HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

66.6% Overall Rating

621 out of 731 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

michele botticelli thinks…

"I would suggest this property only for 2 3 days because the only positive thing is the position: less than 2 mins from Hammersmith Underground"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.8% 514 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
55.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
21.91 USD

Hostel 80.2% 339 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
47.55 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
50.38 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 64.9% 154 reviews
Kensington West
49.67 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
West One Guesthouse
25.47 USD

Guesthouse 74.2% 24 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
32.26 USD

Hostel 77.4% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.6%

Overall Rating

621 out of 731 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
61.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 350 of 717 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Häkkinen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the tube station, VERY clean! They provided fridge in the room and that was great and useful, also cups and plates, microwaves and water boilers for use. They also had a laundry room,I think it was a bit expensive but glad they had it. I would definitely use this hostel again!

Disliked: All the noise from hallway came trough to the rooms, makes sleeping hard in the mornings.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean but a bit too expensive

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catarina Rua

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Catarina would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very well localization (2min walk to Hammersmith tube station), the rooms and the shared facilities were tidy and clean. The staff was very kind and gentle.

Disliked: Doesn't have free Wi-fi and TV on the room. The central heating did not work in our room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and room was spotless-really bright and clean. Place had a great atmosphere and though noise carried a bit (you're in London-what do you expect!?) I had a completely undisturbed night. And being only a 5 min walk from Hammersmith tube station puts it in a perfect location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, good location close to Hammersmith station but not noisy, very friendly staffs, value for money

Disliked: bed is too soft and too short

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, easy to find and located very close to public transport.

Disliked: The hostel was really loud between the hours of 11pm and 3am. I stayed at the hostel with my 6 year old son, it was a great place to stay except for those four hours when, what sounded like the majority of residents, got ready to leave to go out for the evening. No matter how tired we were we just couldn't sleep through it. The other issue that we had was on the first day the hostel employees came in to bring us clean towels, lovely, but it could have been disastrous. Luckily nothing bad happened but it made me more than a little nervous when we returned that evening.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Hyldahl

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was very clean and comfortable. The location was great and easy to walk straight to the underground and go straight to the city center. The staff was friendly and the hostel is definitely a great value for money.

Disliked: We can not think of anything we dislike about the hostel except maybe that the wi-fi was rather expensive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The indoor shop

Disliked: A bit noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway.

Disliked: No free wifi. More outside the city than anticipated.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice room size, comfy bed, plenty of shower rooms, toilets and kitchens available.

Disliked: receptionist's altitude can be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rasool Goya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Rasool would recommend this property

Liked: Management snd cleaning

Disliked: Rasool left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean bathroom, comfy bed, fridge on the room

Disliked: Noise in corridors at night

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to metro station great)

Disliked: Stains on sheets and pillows

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location an the prize

Disliked: Some member of staff

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Piñero Losa

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Situation and price

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and extremely cost effective.

Disliked: I saw a couple of cockroaches - or maybe it was the same one...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer mckie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best valued places to stay in London! stayed in manyhostels however thisonewas clean, provided youwith everything you needed, fantastic location (especially ifyou are travelling onto Heathrow or the city) staff are lovely as well.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christin Chan

Alone

City break

15 May 2013 Christin would recommend this property

Liked: clean room

Disliked: Christin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fridge in the room. Location close to Hammersmith Station.

Disliked: Limited space in room (no chair and small table). Kitchen without tables and chairs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Przemyslaw Sasimowski

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Przemyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean, quiet surroundings, good location, close to the tube,

Disliked: thin walls, doors could be more tight to block noises from corridor

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good room and beds. Good shower. Location is great when arriving from heathrow and easy access to anywhere in town via underground. Good pubs nearby with great beer and good price for lunch, dinner and breakfast.

Disliked: The pillows could be better (too thin). No cleaning of the room everyday. Only money is accepted to pay the reservation on check-in. No floor towels for the bathroom.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels as though you are 'tons' of people living in the same hostel due to the number of rooms available but to be fair, it is not. the location is very convenient as it is just a 5 minutes walk to the Hammersmith tube station. i like the idea of having a fridge in the room but everything else seems redundant. an average hostel but value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louisa Vreeswijk

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Louisa would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect for the money, very clean and enough fascilities

Disliked: Not a hostel if you seek company

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was very clean and just the right size for two persons. Beds were really comfy. We didn't have a bathroom in our room but the shared one was just across the hall so it didn't matter at all. Location is perfect, it's really near the tube station and still at a peaceful street with almost no traffic at all. I personally like to stay at Hammersmith when in London for you can shop and eat etc there and don't need to use public transportation every day when there are so many opportunities at a walking distance.

Disliked: The hostel is really loud. The rooms seemed to have no soundproofing at all and it really bothered us especially on our last night when we needed to go to bed early. People living there didn't have any clue how to act during night times: they were literally screaming on the hallways, smashing their doors and making loud noises in the kitchens. Also we found it rather disturbing that the door to the fire escape (?) at our floor was continuously open, day and night. It didn't feel really secure and it made the hallway really chilly. I would recommend this hostel for people who are not easily bothered by loud noises, otherwise it's a nice place to stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the tube. Nice and clean.

Disliked: Poor water pressure of the showers.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels