HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

72.3% Overall Rating

638 out of 750 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

Billy Partridge thinks…

"Friendly reception team, good location for Hammersmith's Eventim Apollo, 24hr reception, small rooms (2 double bunks in my room), hot and clean showers (once you realise the taps are plumbed the…"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
16.44 USD

Hostel 77.4% 516 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
49.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
16.44 USD

Hostel 82.1% 344 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
46.50 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
43.73 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
36.54 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
West One Guesthouse
24.91 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 27 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
24.91 USD

Hostel 77.4% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

638 out of 750 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
66.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 359 of 734 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faye Freeman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2014 Faye would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, very easy to get to. Staff very helpful Very clean and felt safe and secure

Disliked: No cold tap in the bathroom to brush teeth

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laura colman

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

08 June 2014 laura would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean as were the toilets and showers. The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk from hammersmith tube station.

Disliked: laura left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - enough space in the kitchens and bathrooms - small fridges in the rooms - outside space - small coffee shop

Disliked: - no get-to.gether room

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 May 2014

Liked: Big tv room with marble floor and patio.

Disliked: The reception staff. Unhelpful and ignorant. Cockroaches in the dorm rooms and toilets.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie juncar

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

20 May 2014 julie would recommend this property

Liked: i love staying there its just perfect for location and staff very friendly and helpful , coffee to expensive :) and facilities, but i do think it is to noisy in the mornings, and i think it would be better if the check out was a bit later, apart from that love it,

Disliked: coffee expensive, check out to early and cleaners to noisy in mornings

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brian Dooley

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find and great location for exploring London with great transport links. Quiet area and great value for money. It was quite clean and I was in a four person dorm for two nights but the other beds were empty which was great for me.

Disliked: There wasn't a great atmosphere and the room was untidy from the previous visitors.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayne Swan

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Jayne would recommend this property

Liked: We had a twin room with en-suite which was clean and functional. Very close to tube stations, shops and eating places, which was ideal as I cannot walk far. easy to find, but I did a search maps before arrival so I knew roughly were to go. kitchen was clean every time I went in. plates bowls etc in room and we had a fridge which was ideal We got what we wanted, a cheap place to stay with easy access for travel. our room was good. we did not want to use the facilities much as we intended to eat out so kitchen used just for drinks. on the whole my daughter and I were happy

Disliked: Smell as others described but not too bad, at least it was clean. Staff as others have said, they are not very interested. lack of kitchen equipment, i.e saucepans, scissors etc door open 24 hours. someone said about people smoking on a balcony which I did see at the top but we were no where near them. cleaning staff did not lock the doors very well which did concern me, I told reception and was told don't worry about it. no lift, luckily we were on the first floor as I struggle with stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, location, price. I'm surprised at the negative reviews. I stayed in a twin room with private shower room and it was excellent. The rooms are basic but clean and well planned. You get a fridge and plates, mugs etc to make meals. For a London hostel at this price, it's fantastic. Hammersmith High Street is 2 mins walk and everything is available, pubs, shops, tube.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anja Sturm

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: This stay is an old hospital. It's really nice for traveling with your partner, safe and clean. There is a TV-Room, where you can hang out.

Disliked: you have to pay for wifi. 1 hour is 1 Pound.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew James

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 May 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, walking distance to all local landmarks Very quiet

Disliked: No iron or ironboard available to guests

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Robinson

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

05 May 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Amazed at the accommodation provided, really clean room, very comfy bed and excellent facilities. Would definitely recommend a stay.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the underground and easy accesible

Disliked: It was not very clean and the rooms needs to be renovated.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Rotchford

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 May 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very clean and well run hostel, we stayed for 2 nights for the Army vs Navy rugby match and had to put our kit in the luggage store. We came back at midnight worse for wear and the staff were very friendly and out kit was secure. Rooms are clean and kitchen/bathroom facilities are better than other hostels I have used.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Frederik Wullink

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2014

Liked: Good location near Hammersmith underground.

Disliked: Rooms are very noisy, the building is poorly finished with open ceilings througout the building. Next tot the building there are some ongoing construction works.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Atif Hashmi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2014 Atif would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really nice. The location is amazing as it's just 3 minutes from the Hammersmith station and that just means easy access to the popular tourist locations in London. The staff are helpful and friendly and there is a decent mini shop inside the hostel.

Disliked: The doors in the rooms can be annoying to lock and open sometimes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Giulia Tanganelli

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: Its location, near to Hammersmith Tube Station, our room, quite large and well furnished. There were also a lot of kitchens and bathrooms so that we didn't have to wait to use the toilet, or have a shower, or cook something for dinner.

Disliked: Only the venetian blinds of our room: they didn't work properly and a few slats were missing so we had plenty of light in our room and we always woke up before 7.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private, clean bathrooms , friendly staff

Disliked: No cooking utensils in the kitchen

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really awesome location: only 20-25 min to city centre, near a big underground station with lots of supermarkets and a nice shopping street nearby, safe and friendly neighbourhood. good facilities: three kitchens (just on the first floor) with oven, microwave, water kettle and toaster. room facilities: fridge, dishes and cutlery

Disliked: unfortunately they use an awfully smelling polish (we had to air our room for an hour to get the smell out), the double bed consisted just of two very unpleasant mattresses,

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014

Liked: It is a cheap hostel and its not far from the city center. There is a small cheap shop at the reception.

Disliked: It was dirty everywhere: in the rooms and also in the showers but specially in the toilet rooms. The whole hostel smells like chlorine, but this is only because they splash a lot of it everywhere without cleaning. There is only one common room (TV room) where you could meet other travelers, but its a TV room so its not really advisable to speak there. There are a lot of kitchens on every floor, but without chairs to stay there. There is also no kitchen stuff in the kitchens.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: To the contrary what some people say... Very hostile personnel. Enough place to stash your stuff and a little fridge.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sophie McManus

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty clean, no traffic noise, pretty good bathrooms. Towels are given and sheets changed every two days. Location is brilliant

Disliked: The WIFI is a scam - £5 for 5 hours and the signal isn't great. The shower water stops after 10s and needs constantly turning back on Overall though, pretty good value for money

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Osvaldo Mirinha

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

08 April 2014

Liked: The space of the room

Disliked: Almost everything, the bed was the worst bed I sleep in, and the internet is crap too

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, got upgraded from a double room with shared bathroom to a double room with private bathroom, the room was clean (and you could smell that!)

Disliked: Doors banging (We arrived late on a Thursday night, with few people walking around, but I can imagine how annoying it can get on the weekend for a noise sensitive person like me!)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 April 2014

Liked: THe price for London is quite good, the location of the hostel wasn't too far out and the area is quite nice too.

Disliked: The bathrooms and toilets were very dirty. The showers didn't have hot water and the water that came out was barely enough to wash your hands in. The sheets were very dirty with stains on all over and not to mention the different hairs I found on the sheets, duvet, pillow cases and towels. Also, the doors close very loudly so you hear them slamming throughout the night. We only needed this hostel for one night and that's all it would be good for. I wouldn't recommend this place for more than one night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near tube station

Disliked: Close to construction site


See all London hostels
See all London hotels