We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

78.7% Overall Rating

716 out of 845 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2015)

"There is a garden, comfortable dining room, many kitchens and plus that mystical spooky feeling that I got lost while walking in those long corridors"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
18.57 USD

Hostel 76.6% 524 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
42.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
20.13 USD

Hostel 80.1% 353 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
35.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
58.51 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
43.69 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
35.11 USD

Hostel 79.2% 88 reviews
Safestay Holland Park
21.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

716 out of 845 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
73.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 399 of 827 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 October 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Bazile

Alone

Business / conference

22 October 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutely perfect.

Disliked: n/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient and value for money compared to other london hostels.

Disliked: Biological washing powder used on sheets.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2013

Liked: The moment when I finally left.

Disliked: Staff is very unfriendly. Check in is literally 2 words just thrown over to the guest. Check out same, no smile, no thank you, nothing. They gave me a hand written receipt which makes me feel like I am at a very cheap place. Doors are sooo noisy, toilets dirty and so on.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything you need and nothing you don't.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean rooms, fridge

Disliked: Small rooms, noise, thin walls

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room and people

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is a bit far from the city center, but London is so huge ! The very good point is the connexion with the tube (Picadilly Line to come from St Pancras) and bus lines (9 and 10). Our room was clean, and there were some stuffs to eat, and a fridge in !

Disliked: Just a think : a hook in shower would be a must, because showers are clean, but there is no space to put our stuff...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacey Coffin

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location. Fridge in room.

Disliked: No wifi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers and toilettes were very clean and confo roortable. I like the fact that the fridge was inside the room.

Disliked: The reception wasn't very kind, and the towel's change wasn't often enough in my opinion. Only 1 time in 5 days.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Basu Sharma

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Basu would recommend this property

Liked: Its location. It was very near to Tube station and a nice localtiy.

Disliked: Hostel staff was not much bothered about how customers are feeling.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to Hammersmith underground. Clean and modern inside.

Disliked: No free wifi. Only hot taps in the bathroom. Chairs in the tv room are not comfortable at all, no where to sit and lounge.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 干净,比较安静,在居民区里面,进来要先拐进一个巷子。但是离地铁站还算进,大概走路十分钟不到。但是离市中心略远了点。staff很nice。设施还可以,有床上用品和毛巾,还有餐具。。。有厨房可以用。bathroom很干净。总体来说还不错。

Disliked: 离市中心略远,没有吹风筒。

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Noce and clean an quiet

Disliked: No iron

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013

Liked: Refrigerator in room.

Disliked: Abercorn House Hostel London was a horrible experience. No sink in room. Kitchen sink nozzles were overgrown with thick hairy green mold. No chairs, tables, or desks in rooms. The Iraqi front desk staff were profoundly rude from behind their bulletproof glass. Room wasn't ready. Made us wait in hall with luggage for 45 minutes. Windows open to an active construction site. Noise from saws, drills, and garbage dumping runs from 8am-5pm, Saturday included. The courtyard is totally cluttered and trashy with old mattresses, furniture, and assorted rubbish. Internet is not free. Wifi costs £1 for every hour of use. Wifi coverage is spotty and slow. Some sites blocked. They charge £5 for tokens to use the washer/dryer. If you open the dryer door to check on your clothes, it resets your time and they force you to pay again. Even though they could easily give you another token to finish your load, they have zero tolerance for opening the dryer door, despite the fact that there are no postings. They see every occurrence as an up-selling opportunity and charge you more. The lukewarm showers are the type where you push a button for ten seconds of running water. The vibe at the Abercorn hostel London is very negative. Most travelers lay low by staying in their rooms or leaving. The location seems good for the price, but you will easily make up the difference in tube tariffs and additional charges from the hostel. Exterior doors and gates are left open all day and night so any person from the street can walk directly to your room or into the unblocked showers without passing the front desk. Very unsafe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adrian Pietrzak

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice beds, 24h reception

Disliked: Staff, they could be more friendly,

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sothea Stéphanie MEY

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Sothea Stéphanie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. The private double room was good, what I expected ans quite clean, with a fridge too. It was quiet too, except for the noisy doors sometimes.

Disliked: The staff could be more friendly and welcoming, but it didn't bother me that much.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

GIANLUCA SALVITTI

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 GIANLUCA would recommend this property

Liked: La posizione è ottima vicinissima alla tube e alla stazione.degli autobus

Disliked: La porta antincendio sempre aperta

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Malte Buecken

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Hammersmith is a prime location for transport Nothing good to say about the hostel

Disliked: - How helpful is a kitchen without equipment? - Don't even dare talk to the staff

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money - bargain private double room felt just like a decent hotel but for a much lower price.

Disliked: The hostel is popular with all age groups and even families, so maybe not the place to stay if you just want to party.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Máté-Vikár

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy, nice place, really good location (metro line just a few minutes walk), feeling safety at night on the street there. Check out time at 11.00. Really good :)! Three kitchens on our floor, microvawe oven, oven. Fridge and dinner set in the room. Towels were changed (without asking for it). Liquid soap in showers. Well-fitting windows, LED lamps everywhere.

Disliked: Noisy shutting doors because no door handles outside of the doors. No pots and dish soap in kitchen. No hanger in showers for clothes to put on.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

michel galin

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 July 2013 michel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the price is affordable! The rooms have been newly refurbished.

Disliked: We found a few cockroaches in our room. Stuffy air in the room. No free wifi !!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a quiet little street, within a five minute walk of plenty of restaurants, shops and the Underground. We managed to check in and out without any problems, but didn't really see much of the staff for the rest of our stay. We had booked a room for two with a private bathroom, which appeared to be clean and well kept. We knew the hostel had been renovated recently, and it definitely shows. The bathroom was rather small but had everything you needed, including soap and shampoo. They also provided cutlery and dishes, and a fridge is also present in the room. Overall, you get what you pay for, and I would consider going back here.

Disliked: We visited during the heat wave and had a bit of trouble with cooling down the room, because there is no airconditioning in the room. Fortunately all three windows could be opened completely, and we had to keep them open during the night. The bathroom especially was really small, and the showerhead is attached to the wall. Hammersmith is a nice neighbourhood, but it can take up to half an hour or more to get to St Pancras from here. There seems to be no elevator in the building, and the firedoor downstairs is kept propped open at all times, which happens to be right next to the luggage room, so we opted to store our luggage in St Pancras. We had a bit of trouble with opening our door from the inside, you have to use a decent amount of force to get it open. But overall these were minor annoyances.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sparkling clean.

Disliked: Push-button showers and noise from slamming doors.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels