We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

79.3% Overall Rating

725 out of 857 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

Rianne Laros thinks…

"Location is good in a quiet neighbourhood and close to Hammersmith tube and bus stations. Although, they are building a property next door so you do get building noise but that's not the hostel's…"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
15.46 USD

Hostel 76.6% 524 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
44.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
15.46 USD

Hostel 79.7% 356 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
35.14 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
46.34 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
41.39 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
35.14 USD

Hostel 79.2% 88 reviews
Safestay London Holland Park
31.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

725 out of 857 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
74.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 405 of 839 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Hammersmith station but in a quiet side street. Shop in the floor level with common prices.

Disliked: Cleaning personal acts as if the whole house is empty early in the morning (door slamming, loud conversations etc.). We asked for an taxi to Victoria (we drove this way to the hostel in an official taxi for 20GBP) the receptionists orderer us a privat one for round about 30GBP saying it's the cheapest option (middle of the night, luggages) -but we only had backpacks. so we felt a little punked. recommandation: get yourself a taxi.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación principalmente, aunque la gente diga que Hammersmith está un poco alejado para ser zona 2, el hostel está a escasamente 3 minutos a pie de la estación de metro y está muy bien comunicado tanto en metro como en bus. La estación de metro de Hammersmith está además muy bien, tiene bastantes tiendas, cafeterías incluso un supermercado Tesco. Nos alojamos en habitaciones dobles de lujo con baño privado, y aunque eran pequeñitas y más bien austeras (cama, mesita de noche y armario) si solo vas a estar para dormir en el hostel te adaptas bien.

Disliked: Los minilavabos que había en las habitaciones no tragaban bien, se quedaba el agua flotando durante horas, sin embargo a la ducha no le pasaba esto. La limpieza de las habitaciones, nos quedamos de Jueves a Lunes y solo nos limpiaron una vez la habitación. La cocina estaba pasable pero tampoco muy limpia. Las paredes son muy finas y se oye todo, hay puertas corta fuegos que pesan muchísimo y a la hora de abrirlas y cuando se cierran hacen bastante ruido.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ANDRE FERREIRA

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 April 2015 ANDRE would recommend this property

Liked: Good price-quality ratio. As to security, cleaning and location: all are very good, and as described. note this is a cheap hostel, you wont find any fanciness.

Disliked: The wifi is not free, is 1£ for 1 hour. There are kitchens but no kitchen utensils, like pans, pots or mixining spoons, nor salt, oil or detergent.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tsvetan Slavchev

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 March 2015

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: Staff was horrible.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, location was fine

Disliked: no free wi-fi, you had to buy pots and pans at a shop for using the kitchen- thats just a rip-off

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally clean and looked newly decorated. The beds were comfortable. Honestly the nicest hostel I've stayed in by far in London.

Disliked: Our room was near the check-in counter and common area, so it was a bit noisy. But this is to be expected in hostels.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Edward Berger

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2015 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: War rooms, good location.

Disliked: Join the rest of Europe and stop charging for wifi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Hoffer

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly. It was really close to the Hammersmith underground. I was by myself and everything was fine. But I suppose I was skittish in big unfamiliar City by myself. My room was clean and it was exactly what I needed.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEANETTE MURPHY

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 JEANETTE would recommend this property

Liked: I have never experienced a hostel before and thought it might be cheap and dirty. But I can honestly say it was a huge surprise to find the room we had was clean and tidy. Clean and tidy beds and toilet . I would recommend and definitely use this hostel again .

Disliked: There was nothing I could make a complaint about

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eeva Uusitalo

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Eeva would recommend this property

Liked: I've been staying in Abercorn House on my travels to London for two years now, and I've always been satisfied with my choice. Only five minutes walk away there is Hammersmith bus station, and Hammersmith underground station(s), that provide you with great many choices for bus travel and excellent connections to London with four different tube lines (Hammersmith&City, Circle, District and Piccadilly lines). Hammersmith has also couple different Tescos, Sainsburys, Primark, loads of Starbucks cafes, Pret-a-manger (which is the best place to get some tasty food to-go!) and many nice cafes, pubs and restaurants for traveller. If not wanting to eat outside, the hostel provides you with a refrigerator, cutlery and plates in your room (I've never been to a dorm since the private rooms are so cheap so don't know about those), and their shared kitchens have basic needs: oven, microwave, stove. Even though I haven't seen any pots and pans yet, so you might want to stick to microwaveable food, or frozen pizza. Or just fresh fruit. The staff has always been very helpful and kind, and the 24h reception works pretty well for a traveller like me (last time I came in around 2am). There's also a 24/7 open small cafe/kiosk, where they sell some juices, hot drinks, noodles, etc. Nothing fancy. The rooms have two towels for one person, one smaller for hands (toilets are shared in most rooms, but don't worry, I've never seen toilet paper to finish!) and one normal sized for showering. And from what I've seen, they clean everything daily. The adorable cleaning lady who doesn't really speak English even washed the kitchen wall the last time when we were in the kitchen at the same time!

Disliked: Abercorn House, like all the older buildings in UK has some problems with humidity and insulation. It tends to be a bit cold at night, especially if you've left your window open for the day (I often do for better air circulation) but luckily the duvets are fluffy and warm. Windows are also often left open in the showers and toilets, I imagine for the same reason, so it can be chilly in those rooms too. One thing that is a bit weird, is that there is no gender-based showers. The shared showers are also mixed showers, guys and girls in the same. For as a Finn me it's not that bad, I've been going to sauna with strangers for all my life, but I can see how that could be a problem for shy or private people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

13 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location at reasonable price

Disliked: It's cold and even windy in the bathroom. Wi-fi is not free. It costs 1gbp/hour

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: The Russian/Italian girl at reception was pretty arrogant

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Cassar

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: We had a twin bedroom with private bathroom. It room was clean, towel and linen were changed frequently, shower gel was also provided. There re kitchens that could be used as well that were clean as well. I would stay here another time and I'd recommend it to others

Disliked: The shower handle came out of place so there has to be some maintenance. There is a building site adjacent to it so if you plan to stay at the hostel in the mornings it would be a little bit of a problem due to the noise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

napatsanan chaiwiriyachoke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015 napatsanan would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel very nice than I thought. It's quite new and clean.

Disliked: However, it's very noise when someone strongly shut the doors and we still heard others conversation from corridor.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

francisco alex de oliveira lima

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: very bad staff, very noisy, bad showers, facilities very basic

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El lugar es limpio, seguro y tiene una ubicación inmejorable. Las camas son maravillosas y la calefacción funciona de las mil maravillas!

Disliked: Sin embargo, el internet se paga (1 libra la hora), el personal de recepción no es amable y se oye mucho ruido de las puertas de otras habitaciones. De igual manera lo recomiendo pues por el precio, el lugar esta buenísimo. Consejos: lleve tapones para los oídos (si tiene sueño ligero), súmele al costo diario el pago de internet y lleve o compre ollas, pues si bien tienen cocina, esta no tiene utensilios! Así que tendrá que comprarla al mismo hostal. Último consejo, dúchese temprano pues ya tipo 11 el agua no sale caliente sólo tibia.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: neat rooms, good quality price ratio

Disliked: no free internet

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Edward Lawrence

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near Hammersmith tube station, good wifi and plenty of bathrooms. Does what it says on the tin

Disliked: Loads of kitchens but not a single pot or pan in any of them! This made cooking for ourselves tricky, although if you are creative enough you can manage using the ovens, microwaves and plates provided...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gavin James webb

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

17 September 2014 gavin James would recommend this property

Liked: This property is always my first choice accommodation when staying in London, Its Clean and secure and really easy to book a room. With competitive prices and a prime location it won't be beaten!

Disliked: Clean towels are only provided every other day..........but on occasions longer! Staff could be a little more helpful!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Generally all

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its really close to Hammersmith tube station and the beds were comfy

Disliked: We didn't get what we reserved - instead of a double bed, they gave us two twin beds pushed together but they weren't secured together in any way so they kept rolling apart and at one point I fell onto the floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kumar Velayutham

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2014 Kumar would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, private and good value for money..

Disliked: The room was a bit too warm so left the window open and it was noisy... The bed was not very sturdy..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Billy Partridge

Alone

Events / festivals

31 August 2014 Billy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly reception team, good location for Hammersmith's Eventim Apollo, 24hr reception, small rooms (2 double bunks in my room), hot and clean showers (once you realise the taps are plumbed the wrong way around, towels provided. Good value for money if you need to be in the Hammermith area for the night. Kitchen facilities seemed adequate, though I only used the tap for some water myself. Overall a recommended stay.

Disliked: Toilet and washing facilites are shared and in the corridor outside of the room, as a result I managed to lock myself out of my room on a couple of occasions through the night when I had to get up and meant I had to get a spare key from reception which they kindly gave me. The room was not very clean, but as I was only staying one night I wasn't too bothered. There are no lockers in the room, but thankfully my companions for the night were trustworthy.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Melissa Schultzberg

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 August 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: You could hear everybody and Everything!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dan Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

25 August 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dishonest advertising.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels