HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

72.8% Overall Rating

293 out of 368 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

David Pascal Montalto thinks…

"The things I liked the most about GlobeTrott Inns are the friendly people and environment."

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Breakfast USD 2.52
  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We will charge your credit/debit card for the full amount for all bookings made within 48 hours of arrival. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all other bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Due to alcohol licensing laws we do not accept anyone under the age of 18. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apples Inn 1
30.20 USD

Guesthouse 61.1% 28 reviews
Apple Lodge
33.56 USD

Guesthouse 71.7% 18 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
26.85 USD

Guesthouse 65.0% 4 reviews
Apples Inn 3
27.68 USD

Guesthouse 66.7% 12 reviews
Newham Hotel
92.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Valley Lodge
26.85 USD

Guesthouse 71.8% 8 reviews
Cottage 3L
43.62 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
28.52 USD

Guesthouse 64.9% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.8%

Overall Rating

293 out of 368 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 260 of 357 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the free washing machines saved me a lot of money! It was a very short walk to Upton Park tube station and there was a bus stop right outside the front door, which could take me directly to Stratford (a bonus for me as I was staying there because of the Paralympics). Also, to get to central London (the sight-seeing part) is very easy on the tube.

Disliked: The "free WiFi" I was promised wasn't exactly delivered, although there was a WiFi box, it was impossible to connect to the Internet. Also, although the hostel was very clean to begin with, the cleanliness of the bathrooms took a bit of a nose dive as the days went by, perhaps something to do with the broken bulb in the bathroom, which no one seemed to get around to changing. However, by the time I'd left, the bathrooms were back to their original clean state (though nothing had been done about the bulb).

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 September 2012

Liked: Staff were friendly, free washing machine,

Disliked: Internet is not reliable, staff were looking to swap providers but then potentially charge for internet. Bathrooms needed some maintenance, and floor mats, water pressure was really lacking if other showers were being used. Doors were left open for hours while rooms were being cleaned. No way to cook food. Street could be very loud at night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting area, near the Olympic Arena and the whole place seems quite straightforward, as is the manager, Ben.

Disliked: Too few showers and toilets, often considerable waiting times in the morning. Ventilation, as the room often smelled like it had more habitants than it really had

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I appreciate the effort of the staff to create a friendly atmosphere. They said hello and talked to any guests everytime when they saw them. They were very willing to help guests in any sense.

Disliked: There wasn't a clear signage to tell the guests where to enter the property when they first came. The light in the bathroom kept going on and off while we were using the bathroom thus we had to take showers in the dark.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price, close to Stratford so great for me. The friendliness of the staff, the relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: The man who slept naked in my room - not the hostels fault but its the only thing I can really think of that I disliked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy hostel with friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend to young travellers looking for budget accommodation near London.

Disliked: Only had a microwave in the kitchen area, however for short stays this is not an issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Cook

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 September 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are excellent, make you feel so friendly and help you with anything and everything!

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012

Liked: Only cheap.

Disliked: I booked a 6 bed dorm for sure but they actually put me in the 8 bed room. The staff told me that 6 bed room is full and the 8 bed room is with the own bathroom so it's better, but I didn't care about bathroom, just wanted a 6 bed room. so disappointed. WIFI didn't work at all. had to go to net coffee.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, friendly staff and good atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

TOBIASZ KOPROWSKI

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 TOBIASZ would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting location, however Ithere was event on staduim and renowation inside hoster. It was not very big problem. Excellent pizza super near :)

Disliked: TOBIASZ left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maurice Cowman

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2012 Maurice would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Clean rooms. fresh clean linen. For the price, I dont think it could be beaten.

Disliked: Entrance was a bit grubby, but once inside it was fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's near to the Olympic Park, and cheap! Clean hostel and really helpful staff =)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 August 2012

Liked: It had a clean bathroom.

Disliked: Perhaps I'm not used to hostel rooms... it was decent, but not great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff and the cleaning, all was perfect!

Disliked: The location is not that good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfy beds, friendly staff, good breakfast

Disliked: It doesn't has a proper reception and the entrance is a little bit intimidating, but the staff friendliness and the comfy beds makes you forget about those

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wen Feng Tan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Wen Feng would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is clean and the stuff are friendly

Disliked: only one thing I dislike which is we need to dance during taking shower due the the light sensor problem and we need to move our body to keep the light and shower on. Taking shower became busy moment.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oleg Pryimak

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway

26 August 2012 Oleg would recommend this property

Liked: В субботу ребята интерестно, очень шумно и активно отмечают и гуляют

Disliked: Oleg left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Raelly bright and welcoming, a great atmosphere. Staff were lovely, very generous, wanting to make connections across the world. We had great time meeting other people, and the hostel was open until late whihc meant we could get back whenever we wanted. Definitely value for money.

Disliked: The floors in bathrooms were sometiimes very dirty, especcially at night. A mop by the door would be useful. A couple of times there was no toilet roll and the hostel had several saucepans but no cooker, which would be ideal. Even a simple wee oven.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carleton Webb

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 August 2012 Carleton would recommend this property

Liked: Good showers, friendly staff

Disliked: Not in the best part of London, beds were a bit uncomfortable

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Sanchagrin

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Ben (the manager) is a stand-up mate and provides a great environment for all who venture in!! Our showers were getting refurbished and he made up for the inconvenience with...free BEER!! Pretty much says it all.

Disliked: Not enough girls stayed in the mixed dorm ; ]

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful

Disliked: Bit scruffy and run down

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kristine saldana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2012 kristine would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very welcoming and accommodating. they make you feel at home and make sure they can help in anyway possible. the hostel is in a great location and easy to get to and from the tube station that takes you right to just about everywhere you would want to go in london.

Disliked: the only major down fall was having to walk up a lot of stairs, but that's still a very minor issue that can be overcome.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Madsen

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff who want to help you with everything.

Disliked: There was snoaring old men at the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was ideal for me as the hostel is located very close to Upton Park tube station, which made it very easy for me to get to Excel everyday. The bedroom and ensuite bathroom was actually very clean! Despite the negative things I had heard about staying in the east end of london, I felt very safe travelling on the tubes late at night and walking back to the hostel. Washing machine was free to use.

Disliked: No cooker..only a kettle, toaster and microwave provided. My deposit wasn't refunded! Mattress wasnt very comfortable-could feel the springs.


See all London hostels
See all London hotels