We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

79.2% Overall Rating

673 out of 792 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2015)

Andrea Hoffer thinks…

"Staff was friendly. It was really close to the Hammersmith underground. I was by myself and everything was fine. But I suppose I was skittish in big unfamiliar City by myself. My room was clean and…"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
16.71 USD

Hostel 77.3% 520 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
33.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
16.71 USD

Hostel 81.0% 349 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
34.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
51.09 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
38.32 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
West One Guesthouse
22.99 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 27 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
34.49 USD

Hostel 79.2% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

673 out of 792 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
69.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 374 of 775 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room with my own bathroom

Disliked: nth

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

michele botticelli

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014

Liked: I would suggest this property only for 2 3 days because the only positive thing is the position: less than 2 mins from Hammersmith Underground

Disliked: First of all the staff of the reception sometimes is rude and it is not friendly at all. the room wasn't cleaned and I was afraid for my baggages so I had to buy a safe locker. because of the doors you will wake up several times during the night and on morning. don't expect to be helped by the staff for information, services, additions, advices.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything we needed was there. Perfect for me as it was very clean and simple and everything worked. Even has self catered kitchens which is amazing. I am quite spartan with my needs sometimes but I really couldn't have asked for me. Great hostel!

Disliked: Rooms were quite noisy but it didn't bother me

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Richey Ward

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 July 2014

Liked: Exiting as early as posslble in the morning.

Disliked: There was only one shower which was disgusting. The window locks literally came off in our hands so we could not open them. The reception staff were pretty condesending and not very friendly. Wifi was a pound an hour but there was no vouchers to be bought when I went to buy one.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No lockers in shared dorms to lock your valuables.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: There were bugs all over the entire room including in the bed. The staff was terrible and unfriendly. Not a hostel feeling in the slightest, would describe it similar to a hospital.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Belocura

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and very accessible. The vicinity if the hostel is clean and well attended.

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patrick Zappia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: When we went to check in, the gentlemen at the front desk asked us if we would like a upgrade to a private flat in West Kensington due to loud construction in the Hammersmith area. Although the flat was not ready until 5 o clock it was definitely worth it as we had our own kitchen and a nice little studio apartment. The staff at Abercorn were very good about it all and even payed for our taxi over there. Overall from what we could tell the Abercorn house was in a pretty good location but where we were moved to probably suited us better. I feel that they dealt with the situation well and probably had put themselves out of pocket for the comfort of their guests which I thought was good of them.

Disliked: Would have been nice to know about the change a couple of days in advance as we were pretty knackered by the time we had got there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean dishes, cups &cutlery available. Kitchen facilities were great. Own fridge in each room was awesome.

Disliked: Doors open all the time -made the hotel cold & was very unsafe as anyone from outside could access the hallways.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very conveniently located. It's right across the street from Hammersmith tube station and about a 15 minute walk from the Kensington Olympia overground station, so you can easily get anywhere in the city by train. The beds were relatively clean and comfortable. They provided towels and there was a fridge in the room.

Disliked: There is a lot of very loud construction going on right outside. The builders started clinking around at 6 am and were doing loud drilling by 8 am. The curtains on the window are also very thin so the sunshine in the morning comes in very bright. The walls are also a bit thin, so when folks got rowdy watching the World Cup it kept my roommate up. The fridge in our room was kind of loud too. If you are a light sleeper this might not be the hostel for you. There was only one key to our room, so if you don't plan carefully you might be stuck locked out and dripping in the hallway after a shower. The showers weren't the most convenient. You have to keep pressing a button to get the water to flow, but at least the water was always nice and hot. There's nowhere to put your stuff to keep it dry, but I just stuffed my clothes in a plastic carrier bag and that did the trick. There's also no handholds or anywhere to prop your leg up, so shaving was a bit of a challenge. Strangely the toilets are gender segregated, but not the showers. No elevator, so you have to haul your luggage up and down the stairs. There wasn't a locker or anything inside the room, so you can't lock up your valuables.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lin Lin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 Lin would recommend this property

Liked: the location is superb-just two minutes' walk to the tube and bus station, central london is within 20 minute's time by tube. toilet and shower rooms are tidy and clean.

Disliked: the hotel is currently being refurbished so it might be noisy in the morning.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 June 2014

Liked: Nothing! although I must say that the hostel looks fairly new, but DIRTY!

Disliked: 1. We booked for three beds and expected that we could at least share a room together, but was told that it was very full so they had to separate us. That was okay, but when we POLITELY enquired the possibility of doing some arrangements the staff was rude. 2. As mentioned, my friends and I did not get the same room, so I was given a key to access to another room, sharing with three other guys. But the key that was given by the rude staff did not work, so my friend and I (both guys) went to talk to that guy, and just when my friend was questioning the staff about it, the staff got offended and wanted to get into a fight and told my friend to go to sleep or else he will kick my friend out. Come on we are all 23 years old adults but the staff treated us without respect and rudely, and the worst part was that he told my friend to get outside to fight. Do you treat your customers like that even if they weren't satisfied about the situations you put them into? Is this how you react to complaints? you fight them? 3. the toilet was horrible. You will see toilet papers everywhere, stucked and unflushed toilets! I was staying in the 4th floor, went to 2nd and 3rd and the toilets were equally as horrible. To be honest this is the worst hostel I have ever stayed, and in case you want to be threatened by the rude staff and unflushed toilets, please avoid this hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

evgeniya dedusheva

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2014 evgeniya would recommend this property

Liked: This place is just a few min walk from Hammersmith station. Easy to reach tje other destinations from there. A lot of pubs and restarants around. You r almost in the midle of megapolis.

Disliked: Sometimes it was a bit dirty!! But in general fir the hostel not bed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very basic double room with tiny ensuite shower room, but cheap, brilliant location 100 yards from tube, cafes, shops, but really quiet mews road.

Disliked: lot of coming and going so noise from doors quite late, one receptionist on duty and front door always open, so it feels a bit open house

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price - you get what you pay for - suitable place to crash after running around London

Disliked: The cleanilness is not 100% but it was clean enough.... ok to crash and for the price great value for money

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location - exceptionally clean - cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Very secure - great locking. Good showers. Fridge in room - terrific.

Disliked: Kitchens not well equipped - OK to boil water and microwave but not pots/pans etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faye Freeman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2014 Faye would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, very easy to get to. Staff very helpful Very clean and felt safe and secure

Disliked: No cold tap in the bathroom to brush teeth

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laura colman

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

08 June 2014 laura would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean as were the toilets and showers. The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk from hammersmith tube station.

Disliked: laura left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - enough space in the kitchens and bathrooms - small fridges in the rooms - outside space - small coffee shop

Disliked: - no get-to.gether room

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 May 2014

Liked: Big tv room with marble floor and patio.

Disliked: The reception staff. Unhelpful and ignorant. Cockroaches in the dorm rooms and toilets.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie juncar

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

20 May 2014 julie would recommend this property

Liked: i love staying there its just perfect for location and staff very friendly and helpful , coffee to expensive :) and facilities, but i do think it is to noisy in the mornings, and i think it would be better if the check out was a bit later, apart from that love it,

Disliked: coffee expensive, check out to early and cleaners to noisy in mornings

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brian Dooley

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find and great location for exploring London with great transport links. Quiet area and great value for money. It was quite clean and I was in a four person dorm for two nights but the other beds were empty which was great for me.

Disliked: There wasn't a great atmosphere and the room was untidy from the previous visitors.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayne Swan

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Jayne would recommend this property

Liked: We had a twin room with en-suite which was clean and functional. Very close to tube stations, shops and eating places, which was ideal as I cannot walk far. easy to find, but I did a search maps before arrival so I knew roughly were to go. kitchen was clean every time I went in. plates bowls etc in room and we had a fridge which was ideal We got what we wanted, a cheap place to stay with easy access for travel. our room was good. we did not want to use the facilities much as we intended to eat out so kitchen used just for drinks. on the whole my daughter and I were happy

Disliked: Smell as others described but not too bad, at least it was clean. Staff as others have said, they are not very interested. lack of kitchen equipment, i.e saucepans, scissors etc door open 24 hours. someone said about people smoking on a balcony which I did see at the top but we were no where near them. cleaning staff did not lock the doors very well which did concern me, I told reception and was told don't worry about it. no lift, luckily we were on the first floor as I struggle with stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, location, price. I'm surprised at the negative reviews. I stayed in a twin room with private shower room and it was excellent. The rooms are basic but clean and well planned. You get a fridge and plates, mugs etc to make meals. For a London hostel at this price, it's fantastic. Hammersmith High Street is 2 mins walk and everything is available, pubs, shops, tube.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anja Sturm

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: This stay is an old hospital. It's really nice for traveling with your partner, safe and clean. There is a TV-Room, where you can hang out.

Disliked: you have to pay for wifi. 1 hour is 1 Pound.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels