HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Abercorn House Hostel London Hostel

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 65%

Location 84%

Safety 75%

Staff 68%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 65%

Location 84%

Safety 75%

Staff 68%

Value 77%

Showing 91-100 of 171 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: very basic double room with tiny ensuite shower room, but cheap, brilliant location 100 yards from tube, cafes, shops, but really quiet mews road.

Disliked: lot of coming and going so noise from doors quite late, one receptionist on duty and front door always open, so it feels a bit open house

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very conveniently located. It's right across the street from Hammersmith tube station and about a 15 minute walk from the Kensington Olympia overground station, so you can easily get anywhere in the city by train. The beds were relatively clean and comfortable. They provided towels and there was a fridge in the room.

Disliked: There is a lot of very loud construction going on right outside. The builders started clinking around at 6 am and were doing loud drilling by 8 am. The curtains on the window are also very thin so the sunshine in the morning comes in very bright. The walls are also a bit thin, so when folks got rowdy watching the World Cup it kept my roommate up. The fridge in our room was kind of loud too. If you are a light sleeper this might not be the hostel for you. There was only one key to our room, so if you don't plan carefully you might be stuck locked out and dripping in the hallway after a shower. The showers weren't the most convenient. You have to keep pressing a button to get the water to flow, but at least the water was always nice and hot. There's nowhere to put your stuff to keep it dry, but I just stuffed my clothes in a plastic carrier bag and that did the trick. There's also no handholds or anywhere to prop your leg up, so shaving was a bit of a challenge. Strangely the toilets are gender segregated, but not the showers. No elevator, so you have to haul your luggage up and down the stairs. There wasn't a locker or anything inside the room, so you can't lock up your valuables.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location and the price - you get what you pay for - suitable place to crash after running around London

Disliked: The cleanilness is not 100% but it was clean enough.... ok to crash and for the price great value for money

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, location - exceptionally clean - cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Very secure - great locking. Good showers. Fridge in room - terrific.

Disliked: Kitchens not well equipped - OK to boil water and microwave but not pots/pans etc.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The room was very clean as were the toilets and showers. The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk from hammersmith tube station.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Brilliant location, very easy to get to. Staff very helpfulVery clean and felt safe and secure

Disliked: No cold tap in the bathroom to brush teeth

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: i love staying there its just perfect for location and staff very friendly and helpful , coffee to expensive :) and facilities, but i do think it is to noisy in the mornings, and i think it would be better if the check out was a bit later, apart from that love it,

Disliked: coffee expensive, check out to early and cleaners to noisy in mornings

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Big tv room with marble floor and patio.

Disliked: The reception staff. Unhelpful and ignorant. Cockroaches in the dorm rooms and toilets.


The property's response is

We appreciate your comment and apologies for any inconvenience caused note:
Mr Derek Dodd
1- Dirty.
2-trouble maker.
3 fight with his room mates.
4-we have asked him to check to check out 1 week in advance
5-also his booked was cancelled.
6-the guest was complaining about him.
7-we already reported Mr. Derek Dodd to hostelbokkers.
Dear Hostelworld, for the first time we FULLY DISAGREE with the entire review and
would very much appreciate if you look into the details and remove.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very easy to find and great location for exploring London with great transport links. Quiet area and great value for money. It was quite clean and I was in a four person dorm for two nights but the other beds were empty which was great for me.

Disliked: There wasn't a great atmosphere and the room was untidy from the previous visitors.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great place, location, price. I'm surprised at the negative reviews. I stayed in a twin room with private shower room and it was excellent. The rooms are basic but clean and well planned. You get a fridge and plates, mugs etc to make meals. For a London hostel at this price, it's fantastic. Hammersmith High Street is 2 mins walk and everything is available, pubs, shops, tube.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability