HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

71.4% Overall Rating

342 out of 436 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

"Pretty comfortable beds in a good location (for me anyway). Good atmosphere in the kitchen area. Even has Sky Sports!"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. ***AGE RESTRICTION*** 18-35 Due to alcohol licensing laws we can not accept anyone under the age of 18. We will not accept people over the age of 35 unless agreed upon via email confirmation. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge
30.83 USD

Guesthouse 65.8% 25 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
30.83 USD

Guesthouse 66.5% 7 reviews
Apples Inn 3
35.70 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 13 reviews
Newham Hotel
89.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
27.59 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Cottage 3L
42.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
28.40 USD

Guesthouse 62.9% 16 reviews
COUNTRYSIDE HOTEL
37.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

342 out of 436 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 311 of 425 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value for money. Very friendly atmosphere amongst the guests and probably the best staff i've ever met at a hostel.

Disliked: The entrance is a bit hidden

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrea gallo

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 March 2013 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Ottima posizione Pulito Ambiente famigliare...lo raccomando sicuro!!

Disliked: andrea left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013

Liked: The staff and the faclities to meet people

Disliked: the location because is far away and also it isnt safe neighborhood

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was an awesome atmosphere to the place. Everyone was very happy and chatty downstairs in the living area, the hostel had a brilliant student vibe. Staff were very friendly and the room was very quiet at night. Fabulously good value for money, £7 for the night in London...

Disliked: The private bathroom was rather dirty, but it was a 10 bed dorm. The staff were quite imposing and over personal to a degree. I had an interview in the morning. It was a Tuesday. The staff kept encouraging me to 'Get the beers in.' I just wanted to go to bed. As I said, It was a bloody Tuesday...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: posizione vicina alla stazione di upton park struttura deliziosa e con personale qualificato e sempre pronto a darti aiuto cucina attrezzata per cucinare struttura pulita e con pulizie giornaliere ostello che consiglierei a tutti per il suo rapporto prezzo qualita!!!!

Disliked: niente

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lorenzo ciccale

Alone

City break

02 March 2013 lorenzo would recommend this property

Liked: good position near upton park , good people and good enviroment good staff and friendly clean and accessoried kitchen for cook

Disliked: nothings

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liliek Suhardjono

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Liliek would recommend this property

Liked: the staffs are friendly, and they allow us to check in late at night, which is very good because i arrived late at night and as far as i'm aware some youth hostels wouldn't allow us to check in later than 7pm. it's also a very budget-friendly hostel, complete with the breakfast.

Disliked: the bathroom queue.. they should add more bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall it was a nice and friendly place, definitely good for the money you pay.

Disliked: It is in the 3rd zone, so the location isn't the best.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Genesis Mullis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013

Liked: The bathroom in the shared female dorm was quite spacious and very clean.

Disliked: The beds were quite wobbly! The door to the female door would stick, and when I woke in the morning, I found that the door had not been locked or shut by the last girl who came in. The comings and goings of my roommates was all though the night. Walls are very thin, so it can be a bit noisy. I found that other guests would lounge in the (very narrow) stairways. My biggest complaint (and to which it is partially my fault as well) is that in the ten minutes I had spent in the bathroom in the morning, I had left my bag open on my top bunk. Before leaving, I discovered that all of my money had been stolen. I informed the owner immediately, to which he did absolutely nothing but insist that no one in the hostel would have stolen my money. Given that the door to my room was apparently open all night long and open when I left the room at the end of my stay, it was hard to believe he was right. My best advice if choosing to stay here: bring a lock, request a bottom bunk so that you can sleep close to your things that do not fit in the small lockers, bring headphones, and sleep with one eye open. The hostel is on the second floor of the building and there is no lift, so be wary if your bag is heavy.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valdas Gumuliauskas

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 February 2013

Liked: Good and fast internet connection in all rooms, rooms and kitchen are cleaned daily, free continental breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. I've tried ~8 budget hostels and this one is the best so far.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: l'atmosfera e l'ambiente accogliente

Disliked: non saprei

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really surprised at just how good this hostel was for the money I paid. It has a cheap bar, surrounded by cheap restaurants, large spacious dorms with comfortable beds and clean showers. Full with backpackers from all over and I really enjoyed my time there.

Disliked: Lounge can get a bit crowded in the evening, but the bar downstairs is huge so spent my evenings in it. All the bar staff are hot too so that was a bonus :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay for a night. enjoyed a few beverages in the pub downstairs and met a heap of great people. staff were friendly and the place was generally clean.

Disliked: location and bit hard to find.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

RIYADH ALAWAMI

Alone

Business / conference

27 January 2013 RIYADH would recommend this property

Liked: Most people are friendly and humble. Good for a night or two.

Disliked: Quite crowded and not the most tidy and cleanest people in the world.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serkan yuce

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 January 2013 serkan would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: a lot of steps

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly and lovely

Disliked: A bit far to go to London city

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karen ortiz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 karen would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN BATHROOMS

Disliked: NOTHING

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012

Liked: Nada. Muy mala experiencia.

Disliked: Todo. Trato desagradable de los dueños.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: real hostel atmosphere, good size common area

Disliked: not enough sinks- 1 bathroom on each floor (if occupied no place to brush your teeth or even wash hands after using toilet...)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and character. Prices.

Disliked: -----------

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annika Jörgensen

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 November 2012 Annika would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and a alrigth place to stay. Great value for the money, staff really helpfull. will deffo go there again when i need a hostel in london.

Disliked: The lock on the door in the bathroom is a bit tricky to open/close. However some willpower and a good push could do it xD

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Chang Su

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2012

Liked: Nothing exactly.

Disliked: Only have 2 shower in the whole hostel, and always without hot water. Full of noisy chavs at night. The security of that district is one of the worst in London.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: This place was the least clean of any hostel I've ever stayed in. The kitchen is a cesspool and the bathrooms are absolutely repulsive. Obnoxiously low water pressure and one time the shower completely stopped mid-shampoo. The location is horrible; about an hour from the center on the tube so that makes for extremely limited exploring time. No lockers in rooms...if you have anything of value, expect to pay per night for a pathetic little plastic locker in the hallway. And lastly, some staff were helpful enough but a select few were lazy, rude, and at times totally unprofessional. The random Italian girl who cleans rooms was in bed with some guy when I first got there; I thought she was a guest but apparently not...trashy. She also gave me attitude on several occasions. And some other guy who claimed to be a manager asked my friend with whom I was traveling if he had a big dick. If that doesn't scream unprofessional then I really don't know what does.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012

Liked: Need to mention that I stayed there on a different date - I changed the reservation through the hostel, which they were helpful with I will give them that - The actual date of stay was October 27-28 The bed was fairly comfortable

Disliked: Honestly, there wasn't a whole lot I did like. You definitely got what you payed for. The beds were ok, but they felt really unstable. The toilet/ shower facilities were awful...1 shower/ bathroom and then another small bathroom (the second did not have a sink!) for my floor. The main complaint I had though was checking out. If you need to catch an early flight or are on any schedule that requires you leaving the hostel before 8:30...I do not recommend staying there. Earliest check out was "8" and so I was down stairs at 7:55 waiting. At 8 I knocked on the office door and no answer. By 8:20 (when he finally came to the office) there were 4 of us lined up waiting to check out. Also, we were not told ahead of time to bring our bedding down so make sure to do that when you check out.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly place.

Disliked: A bit far to get back to on the night bus.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels