HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

71.8% Overall Rating

565 out of 657 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Giulia Tanganelli thinks…

"Its location, near to Hammersmith Tube Station, our room, quite large and well furnished. There were also a lot of kitchens and bathrooms so that we didn't have to wait to use the toilet, or have a…"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
16.64 USD

Hostel 79.0% 508 reviews
Comfotel Blu
43.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Comfotel Grn
38.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Sapphire Hotel
44.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.0% 4 reviews
Plaza Hotel
32.15 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 10 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
26.72 USD

Hostel 82.3% 330 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
47.05 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Holland Park Grove
50.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.8%

Overall Rating

565 out of 657 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 643 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Orzelek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: The Abercorn house hostel is located next to the Hammersmith metro station. We stayed in a 4 bed room, which was very clean. Fridge was included in a stanard price.

Disliked: You have to keep the key with you at all time, because doors are automatically closed. Beds were very noisy. You cannot move while sleeping.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Merje Chaabi

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Merje would recommend this property

Liked: Looked new and clean.

Disliked: Merje left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel położony w świetnej lokalizacji (druga strefa), z hostelu do stacji metra Hammersmith ok. 5 min. pieszo (bardzo blisko). Dojazd do ścisłego centrum zajmuje pół godziny. Obiekt położony w bocznej uliczce- cicho od ulicy. W obu pokojach lodówki, mydła, szampony oraz ręczniki (oszczędność miejsca w walizce) oraz talerze, kubki i sztućce, w pierwszym szafa, drugi z otwartą wnęką i drążkiem. Na stacji metra mini galeria handlowa, m.in. Tesco czynne do 24:00. W sąsiedztwie sklepy i kafejki. Cały obiekt sprawia wrażenie czystego i schludnego. Do intensywnego zwiedzania super, także wyjazd z przyjaciółmi. Nie polecam dla rodzin z dziećmi.

Disliked: Mimo faktu, iż kuchni jest na piętrze sporo i są świetnie wyposażone (kuchenka z piekarnikiem, czajnik elektryczny, kuchenka mikrofalowa, toster)- absolutny brak w nich garnków czy płynu do mycia naczyń, więc są praktycznie zbędne. W pokoju tylko główne światło, co przy chęci poczytania zmusza do wstawania. Jeden, droższy pokój z łazienką totalnie ciemny- 1. okno zza wnęki, trudno się w nim obudzić! Dodatkowo za oknem pracujący robotnicy (od ok. 8 rano). Pomiędzy pokojami dość cienkie ścianki działowe (rozmowy, kaszel i chrapanie słychać głośno- mimo kulturalnych sąsiadów). Dodatkowym minusem jest brak windy (3 lub więcej pięter w budynku), a także fakt, iż w jednej rezerwacji dla 4. os. dostaliśmy pokoje w dwóch skrajnych częściach hostelu- podróż trwała 2-3 min.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david guerin

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

26 April 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: very pleased with our stay good value clean comfortable and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Internet booking could be improved keeps over booking.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, recently renovated and room floors were tile so there wasn't any dust, hair or anything. Showers and toilets were ok, each guest is given their own toilet rolls and soaps, which I think is a good idea. Location is really good, 3 miniutes walk to Hammersmith bus and tube stations. There are lots of bus lines ending in Hammersmith and 5 tube lines passing from stations. Heatrow airport is 25 minutes away from Hammersmith station.

Disliked: As all the floors ar tile you can hear footsteps when you are in your room and sometimes it can be noisy, but walls are not that thin so I didn't have a problem with sleeping.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dragan Vlahovic

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Dragan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything,

Disliked: The staff members never smiling!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernadett Szabó

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Bernadett would recommend this property

Liked: Very well equipped rooms and excellent location.

Disliked: The bathroom is too cold.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Damon Bary

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

15 April 2013 Damon would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very clean, facilities are quite good. Double room was quite large with lots of storage space.

Disliked: Noise travels throughout the hostel making it very hard to sleep when there are people coming in and out constantly. Walls must be paper thin.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Niamh Gorry

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is incredibly clean and the beds are comfy. This is the second time i've used this hostel and i would choose it again. It is so close to the tube, quiet area, affordable. Great place.

Disliked: It's not very easy to meet other travellers as there is no kind of communal area that is used but when travelling in a group this wouldn't matter.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Удобное расположение. Рядом метро и автобусы

Disliked: Душ и туалет общие на этаже. И не разделены на М и Ж

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No decoration, completely white room. Only one light, and interruptor away from the bed. Vacuum noise early in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro. Easy to reach main touristic sights. Fridge in the room. Available many kitchens.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2013

Liked: location.

Disliked: Not really a kitchen, no common place to meet people. If you are looking for a place to have fun and meet people, it is not the good adress! Not very clean, we had to ask the staff to remove a dustbin which was in the room for 2 days. Fridge, toilet paper in the room > not really convenient huge corridors, look like a hotel more than a friendly hostel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, really close to Hammersmith Tube Station and local shops/cafe's. Good laundry facilities and heating in rooms.

Disliked: The walls are thin, you can pretty much hear every little thing that happens, room next door had a baby that never stopped crying. There are no utensils in the kitchen so using the stoves and oven is pretty much out of the question...not even any sponges to wash up with, also there was a shortage of toilet paper!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean in my room.

Disliked: Some staff were not very friendly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jakub Sedlak

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2013 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: very clean rooms, showers, beds, my friends like this hostel as well. very good location. only two minutes to Hammersmith underground.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that it is cheap and clean

Disliked: very noisy. the walls are very thin and you can hear people talking int he room next to mine. Also on good friday the laundry came at 6am so lots of big metal cages going across the tiles floors in the corridor and banging of doors. i was not happy. i had 2 nights of not much sleep at all!,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marta Montero

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 March 2013 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Limpio. Muy limpio. Y bien situado. Te guardan las maletas si te hace falta al irte.

Disliked: El internet es de pago... £1 la hora.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: have to pay for wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room were clean and staff were friendly...we also got upgraded! :) I read in the reviews that the area didn't seem very safe, but its 5 mins from hammersmith station and the fact that its down a cul-de-sac just means its not noisy! perfectly located!

Disliked: walls were quite thin, we could hear our neighbours!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price and good location

Disliked: They offer wifi internet connection for 1pound/hour, but it is so slow, that is useless.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Iveta Freimane

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Iveta would recommend this property

Liked: We were excited about the location. We lived close to the center. 250m from the London underground station Hammersmith (4 different underground lines, the secon underground zone (it's very important, because tickets are cheaper (London Underground has 6 zones)). 2 stops to the Westfield shopping center, one of the largest in Europe.

Disliked: The room was very, very, very small :-) Our shower room - very, very small. When I cleaned a teeth and flush mouth at the sink, my ass was in the room :-)))) But take better room with shower and WC (Deluxe Twin Private Ensuite or Deluxe Double Bed Private Ensuite). I do not know what was the shared shower and wc in other floors, but in our ....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the subway, clean rooms.

Disliked: Noise

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 March 2013

Liked: The Hostel was very clean, well located, quiet, and good value for money.

Disliked: The hotel makes the effort in providing patrons with a kitchen, with oven, microwave, stove etc, yet THEY DO NOT PROVIDE cooking utensils, pots, pans, oven trays, etc etc etc with which to cook your food!!! Oh, they do no provide you with a place to eat your food unless you want to trek down to ground level to use the lounge. ALso there are no cleaning utensils or detergent with which to wash your plates. Other than this the

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jakub Gorka

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2013 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was recently renovated, clean, soap and fridge in the room. 24/7 reception.

Disliked: Lack of hangs in the bathrooms which was very unconfortable while showering. No kitchen applience like sponge etc. so we couldn't wash the dishes.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels