HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

71.8% Overall Rating

565 out of 657 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Giulia Tanganelli thinks…

"Its location, near to Hammersmith Tube Station, our room, quite large and well furnished. There were also a lot of kitchens and bathrooms so that we didn't have to wait to use the toilet, or have a…"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
16.64 USD

Hostel 79.0% 508 reviews
Comfotel Blu
43.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Comfotel Grn
38.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Sapphire Hotel
44.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.0% 4 reviews
Plaza Hotel
32.15 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 10 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
26.72 USD

Hostel 82.3% 330 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
47.05 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Holland Park Grove
50.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.8%

Overall Rating

565 out of 657 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 643 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2012

Liked: It was clean, when we asked to move rooms due to the loud noises made by construction inside the building they granted it, the kitchen is half decently kitted out, the room has sufficient plugs. As we were a couple, we had a double room and the bed was very comfy. There didn't seem to be much of a sense of "hostel community", but it's an adequate bed for the night and you can get in using the N9 or N97 from Trafalgar square if you miss the last trains. There is a little high street nearby and a mall containing Primark (much quieter than in Oxford St!) and most major retailers. Marks and Spencers make awesome microwavable food, so it's worth checking out if you'll be eating in. You can reach anything in town easily, it just takes a while.

Disliked: Despite the fact that everything is in the process of being refurbished, there were a few oddities. The fridge is ancient and hums, the blinds were broken, and the shower has no temperature control. You hear everything going on in the hallway, whether it's just someone walking or the powerdrill if you have the misfortune of having a room near the stairs, as the sound reverberates through the stairway very loudly. The rooms are very sparsely furnished: one wardrobe, a tiny table, a fridge and lamp (although this is offset by the very cheap price. This didn't bother me, but could be an issue for others).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

King Yeung Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: I booked a twins room but my friend was not coming. They managed to change it into a dorm bed without any extra charge. Many toilets and bathrooms.

Disliked: it would be better if there are hooks for clothes and towels and somewhere to place shampoo and shower gel i guess. It's a big hostel with many many rooms and they have cleaning lady cleaning everything every afternoon. Yeah the bathroom is really clean but the neighborhood is not that clean so I saw a cockroach in the room below the bunk bed, probably coming in from the street. Hammersmith is a very convenient location BUT it's in Zone B (or Zone 2? I forgot) so it's more expensive to get to the centre. Add this to your budget too. No Free Internet. It's 1 pound/hr. I bought the card but it didn't work. :( So virtually no internet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities.

Disliked: Noisy guests and the smell of cigarettes coming from ouside every time you open the window.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double room, which was huge! Bonus was a bar fridge in the room and kitchens, which was great for quick meals. Extremely clean, saw more cleaning staff than I did guests. Even changed our towels after two days. Located outside of city centre, in a quiet street, but close to tube station into centre of London.

Disliked: Toilets were away in another wing (but of a walk). No toilet paper in toilets, provided in rooms but you always had to remember to take it. Bathrooms extremely clean but nothing to dry hands with, only one sink, and showers had no dry area for clothes or even towel hook! Staff weren't approachable to ask for advice, and weren't forthcoming with information on arrival. Tiled floors throughout made things quite echoey, could always hear people coming and going

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kenneth Grobasky

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2012

Liked: I became sick with food poisoning on my trip, and asked the staff for another blanket. The staff was accomadating and friendly.

Disliked: It was an extremely small room.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012

Liked: It was near to the tube and there was a fridge in the room which was rare for a shared dorm.

Disliked: 1. The guy at the reception would not allow me to check-in until I paid up in full, even though I requested to be check-in first before I went out to get some pounds. I told him that in any case I would be staying for 4 nights and they had my credit card details in case I disappeared. But the answer was still a NO! And all the receptionists at the hostel were all cold and indifferent. 2. The was no free wifi. You have to pay to use the wifi which was £1/ hr. 3. The advertised "Complimentary soap, shower gel, shampoo " was just a small cake of soap and a sachet of shampoo that were left on top of the fridge. It was not topped up during the 4 nights that I was there. 4. Room was not really clean, saw baby cockroaches crawling in the room. 5. Sheets were changed randomly. There wasn't really a system. On the day of my check-out, the cleaning staff (3 of them) came into the room and asked me which bed(s) was occupied and who has check-out because they were going to change the sheets. I would expect them to have known better. 6. They left the cultery in your room, above the fridge. There was no crockery in the kitchen even though there was a toaster, electrical kettle, cooking stove, microwave and oven. And there was no washing detergent or sponge in the kitchen for washing up. One could only prepare a simple meal (e.g. toast or cereal) and there was no place to sit to eat your food other than in your own room or in the common TV lounge area on the ground floor. 7. There were no hooks or wall hangers in the shower, hence no place to hang your clothes and towel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location for using the underground. It was also recently remodeled, so everything was new and beautiful. It was a great price for what you got, and the doors were able to double lock. They provided bedding, towels, and silverware/dinnerware for you to use.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianna Larritt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2012 Brianna would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was great. Easy access to the Hammersmith tube station. The room was clean and mostly comfortable (although there was not a great deal of space in the room). The fridge in the room was handy. We bought a few things from the Tesco at the station and were able to have breakfast there each morning. We also used the kitchen for dinner. It was rather strange that there are not pots and pans provided, however we bought microwave meals (so much more variety in the UK!) and had that after a long day of sightseeing. The washing facilities also very handy and easy to use. Overall a good stay and I would stay there again solely on the location and convenience.

Disliked: The lack of storage space in the room/bathroom was very frustrating! I also think that £1 an hour for internet is ludicrous. Especially when there is so much free wifi offered elsewhere. Having to pay only with cash is also annoying as we do not generally carry cash with us when we are travelling - this makes it seem a bit dodgy... The rooms on the ground floor would have been incredibly noisy also. We were in room 11 which was around the corner, but we still got a lot of noise late at night and in the mornings from the common room and kitchen which was rather annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, clean rooms, much more than we expected. Very pleasantly surprised with the hostel, would stay again and recommend.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rebecca Perks

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double deluxe room with a private bathroom and have no complaints whatsoever. The room had a very minimalist, modern feel to it and it was sparklingly clean. Good size for us as we were literally just using it to sleep and shower. Very close to the underground station so it has great links to all areas of London.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room. new and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012

Liked: It is pretty cheap and even though it is not located in Central London, it is a few blocks from Hammersmith Tube station, making it easy and quick to access anywhere in London.

Disliked: Extremely noisy at night, the walls are paper thin and the doors kept smashing shut, and waking us up, along with the yelling coming from guests as well as staff in the middle of the night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively close to Soho/Camden/Shoreditch and other interesting places. Only a 3 minute walk from tube station. Lots of good pubs and a few good restaurants around the place. Generally quiet, probably because the place did not have a bar. Also patrons in my room were generally working in London and got to bed early or made little noise if they came in or stayed up late. Small deli downstairs provided cheap breakfast/lunch/dinner.

Disliked: No free wifi. Computers were often not working. Showers have nowhere to put clothes (except one, but this was removed due to renovations part way through my stay). Showers only stay on about 30 seconds, need to push button again. Some showers the hot water did not work properly - others were fine. Very thin walls, when noisy patrons stayed next door you could hear them effing and jeffing all night long. Toilets had no TP or soap - rooms were stocked with TP and soap seemingly randomly and you have to remember to take with you when you go. Bed linen was changed seemingly randomly - twice in a period of two days and then at no other time during my 3 week stay. Some of the counter staff gave a sense of not caring, not being interested, and provided little information about facilities on arrival. A lot of this stuff I got used to overtime, it didn't bother me by the end of my stay, and hey it was cheap so my expectations weren't super high. But still not as good as other hostels I've been to in other countries, e.g. Singapore.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012

Liked: The room had a fridge. Good location.

Disliked: The place simply stinks! An offence to the nose and the common sense of any normal person. Our room reminded me of a room of a sleazy motel from a film. It was really dirty. And they only thing they change is the sheet on the bed. No fresh pillowcases etc. No toilet paper in the bathrooms ever, it either had to be carried with you from your room, or requested from staff. The kitchens weren't particularly useful, as there were no pots or pans, not even a toaster. For decent ladies, stay away!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Macedo

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

09 July 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very neat and clean. The whole atmosphere is nice. It is also well located for travelling into London centre.

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Gifford

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Hammersmith tube station on the Picadilly and District lines, making it a good place to stay that's close to both the city and Heathrow. The area felt safe and there were several good pubs/restaurants around. Wifi worked well. Bathrooms were clean as was room.

Disliked: Thin walls and proximity to a school made it noisy. Bring earplugs! Wifi was not free.more like a barebones hotel than a hostel - the guests all kind of did their own thing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to underground

Disliked: not very social. there's hundereds of rooms, no common areas, so nowhere to compare notes and get travel ideas and tips from other travellers, also no computer access or WIFI. kitchen ws immacculate clean, but if ya want a frying pan ya have to negociate at reception for it. good luck there!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near Hammersmith station. I took a cab from the hostel to Victoria station because I had too many luggages and it cost around 20 pounds, which is acceptable. I guess it will be much more expensive if I live elsewhere in hostels with similar price.

Disliked: The kitchen does not have any pot or cooking utensils. The staff lent me a pot but not even something for me to stir the food. We have our own plates and bowls and cutlery in our room, though. There is also oven, microwave and toaster so you may just heat food or have ready-meal. But apart from that, the kitchen seems not ready to use for customers to cook. I don't understand why...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Carla Ientile

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012

Liked: Is close to Hammersmith tube station.

Disliked: They have a kitchen yes but...is the idea for the traveller to eat standind in the kitchen? or sitting in the bed? or standing in the lobby? There are no chairs or tables. I don´t get it...Is not really designed thinking about the user.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Communal areas are always clean. Kitchens, male and female tolielts and shower rooms on all floors. 24 hour reception. Location is 2 minutes from Hammersmith station. Good connections to the main city and close to Heathrow.

Disliked: I've been staying here during the week for about 4 weeks. They are doing refurbishment at the moment, but no workmen have been about this week. Wi-fi is £1 per hour.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: posizione e pulizia

Disliked: non si è potuto pagare con carta di credito, solo contanti ps.non ricordo se pubblicizzava hostelbookers (vedi domanda successiva!)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jeffrey Soh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

30 June 2012

Liked: It's near the Hammersmith metro.

Disliked: 1) The lack of free wifi was very disappointing. Most travellers book the hostel because wifi was advertised, but it's 1 pound per hour. 2) Most of the staffs were unfriendly, and they have a huge glass window on their reception and you have to speakj into a tiny hole to talk to the receptionists. It feels more like a bank than a hostel. 3) There are NO lockers available, not at the reception nor in the room. So anyone could have the opportunity to steal your stuff and the hostel claims no liability. 4) There are construction work done in the hostel in the morning, so it gets pretty noisy and loud. 5) There is no toilet paper IN the toilet. They try to save the TP by placing them in your room, so if you need to use the toilet, you need to walk all the way back to your room to get it. They make it inconvenient so that they can save the TP. Such a cheap hostel with a petty mindset.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 June 2012

Liked: clean

Disliked: hot, no air circulation, unfriendly service, noisy, no parking place for the car

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

mathilde van Duuren

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 mathilde would recommend this property

Liked: ruime schone kamer eenvoudig , goed bed, met als winstpunt koelkast op de kamer.Goede schoonmaak.

Disliked: Geen mogelijkheid om kleding neer te leggen tijdens het douchen .

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: Good location, clean and close to Hammersmith tube station.

Disliked: Lacking basic necessities and conveniences, such as toilet paper and soap in the bathrooms and hooks in the showers. Showers were 'push button' showers and were awkward to use without a dry place to put clothes, etc. Staff were appallingly rude and unfriendly, offering resentful service. Wifi was available but at a price.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels