We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

67.8% Overall Rating

642 out of 758 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

Billy Partridge thinks…

"Friendly reception team, good location for Hammersmith's Eventim Apollo, 24hr reception, small rooms (2 double bunks in my room), hot and clean showers (once you realise the taps are plumbed the…"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
17.73 USD

Hostel 77.1% 518 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
44.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
20.98 USD

Hostel 82.1% 344 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
45.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
59.08 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 65.6% 155 reviews
Kensington West
40.66 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
West One Guesthouse
24.39 USD

Guesthouse 71.5% 27 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
24.39 USD

Hostel 77.4% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

642 out of 758 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
64.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 358 of 736 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MURAT GENCER

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 October 2012 MURAT would recommend this property

Liked: It is just a few steps away from Hammersmith Metro Station. The location is very good. There are lots of restaurants and cafes and very big Tesco that you can go and eat, drink, dine and make shopping. While it is in second area and it is just a few stations away from 1st area of London. It is very clean and quite. Besides paying a lot of money to dirty hotels couples and friends could stay in Abercorn hostel's double or twin rooms for a reasonable prize and could enjoy its very clean and splendid rooms.

Disliked: MURAT left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejadro De Villa

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

22 October 2012 Alejadro would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is always clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 October 2012

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: The staff was really unfriendly!! They didn't say a word they only lookes at their computers even when we stand in front off them. There as work going on in the hostel they started really early in the morning even in the weekend en the staff didn't find it necessary to inform us, they only lookes at their computer, again... The shower was terrible way to hot!!!!! It was a bit noisy take your airplugs

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Antoine Grech

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2012 Antoine would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and good 24/7 coffee shop and reception

Disliked: Doors in corridors are horrible to open and keep them open. Also shower could have been better with a flexible shower tap

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very spotless, well turned out! Free upgrade to private bathroom. Room included cutlery, crockery, large fridge, towels and toilettries! Small cafe selling drinks and snacks as well as supplies e.g pot noodles, milk and sandwich kits and seemed to be open all night! Very helpful staff and brilliant location, less than 5 minute walk to underground, high st and Hammersmith Apollo!

Disliked: Very very white and no.carpets so very echoey throughout (that includes the whispers of the late nighters across the hostel) although considering it's a 200 + room hostel very quiet! Could do with a tv and kettle in private rooms for the premium ;p

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARTIN folwell

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 October 2012 MARTIN would recommend this property

Liked: this is the cleanest most modern hostel i have stayed in

Disliked: MARTIN left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, fresh and modern. Shower wasn't amazing and I had to go to ATM as you can only pay by cash, but great location for a solid price in Central London. Would stay there again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to heathrow + downtown

Disliked: Nil

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

robert porter

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 October 2012

Liked: The fact I don't have to stay another night

Disliked: The staff are most unhelpful. Dishonest. And unfriendly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: None

Disliked: None

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Abercorn hostel is recently renovated, our room was nice and very clean, as well as toilets, showers and kitchens. The position is good too, in a quiet road, very close to hammersmith underground station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maria Lundstedt

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 October 2012

Liked: It gave a clean and whitewhashed impression. The location is great, close to all communications.

Disliked: There were cockroaches, and the staff didn't seem to care. In fact they seemed indifferent in general. There was no table or chair in the room, and nowhere else to sit down for a meal on the 2nd floor, in spite of providing cutlery and cooking facilities.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic. Very close and accessible to hammersmith tube and all London. Price is great. Clean. Warm. Good windows that open!!

Disliked: Extremely noisy door closing. The kitchen and bathroom doors have soft closing...ie are quiet on closing, but all the accommodation rooms have doors that SLAM really loudly ubless you are careful. Most people completely disregard others and let the doors go. Because the hall and rooms are all tiled, the noise is terrible. Could be very easily remedied by applying strips on room doors to cushion the closing (like they have on kitchen doors on level 2) I think the walls are OK at keeping the rooms quiet, but the doors seem to let in all hallway noise, eg very loud conversations especially by cleaning staff, in halls.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sidharth Manjrekar

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Sidharth would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012

Liked: location-close to underground

Disliked: scolding hot showers; no door handles!? on room doors; loud and noisy at times- bring earplugs; old, worn out room in need of renovation;

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot better than expected, everything really clean and efficient. Very good value for money!

Disliked: Although this is for safety, i did notice a lot of CCTV cameras around the hostel and the owners were watching the cameras at reception. I felt that the amount was a bit unneeded and made me feel a bit unsettled.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was in a single ensuite room and it looked like it was just done up, very new. It also had a bar fridge. Nice comfortable bed. Quite.

Disliked: The bathroom was a bit impractical, the sink was sealed tight and i could not drain the water, I looked for ages, there is no control and open/close the sink drain. The shower was a little small and not very good water pressure.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms were neat, clean, and looked newly renovated Its location was excellent for visiting the HMV Hammersmith Apollo for an event

Disliked: no dislikes

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were nice and clean but could use better pillows. Location is a good place for exploring London and our room had a fridge

Disliked: The showers are sooooo rediculous, they had 20 second timers in them which was extremely annoying and not ideal in a cold place like London. They didnt even have a place to hang your clothes or towels or even a shelf to put shampoo on! The staff were also extremely rude and un helpful, seemed to rather play on there computers then acknowledge you. Overall id still stay here again as the price was reasonable for backpackers and it was clean but seriously need to work on the bathroom!!! Oh and the kitchen doesnt have any pans to cook with which was a bummer.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 September 2012

Liked: Good location for my purpose of stay; low rates

Disliked: 1) The staff were just so unfriendly and indifferent. Throughout the week of my stay, I wasn't greeted once nor received any smiles. 2) Because I had booked an extra night prior to arrival, I informed the receptionist during check-in. He didn't tell me that I wouldn't be able to stay in the room for the extra night until the last day morning when I was asked to empty up the room. Since I was in a hurry that morning, I really had to rush back to my room and pack everything up and had them stored in the luggage room. When I told the receptionist that he could've informed me earlier, what I got was an indifferent "NOW I tell you" and no apology whatsoever. 3) The shower experience was simply the worst I've experienced in my whole life (compared also to some remote areas in Borneo). First of all, the water temperature couldn't be adjusted and it was simply too hot. I couldn't stand under the shower directly at all and could only splash some water on my body slowly. Second, the water went off after 10 seconds after the button was pushed, so I had to keep on pushing the button countless times in one shower. Third, the light in the shower went off after 1 minute or 2. So I had to stepped out of the shower quite a few times in one shower just to trigger the sensor showing that I'm still there. Because of the hot water, I sweated after every shower and didn't feel clean. I never disliked going to shower this much. 4) The corridors and room smelled of some very strong detergent or pesticide. It's there all the time everyday. To make thing worse, the window of my room could only be opened very slightly, so the room was always stuffy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and provided good facilities. It's also in a great location, a very short walk to the tube station and plenty of buses.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good.

Disliked: No free Wi-Fi. We see one cockroach! :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Ashby

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 September 2012 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean, close to tube and bus and yet off the main road and quiet. Good value little coffee bar. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Not much character.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SILVIA LEONTE

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 September 2012 SILVIA would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleaness

Disliked: maybe some dishwash solution in the kitchen would be nice.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcelo Kleemann

Alone

Family Holiday

02 September 2012 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Localização e limpeza.

Disliked: Pouca area comum e sem atmosfera.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels