We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

77.1% Overall Rating

662 out of 781 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2015)

Maria Cassar thinks…

"We had a twin bedroom with private bathroom. It room was clean, towel and linen were changed frequently, shower gel was also provided. There re kitchens that could be used as well that were clean as…"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
14.44 USD

Hostel 77.9% 519 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
35.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
14.44 USD

Hostel 81.8% 346 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
64.91 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
37.33 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
35.70 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
West One Guesthouse
24.34 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 27 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
32.46 USD

Hostel 79.2% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.1%

Overall Rating

662 out of 781 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
64.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 368 of 764 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Felt very safe. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Louise Howard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: The towels were soft and the beds were clean. Room was equipped with a fridge and a table and chair. Quite a few small kitchens available equipped with stove, microwave and sink. Relatively easy to train into the main areas of London after a short walk to the station.

Disliked: The room: the blinds did not close fully, letting the sun in very early every morning. The doors were very loud and the walls very thin. The staff: dumped all my things off the bed onto the floor when 'cleaning', bending several important papers. Were very, very loud when cleaning early in the morning. Filled the hallways with dirty bed linen and rubbish when cleaning rooms. Very unhelpful reception staff. I had to wake one up to check out in the morning. The facilities: some toilets were not gender specific. Showers far too hot and operated on a 20 second button system that when pressed too hard, stopped flowing for a few seconds. One of the showers has an open, completely transparent window *in* it. Lights and fans work on a sensor system. Good in the hallways but bad when the lights go off when you're in the shower. There is a fully stocked but unmanned cafe in the foyer with no instructions on who to ask if you want to buy something. They also only accept cash which led to a nerve racking walk and train trip with over £140 in my wallet. Not ideal for a solo 19 year old girl in London.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and close to tube , sheets changed plus towels

Disliked: Uncomfy bed , no hand soap in toilet or paper towels

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abhijeet Joshi

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Abhijeet would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, Location

Disliked: Dettol smell, and no card payment possible...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many Kitchens on each floor

Disliked: I a shower room with 4 showers, only 1 could take a shower. On the other showers water was running very low

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GLENYS FLETCHER

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 July 2013 GLENYS would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a double ensuite which felt more like a hotel than a hostel, very good quality for money. Very clean room and they even allowed us to leave our bags in our room before the check in time as we had arrived early. Very helpful, would definitely stay again, literally 2 minute walk from Hammersmith Bus Station.

Disliked: GLENYS left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not far from Hammersmith tube on a quiet street

Disliked: many kitchens which is good but these seemed to outnumber bath rooms and shower rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john sibary

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

07 July 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent sized rooms with plenty of room for 4 people, the bedding was clean as was the room, the bedding was changed during my stay which was good, fantastic room mates.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe area, very clean corridors, toilets, kitchen. Amiable staff. Not very noisy

Disliked: Dirty walls in the room (private room), a lot of hard-to-open doors, no utensils in the kitchen, rusty kettle inside, no glass dish in the microwave. I couldn't buy a place in a twin room, I had to buy two places though I was alone and didn't use another bed. Expensive for a twin room with beds, a wardrobe, a fridge and dishware.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Rosenqvist

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

30 June 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and nice beds! had a good sleep!

Disliked: Maybe a boring house.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katarzyna Fijalkowska

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Zewnetrzny wyglad budynku, spokoj, dostepnosc pralni i bliskosc do stacji metra.

Disliked: Cena

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carol crerar

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 June 2013 carol would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was absolutely immaculate. we had a 4 bed dorm with a fridge and pots. I never comment or write reviews but have been back through the front door unpacked and had to make a comment straight away. we usually stay in 3/4 star hotels and pay for it. this was fantastic value for money especially for London. we would recommend this hostel 101%.thank you Abercorn for a really pleasant experience.....carol crerar and family....

Disliked: no where to hang clothes in the shower. but coped.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicole Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013

Liked: Not alot

Disliked: The beds were shocking, my sheets and doona were dirty. The towels were thread bare. The showers worked on a push button system and lasted 1 minute!!! and were so tiny and miles away from our room. It was white sterile with no atmosphere and too many stairs. with luggage going up and down was a pain.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013

Liked: It was reasonably close to the centre of London and there were shops, pubs, supermarket etc in the local area

Disliked: The room was small, bright and noisy due to the old fridge in the room. They never cleaned our room during our stay and we only had one towel each the whole time. They were constantly mopping the halls with a heavy amount of disinfectant, the smell was so strong it made me feel sick. They didn't seem to clean the other areas such as the bathrooms and showers. There was no toilet paper, soap or paper towels in the bathroom and the showers were cold half the time. You have to push a button for the shower and the water lasts about 15 seconds, you also can't control the temperature. We had to pay 5 pounds to wash some clothes which I think is excessive but haven't experienced washing clothes at other places in London so can't be sure. The whole place was extremely noisy, not from people talking so much but from the constant slamming of doors which woke me up every night and annoyed me every day. Also you have to pay for Wi-Fi which I usually wouldn't mind but on top of everything else I was not impressed. Oh and there is absolutely nothing in the kitchen apart from an oven and a microwave, not one pot or pan or utensil so I don't see the point of having a kitchen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shared facilities were very clean, room was very clean, staff were friendly and helpful, located close to the tube station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very near the tube but it's a bit far from the sights - although for the price paid it's to be expected. It's situated pretty much opposite a major transport hub.

Disliked: The noise from other rooms/the corridors was very loud at times.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chengyue Li

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Chengyue would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for the money, private room with everything in a hotel room but a bathroom at this price is unparalled

Disliked: staff not friendly enough, and the luggage room doesn't look nice/safe

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013

Liked: Tube close to hostel

Disliked: COLD water in the shower, first day 10 seconds warm water, then cold....second day ONLY COLD WATER, no free WiFi, Room very small and fridge next to bed (sound wont let you sleep at night), Walls very thin...you can hear almost everything the neighbours do and say...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Häkkinen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the tube station, VERY clean! They provided fridge in the room and that was great and useful, also cups and plates, microwaves and water boilers for use. They also had a laundry room,I think it was a bit expensive but glad they had it. I would definitely use this hostel again!

Disliked: All the noise from hallway came trough to the rooms, makes sleeping hard in the mornings.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean but a bit too expensive

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catarina Rua

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Catarina would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very well localization (2min walk to Hammersmith tube station), the rooms and the shared facilities were tidy and clean. The staff was very kind and gentle.

Disliked: Doesn't have free Wi-fi and TV on the room. The central heating did not work in our room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and room was spotless-really bright and clean. Place had a great atmosphere and though noise carried a bit (you're in London-what do you expect!?) I had a completely undisturbed night. And being only a 5 min walk from Hammersmith tube station puts it in a perfect location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, good location close to Hammersmith station but not noisy, very friendly staffs, value for money

Disliked: bed is too soft and too short

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, easy to find and located very close to public transport.

Disliked: The hostel was really loud between the hours of 11pm and 3am. I stayed at the hostel with my 6 year old son, it was a great place to stay except for those four hours when, what sounded like the majority of residents, got ready to leave to go out for the evening. No matter how tired we were we just couldn't sleep through it. The other issue that we had was on the first day the hostel employees came in to bring us clean towels, lovely, but it could have been disastrous. Luckily nothing bad happened but it made me more than a little nervous when we returned that evening.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Hyldahl

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was very clean and comfortable. The location was great and easy to walk straight to the underground and go straight to the city center. The staff was friendly and the hostel is definitely a great value for money.

Disliked: We can not think of anything we dislike about the hostel except maybe that the wi-fi was rather expensive.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels