HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all London hostels
See all London hotels

Reviews of Globe Trott Inns

Hostel | Boleyn Tavern, 1 Barking Road, London, England E61PW

68.9% Overall Rating

329 out of 417 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

marta diaz thinks…

"The staff was the only thing nice, boys who work two days for a mat on a berth: London, only wants your money"

Read all Globe Trott Inns reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are a youth hostel and we reserve the right to refuse admission at our discretion. Reception Hours are 08.00 in the morning to 00.00, you can only check in outside of these hours by making prior arrangements. We will charge your credit/debit card for the full amount for all bookings made within 48 hours of arrival. We reserve the right to charge your credit/debit card in full before arrival for all other bookings. If we cannot take payment your reservation may be cancelled. Due to alcohol licensing laws we do not accept anyone under the age of 18. You will need to produce a passport or equivalent travel document to check in. We do not accept any other type of ID. Failure to produce a valid ID will result in your booking being cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. Customers can only cancel their reservation through email 48 hours before day of check in. Changes to bookings can only be made through email 48 hours before day of check in. Booking made with a night including the 31st of December cannot be cancelled No Shows will be cancelled and charged the full amount of your booking, excluding any deposits paid. ***WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE*** ***GROUP BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 8 PEOPLE MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH THE HOSTEL***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London

Apple Lodge
29.77 USD

Guesthouse 66.4% 24 reviews
Apple Lodge 1
32.32 USD

Guesthouse 64.3% 6 reviews
Apples Inn 3
28.07 USD

Guesthouse 68.6% 13 reviews
Newham Hotel
93.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.4% 4 reviews
Cottage 3L
44.23 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Apples Inn Guesthouse
30.62 USD

Guesthouse 64.9% 14 reviews
COUNTRYSIDE HOTEL
39.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.4% 8 reviews
Cottage 76
55.31 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.9%

Overall Rating

329 out of 417 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globe Trott Inns'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
56.8%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
70.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 297 of 408 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serkan yuce

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 January 2013 serkan would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: a lot of steps

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really friendly and lovely

Disliked: A bit far to go to London city

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karen ortiz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 karen would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN BATHROOMS

Disliked: NOTHING

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012

Liked: Nada. Muy mala experiencia.

Disliked: Todo. Trato desagradable de los dueños.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: real hostel atmosphere, good size common area

Disliked: not enough sinks- 1 bathroom on each floor (if occupied no place to brush your teeth or even wash hands after using toilet...)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and character. Prices.

Disliked: -----------

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annika Jörgensen

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 November 2012 Annika would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and a alrigth place to stay. Great value for the money, staff really helpfull. will deffo go there again when i need a hostel in london.

Disliked: The lock on the door in the bathroom is a bit tricky to open/close. However some willpower and a good push could do it xD

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Chang Su

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2012

Liked: Nothing exactly.

Disliked: Only have 2 shower in the whole hostel, and always without hot water. Full of noisy chavs at night. The security of that district is one of the worst in London.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: This place was the least clean of any hostel I've ever stayed in. The kitchen is a cesspool and the bathrooms are absolutely repulsive. Obnoxiously low water pressure and one time the shower completely stopped mid-shampoo. The location is horrible; about an hour from the center on the tube so that makes for extremely limited exploring time. No lockers in rooms...if you have anything of value, expect to pay per night for a pathetic little plastic locker in the hallway. And lastly, some staff were helpful enough but a select few were lazy, rude, and at times totally unprofessional. The random Italian girl who cleans rooms was in bed with some guy when I first got there; I thought she was a guest but apparently not...trashy. She also gave me attitude on several occasions. And some other guy who claimed to be a manager asked my friend with whom I was traveling if he had a big dick. If that doesn't scream unprofessional then I really don't know what does.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012

Liked: Need to mention that I stayed there on a different date - I changed the reservation through the hostel, which they were helpful with I will give them that - The actual date of stay was October 27-28 The bed was fairly comfortable

Disliked: Honestly, there wasn't a whole lot I did like. You definitely got what you payed for. The beds were ok, but they felt really unstable. The toilet/ shower facilities were awful...1 shower/ bathroom and then another small bathroom (the second did not have a sink!) for my floor. The main complaint I had though was checking out. If you need to catch an early flight or are on any schedule that requires you leaving the hostel before 8:30...I do not recommend staying there. Earliest check out was "8" and so I was down stairs at 7:55 waiting. At 8 I knocked on the office door and no answer. By 8:20 (when he finally came to the office) there were 4 of us lined up waiting to check out. Also, we were not told ahead of time to bring our bedding down so make sure to do that when you check out.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly place.

Disliked: A bit far to get back to on the night bus.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Webb

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

28 October 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff :) would defo go again :)

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment, the staff is so nice, nice breakfast also!

Disliked: Far away from central London.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was Great! Goin to stay there when visit London next time! Very helpfull staff. Thank you! )

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sammi wang

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

23 October 2012 sammi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there is frendly and helpful. It's quite safe and nice. The price is fair, and I think it's a good choice for backpackers.

Disliked: I enjoyed it very much.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was able to re-arrange my booking in advance, in case I wanted to. Everyone there is polite and friendly.

Disliked: The communal area was too small and noisy for someone even attempting to check his/her emails.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Josep Rodriguez Ferrer

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 October 2012 Josep would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and clean

Disliked: The noyse from the exterior

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elora Keaffaber

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Elora would recommend this property

Liked: The property was conveniently located above a bar, so it was great for pre-gaming a night out. It was very close to Upton Park train station, only 5 min walk to be exact. It was also located by a lot of great cheap/quick restaurants so eating a budget was very easy. People that stayed there were also very nice and helpful. It was also BUG FREE. Which I personally loved. I see a lot of adds in other cheaper hostels complaining about bed bugs- don't worry you are safe here! The building is older but clean. They also have 24 hour cameras and lockers up for grabs. I felt very safe staying in this hostel.

Disliked: The property as stated in earlier comments was indeed a bit hard to find. There is a guy that waits by the bar and looks out for lost people staring at the Boylen (the bar its located above.) He will ask you if you are looking for the Globe Trotts Inn then direct you the way you need to go. All in all- the short bit of confusion was well worth it. I would definitely stay here again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lisa Pang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: It's good.

Disliked: 2nd floor hot water isn't good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOROUNKE ODUBIYI

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

18 October 2012 MOROUNKE would recommend this property

Liked: The property is good and homely.

Disliked: i have gotten nothing negative on the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter dooley

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 October 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is without doubt the best hostel i have ever stayed in. Its part of a bar but the odd thing is you cant hear the drunks. you just cant. no matter how hard you listen. The floors, walls, beds, pillows, toilets, and chairs are all clean and so easy to use. I have slept like Bill gates or Frank Bruno at this hostel. When you walk into the dining room its like walking on the moon, everyone is floating in space suits, because the room is fitted with an anti gravitational device. Its great fun and its included in the price! although the kitchen is in there too, so making your food can be akward, my cereal from last week is till floating in there, but you'll get used to it. I havent check out yet and i'll probably never check out. ah no just joking. i'll definitly check out. all in all this is the place to be if your staying on Green street London.

Disliked: What can i say bad about this place? its very hard for me to think because there are too many good things. I think they should turn off the anti gravitational device, now and again, because eating can be very hard. hmm what else?.oh ye, there is a stairs in the hostel that has no end. it just keeps going up. Some backpackers go up and come back three days later with frostbite. On the third floor, the walls are made of gold and you hear backpackers trying to chip away at it at 2am in the morning in balaclavas. its sad, they just get out. Of course, i forgot the mention, the hostel is built using 60000 decks of cards, so you have to walk very carefully because it could fall down. despite that it is the best ever hostel i have been in in the last 3 days.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

esuola oluwafisayo

Alone

Business / conference

15 October 2012 esuola would recommend this property

Liked: It was a friendly atmosphore... Staff members were friendly and helpful at all times....

Disliked: Nothing....

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a bit out of the London chaos, Take the metro's season ticket, and you'll be in the center in no time. The atmosphere is good and the italian blonde very kind. Good place very clean.

Disliked: I would have liked a little cooker in the kitchen, but for the rest everything OK.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 October 2012

Liked: Price. Helpful staff upon checking in and out.

Disliked: Zero signage, which i was told would be improved as they were 'between ownership' Making and unmaking your own bed, but acceptable at this price. Disliked the guy in the room making a call at around 6am for an hour. . Didn't notice the decorative tudor features, just the mattress springs digging into me through the sheet the thickness of cheesecloth.. Breakfast room looked like a student flat bombsite so i left well alone. and checked out asap

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Haocheng Liang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Haocheng would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: Location is a bit off about 35min to victoria. But it's acceptable for the price


See all London hostels
See all London hotels