HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Abercorn House Hostel London Hostel

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 62%

Location 85%

Safety 74%

Staff 68%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Cash only accepted upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 62%

Location 85%

Safety 74%

Staff 68%

Value 79%

Showing 91-100 of 145 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: When we went to check in, the gentlemen at the front desk asked us if we would like a upgrade to a private flat in West Kensington due to loud construction in the Hammersmith area. Although the flat was not ready until 5 o clock it was definitely worth it as we had our own kitchen and a nice little studio apartment. The staff at Abercorn were very good about it all and even payed for our taxi over there. Overall from what we could tell the Abercorn house was in a pretty good location but where we were moved to probably suited us better. I feel that they dealt with the situation well and probably had put themselves out of pocket for the comfort of their guests which I thought was good of them.

Disliked: Would have been nice to know about the change a couple of days in advance as we were pretty knackered by the time we had got there.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the location is superb-just two minutes' walk to the tube and bus station, central london is within 20 minute's time by tube.toilet and shower rooms are tidy and clean.

Disliked: the hotel is currently being refurbished so it might be noisy in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing! although I must say that the hostel looks fairly new, but DIRTY!

Disliked: 1. We booked for three beds and expected that we could at least share a room together, but was told that it was very full so they had to separate us. That was okay, but when we POLITELY enquired the possibility of doing some arrangements the staff was rude.2. As mentioned, my friends and I did not get the same room, so I was given a key to access to another room, sharing with three other guys. But the key that was given by the rude staff did not work, so my friend and I (both guys) went to talk to that guy, and just when my friend was questioning the staff about it, the staff got offended and wanted to get into a fight and told my friend to go to sleep or else he will kick my friend out. Come on we are all 23 years old adults but the staff treated us without respect and rudely, and the worst part was that he told my friend to get outside to fight. Do you treat your customers like that even if they weren't satisfied about the situations you put them into? Is this how you react to complaints? you fight them?3. the toilet was horrible. You will see toilet papers everywhere, stucked and unflushed toilets! I was staying in the 4th floor, went to 2nd and 3rd and the toilets were equally as horrible. To be honest this is the worst hostel I have ever stayed, and in case you want to be threatened by the rude staff and unflushed toilets, please avoid this hostel.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This place is just a few min walk from Hammersmith station. Easy to reach tje other destinations from there. A lot of pubs and restarants around. You r almost in the midle of megapolis.

Disliked: Sometimes it was a bit dirty!! But in general fir the hostel not bed.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: very basic double room with tiny ensuite shower room, but cheap, brilliant location 100 yards from tube, cafes, shops, but really quiet mews road.

Disliked: lot of coming and going so noise from doors quite late, one receptionist on duty and front door always open, so it feels a bit open house

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very conveniently located. It's right across the street from Hammersmith tube station and about a 15 minute walk from the Kensington Olympia overground station, so you can easily get anywhere in the city by train. The beds were relatively clean and comfortable. They provided towels and there was a fridge in the room.

Disliked: There is a lot of very loud construction going on right outside. The builders started clinking around at 6 am and were doing loud drilling by 8 am. The curtains on the window are also very thin so the sunshine in the morning comes in very bright. The walls are also a bit thin, so when folks got rowdy watching the World Cup it kept my roommate up. The fridge in our room was kind of loud too. If you are a light sleeper this might not be the hostel for you. There was only one key to our room, so if you don't plan carefully you might be stuck locked out and dripping in the hallway after a shower. The showers weren't the most convenient. You have to keep pressing a button to get the water to flow, but at least the water was always nice and hot. There's nowhere to put your stuff to keep it dry, but I just stuffed my clothes in a plastic carrier bag and that did the trick. There's also no handholds or anywhere to prop your leg up, so shaving was a bit of a challenge. Strangely the toilets are gender segregated, but not the showers. No elevator, so you have to haul your luggage up and down the stairs. There wasn't a locker or anything inside the room, so you can't lock up your valuables.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location and the price - you get what you pay for - suitable place to crash after running around London

Disliked: The cleanilness is not 100% but it was clean enough.... ok to crash and for the price great value for money

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, location - exceptionally clean - cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Very secure - great locking. Good showers. Fridge in room - terrific.

Disliked: Kitchens not well equipped - OK to boil water and microwave but not pots/pans etc.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The room was very clean as were the toilets and showers. The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk from hammersmith tube station.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Brilliant location, very easy to get to. Staff very helpfulVery clean and felt safe and secure

Disliked: No cold tap in the bathroom to brush teeth

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability