We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

75.2% Overall Rating

680 out of 802 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2015)

"Exceptionally clean and looked newly decorated. The beds were comfortable. Honestly the nicest hostel I've stayed in by far in London."

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
17.69 USD

Hostel 76.0% 523 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
40.87 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
16.20 USD

Hostel 81.0% 351 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
33.44 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
54.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
40.62 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
West One Guesthouse
22.29 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 27 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
33.44 USD

Hostel 79.2% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.2%

Overall Rating

680 out of 802 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
70.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 377 of 785 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

michel galin

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 July 2013 michel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the price is affordable! The rooms have been newly refurbished.

Disliked: We found a few cockroaches in our room. Stuffy air in the room. No free wifi !!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a quiet little street, within a five minute walk of plenty of restaurants, shops and the Underground. We managed to check in and out without any problems, but didn't really see much of the staff for the rest of our stay. We had booked a room for two with a private bathroom, which appeared to be clean and well kept. We knew the hostel had been renovated recently, and it definitely shows. The bathroom was rather small but had everything you needed, including soap and shampoo. They also provided cutlery and dishes, and a fridge is also present in the room. Overall, you get what you pay for, and I would consider going back here.

Disliked: We visited during the heat wave and had a bit of trouble with cooling down the room, because there is no airconditioning in the room. Fortunately all three windows could be opened completely, and we had to keep them open during the night. The bathroom especially was really small, and the showerhead is attached to the wall. Hammersmith is a nice neighbourhood, but it can take up to half an hour or more to get to St Pancras from here. There seems to be no elevator in the building, and the firedoor downstairs is kept propped open at all times, which happens to be right next to the luggage room, so we opted to store our luggage in St Pancras. We had a bit of trouble with opening our door from the inside, you have to use a decent amount of force to get it open. But overall these were minor annoyances.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sparkling clean.

Disliked: Push-button showers and noise from slamming doors.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Hewer

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean, Good value

Disliked: No sink in room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Bond

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: It was absolutely spotless, the little cleaning lady was busy all the time we were there. There wasn't a speck of dust anywhere. The rooms were well equipped with a fridge and 4x plates, bowls, cutlery and mugs. Also towels were provided! The kitchens were down the corridor and again kept clean. The bathrooms were kept clean by the lady and always had soap and loo roll. It was cheap!

Disliked: The reception staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming. There was no washing up liquid in the kitchen. Guests didn't always feel it necessary to flush the loos after they've been, which is trampy but not the fault of the hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Hager

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and secure

Disliked: no towels, pans or washing-up liquid in the kitchens

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Badar AL-magharabi

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

10 July 2013 Badar would recommend this property

Liked: Clean quite cheap close to central London

Disliked: Almost unfriendly staff very very very thin walls ( I could hear everything in the room next to me). noisy sometimes. I have booked 31 nights and later on i decided to cancel one night but they refuse to give me any refund for that which seems to be a waste of money They accept only cash.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013

Liked: Location near Hammersmith tube station. Single rooms available.

Disliked: No toilet paper in toilets; have to bring it from the room. Showers have no hooks to put clothes/towels on.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the area that it was located in. There were so many things to do just right there. I also liked how clean it was. It was nice too that they had a fridge in our room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Felt very safe. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Louise Howard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: The towels were soft and the beds were clean. Room was equipped with a fridge and a table and chair. Quite a few small kitchens available equipped with stove, microwave and sink. Relatively easy to train into the main areas of London after a short walk to the station.

Disliked: The room: the blinds did not close fully, letting the sun in very early every morning. The doors were very loud and the walls very thin. The staff: dumped all my things off the bed onto the floor when 'cleaning', bending several important papers. Were very, very loud when cleaning early in the morning. Filled the hallways with dirty bed linen and rubbish when cleaning rooms. Very unhelpful reception staff. I had to wake one up to check out in the morning. The facilities: some toilets were not gender specific. Showers far too hot and operated on a 20 second button system that when pressed too hard, stopped flowing for a few seconds. One of the showers has an open, completely transparent window *in* it. Lights and fans work on a sensor system. Good in the hallways but bad when the lights go off when you're in the shower. There is a fully stocked but unmanned cafe in the foyer with no instructions on who to ask if you want to buy something. They also only accept cash which led to a nerve racking walk and train trip with over £140 in my wallet. Not ideal for a solo 19 year old girl in London.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and close to tube , sheets changed plus towels

Disliked: Uncomfy bed , no hand soap in toilet or paper towels

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abhijeet Joshi

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Abhijeet would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, Location

Disliked: Dettol smell, and no card payment possible...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many Kitchens on each floor

Disliked: I a shower room with 4 showers, only 1 could take a shower. On the other showers water was running very low

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GLENYS FLETCHER

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 July 2013 GLENYS would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a double ensuite which felt more like a hotel than a hostel, very good quality for money. Very clean room and they even allowed us to leave our bags in our room before the check in time as we had arrived early. Very helpful, would definitely stay again, literally 2 minute walk from Hammersmith Bus Station.

Disliked: GLENYS left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not far from Hammersmith tube on a quiet street

Disliked: many kitchens which is good but these seemed to outnumber bath rooms and shower rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john sibary

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

07 July 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent sized rooms with plenty of room for 4 people, the bedding was clean as was the room, the bedding was changed during my stay which was good, fantastic room mates.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe area, very clean corridors, toilets, kitchen. Amiable staff. Not very noisy

Disliked: Dirty walls in the room (private room), a lot of hard-to-open doors, no utensils in the kitchen, rusty kettle inside, no glass dish in the microwave. I couldn't buy a place in a twin room, I had to buy two places though I was alone and didn't use another bed. Expensive for a twin room with beds, a wardrobe, a fridge and dishware.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Rosenqvist

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

30 June 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and nice beds! had a good sleep!

Disliked: Maybe a boring house.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katarzyna Fijalkowska

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Zewnetrzny wyglad budynku, spokoj, dostepnosc pralni i bliskosc do stacji metra.

Disliked: Cena

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carol crerar

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 June 2013 carol would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was absolutely immaculate. we had a 4 bed dorm with a fridge and pots. I never comment or write reviews but have been back through the front door unpacked and had to make a comment straight away. we usually stay in 3/4 star hotels and pay for it. this was fantastic value for money especially for London. we would recommend this hostel 101%.thank you Abercorn for a really pleasant experience.....carol crerar and family....

Disliked: no where to hang clothes in the shower. but coped.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicole Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013

Liked: Not alot

Disliked: The beds were shocking, my sheets and doona were dirty. The towels were thread bare. The showers worked on a push button system and lasted 1 minute!!! and were so tiny and miles away from our room. It was white sterile with no atmosphere and too many stairs. with luggage going up and down was a pain.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013

Liked: It was reasonably close to the centre of London and there were shops, pubs, supermarket etc in the local area

Disliked: The room was small, bright and noisy due to the old fridge in the room. They never cleaned our room during our stay and we only had one towel each the whole time. They were constantly mopping the halls with a heavy amount of disinfectant, the smell was so strong it made me feel sick. They didn't seem to clean the other areas such as the bathrooms and showers. There was no toilet paper, soap or paper towels in the bathroom and the showers were cold half the time. You have to push a button for the shower and the water lasts about 15 seconds, you also can't control the temperature. We had to pay 5 pounds to wash some clothes which I think is excessive but haven't experienced washing clothes at other places in London so can't be sure. The whole place was extremely noisy, not from people talking so much but from the constant slamming of doors which woke me up every night and annoyed me every day. Also you have to pay for Wi-Fi which I usually wouldn't mind but on top of everything else I was not impressed. Oh and there is absolutely nothing in the kitchen apart from an oven and a microwave, not one pot or pan or utensil so I don't see the point of having a kitchen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shared facilities were very clean, room was very clean, staff were friendly and helpful, located close to the tube station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very near the tube but it's a bit far from the sights - although for the price paid it's to be expected. It's situated pretty much opposite a major transport hub.

Disliked: The noise from other rooms/the corridors was very loud at times.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels