HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Abercorn House Hostel London Hostel

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 64%

Location 84%

Safety 74%

Staff 68%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 64%

Location 84%

Safety 74%

Staff 68%

Value 78%

Showing 51-60 of 166 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: La ubicación principalmente, aunque la gente diga que Hammersmith está un poco alejado para ser zona 2, el hostel está a escasamente 3 minutos a pie de la estación de metro y está muy bien comunicado tanto en metro como en bus. La estación de metro de Hammersmith está además muy bien, tiene bastantes tiendas, cafeterías incluso un supermercado Tesco.Nos alojamos en habitaciones dobles de lujo con baño privado, y aunque eran pequeñitas y más bien austeras (cama, mesita de noche y armario) si solo vas a estar para dormir en el hostel te adaptas bien.

Disliked: Los minilavabos que había en las habitaciones no tragaban bien, se quedaba el agua flotando durante horas, sin embargo a la ducha no le pasaba esto.La limpieza de las habitaciones, nos quedamos de Jueves a Lunes y solo nos limpiaron una vez la habitación. La cocina estaba pasable pero tampoco muy limpia.Las paredes son muy finas y se oye todo, hay puertas corta fuegos que pesan muchísimo y a la hora de abrirlas y cuando se cierran hacen bastante ruido.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location

Disliked: unfriendly staff, no mirror or zink in the room

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good price-quality ratio. As to security, cleaning and location: all are very good, and as described. note this is a cheap hostel, you wont find any fanciness.

Disliked: The wifi is not free, is 1£ for 1 hour. There are kitchens but no kitchen utensils, like pans, pots or mixining spoons, nor salt, oil or detergent.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: Staff was horrible.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean, location was fine

Disliked: no free wi-fi, you had to buy pots and pans at a shop for using the kitchen- thats just a rip-off

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Exceptionally clean and looked newly decorated. The beds were comfortable. Honestly the nicest hostel I've stayed in by far in London.

Disliked: Our room was near the check-in counter and common area, so it was a bit noisy. But this is to be expected in hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: War rooms, good location.

Disliked: Join the rest of Europe and stop charging for wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was friendly. It was really close to the Hammersmith underground. I was by myself and everything was fine. But I suppose I was skittish in big unfamiliar City by myself. My room was clean and it was exactly what I needed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I have never experienced a hostel before and thought it might be cheap and dirty. But I can honestly say it was a huge surprise to find the room we had was clean and tidy. Clean and tidy beds and toilet . I would recommend and definitely use this hostel again .

Disliked: There was nothing I could make a complaint about

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've been staying in Abercorn House on my travels to London for two years now, and I've always been satisfied with my choice. Only five minutes walk away there is Hammersmith bus station, and Hammersmith underground station(s), that provide you with great many choices for bus travel and excellent connections to London with four different tube lines (Hammersmith&City, Circle, District and Piccadilly lines). Hammersmith has also couple different Tescos, Sainsburys, Primark, loads of Starbucks cafes, Pret-a-manger (which is the best place to get some tasty food to-go!) and many nice cafes, pubs and restaurants for traveller. If not wanting to eat outside, the hostel provides you with a refrigerator, cutlery and plates in your room (I've never been to a dorm since the private rooms are so cheap so don't know about those), and their shared kitchens have basic needs: oven, microwave, stove. Even though I haven't seen any pots and pans yet, so you might want to stick to microwaveable food, or frozen pizza. Or just fresh fruit.The staff has always been very helpful and kind, and the 24h reception works pretty well for a traveller like me (last time I came in around 2am). There's also a 24/7 open small cafe/kiosk, where they sell some juices, hot drinks, noodles, etc. Nothing fancy.The rooms have two towels for one person, one smaller for hands (toilets are shared in most rooms, but don't worry, I've never seen toilet paper to finish!) and one normal sized for showering. And from what I've seen, they clean everything daily. The adorable cleaning lady who doesn't really speak English even washed the kitchen wall the last time when we were in the kitchen at the same time!

Disliked: Abercorn House, like all the older buildings in UK has some problems with humidity and insulation. It tends to be a bit cold at night, especially if you've left your window open for the day (I often do for better air circulation) but luckily the duvets are fluffy and warm. Windows are also often left open in the showers and toilets, I imagine for the same reason, so it can be chilly in those rooms too. One thing that is a bit weird, is that there is no gender-based showers. The shared showers are also mixed showers, guys and girls in the same. For as a Finn me it's not that bad, I've been going to sauna with strangers for all my life, but I can see how that could be a problem for shy or private people.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability