HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

67.8% Overall Rating

621 out of 730 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

michele botticelli thinks…

"I would suggest this property only for 2 3 days because the only positive thing is the position: less than 2 mins from Hammersmith Underground"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
23.65 USD

Hostel 77.8% 514 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
56.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
28.75 USD

Hostel 80.2% 339 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
47.64 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
44.79 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 64.9% 154 reviews
Kensington West
46.50 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
West One Guesthouse
25.52 USD

Guesthouse 73.0% 23 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
39.13 USD

Hostel 77.4% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

621 out of 730 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
63.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 349 of 714 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Robinson

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

05 May 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Amazed at the accommodation provided, really clean room, very comfy bed and excellent facilities. Would definitely recommend a stay.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the underground and easy accesible

Disliked: It was not very clean and the rooms needs to be renovated.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Rotchford

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 May 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very clean and well run hostel, we stayed for 2 nights for the Army vs Navy rugby match and had to put our kit in the luggage store. We came back at midnight worse for wear and the staff were very friendly and out kit was secure. Rooms are clean and kitchen/bathroom facilities are better than other hostels I have used.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Frederik Wullink

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2014

Liked: Good location near Hammersmith underground.

Disliked: Rooms are very noisy, the building is poorly finished with open ceilings througout the building. Next tot the building there are some ongoing construction works.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Atif Hashmi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2014 Atif would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really nice. The location is amazing as it's just 3 minutes from the Hammersmith station and that just means easy access to the popular tourist locations in London. The staff are helpful and friendly and there is a decent mini shop inside the hostel.

Disliked: The doors in the rooms can be annoying to lock and open sometimes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Giulia Tanganelli

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: Its location, near to Hammersmith Tube Station, our room, quite large and well furnished. There were also a lot of kitchens and bathrooms so that we didn't have to wait to use the toilet, or have a shower, or cook something for dinner.

Disliked: Only the venetian blinds of our room: they didn't work properly and a few slats were missing so we had plenty of light in our room and we always woke up before 7.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private, clean bathrooms , friendly staff

Disliked: No cooking utensils in the kitchen

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really awesome location: only 20-25 min to city centre, near a big underground station with lots of supermarkets and a nice shopping street nearby, safe and friendly neighbourhood. good facilities: three kitchens (just on the first floor) with oven, microwave, water kettle and toaster. room facilities: fridge, dishes and cutlery

Disliked: unfortunately they use an awfully smelling polish (we had to air our room for an hour to get the smell out), the double bed consisted just of two very unpleasant mattresses,

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014

Liked: It is a cheap hostel and its not far from the city center. There is a small cheap shop at the reception.

Disliked: It was dirty everywhere: in the rooms and also in the showers but specially in the toilet rooms. The whole hostel smells like chlorine, but this is only because they splash a lot of it everywhere without cleaning. There is only one common room (TV room) where you could meet other travelers, but its a TV room so its not really advisable to speak there. There are a lot of kitchens on every floor, but without chairs to stay there. There is also no kitchen stuff in the kitchens.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: To the contrary what some people say... Very hostile personnel. Enough place to stash your stuff and a little fridge.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sophie McManus

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty clean, no traffic noise, pretty good bathrooms. Towels are given and sheets changed every two days. Location is brilliant

Disliked: The WIFI is a scam - £5 for 5 hours and the signal isn't great. The shower water stops after 10s and needs constantly turning back on Overall though, pretty good value for money

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Osvaldo Mirinha

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

08 April 2014

Liked: The space of the room

Disliked: Almost everything, the bed was the worst bed I sleep in, and the internet is crap too

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, got upgraded from a double room with shared bathroom to a double room with private bathroom, the room was clean (and you could smell that!)

Disliked: Doors banging (We arrived late on a Thursday night, with few people walking around, but I can imagine how annoying it can get on the weekend for a noise sensitive person like me!)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 April 2014

Liked: THe price for London is quite good, the location of the hostel wasn't too far out and the area is quite nice too.

Disliked: The bathrooms and toilets were very dirty. The showers didn't have hot water and the water that came out was barely enough to wash your hands in. The sheets were very dirty with stains on all over and not to mention the different hairs I found on the sheets, duvet, pillow cases and towels. Also, the doors close very loudly so you hear them slamming throughout the night. We only needed this hostel for one night and that's all it would be good for. I wouldn't recommend this place for more than one night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near tube station

Disliked: Close to construction site

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 April 2014

Liked: The bathroom was quite modern and clean, with soap, shower gel and toilet paper included. Also, 2 towels per person were available free of charge. The room was spacious and it included a mini fridge and some plates and cutlery, which is quite useful. The location is really good as well, only 3 min walk from Hammersmith tube station.

Disliked: The staff wasn't particularly friendly and the hostel didn't have the typical atmosphere you would expect. I wouldn't see it as a social place, where you can meet people easily and make friends. They could improve the appearance of the hostel by making it more colourful - it's all white, both on the corridors and inside the rooms, which doesn't seem too welcoming.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shower rooms were modern, very clean, lot of soap/ toilet paper available. And 2 towels per person are provided. The room itself was clean and included a small fridge. The kitchens are very clean, and have microwaves, which can be very useful! Very close to the tube station, and well located in London.

Disliked: The floor in the room was quite sticky (probably because of cleaning products).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, safe and very good located.

Disliked: Loud doors, no free Internet.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chloe preston

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 chloe would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap and pretty central/ in a nice area. it was clean and had a comfy bed.

Disliked: the staff weren't friendly but this didn't affect our stay and didn't mind because it was so cheap. also it was pretty noisy but we kind of expected that too. also everywhere smells of bleach but at least you know its clean ha

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Craig Hickman

Alone

Family Holiday
Work / volunteering

25 March 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good facilities

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked fridges in the room.

Disliked: The beds are too soft. There lives many people and you share bathroom with maybe 10 other rooms. You do not have so much privacy than. But it is ok, when you stay only 3 or 4 nights. I would not like to stay there for example for whole holiday (more than 6 nights). The shower - there is no space for laying your stuff, no hooks, shelves etc. You cannot control the water temperature, and you have to turn the water on every 10 seconds.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is extremely clean and conveniently located (very close to Hammersmith tube station). The rooms can be locked and seem very secure. Beds were quite comfortable. It is reasonably quiet at night.

Disliked: The entire hostel STINKS of Dettol or whichever antiseptic is used to mop the floors several times a day. While it is great that it is such a clean hostel, it would be far better if they cleaned using something which smells less strong and unpleasant. There is no common area and absolutely no atmosphere or character - no opportunity to socialise with or meet other people staying in the hostel. It is sparsely decorated - just white walls and tiles on all floors. The floors are mopped in the mornings when people are going to and from the showers etc. in bare feet/flip flops, and so the floors can be EXTREMELY slippery which could be dangerous.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was so surprised to see something this good for the price, i was a little worried about sharing the facilities, but there are so many toilets and shower, that i didn't need to worry about.

Disliked: Only thing i disliked was the fact i couldn't understand the staff, but you cant have everything can you?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Turner

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, just a short walk from Hammersmith Underground station on a quite street. The room was small, but cosy and clean. We enjoyed a room with en suite facilities. The cafe was reasonably priced to with friendly staff.

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 March 2014

Liked: They offered towels and bed covers and cleaned the room during our stay. We got new towels as well. The location is quite good because you have a shopping center and an underground station only five minutes walk away, you'll get to town within 20 minutes which is quite good.

Disliked: It is very noisy! Thin walls and the fire doors are quite loud when they shut.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels