HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL

Hostel | 28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England W67DS

67.8% Overall Rating

621 out of 730 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

michele botticelli thinks…

"I would suggest this property only for 2 3 days because the only positive thing is the position: less than 2 mins from Hammersmith Underground"

Read all ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

St. Christopher's Inn - Hammersmith
21.89 USD

Hostel 77.8% 514 reviews
The Sapphire Hotel
56.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn- Shepherd's Bush
21.89 USD

Hostel 80.2% 339 reviews
Access Kensington Olympia
47.52 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The W14 Hotel
50.36 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 64.9% 154 reviews
Kensington West
54.31 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
West One Guesthouse
25.46 USD

Guesthouse 73.0% 23 reviews
YHA London Holland Park
32.25 USD

Hostel 77.4% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

621 out of 730 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ABERCORN HOUSE HOSTEL'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
63.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 349 of 714 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: None

Disliked: None

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Abercorn hostel is recently renovated, our room was nice and very clean, as well as toilets, showers and kitchens. The position is good too, in a quiet road, very close to hammersmith underground station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maria Lundstedt

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 October 2012

Liked: It gave a clean and whitewhashed impression. The location is great, close to all communications.

Disliked: There were cockroaches, and the staff didn't seem to care. In fact they seemed indifferent in general. There was no table or chair in the room, and nowhere else to sit down for a meal on the 2nd floor, in spite of providing cutlery and cooking facilities.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic. Very close and accessible to hammersmith tube and all London. Price is great. Clean. Warm. Good windows that open!!

Disliked: Extremely noisy door closing. The kitchen and bathroom doors have soft closing...ie are quiet on closing, but all the accommodation rooms have doors that SLAM really loudly ubless you are careful. Most people completely disregard others and let the doors go. Because the hall and rooms are all tiled, the noise is terrible. Could be very easily remedied by applying strips on room doors to cushion the closing (like they have on kitchen doors on level 2) I think the walls are OK at keeping the rooms quiet, but the doors seem to let in all hallway noise, eg very loud conversations especially by cleaning staff, in halls.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sidharth Manjrekar

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Sidharth would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012

Liked: location-close to underground

Disliked: scolding hot showers; no door handles!? on room doors; loud and noisy at times- bring earplugs; old, worn out room in need of renovation;

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot better than expected, everything really clean and efficient. Very good value for money!

Disliked: Although this is for safety, i did notice a lot of CCTV cameras around the hostel and the owners were watching the cameras at reception. I felt that the amount was a bit unneeded and made me feel a bit unsettled.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was in a single ensuite room and it looked like it was just done up, very new. It also had a bar fridge. Nice comfortable bed. Quite.

Disliked: The bathroom was a bit impractical, the sink was sealed tight and i could not drain the water, I looked for ages, there is no control and open/close the sink drain. The shower was a little small and not very good water pressure.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms were neat, clean, and looked newly renovated Its location was excellent for visiting the HMV Hammersmith Apollo for an event

Disliked: no dislikes

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were nice and clean but could use better pillows. Location is a good place for exploring London and our room had a fridge

Disliked: The showers are sooooo rediculous, they had 20 second timers in them which was extremely annoying and not ideal in a cold place like London. They didnt even have a place to hang your clothes or towels or even a shelf to put shampoo on! The staff were also extremely rude and un helpful, seemed to rather play on there computers then acknowledge you. Overall id still stay here again as the price was reasonable for backpackers and it was clean but seriously need to work on the bathroom!!! Oh and the kitchen doesnt have any pans to cook with which was a bummer.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 September 2012

Liked: Good location for my purpose of stay; low rates

Disliked: 1) The staff were just so unfriendly and indifferent. Throughout the week of my stay, I wasn't greeted once nor received any smiles. 2) Because I had booked an extra night prior to arrival, I informed the receptionist during check-in. He didn't tell me that I wouldn't be able to stay in the room for the extra night until the last day morning when I was asked to empty up the room. Since I was in a hurry that morning, I really had to rush back to my room and pack everything up and had them stored in the luggage room. When I told the receptionist that he could've informed me earlier, what I got was an indifferent "NOW I tell you" and no apology whatsoever. 3) The shower experience was simply the worst I've experienced in my whole life (compared also to some remote areas in Borneo). First of all, the water temperature couldn't be adjusted and it was simply too hot. I couldn't stand under the shower directly at all and could only splash some water on my body slowly. Second, the water went off after 10 seconds after the button was pushed, so I had to keep on pushing the button countless times in one shower. Third, the light in the shower went off after 1 minute or 2. So I had to stepped out of the shower quite a few times in one shower just to trigger the sensor showing that I'm still there. Because of the hot water, I sweated after every shower and didn't feel clean. I never disliked going to shower this much. 4) The corridors and room smelled of some very strong detergent or pesticide. It's there all the time everyday. To make thing worse, the window of my room could only be opened very slightly, so the room was always stuffy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and provided good facilities. It's also in a great location, a very short walk to the tube station and plenty of buses.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good.

Disliked: No free Wi-Fi. We see one cockroach! :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Ashby

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 September 2012 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean, close to tube and bus and yet off the main road and quiet. Good value little coffee bar. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Not much character.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SILVIA LEONTE

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 September 2012 SILVIA would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleaness

Disliked: maybe some dishwash solution in the kitchen would be nice.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcelo Kleemann

Alone

Family Holiday

02 September 2012 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Localização e limpeza.

Disliked: Pouca area comum e sem atmosfera.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Will Fowler

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 September 2012 Will would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, sterile, and decently safe. It's also close to the Tube and other eateries, etc.

Disliked: I don't like how there isn't soap or toilet paper already in the bathroom for one to use. It seems cheap on the management's part. I also didn't like having to pay for WiFi/Internet and the staff could have been a little nicer (although, I wouldn't say they were rude). The cash only policy is also lame and inconvenient for guests, which made me think that the staff just didn't care and would rather be focusing on avoiding taxes.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location + new furtinue (because renovation) + cleanliness

Disliked: not friendly staff + not much facilities + no breakfast or kitchen is not fully functional

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

harold reilly

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

19 August 2012 harold would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and close to tube station,i would come back in future and also reccomend to friends and family

Disliked: maybe a breakfast in morning would help,like st christophers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Piergiorgio Evangelista

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Piergiorgio would recommend this property

Liked: I really appreciated the location, it's very close to hammersmith station. The room was clean and tidy

Disliked: The staff was very cold with us, one day I asked for a supermarket and the guy in the reception barely answered me.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near is the bus station and underground. Close to Tesco(shop) if u need something to snack. We were in the room deluxe double and I must admit for the money is good but a little small, almost new, clean. We remained five days and the maid was cleaning the room twice. In room is a refrigerator, two plates, two cup, large cup fot cereal, cutlery. You get towels, little soaps and shampoo. You can use common kitchen where the microwave, toaster, oven and stove without pots.

Disliked: Payment in cash! Ther is no cooking pot in the kitchen. Chargeable internet access!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really modern rooms ..loads of facilities

Disliked: a bit dusty rooms no color get them backpackers to paint on the walls!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Romain FRANCOIS

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 August 2012 Romain would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a pretty quiet area, rooms & facilities are brand new. Really asthonished, specially after all the bad comments have seen around.

Disliked: A bit far from everythg but the tube is just 2mn walk.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Dana Taimrova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2012

Liked: It is near of the tube.

Disliked: It is problem to cook there. There was not cleaning in 7 days.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels