Andrea Hoffer thinks…

"Staff was friendly. It was really close to the Hammersmith underground. I was by myself and everything was fine. But I suppose I was skittish in big unfamiliar City by myself. My room was clean and…"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
15.27 USD

Hostel 77.3% 520 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
30.85 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
21.44 USD

Hostel 81.0% 349 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
34.71 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
45.77 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
43.20 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
West One Guesthouse
23.14 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 27 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
34.71 USD

Hostel 79.2% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

672 out of 791 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 373 of 774 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catarina Rua

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Catarina would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very well localization (2min walk to Hammersmith tube station), the rooms and the shared facilities were tidy and clean. The staff was very kind and gentle.

Disliked: Doesn't have free Wi-fi and TV on the room. The central heating did not work in our room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and room was spotless-really bright and clean. Place had a great atmosphere and though noise carried a bit (you're in London-what do you expect!?) I had a completely undisturbed night. And being only a 5 min walk from Hammersmith tube station puts it in a perfect location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, good location close to Hammersmith station but not noisy, very friendly staffs, value for money

Disliked: bed is too soft and too short

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, easy to find and located very close to public transport.

Disliked: The hostel was really loud between the hours of 11pm and 3am. I stayed at the hostel with my 6 year old son, it was a great place to stay except for those four hours when, what sounded like the majority of residents, got ready to leave to go out for the evening. No matter how tired we were we just couldn't sleep through it. The other issue that we had was on the first day the hostel employees came in to bring us clean towels, lovely, but it could have been disastrous. Luckily nothing bad happened but it made me more than a little nervous when we returned that evening.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Hyldahl

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was very clean and comfortable. The location was great and easy to walk straight to the underground and go straight to the city center. The staff was friendly and the hostel is definitely a great value for money.

Disliked: We can not think of anything we dislike about the hostel except maybe that the wi-fi was rather expensive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The indoor shop

Disliked: A bit noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway.

Disliked: No free wifi. More outside the city than anticipated.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice room size, comfy bed, plenty of shower rooms, toilets and kitchens available.

Disliked: receptionist's altitude can be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rasool Goya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Rasool would recommend this property

Liked: Management snd cleaning

Disliked: Rasool left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean bathroom, comfy bed, fridge on the room

Disliked: Noise in corridors at night

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to metro station great)

Disliked: Stains on sheets and pillows

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location an the prize

Disliked: Some member of staff

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Piñero Losa

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Situation and price

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and extremely cost effective.

Disliked: I saw a couple of cockroaches - or maybe it was the same one...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer mckie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best valued places to stay in London! stayed in manyhostels however thisonewas clean, provided youwith everything you needed, fantastic location (especially ifyou are travelling onto Heathrow or the city) staff are lovely as well.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christin Chan

Alone

City break

15 May 2013 Christin would recommend this property

Liked: clean room

Disliked: Christin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fridge in the room. Location close to Hammersmith Station.

Disliked: Limited space in room (no chair and small table). Kitchen without tables and chairs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Przemyslaw Sasimowski

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Przemyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean, quiet surroundings, good location, close to the tube,

Disliked: thin walls, doors could be more tight to block noises from corridor

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good room and beds. Good shower. Location is great when arriving from heathrow and easy access to anywhere in town via underground. Good pubs nearby with great beer and good price for lunch, dinner and breakfast.

Disliked: The pillows could be better (too thin). No cleaning of the room everyday. Only money is accepted to pay the reservation on check-in. No floor towels for the bathroom.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels as though you are 'tons' of people living in the same hostel due to the number of rooms available but to be fair, it is not. the location is very convenient as it is just a 5 minutes walk to the Hammersmith tube station. i like the idea of having a fridge in the room but everything else seems redundant. an average hostel but value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louisa Vreeswijk

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Louisa would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect for the money, very clean and enough fascilities

Disliked: Not a hostel if you seek company

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was very clean and just the right size for two persons. Beds were really comfy. We didn't have a bathroom in our room but the shared one was just across the hall so it didn't matter at all. Location is perfect, it's really near the tube station and still at a peaceful street with almost no traffic at all. I personally like to stay at Hammersmith when in London for you can shop and eat etc there and don't need to use public transportation every day when there are so many opportunities at a walking distance.

Disliked: The hostel is really loud. The rooms seemed to have no soundproofing at all and it really bothered us especially on our last night when we needed to go to bed early. People living there didn't have any clue how to act during night times: they were literally screaming on the hallways, smashing their doors and making loud noises in the kitchens. Also we found it rather disturbing that the door to the fire escape (?) at our floor was continuously open, day and night. It didn't feel really secure and it made the hallway really chilly. I would recommend this hostel for people who are not easily bothered by loud noises, otherwise it's a nice place to stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the tube. Nice and clean.

Disliked: Poor water pressure of the showers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Cocco

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: the room and bathroom were very clean at the arrival and the forniture also seems quite new and well kept. There was also a small fridge in the room and everything was clean. Also the position is very good as it's 2 minutes from the metro and it was pretty quiet

Disliked: nobody never clean the room while in there, need to ask at the reception to change the towels, the shutters on the window are not the best as in the morning a lot of light comes in and it's a bit annoying to sleep, the wi-fi is very weak and in my room was losing the connection every second and need to pay 1 pound for 1 hour but it's a waste of time with this bad signal. There are no pots and pans in the kitchen so we couldn't actually use it and the last day we left the luggage in the storage room but didn't seem very safe as nobody gave us any receipt and feel like anybody could actually go there and take any luggage

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great it's a lovely neighbourghood & the tube & buses are really close. The room is tiny but in nice condition & perfect for just staying the night and sightseeing by day.

Disliked: There isn't much & this souldn't be read as dislikes, more so as a couple of suggestions to the owners: 1 the most important one is the doors. They MUST be fixed so they don't bang when closing, the noise woke us up (and probably the rest of the hostel) several times during the nights from the late arrivals/party goers. 2 there isn't free wifi, c'mon it's 2013 there should be free wifi like installed in all hostels :)


See all London hostels
See all London hotels